1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Awesome! :toast: :rockout:


    I sold two more HPs yesterday (actually for a good bit more than was originally planned) so an IVB i7 w/ perhaps a GPU looks to be in my future :)
     
    stinger608 and Daimus say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,859 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,547
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Gigabyte 7950 Windforce arrived today, so I threw that in my 2600K rig and am installing drivers now. For some reason, that rig has been freezing randomly for the last few months after I moved it up to work, even with different RAM and HDD, and lowering the OC to 4GHz didn't help. I'll have to keep an eye on it and see what it does with a real video card installed now.

    Also, my mATX 3770K rig went down due to an apparently loose SATA cable (thought the 80GB drive crapped out, but it is up and SMART is clean). That rig will get the 7970 when it arrives on Wednesday.

    EDIT: I got a GHz edition 7950 when it was advertised as 900MHz. :O
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2013
    [Ion] says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    That's a very sizable boost that you have coming! :respect: :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,859 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,547
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I'd love to see it go into action right now, but I took the app_config from my desktop and the scheduler won't give me any ATI tasks. :(
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I've found that BOINC has to get as many CPU tasks as it wants, and then it will generally start getting ATI WUs. At least that's what happened when I put the HD7930 in the Xeon setup.
     
    Jstn7477 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,661 (8.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,603
    FYI on the HCC wu's.... If you want all GPU work then change the CPU setting from Yes to No in the WCG profile for the rig.

    [​IMG]

    Saw this tip on a post by Old Chap @XS (don't remember where)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Clever :toast:

    I like to allow CPU work to run just in case there are issues w/ BOINC :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,859 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,547
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    The Gigabyte 7950 is pumping out WUs now. I almost want to swap my XFX 7950 for this one because this card has a 1GHz BIOS and the VDDC under full load is like 1.22v, so I could probably completely avoid Afterburner and just use AMD Overdrive. Temperature is 52c at 35% fan speed. Tell you what, I wish I had bought this over the XFX because this card was cheaper (now) and I didn't have to buy an $80 cooler just to make it run properly.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,054 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,155
    I did that until I found out that I was running 11 WUs, 10 GPU and one CPU :eek:

    It did NOT improve my output.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,454 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,581
    Say I run 12 wu's on my 7970, and I have that 13th wu that is cpu only... If I turn off that 13th cpu only wu I will get higher output?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,054 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,155
    Yes, unless you have plenty of CPU power (one thread per GPU or something close to that). I only have a slow i7 920. The one extra thread would make 500 PPD but it steals from the more profitable GPU units. Don't ask me why it suddenly started doing that. I have for weeks received HCC1 units for CPU and they just stayed there until I deleted them but as soon as it saw a DSFL unit it began running it.
     
    james888 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,841 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,294
    I need some advice on trying to get a cruncher stable. I have an AMD rig as follows:

    Phenom II x4 910e
    MSI 770 chipset mobo
    Sapphire Vapor-X 7770
    MSI 7770
    2 x 2GB Micron DDR3-1333

    I can run the mobo just fine with vid card "A" and it runs fine with vid card "B" but if I put both in the mix it locks up in less than five minutes. I haven't messed around with any AMD stuff (besides my home server, which was plug & go), so I'm not sure if I need to adjust some voltages or any other setting in the BIOS.

    Any thoughts? I'm lost ATM... :(
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    What's the PSU? And do you know that both PCIe slots are stable? (try using just one card in the second slot)
     
    t_ski says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,607 (10.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,102
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Same here, what PSU is it running?
     
    t_ski says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,841 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,294
    It's using the BFG I got from you :)

    As far as knowing if both slots are stable, I'd have to try one of the cards in the bottom slot by itself. I had the MSI in the top slot and it was fine, but I took the MSI card down to the bottom slot since it was smaller and needed the extra room to maneuver the PCIe cable. I put the Sapphire 7770 in the top slot and tried to run them both, then saw lockups. I took out the MSI card that I knew was working fine before to run just the Sapphire card (so I knew it was fine) and it was going strong all night long when I checked it this AM. I can try putting one of them into the bottom slot tonight (maybe) and see if it changes. Also, I'm using the 12.11 betas I'm using on all my other rigs ATM.

    This is the board I got from the Mad Shot, if he wants to add anything...

    EDIT: Here's the model of mobo:

    http://us.msi.com/product/mb/770-G45.html

    I've tried two different sets of ram, too: the Micron DDR3-1333 in it right now and a set of Corsair XMS-1600.
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I'd test out just a single card in the bottom slot. IIRC, that PSU is a ~600w model, even if it's not the fanciest one. So I'd imagine it should work just fine with that setup. What if you try another stress-test (Furmark, or a game supporting Crossfire)
     
    t_ski says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,841 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,294
    Will give it a shot when I have a chance. :toast:
     
    [Ion] says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    :toast:
    And can we count on the tri-HD7970 rig for the duration of the competition?
     
    t_ski says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,859 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,547
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Reference 7970 showed up today in like an 18in x 20in x 20in box. Doing 10 WUs at 925/1375 with 70c core/45c VRM temp at 35% fan speed. Waiting on sluggish MSI Afterburner to finish downloading DirectX so I can play with the clocks.

    I have to say Gigabyte 7950 Windforce is a hell of a card for $299. Has all 7 GPU phases with 3 "low RDS(on)" MOSFETs per phase, a 1000/1250 1.25v BIOS (was advertised as a 900MHz card) with 1200/1575 limits, and runs at a cool 53c @ 1150/1500 (might be able to do 1200). The only downsides I see are the high voltage (especially if the chip doesn't do 1200) and there is no MOSFET cooling (they run at 65c under full crunching load).
     
    Daimus says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  20. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,454 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,581
    I began crunching, not for wcg or tpu, with my 9800gt. I still have that thing sitting around. Think I should get it running? The fan is stuck at 100% so I don't think I will.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,497 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,598
    Okay folks, we are on the front page:toast:
    We will most likely need to help new users set-up BOINC. So be prepared to help:)
     
    stinger608, [Ion], Norton and 2 others say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Unfortunately, WCG doesn't support G92 cards. You could set it up for FAH, however.
    :D :toast: :rockout: :toast:

    Awesome! Thanks BTA! :D

    I'm setting up a few more rigs for the contest--a pair of E8400s, an E6400, and an X2 ~2.3GHz :toast:
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2013
    james888 and stinger608 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,863 (4.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,416
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Okay let me make sure I got this right. You installed the Msi card first. ran the rig all was good. Then moved the Msi card to the bottom pci e slot and installed the other card at the same time and started getting lock ups. Did you install the Sapphire card by itself at anytime prior to running both cards? If not that may be your problem. See you swapped out the main gpu and installed a second gpu at the same time. I think it is freaking out trying to install the sapphire card as primary and the msi card as slave at the same time. when ever I do a multi gpu rig I install the main card first and let the rig settle for a min. Then install the slave card. Also does the rig see both cards and also does it lock only when running boinc? Is it stable in windows and other things? Are the cards crossfired? I don't think it's a hardware issue as I played with that board with 2 3650's just to make sure they crossfired and didn't have an issue but things can change. If for some reason it does turn out to be a board problem let me know and I will swap boards with you (I will send you my 870-g45). My 870 was running my Hd4870's in crossfire for awhile until I got my 7850. Now it is running the GTX 240 I got from you.
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2013
    t_ski says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,841 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,294
    Maybe, but not yet. Life is still keeping me busy and other things take priority :(

    yep
    yep
    yep
    nope
    will try that later when I get a chance to dink around with it
    yep
    yep, but I've only used it to run BOINC ;)
    IDK (see above)
    nope
    :respect: :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,863 (4.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,416
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I think if I understand correctly that you have the sapphire card in it now and it's running fine. If so I would just pop the msi card back in the lower slot and see how it does now since the Sapphire card is now installed fully.
     
    t_ski says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page