1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What are your plans for Windows 8 ?

Discussion in 'TPU Frontpage Polls' started by W1zzard, Nov 3, 2012.

?

What are your plans for Windows 8 ?

Poll closed Dec 18, 2012.
  1. Already using it

    2,380 vote(s)
    20.7%
  2. I'll take a look soon and then decide if it's right for me

    760 vote(s)
    6.6%
  3. I'll upgrade this year

    218 vote(s)
    1.9%
  4. I'll upgrade next year

    421 vote(s)
    3.7%
  5. I'll wait till it's more mature (Service Pack 1)

    972 vote(s)
    8.4%
  6. Too expensive, improvements are not big enough

    898 vote(s)
    7.8%
  7. I don't think I can live with Metro

    5,870 vote(s)
    51.0%
  1. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,469 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    494
    I am seeing some memory issues: Start8 "start menu" sometimes takes seconds to open (mostly quickly after booting, later not)
    AIDA64 test stops when including "stress system memory" in stress test...

    Not accusing MS nor Bill, lol, I am also settting up the Maximus V Extreme with new RAM...
     
  2. TheHunter

    TheHunter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    972 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    369
    Location:
    Europa
    ^
    Aida64 works fine here, maybe its SB issue.


    Start menu is also fast to open here, but i get some stalling by logon password (3-5sec), dunno maybe its my Nod32 security 5 fault (it was fine before i installed it), its not always though well not if i login the same second.


    But i hate UAC, if i disable it completely, and i mean completely, no metro app works (pictures, weather,..).. It says I must enable UAC lol -_-
     
  3. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,161 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    624
    Location:
    Switzerland
    tabtlet, iphone shit... Win7 is good for gaming...
     
  4. Kaleid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    117 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Classic shell doesn't seem to get rid of Metro enough..
     
  5. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,506 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,357
    there are settings where you can disable all of it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. BigMack70

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    506 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    If you want Windows 8 without Metro, why do you want Windows 8? Isn't that kind of like paying $40 for a service pack?

    I dunno maybe I'm missing something about Win8, but it seems to me like the formula is Windows 7 + Metro + some minor features and improvements - Aero = Windows 8
     
  7. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,113 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,238
    Paid around $250 for 7 Ultimate. Tell me why I need the next version. Will it have all the old drivers that I lost when going from XP?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. Jaffakeik

    Jaffakeik

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,608 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    191
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    It sounds you got pretty old hardware at home, if you are concerned about old xp drivers :)

    But I like W8 very much,will stick with it for another 2y.
     
  9. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,468 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    783
    i got my serial yesterday, i just need to install it, when i feel like it, soo many applications i need to reinstall ~.~
     
  10. 1d10t

    1d10t

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Messages:
    193 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    meh,i don't plan any upgrades within 3 years :laugh:
    even with Windows 7 my ESI Juli@ and Echo Mia Midi never had a good time :shadedshu
     
  11. aayman_farzand

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    102 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Already using it and virtually Metro free thanks to Classic Menu and desktop version of softwares :) Did not disable completely in case I ever want to use something from there.

    Reasons for upgrading to 8 without Metro, it's because 8 uses the SSD much better then 7 ever did. Booting is lightning fast now! Performance in games have been up for me, but I do get crashes in BF3 sometimes, hopefully a patch will fix that.
     
  12. Pegas-x

    Pegas-x New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    16 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Interface Metro - it's stupid idea...
     
  13. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,469 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    494
    +1 Aayman

    I am going to nearly completly empty the metro screen, leaving only a couple of things i really want to keep, like weather or news updates.

    I have Start8, will test Classic to make a choice.
     
  14. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,356 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,892
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Using it on one of my systems. So far I am not very impressed. LOL
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  15. sanadanosa

    sanadanosa

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    125 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Semarang, Indonesia
    lockscreen, the stupidest thing ever fitted to a desktop computer
     
  16. ..'Ant'..

    ..'Ant'.. New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    294 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    █♣█
    No thanks I'll stick to Windows 7.
     
  17. caleb

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,551 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    Location:
    Poland,Slask
    Interface needs some work. But I love the idea of being more into applications right away instead of standard human->OS->app way.
     
  18. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,690 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,343
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I disagree. In a profession environment you may sensitive information on your screen. Being able to lock the machine is good and being able to lock the machine after being idle for so long is even better. Windows has been doing this for ages, it just works differently on Windows 8.

    Geared towards tablets and mobiles devices: Yes
    Stupidest thing ever: Absolutely not.
     
  19. sanadanosa

    sanadanosa

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    125 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Semarang, Indonesia
    Yes, but swiping up the screen like on the tablet with mouse, and then enter your password (if the user have it), that's ridiculous.
     
  20. sanadanosa

    sanadanosa

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    125 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Semarang, Indonesia
    ...and yes, stupid way just to enter the bios.
     
  21. Psychoholic

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    517 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    I'm enjoying 8.. really snappy and havnt found anything yet that doesnt work.

    Also, moved my metro screen to my third monitor (That I hardly ever turn on) so i kind of forget its there.

    Didn't install a start menu simply because i have everything i normally use pinned just as i did in 7.
     
  22. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,136 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,771
    Location:
    US
    One reason i will never buy Win8 as it seems like MS are trying to force the Metro crap on to people..

    Sure you can disable it by using a 3rd party app but why the hell should you have to as you even said you were able to disable it before..

    So to me MS can shove there super duper OS up their asses how ever how well it is doing until they start listening to what people want and give us easy ways to pick what WE WANT not what they want..

    Buying Win 8 would only say i am ok with metro when really it's not so..
     
  23. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    Too bad you're the minority.
     
  24. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,593 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    Location:
    Australia
    When they bring back the start button, get rid of Metro and that stupid apps crap then sure ill get Windows 8, till then ill be sticking with 7.
     
  25. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    Or you can go to Ninite.com after you do a fresh installation and include Classic Shell as one of your downloads. Ninite should be every respectable system builder's priority after the OS installation anyway, and an extra click to check off the box for Classic Shell won't kill.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page