1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

VBE7 - vBIOS Editor for Radeon HD 7000 series cards

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by darkhmz, Aug 16, 2013.

  1. darkhmz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Messages:
    81 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Hungary
    Download links can be found at the bottom of this post

    Hi!


    After a few weeks of developing / testing / tweaking, - and with the help of a guy (DroiDMester) who has BIOS modding experience - here is a small utility which lets you modify your Radeon HD 7000 series card's BIOS (HD 7790 not supported).


    With this tool you will be able to
    • Change Vendor ID / Subsystem ID (not recommended)
    • Change clocks and voltages
    • Change OverDrive's core clock and memory clock limits, TDP limit, power limit
    • Make custom fan profile


    There are some limitations though...
    • You cant change 2D / UVD voltages
    • You cant set 2D / UVD clocks higher than the values stored in BIOS (these limitations are intentional, without these limits powerplay would go nuts...)
    • The following voltage regulators are fully supported: CHL822x, CHL8214, UP1637, UP1801, ST6788A, VT1556M
    • For unknown voltage regulators, you can select voltage from a predefined table.


    When you open a file, the first thing you'll see is the Overview panel with some information about the loaded BIOS


    [​IMG]

    ...including BIOS version, Device ID, VRM type, memory type(s) supported by BIOS etc...



    Notes regarding the 3D voltage(s) displayed on the PowerPlay panel


    [​IMG]

    VBE7 shows the first entry of the voltage table, which is the highest voltage (for the lowest ASIC quality). So, for example, if your GPU's ASIC quality is 85%, and needs 1050mV, but the first entry of the voltage table is 1188mV (70.9% ASIC quality), the displayed value would be 1188mV. You'd expect 1050mV but its not a problem, because if you edit the voltage, VBE7 modifies all entries of the table, which means the GPU will get the voltage you set, regardless of ASIC quality.

    Also, since its not possible to adjust voltage by 1mV steps, VBE7 recalculates the value - while taking into account the VRM type - when you leave the edited field.

    If you want to get rid of boost, just make your 3D clocks / voltages equal, thats what i did with my Tahiti LE ;)



    Fan Profile


    [​IMG]

    You can make, save, and load your custom fan profiles.

    A few words about temperature hysteresis... Basically, temperature hysteresis is the fan controller's sensitivity to temperature changes (applied to decreasing temperatures only). For example if the controller has a hysteresis of 6°C, and the last fan speed change was at 72°C, the fan speed wont chage while the temperature is higher than 72-6 (66°C). Without hysteresis, the fan speed would change too frequently, which is really annoying.



    New Fan Profile Editor in version 0.0.7


    [​IMG]



    How to use
    • Save your BIOS with GPU-Z
    • Open with VBE7
    • Modify
    • Save
    • Think twice before flashing
    • Flash your modified BIOS either with atiflash or atiwinflash (preferably atiflash)
    • Reboot


    Please read the following before you give it a go
    • This is a new software so even though it worked for me and some others, i cant guarantee it will work for you as well. USE IT AT YOUR OWN RISK!
    • Dont forget to make backup of your original BIOS
    • Use it only if you know what you're doing, and if you can recover from a bad BIOS flash if something goes wrong...
    • This software is not foolproof, use it carefully
    • Modifications only affect the legacy BIOS, and after saving, UEFI image will be disabled (in case you have UEFI vBIOS)
    • If you're experiencing problems with your modified BIOS, please post your original and modified files.
    • Note to crossfire users: it is strongly recommended to disable ULPS before BIOS flashing


    Changes in version 0.0.4
    • added voltage control support for VRMs reported as unknown


    Changes in version 0.0.5
    • added support for Volterra VT1556M


    Changes in version 0.0.6
    • now VBE7 recalculates the BIOS checksum, no need to use the -f (force flashing) parameter


    Changes in version 0.0.7
    • new fan profile editor
    • modifiable power limits


    Changes in version 0.0.7a
    • Fixed a bug in the fan profile editor


    Changes in version 0.0.7b
    • Fixed some bugs


    Ive attached the executable, a comparison picture of my card's original and modified BIOS, two GPU-Z shots showing modified clocks in action, and a picture of od window...
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 14, 2014
    Dimitris56, evlew, hitem13 and 58 others say thanks.
  2. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,878 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,619
    How did you manage to work around the digital signature requirement for the overdrive section?
     
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  3. darkhmz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Messages:
    81 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Hungary
    I didnt do anything related to digital signature, I just modify the values and it works with no problems.
     
  4. Pixrazor

    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    Messages:
    45 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    MADAGASCAR, Antananarivo
    please can you extend the voltage regulator support, mine is reported as unknown :respect:
     
  5. darkhmz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Messages:
    81 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Hungary
    I'm afraid only the types mentioned above will be supported. I might look into it later though.
     
    Pixrazor says thanks.
  6. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Will be trying this out with VaporX hd7950. Thanks. :)
     
  7. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,943 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,066
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Tested on v1.0 (2x 6-pin, 900/1250 @ 0.900 V) Gigabyte 7950 WindForce (F2 non-UEFI BIOS originally). Card already tested to have full software voltage control on original BIOS and other non-BOOST/BOOST BIOSes.


    Power Limit(to 225) and voltage increases(to 1.182 V) work fine with Catalyst 13.6 B2 drivers. Haven't checked other drivers or other BIOSes for this card.

    1.182 V gives 1.162 V idle, 1.112 V loaded, measured via multimeter.

    Entering values and hitting "enter" on keyboard makes GUI tabs go blank, but moving to other tab, then going back to modified tab, shows changes made. Had to manually flash BIOS via DOS.
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2013
    Frogger and darkhmz say thanks.
  8. darkhmz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Messages:
    81 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Hungary
    Thanks for the bug report, ive fixed it...
     
  9. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,180 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
    I needed something to play with this wkend Thanks :D ;)
     
  10. thesmokingman

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    23 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Nice work darkmhz. :rockout:
     
  11. darkhmz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Messages:
    81 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Hungary
    Added overdrive window picture to 1st post, showing modified od limits (3000/3000/42).
     
  12. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,909 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    Card is a Gigabyte 7970 OC 3GB Windforce rev 2.1 I used this bios: http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=4290#bios and it worked perfectly but didn't like the new native memory overclock at 1500. It would crash unless I used CCC to lower the memory to original 1375. I'd like to change it down to 1375 (stock for card) in the bios so I don't need to rely on software underclocking. Do I just load the ghz bios and change all the 1500 mentions back to 1375 on the performance and UVD screens?

    What does UVD panel mean?

    To disable boost, set #6 and #0 to same settings in the performance window?

    Heres what I have it changed to now:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Any issues you guys forsee?
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2013
  13. darkhmz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Messages:
    81 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Hungary
    Hi Vario!

    I'd recommend you to modify your original BIOS. Just change clocks / VDDC to the values you want. The drop-down combo is only to show you what clocks are used in different states. For example if you're watching a HD movie with a player that using hardware acceleration, the clocks listed on the UVD panel will be used.

    Yep, to disable boost, make clocks #6 and #0 equal.

    After you tried it, please let me know if it works, thanks. :)

    btw UVD stands for Unified Video Decoder
     
    Vario says thanks.
  14. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,909 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    I would mod the original bios but it doesn't like my changing the voltage. Core voltage is "locked" in Rev 2.1.


    edit: one small step for man... (gonna test this modbios.rom)...

    edit2: hung in 3dmark11 instantly.

    edit3: remade it without any custom fan profiles or forcing boost and reinstalled the catalyst drivers and ....


    IT WORKS!
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2013
  15. darkhmz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Messages:
    81 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Hungary
    Could you test your clocks / voltage with the GPU-Z render test? Start render test and check your clocks and VDDC. Did you modify VDDC too?
     
    Machineghost7 and Vario say thanks.
  16. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,909 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    Just did the render test, it passed, started up 3dm11 and it is running now, its working great I think! When I made a second modbios.rom this time I just changed the memory clock only, nothing else. No Boost vs non boost stuff. I think it was either the drivers or forcing boost 100% of the time.
     
    darkhmz says thanks.
  17. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,909 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/7031098

    Thanks so much for this tool! :toast:

    P9823 with AMD Radeon HD 7970(1x) and Intel Xeon Processor E3-1230V2

    Graphics Score
    10219

    Physics Score
    9239

    Combined Score
    8218



    Graphics Card
    AMD Radeon HD 7970
    Vendor
    Unknown
    # of cards
    1
    SLI / CrossFire
    Off
    Memory
    3,072 MB
    Core clock
    1,100 MHz
    Memory clock
    1,375 MHz
    Driver name
    AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series
    Driver version
    12.104.0.0
    Driver status
    FM Approved

    heres my old score: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/6989036
     
  18. darkhmz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Messages:
    81 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Hungary
    Thanks for your feedback, glad it works. :) Making clocks equal should not cause problems, at least works fine on my Tahiti LE (and many other cards).
     
  19. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,909 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    I am running valley now, it seems stable. I'll keep running benchmarks for a few hours and deem it stable if it passes all.

    edit: testing new fan profiles now. Love how easy your software is to use.
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2013
  20. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,415 (3.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,560
    I am going to try this for fun.

    What is the difference between the two files?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. darkhmz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Messages:
    81 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Hungary
    The difference is that VBE7_staticlib.exe has the required libs compiled into the file. If you try the other version, and your OS complains about missing dll's then try the staticlib version.
     
    james888 says thanks.
  22. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,878 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,619
    I strongly recommend just releasing the static build to public. 2 builds will confuse people and you'll get additional problem reports when people don't have the vc++ runtimes
     
    trodas and darkhmz say thanks.
  23. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,909 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    Are there any advantages to raising the TDP?
     
  24. darkhmz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Messages:
    81 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Hungary
    Good call, already been thinking about that. :) Done, attached only the static build.
     
  25. darkhmz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Messages:
    81 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Hungary
    With the stock BIOS my clocks fluctated between boost and non-boost. I had to increase power limit to 20% to avoid that. Now with my modded BIOS power limit is at 0% and clocks not jumping, no throttling at all.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page