1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's GTX 600 Owners Club!

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by 20mmrain, May 5, 2012.

  1. Finners

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    133 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Is yours under water tardan?

    From a quick google it seems 53Mhz is the minimum boost and nvidia boosts an additional 13Mhz for every 10 degrees below 80C so 70-79 should have a core speed of 1072Mhz, 60-69C 1085mhz etc...
     
  2. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,772 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    That is how I understood this too. I guess I just never asked that many people about it so I could verify it or not. Now that I have my understanding is confirmed. I appreciate the feed back.
    Yeah was reading a little bit more about it while you were answering my question. Only thing left for Nvidia to do now is unlock these voltages. So the GTX 680 owner can destroy every benchmark out there.

    I would have to say that is my only complaint about this card. They (Nvidia and their partners) castrated the GTX 680's voltage. Yes I understand they were going for power savings and thermals (Compared to their previous gen cards) but I wish they would've left a little more room for those who want it. 1.17v and 1.21v (Hardware Monitored) is not cutting it. They are capable of much higher capacity.

    I've read this too.... it all depends on the temps. So water cooled cards will have an advantage as long as they don't run out of voltage space like I mentioned above.
     
  3. Finners

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    133 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Pretty sure its hardware limited as well isnt it? so its only going to be from partners who beef up all the voltage circuits that will give us higher voltage

    i dont know if drivers have an effect on boost speeds, i tried the 300.8 drivers that came on the CD with my card and the boost speeds behaved differently to the one's im on now
     
  4. Tardan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    100 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Canada
    Nope. Mine is air cooled(Pictures in previous page). My temperatures are solid at 54°c when I'm playing games so I guess that's why my boost clock doesn't jump around like others do. Thank you for the info as well. Good to know. :)
     
  5. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,378 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    762
    hehe, only down side is long way from US to DK :banghead:
     
  6. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,772 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Yeah there has been some speculation on this fact....some pretty important people have been saying yes the cards are hardware locked. Other important people are saying No.... the voltage could be increased through a BIOS update along with the Fan profile.

    I could see either way..... the ZOTAC 2Ghz GTX 680 shows me that the GTX 680 can handle the voltage if needed. Granted I don't think reference cards could handle the 1.5volts needed to do 2Ghz like that card. But I do believe it shows they could handle a lot more voltage than they currently are.
    Which leads me to think ... sure these cards could be hardware capped on purpose to allow Partners to release cards like the GTX 680 2Ghz edition. Not to mention things like Nvidia loosing a VRM before release and other Hardware developments.

    At the same time I think that Nvidia's partners aren't stupid and want to leave something there just in case AMD were to release something like..... Oh I don't know a 1Ghz edition reference HD7970.
    So I think they would want to leave a safety valve in case they needed it. Just like some partners have in the past... Like EVGA "Free Power Boost BIOS's"

    Although I have seen some positive work with concerns to BIOS editing and Nibitor.... people have been able to BIOS mod the clocks of these cards. I don't know how safe these BIOS's are yet. But it has been done. As far as editing the voltage in the BIOS though.... I don't know if they have done that with Nibitor or not yet.

    Link To Nibitor GTX 680 BIOS Mods

    Sigh :shadedshu
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2012
  7. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,732 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,037
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    Nice rigs guys!! :rockout:

    Can I join the club? :p

    I have two stock EVGA 680s modded with hi-flow brackets and backplates, running at stock clocks for now :)
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Animalpak and Lionheart say thanks.
  8. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,055 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    810
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    Oh how I love when you post pics of your rig:) so so jelly:respect::(

    I like how you carved 2 spaces out of the Video card cooling shroud for the PCI-E cables:toast:, as I am saving up for a GTX 680 and I have the same case as you, would you recommend me do the same and what tools did you use pls:D
     
    15th Warlock says thanks.
  9. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,417 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,033
    Location:
    Minnesota/Norway
    Got me one right here. Couple more pics here.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2012
    Animalpak and Lionheart say thanks.
  10. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,732 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,037
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    Thanks for your great comments man! I really appreciate it!:toast:

    To carve the openings for the cables, I used my trusty dremel with a carborundum disk, it can cut through steel, and goes through plastic like a hot knife through butter, I highly recommend it!

    Then you can use a polishing disk to remove all the shavings and round the edges so the finish is as smooth as a baby's butt :rockout:
     
    Lionheart says thanks.
  11. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,772 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Awesome 15th Warlock..... Welcome my friend I knew it was only a matter of time until I saw you and your kick ass rig here!!!

    Maban also welcome to then club! Nice to have another 680 in the ranks!!!

    Lets also start comparing some Benchmarks here.... I wanna see what some of these bad boys can do....

    I'll start it off with some lower clocks....

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 6, 2012
    15th Warlock and Maban say thanks.
  12. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,732 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,037
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    Thanks much man!! You have an awesome rig also!! I've long been an admirer of your clean custom WC loop, if you lived close to me, I would definitely ask you to help me setup a WC loop for my rig, you rock! :rockout:

    This is my current highest score with my cards, I'm pretty sure your WC beast will beat this score once it flexes it muscles :nutkick: :respect::pimp:

    [​IMG]
     
  13. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,998 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,238
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    We should use this thread for updates on the GTX680 shortage, and links if for any cards in stock anywhere
     
  14. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,378 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    762
    than i got another question, what is the temp of the card? i mean vs stock in ur machine if u tested both ^^;

    just added some pics to my last thread of gfx in my case.
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2012
  15. Tardan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    100 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Canada
    That I did do actually. I overclocked before and after the cooling and I got 44°c idle and 75-80°c load. After I got the ICY VISION I have 29°c idle and 54°c load. I can also happily say it is A LOT quieter compared to stock cooling too :)
     
    puma99dk| says thanks.
  16. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,378 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    762
    Arigatou Gozaimashita ^^;

    i think i will concider buying a Icy Vision for my new card or maybe just grap the Arctic Cooling Hydro solution i dunno yet.
     
  17. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,417 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,033
    Location:
    Minnesota/Norway
    Does it fit with the unisink? Would much need to be done to the unisink or the mounting bracket to get them to play nice together if not?
     
  18. Finners

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    133 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    what gpu usage are you guys getting in games? mines stuck at 97% in games,3dmark,kombuster etc

    but 99% in OCCT
     
  19. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,772 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Ask and though shale receive...... Link to New Egg Stock Watcher App

    Link to EVGA Thread for the APP

    Thanks Man.... I really appreciate the complements!! I would be more than happy to help set you up with what you need for you water cooling Loop! You just let me know when.

    I admire the scores you got there.... right now what is holding me back is my CPU score. I am planning a IVY bridge upgrade soon... so that should help somewhat. I can get my current CPU to score higher when I up the speed to 5Ghz.... but I didn't for this run. I will do a run later today @ my highest GPU clocks and highest CPU clocks. See where I come out compared to yours. I really like the SB-E setup you got though.....maybe that is what I should go for instead of Ivy bridge. That CPU seems to be one hell of a beast!!! :respect: Our GPU's scores seem to be in line though. :toast:

    Example Here is another run @ 1282Mhz Core and 1623Mhz Mem My score went up by 200 Point roughly.... I think right now I am being bottle knecked by my CPU and PCIe 2.0 bandwidth.

    [​IMG]

    I am not sure.... but what you are describing sounds about right. I will look today and let you know what I find.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 6, 2012
    15th Warlock says thanks.
  20. Finners

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    133 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    is stock really that bad in the USA? over here we have no shortages at all really
     
  21. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,772 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Yes it is... horrible! You can't find one period.... and if you do it is either for 5 mins till they are sold out.... or it is so over charged in terms of price you would rather wait instead of buying it. Shoot if it wasn't I would already be rocking 3 way SLI or 4 Way SLI
     
  22. Finners

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    133 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    yeah the prices are a little higher then when they first came out here but if you really wanted one you can
     
  23. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,772 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Yeah no man.... here is a Link to the Page at New Egg in the US

    Look nothing in stock. Plus I could show you more places but I think you get the point. Nothing. The prices aren't inflated in the US at regular E-tailers..... but people buying them and re-selling them they are. Also some of the smaller E-Tailers have them in stock.... but they are also charging an arm and a leg.


    *New Added to the Front Page....*

    Links to helpful GTX 600 series information. If you have something that you think would be helpful and should be added please let me know.
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2012
  24. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,378 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    762
    20mmrain says thanks.
  25. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,772 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page