1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's Nostalgic Hardware Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by stinger608, Nov 14, 2009.

  1. debs3759

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Messages:
    91 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Northampton, England
    I have one Permedia 2 with me, and another coming soon from my drop shipper in the US. The card I have here is a Diamond Fire GL 1000 Pro 8MB AGP, the other is the AccelGraphics AccelSTAR II I recently posted a pic of. I've bought a few 3DLabs cards recently (most collectors don't seem to be jumping on them and pushing prices up!).
     
    Chevalr1c and stinger608 say thanks.
  2. Backfire

    Backfire

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    122 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    Hessen/ Germany
    I'm not really interested in the Permedia because there were better chips, but it's an interesting piece of hardware though. As I'm collecting old hardware, there will be always a place, even for the 2nd winner ;).
    From 3Dlabs/ dynamic pictures I've got some cad-cards. The OXYGEN 402 is really a beauty, and the Wildcat III 6110 would be nice to test in an older dual CPU- system. Unfortunately my dual socket A has no AGP Pro-slot. I think it would fit pretty well. I have got an Asus A7M266-D dual socket A board with AGP Pro- slot, but just because of the slot, I won't change from Tyan Tiger MPX to the boring Asus- board ;).

    3Dlabs Wildcat VP760.JPG 3Dlabs Wildcat III 6110 1600 02B.JPG Dynamic_Pictures_Oxygen 202.JPG 3Dlabs-dynamic pictures OXYGEN 402 1600 01.jpg

    These are old pics with a little fresh paint. Maybe I'm taking some new pics this evening, but I should be working on the Thai-Chi/ Crossfire system/ case, instead of posting in hw-boards ... .
     
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2014
  3. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,599 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,336
    Looks like that Wildcat 760 has a bulging cap :eek:
     
    stinger608 and Backfire say thanks.
  4. Backfire

    Backfire

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    122 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    Hessen/ Germany
    Thanks for the good eye. I even don't know if the card is working. Never tested it ;). But a bulging cap should be no problem (I'm using Epox EP-8K5A3+ boards for my Voodoo 5- systems, so I'm used to exchange caps ).
     
    Random Murderer says thanks.
  5. debs3759

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Messages:
    91 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Northampton, England
    The only AGP-Pro board I have is an Asus NCCH-DL. I haven't tested it yet, but have a Wildcat III 6110 and three Wildcat4 7110 to test when i eventually get it set up. I'll also have a dual Coppermine board soon, and am on the lookout for a couple of other AGP Pro boards.

    I also have a boxed Wildcat VP560 and a boxed Oxygen VX1 en route to my drop shipper. The VX1 has the original driver disk, but I don't think I'm so lucky with the VP560.

    I'm watching a number of 3dfx cards on eBay, just not so quick to bid as they aren't all that cheap (at least, not by my standard and budget!). Hope to build up that part of my collection later in the year.

    The first test system I'll be setting up is a 486 VLB system, specifically for testing VLB graphics cards. Have yet to see an affordable socket 4 board with VLB, that would be better. I then plan to slowly work my way through building a number of retro systems, working my way through different sockets from oldest to latest, with the fastest possible CPU for each system.. My priority is to be able to test graphics cards for the website I'm working on (I'll add that to my sig when I have finished listing all current AIB cards). I think the hardest part will be getting reasonable cases at a good price which can be easily packed away when not in use. Not too bothered about getting age appropriate cases or PSUs though - for PSUs I'll use modern energy efficient units with adapters where needed.
     
    Chevalr1c and stinger608 say thanks.
  6. Backfire

    Backfire

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    122 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    Hessen/ Germany
    Take your time! Most sellers are trying to get the weight of the card in gold. Just wait, look for bundles, search the offerings piece by piece. Often you find sellers who don't know anything about Voodoo or 3dfx. These are the ones where you get the cheap cards. And, as I said, simply wait. There are many cards out there. 3dfx is way overrated/ prized.

    I still got two 486 under construction. They are a little like Dr. Jekyll & Mr. Hyde. One is a VLB/ ISA- system with an ECS UM486V AIO/ AMD Am486 DX2-66 (@83MHz) and 8x4MB SIMM-RAM which shall be built as a VLB/ SCSI- system, the other is a Chaintech 486SPM with SiS496/497 PCI/ ISA- Chipset/ AMD Am5x86-P75 (@160MHz (at the moment)) and 96MB FPM-RAM. This one is being tortured with everything I got. I've had a water/peltier-cooling running on it, and I had promising results at the PC-Player benchmark, but all this was eating up my time. Hours of searching after every silly little bug. If you want just a running 486- system, no problem, but if you want to start experiments, these machines can be a pain in the ass.

    I did some oldie graphics-card testing one year ago > http://www.hardwareluxx.de/community/f204/benchmarking-aelterer-grafikkarten-967067.html
    The writing is in german, but the pics and results are understandable. Have a look. One advice do I have for you: Buy or build yourself a benchtable. It's much more efficient when it comes to change the graphics-card three times in an hour. At the VGA-test I didn't have a benchtable, but soon after that i built one and I don't want to miss it.
    I've made a 60mm oldie aircooler- roundup with the benchtable and it helps alot. You can download the roundup as a pdf there > http://www.file-upload.net/download-8327491/60mm-Oldie-K--hler-Roundup.pdf.html
    Same as before, writing in german, but colorful pictures and diagraphs ;).

    The day will come, and you want fine old cases for your fine old hardware. I always like to take the Chieftech CS601/ 901/ Dragon. Much room, solid as a rock and not to expensive.

    It's not as easy as it seems. Modern PSU's have got a strong 12V lane, while oldie hardware needs more power on the 3.3V & 5V lane. My favourite is Enermax. I've got a hole bunch of them, from 330W to 565W.
    Reliable and, if you wait for the right offer, not expensive. For most of the oldie Enermax-PSU's I paid not more than 5€.

    edit: no post without pic ;). Normally I'm an AMD- guy, and there are many possibilities to build nostalgic, cool & rare systems, but I wanted this board because the 1-CPU Version was the board in my 1st self built PC (next PC was with an 1000MHz Thunderbird).
    This is the dual CPU- version and with 2 slot 1 > socket 370 adaptors its possible to run Pentium III-S processors up to 1,4GHz. But first the crossfire- system has to be completed.

    ASUS P2B-DS 1200 01.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2014
    9700 Pro, stinger608 and debs3759 say thanks.
  7. debs3759

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Messages:
    91 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Northampton, England
    The first 3dfx cards I bought were a pair of TechWorks Power3D Voodoo 2 cards with sli cable.The seller had no idea what he was selling, and the picture was really out of focus. I paid £5.20 (around €6.50) for them, including shipping. That's the kind of deal I like to look for :)

    The board I'm waiting on is coming from Germany. It's an Elitegroup UM4981-AIO, with built in IDE/FDD/IO. It was sold with 32 MB FPM, but I'm upgrading to the maximum 64 MB EDO. It also has a 5x86-P75, and I have a spare so can experiment with overclocking without too many worries. I want a VIP board (VLB/ISA/PCI) because that was always on my shopping list when they were new. The UM4981 also comes with a VLB Tseng ET4000/W32p 2MB card. As my first ever build had a VLB ET4000, that was one of the things that sold me this particular bundle.

    I'll take a proper look over the next couple of days. I'll use Chrome, as it translates it automatically into English. Makes it a lot easier to follow some of the best tech sites :)

    I've been considering buying a Dimastech benchtable. They're not cheap, but the size and features are perfect for me. I have a cheap Coolermaster benchtable, but it is flimsy and has no backplane to hold cards in place. I'm also seriously considering buying a cheap air conditioner, and having it fitted in a position that would be perfect for running the cold air through a couple of radiators and over whatever I am working on.

    I'll have to look that one up and set up an eBay search. I already checked the other, often cheaper, auction site I use. Loads of great deals there but not in cases.

    As for PSUs, I hadn't considered the difference in power on different lanes. Guess I need to look into that one.

    I finally found a large sheet of polystyrene that will make a good background for some pics, so will hopefully get motivated to take a few pics this week :)
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  8. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    918 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    408
    Location:
    Canada
    CPU is at 2.3 in overclock and seems to run stable. WEI : 5.9/6.0/6.0/6.9/5.7
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  9. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    918 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    408
    Location:
    Canada
    Bad luck. Gpu became so hot it turned Thermaltake silver paste into jelly then itmade contacts between pins on gpu and burned it. No more even after cleaning it. So back with the one under my avatar.
     
  10. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,399 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,603
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    Never use AS on GPUs, such pastes are electrically conductive. Use "normal" TIM only.
     
    GreiverBlade and stinger608 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    918 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    408
    Location:
    Canada
    Too late. Next time i order thermal pads on ebay
     
  12. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3,256 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,457
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    i would say never use AS TIM ever ... but it's just me ...

    Arctic (Arctic cooling brand) Mx-4 is way better than Arctic Silver 5 (Arctic silver brand) and Dielectric

    even worse ... those dubbed 9.5wM/k pads are mostly fake (not fake thermal pad but fake thermal dissipation level)

    use Arctic MX-4 8.5wM/k and by far the best dielectric TIM out there (i use it on every GPU/CPU/Chipset i re pasted in the past ... :D )

    except the shady GD chinese "gold" TIM i brought on Ebay for 1€ a 1g syringe i only use it for the Opterons and AXP .,... seems to be silicon+ powdered copper which would explain the 2wM/k ratio. (well, electrical conductive and also no too shabby in the test i conducted)
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2014
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
  13. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,399 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,603
    Location:
    NL, Europe
  14. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3,256 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,457
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
  15. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,399 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,603
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    If price is more important than anything else, get Coollink Chillaramic although I would not see it as top-notch (just "good enough" and "value-for-money").
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3,256 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,457
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    well MX-4 is on par with the GC-Extreme and cheaper where i am so MX-4 is the king :D (ranging from 1chf difference to 5chf depending the retailer but its a 4g syringe versus a 3.5g syringe ...)

    you can't beat the Swiss on this! no TIM beats the MX-4!!!! you can have a top-notch TIM for a decent pricing with it :D (ok in the US/CA the GC-E might be cheaper than where i am ;) )

    i have a nostalgic feeling ... i need to setup a 478 rig to identify this:
    it seems that P4 (?) was sanded to the copper of the IHS
    P_20140723_223121_HDR.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2014
    Chevalr1c and stinger608 say thanks.
  17. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    6,155 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,811
    Location:
    Oregon
    If you don't want your AS 5 Ill take it. Use it all the time. Never had any issues. Just don't get sloppy.
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  18. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3,256 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,457
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    thermaltake is AS5 ??? you missread?

     
  19. Misaki

    Misaki

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    109 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Lol, don't use paste with silver on GPU! I always prefer silicon paste like MX-2/Ceramique. Easy cleaning, no problems. X800, HD4850, HD7770 (sold) and now R9 270X. Mom's laptop, brother's laptop etc. etc. works with silicon paste, no problems.
     
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
  20. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    6,155 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,811
    Location:
    Oregon
    Thermaltake is TG.

    AS 5 is Arctic Silver 5 I would take it over MX 4 just my opinion. Really any of these are fine. There is not that much difference in them in the end. At lease in my testing. Like I said just don't make a mess
    Was referring to this
     
    Chevalr1c and GreiverBlade say thanks.
  21. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,399 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,603
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    Both GB and I misrread TT paste for AS. Sorry. Points still stand though.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Backfire

    Backfire

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    122 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    Hessen/ Germany
    It's the heatspreader thats made of copper. The heatspreaders are nickel-plated and the nickel was sanded off.

    HS 800.jpg

    These are the remains of an A64 HS. I made parts for the DFI chipset-cooler out of it.

    As for the thermal paste, I always used AS5, but since about 1 year I prefer Cooler Master IC-Essential E1 >

    TH-016-CL_49887_600.jpg
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2014
  23. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    918 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    408
    Location:
    Canada
    Guys Guys! Come on it's nostalgic hardware here not Thermal paste discution! Just saying :p
     
    Chevalr1c, Devon68 and Jetster say thanks.
  24. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3,256 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,457
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    well your error brought us on this ... and my P4 pics was a attempt to re drive the topics on the initial rails ... just saying... :roll:

    so then the IHS is convex .... good intel good ... tsk, well i think you are right ... since the copper part have also the same sanding trace as the rest (initial post corrected.)
    i really have to test out that CPU with a good 478 mobo ( and not the crappy MSI i have )

    meanwhile in my scope (quadro 2 and X700 AGP the X700 was bought 1$ for replacing a dead X800 in a friend PC ... heck i am idiot now that i think of is i could have given him my X800GT or even the X1950GT)
    738459412_2_Big.jpg ati-club-radeon-x700-128mb.jpg 740494448_2_Big.jpg
    ELSA Gloria ... i hope no other spot it...
    740249488_3_Big.jpg grafikkarte-elsa-gloria.jpg

    and this .... (that one if they go to someone else than me ... i might ... ah whatever ... the joy of auctioning system ... eh?)
    alte-cpu-prozessoren-fuer-sammler.jpg
     
    Doc41, 9700 Pro, Chevalr1c and 4 others say thanks.
  25. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3,256 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,457
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    double post for the win but ...

    test bench of the day and "deception".

    ok X1950GT SIS600 crappy MSI board and the unknown P4
    P_20140724_173609_HDR.jpg P_20140724_173713_NT.jpg
    HDD ODD WIN XP HOME and ... eh? weird PSU positioning .. (yep it's my custom blue led fan modded LC-Power P(OS)SU )
    P_20140724_173616_HDR.jpg P_20140724_173656_HDR.jpg

    well result : it's just a plain P4 2.66/512/533 like the original one i had on that board (not sanded) humpf ... i wonder if i should try my P4 HT Ex 2.8/512/800 or the 2.8/1m/800 ... i think the mobo can't handle them so i need to hunt for a new-old one
     
    Doc41 and stinger608 say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page