1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What monitor connection do you use?

Discussion in 'TPU Frontpage Polls' started by W1zzard, Jul 25, 2012.

?

What monitor connection do you use?

Poll closed Aug 23, 2012.
  1. VGA

    1,405 vote(s)
    15.6%
  2. DVI

    5,055 vote(s)
    56.0%
  3. HDMI

    1,892 vote(s)
    21.0%
  4. DisplayPort

    594 vote(s)
    6.6%
  5. Other

    78 vote(s)
    0.9%
  1. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,540 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    938
    I rarely encounter options like that. Most monitors I've used treat HDMI as something truly different than DVI, yet stop short of offering TV level tweaking options for dealing with it.
     
  2. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,354 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    759
    on my LED monitor i use DVI it also got VGA but i only use that if what i need to test don't got DVI.

    for my HDTV it's HDMI bcs no DVI and no old-schoolar VGA thx u.
     
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,210 (11.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,514
    mine has a setting specifically for HDMI, its called "AV mode" and it screws with overscan, making the screen extremely blurry. my HDTV has a 'game mode' and 'HTPC' mode, with both enabled it fixes all PC issues.


    DVI of course 'just works'.
     
  4. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,040 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    498
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    Why can't we choose more than one option?...:shadedshu

    Main rig

    2x dvi
    1x hdmi
    1x mini display port to vga

    Bedroom rig
    1x hdmi
    1x vga
     
  5. Elmo

    Elmo

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    309 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Hdmi
     
  6. ..'Ant'..

    ..'Ant'.. New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    294 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    █♣█
    Using HDMI plugged to my HDTV.
     
  7. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,989 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    I am using Displayport and MiniDisplayport, love Dell for using this standard :toast:
     
  8. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,108 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    DVI, I have tried every cable I can think of and dvi is just the way to go imo. Quality is there, not like there's much competition..lol.. HDMI is only useful if you want to run audio and video through it.. Same quality in picture from what I'm aware of.. It's just dvi+audio..

    Funny thing is half the people who think they use HDMI are actually using dvi. I think there's a bit of confusion there..
    The gpus now a days offer both hdmi and dvi out. hdmi is the big one, dvi is the little one.. If you run a hdmi to dvi converter though, you are still running dvi and get no audio from it.

    Grats on the new monitor btw..
     
  9. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    DVI. :rockout:
     
  10. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,968 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Ohio
    My monitor has that setting, but it does nothing and there is no HDMI port :laugh:
     
  11. Capitan Harlock

    Capitan Harlock

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    478 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Arcadia
    Hdmi
     
  12. Protagonist

    Protagonist

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    718 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    123
    I use DVI for PC most of the time and HDMI for PS3, at times when i dont use my PS3 i occasionally use the HDMI on my PC, so as i stated i mainly use DVI for my PC


    Oh my Dell SX2210 has 3 inputs and (audio in and out for the HDMI sound) so it has HDMI, DVI & VGA

    HDMI plugged to PS3

    DVI plugged to PC

    VGA plugged to no thing most of the time (Occasionally used)


    Picture quality to all of the inputs are superb no thing to complain about, resolution run at max on all inputs 1920 x 1080, unless i specify otherwise but why would i run lower res anyway
     
  13. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,768 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
    Dvi
     
  14. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    DVI UltraSharp 2209wa
     
  15. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,896 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,673
    Location:
    US
    HDMI from system to AV to HDTV
     
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,210 (11.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,514
    Ummm... DVI is the big one, HDMI is the small one.
     
    imitation says thanks.
  17. The Von Matrices

    The Von Matrices

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,266 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    404
    miniHDMI all the way for me - no annoying screw pins like DVI and VGA. I use miniHDMI to HDMI on all 3 of my ASUS VW266H and I have none of problems reported in this thread. I can only think of two reasons I have no problems: I am using NVIDIA cards whereas all the reported problems in this thread come from AMD cards, and the monitors have the correct EDID profiles.
     
  18. silapakorn

    silapakorn

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    190 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Kinda have to use Display Port. See, I use a 120hz monitor with no dvi port, while hdmi is limited to an older standard. Besides, the only cable that comes with this monitor is DP.
     
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,210 (11.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,514
    HDMI tends to work well on monitors (except the one bug with AMD setting overscan to 15%, but that really is a 10 second fix), its with TV's that HDMI tends to go crap, if its not a big name brand.
     
  20. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,553 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,493
    Location:
    IA, USA
    DVI+VGA. DVI for new computers and VGA for old. KVM manages it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. powerspec New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    37 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    I picked HDMI, but with my 4 screens, 2xHDMI, 1xDVI, and 1xVGA.
     
  22. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,393 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,456
    because of EDID Standards not being fully passed on not known names

    3 Known Monitor companies before dell and apple became a player were

    Samsung, View Sonic, NEC
     
  23. Eroticus

    Eroticus

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    250 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Israel
    DVI :)

    i have bugs with resolution + low frps on HDMI ....

    Example .... Prototype with HDMI lag + 100% gpu using and with DVI works perfect ~.~ 56% gpu use :D
     
  24. TheLostSwede

    TheLostSwede

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    932 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    Mini DP to DVI (via passive adapter) and DVI on my main system, DVI on the GF's system and DVI on my test rig.

    Wish I had a display with native DP, but I guess that'll be the next one...

    HDMI is a consumer electronics interface and should never have been used on computer displays imho...
     
  25. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,635 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,331
    With standard resolution I didn't spot any visual difference between dvi and vga so always use vga only.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page