1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's WCG/BOINC Team

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. agent00skid

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    525 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    322
    Nah. I'm running POEM@home as well, and that's where all my points go. :p
    Along with my very own POEM pie. :p

    [​IMG]
    Chevalr1c, Norton and Arjai say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,246 (3.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    So I bought a 32gb usb 3.0 drive. It says it will have 150mb/s read and about 50 write. Actually kinda cheap if it gets those speeds. Should arrive later today. I am going to play with a Ubuntu/mint install on there with WCG. Maybe a bit more.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,374 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,932
    Location:
    Mexico
    Brought down one of the 8350s yesterday. I'm gonna have some expenses soon so I'll need a little more money than usual.

    I'll try to "host" it at work ;)
    Vinska says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Curiouser and curiouser...so I left the AMD 4P running Ubuntu with BOINC suspended, and it ran fine. I re-enabled WCG, expecting tha tit would have crashed by the time I got back from class. Not so. It's still going. WU times are highly variable (running SN2S exclusively for now, and time/WU is anywhere from 40 minutes to 1hr 30 minutes) but it hasn't locked up. I'll see what it does over night... :eek:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,246 (3.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    [​IMG]
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,768 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,294
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Are you problems related to power management? I shut all power management options off on all my desktop rigs. No sleep modes no nothing and I manually turn monitors off.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,275 (8.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,304
    Sorry guys I fell asleep early last night :eek:

    Will get the Stones and Pie posts out later today or will combine them on tonights post...

    @Ion- you pulled over 7k yesterday on the 4P, not bad for just starting out! :cool:
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Nah, it's all turned off. This time the 4P setup made it until about 5AM before it locked up. I'll see what it does today, but if it locks up again, I'm going to reinstall on another disk to see what that does.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,128 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,337
    I assume that the KIev machine has multiple IMCs/NBs, so make sure you run Ubuntu server. Or if you have the time/skills, install Gentoo and configure the kernel for NUMA setups (there may be other requirements, but I lack the knowledge/skill to give all the requirements for running Linux on that rig).
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Yes, Kiev is the 4 CPU Opteron system. I didn't know that I would need Ubuntu Server--I'll give that a shot.

    Thanks! :toast:
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,865 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    Bahahaha... install Gentoo! I wonder how many people know why I'm laughing.

    Anyways I stabilized the Q6600 at 3.6. Temps are 68C while crunching right now, and 73c during prime95. These temps are a little high for a Q6600 though... I might scale back to 3.2, it was a bit more manageable there.
    Norton says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,774 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,482
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I had Gentoo auto-installed on a VPS once, and I broke it in less than an hour. I somehow managed to break the network connectivity using emerge to update the install, and I could only VNC into it (it was a Xen virtualized install). Got rid of it for Debian and no problems since.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  13. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I've installed Ubuntu Server on the AMD 4P setup with the Xubuntu desktop interface. So far, it's doing OK. I'll see how it goes as time progresses :toast:
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,768 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,294
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    My i7 is now under Ubuntu. Al the wu's finished under win7 today so I swapped in the Ubuntu drive I setup for it and logged into boinc. All is going good.
    Norton says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Awesome! Let's hope it does great!
    ThE_MaD_ShOt says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,275 (8.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,304
    :toast: It's on now! :D

    My Ubuntu rig isn't reporting automatically :wtf:

    IS there a setting I missed or any way of adding in a cc_config file so I can have it report results immediately? I'm using Ubuntu 12.04 LTS atm.

    @ Ion is you're still having issues, try this Linux install guide for F@H over at [H]*:
    http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1601608

    * This is how F150's 4P was setup and I believe that Buck Nasty used the same guide and if it works for F@H it will work for WCG.
    ThE_MaD_ShOt says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  17. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,768 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,294
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I was actually going to ask if anyone has figured out how to make the Linux version update automatically. I know with my previous Ubuntu rigs that they almost seemed to learn to do a finale update around 7pm after I manually dumped them for several days at that time. Maybe this weekend I will dig into it and see if I can find what to change.

    Also I am running 13.04 and I just ran a base install and only installed Chrome and Boinc.
    Norton says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,774 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,482
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Some plumbing company my neighbor hired cut my FiOS line this morning, so I'm tethering my desktop through an ancient Vista laptop's Ethernet and a wireless connection to my 4G LTE smartphone for internet atm. :banghead:
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  19. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    lol

    I've noticed that my AMD 4P setup is erroring on WUs--not a lot, but maybe 1 of 15 or thereabouts. Time/WU is also highly variable--looking at the completed ones ATM, it's anywhere from 33 minutes to 1hr58 minutes (SN2S only). But it has been running for nearly 12 hours at this point with no hard lockups, so I'll take what I can get.
    james888 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Well, the 4P still locked up over night, even with the Ubuntu Server install on the new SSD--it got about 17 hours before going bad. I'm going to try disabling BOINC and then leaving it for a day to see what happens then.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,736 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,164
    What are these disk space errors about? I have over 90GB free on the drive with the programdata folder on it and almost 120GB on the OS/Program Files drive. I increased my disk space usage from 10GB to 20GB and clicked "do network communication" but the messages are still there.

    [​IMG]
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,410 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,974
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Is your set like this?

    [​IMG]
    t_ski says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,128 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,337
    Disable SATA hotplugging and SATA link power management in the BIOS. Else SSDs tend to act funnily (at least mine).
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,736 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,164
    Mine were set to the defaults, which were far more limiting. I changed from 10GB to 20GB, then closed and reopened the clietn and they seem to have gone away. Just seems weird that I got them all of a sudden when I've been doing this for almost a year.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,410 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,974
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I just installed my H50 on my I7-920 today and it has dropped temps by about 8 degrees from the evercool transformer 4. I am going to leave it stock for tonight to let it break in and see what it will do at 3.8Ghz tomorrow
    Norton and ThE_MaD_ShOt say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page