1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Watercooling and lowering my 4770k Temps

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by springs113, Jul 18, 2013.

  1. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    You shouldn't need dual pumps for that small of a loop. A single 120mm+220mm would be enough.
    MT Alex says thanks.
  2. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,730 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,596
    Yeah, dual pumps is an insane recommendation.

    Looks like you are on the right track, spring:toast:
    springs113 says thanks.
  3. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    503 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    so use the smaller 120m to the res? this is the rad
    http://www.performance-pcs.com/cata...=25387&zenid=d538f1666f731cff48e38e02fd02c49f

    I thought I was going custom lol.

    I'm lost...could you please explain?

    To all here's my layout.


    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2013
  4. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    503 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Man I thought I would stop at the original setup I had...but the itch...it got me so to speak.
  5. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    You don't need dual pumps, the setup you have is fine take the loop and go 240mm->pump->res->GPU->120mm that should give the best CPU temps and decent GPU temps.
    springs113 says thanks.
  6. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    503 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    I am not using 2 pumps, my 120 rad is thick too...about 63 mm or almost 2.25 inches
  7. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    That will only help if you run a high static pressure fan (like a 32mm rediculous one). Just run a swifty 120mm extreme smaller lower FPI and better for a smaller quieter loop.
  8. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    503 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    I was told to run the thicker rad to the pump
  9. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,730 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,596
    You'll be fine where ever you decide to put it. Best turn it off and get to rebuilding!
  10. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    503 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    I am on my laptop...with the way i use to build pc's you would think I am a reviewer cause there's at least 8 computers in my household.
  11. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    Only with high static pressure fans. Most of those thick rads perform worse than a standard ran with a normal fan
    springs113 says thanks.
  12. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,181 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    509
    Location:
    GMT +2
    i'd do res>pump>120>gpu>240>res
    i would keep your original case setup and add 120 with fans as back exhaust and res in 5.25 drive bays.
    when you fill in coolant put res above all other parts and start pump. also turn top radiator upside down so that fittings are at the top while filling in. put 120 rad with fittings at the top as well.
    this will minimize chance to get air in loop
  13. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    503 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Do I fill the res to the very top?
  14. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,318 (7.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,774
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    1 CM from the top. Start the pump witha paperclip rig, wait for the loop to fill, then refill the res until 1cm from top again.
  15. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    503 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    I've been running the pump off and on and moving about the rads, and gpu to circulate the flow of the coolant and trying my best to get rid of the remnants of air bubbles. I have not seen any more air bubble over the last minute or so.
  16. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,318 (7.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,774
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Rads are wonderful things!
  17. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,181 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    509
    Location:
    GMT +2
    then it is time for testing





    and results are? ....
  18. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    503 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    I have to move it from my phenom system to the haswell, I hate this process, my jumping of the psu does not work so I test it on my old set up.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
  19. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    503 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    temps are off on the gpu side of things
  20. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,181 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    509
    Location:
    GMT +2
    didnt got this
    you mean gpu temps dropped or cpu dropped but gpu went higher?
    what happened with 4770. its temps was the problem at the beginning
  21. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    503 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    cpu dropped and gpu increased...massively...yea the temps on that was the issue first
  22. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,181 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    509
    Location:
    GMT +2
    hm
    what are parameter of the fan at 120 rad (cfm and mmh20)
    add 2nd fan on 120?
    or try switch rads.
    res>pump>240>gpu>120>res
    springs113 says thanks.
  23. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,494 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,909
    The way you have the tubing connected to the card, are you sure the liquid isn't just passing right through?
    springs113 says thanks.
  24. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,132 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    620
    I agree. looks like its in and out without going through it... usually in is on one side, and out is on the other.
    springs113 says thanks.
  25. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,181 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    509
    Location:
    GMT +2
    eagle eye
    i didnt noticed

    @springs113
    check your gpu connection before
    and new photos few post above
    springs113 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page