1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 7 to Pack Virtual Windows XP

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Apr 27, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,568 (11.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,644
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Across generations of its Windows operating systems based on the NT architecture, Microsoft has been courteous enough to pack application compatibility layers that let users run applications in compatibility modes for older versions of the OS. The company seems to be taking this to the next level with Windows 7. The release candidate of the OS slated for April 30, will pack an "XP mode" virtualization feature. The feature quite literally runs a Windows XP environment inside a sandbox complete with support for applications such as Internet Explorer 6, etc.

    The environment will work on a virtual machine created by Windows 7. Native Windows XP applications you install in the environment, along with your documents and settings will further be accessible from the host OS. Client variants of Windows 7 may feature a Hyper-V hypervisor that handles applications such as these. The feature makes Windows 7 especially something to look forward to, for those complaining lack of Windows XP features. In short, it's the OS some probably clung onto, and refused to move to Vista, running as an application.

    [​IMG]

    Sources: CrunchGear, betanews
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2009
    1c3d0g, suraswami, WarEagleAU and 2 others say thanks.
  2. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,568 (11.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,644
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Many Thanks to CrAsHnBuRnXp for sending this in.
     
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,232 (11.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,532
    i'd been expecting this all along, its an obvious way for microsoft to get people to move to a new OS without worrying about compatibility.
     
  4. Weer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,417 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    New York / Israel
    People don't care about compatibility. They care about stability and speed.

    I thought the whole point of Windows 7 was to be a more stable and faster Windows Vista so that the entire "Vista sux, stik with XP" crowd can finally be put to rest.

    That being said, Windows 7 beta has serious compatibility issues even with Windows Vista-compatible applications (Skype doesn't even work).
     
  5. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    Very nice news....shame the RC's dont feature this as one may be worth installing and testing out. :toast:
     
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,232 (11.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,532
    i think its more for the business environment where they may have custom applications that wont work on anything but XP.
     
  7. Weer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,417 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    New York / Israel
    You've not heard of the loud, annoying people who claim that XP is better than Vista?

    I've not heard of any business applications that won't work in Vista. In any case, that would be only a small amount of customers. We're talking about home editions anyway.
     
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,232 (11.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,532
    i've worked in tons of places where they hired someone (usually a uni student) to write software for them, and they've nearly always taken a million shortcuts and it only works on the one OS.
     
  9. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Well I definitely know that all the programs we run at school on the school computers are XP only, or they would have to spend thousands to get the new version that would run in Vista.
     
  10. Weer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,417 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    New York / Israel
    Okay, well, as far as I know most of the business applications I've used have worked with Vista.

    But, I'm talking about the private sector, that make up most of the sales and the consumer base, because the argument is that Vista is slow and unstable, not incompatible.
     
  11. Woody112

    Woody112 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    562 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Florida
    A lot of companies spend a substantial amount of money on business management software tailored to their own business.
     
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,232 (11.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,532
    you're forgetting the most important thing... the people who think vista is slow and nasty are the ones dumb enough to think a virtual XP will still be faster than vista :)
     
    Hayder_Master and tkpenalty say thanks.
  13. uber_cookie

    uber_cookie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    122 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Recession is forcing Microsoft to release fully functioning products ;)
     
  14. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,924 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    386
    You missed this part out it dosent come with the os its a free download

    Paul Thurrott provides an in depth description of the feature:

    XP Mode consists of the Virtual PC-based virtual environment and a fully licensed copy of Windows XP with Service Pack 3 (SP3). It will be made available, for free, to users of Windows 7 Professional, Enterprise, and Ultimate editions via a download from the Microsoft web site. (That is, it will not be included in the box with Windows 7, but is considered an out-of-band update, like Windows Live Essentials.) XPM works much like today’s Virtual PC products, but with one important exception: As with the enterprise-based MED-V (Microsoft Enterprise Desktop Virtualization) product, XPM does not require you to run the virtual environment as a separate Windows desktop. Instead, as you install applications inside the virtual XP environment, they are published to the host (Windows 7) OS as well. (With shortcuts placed in the Start Menu.) That way, users can run Windows XP-based applications (like IE 6) alongside Windows 7 applications under a single desktop.
     
  15. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,252 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    Wow. This is a GREAT feature. True compatitibily rather than semi-compatible profiles.

    Does this allow 32bit XP to run in Win7-64? Great!

    Does this mean MS will supprt XP a little bit longer with security updates and patches? Great!
     
  16. Tau

    Tau New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    821 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Sure vista is slow when you run it on a P4 with a gig of ram. Put it on a decently fast machine and it flys... faster than XP in some cases.
     
  17. Esse

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    107 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Fault on your side then. I use Skype every other day on Windows 7 v7022.

    No compatibility issues I just installed and used it as normal. The only program that hasn't worked for me was an anti-cheat program for an MMO :rolleyes: (they wont fix it till 7 actually comes out).
     
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,232 (11.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,532
    skype works for me 24/7 on build 7000
     
  19. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
    Yes because everyone knows what a decent machine is...

    Windows 7 having this as an extra doesn't persuade anyone to switch from XP to win 7, actually it's for the Vista crowd, think about it. ;)

    I do like Win 7, however disagree with the pricing and class system. Why should there be a business, professional, or ultimate version? That just pushes up development time and costs, and can be reflected in the price and the amount of patching.

    I don't have a solution for making a stable and cheap OS, but teasing customers the way Microsoft do is dangerous with linux/unix flavours catching up and Mac OS becoming more popular (it feels like everywhere I look these crazy Mac people are telling me about how great Apple's products are!).
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2009
  20. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,472 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,481
    this is a nice feature, but they better get the virtualization right for AMD and Intel otherwise this will be a complete and utter waste of time
     
  21. tomkaten

    tomkaten

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    69 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I think I read somewhere it will require Hardware Virtualization, so tough luck for those running E 4xxx Core2 Duos and others that don't support that. What will it do on those processors, I wonder ? Not run ? Still run but with limited functionality ? Will have to wait and see.

    I also wish people would stop complaining about Vista's slowness. All the bad press convinced people that it's much worse than it actually is. As TAU said, it just rocks on a modern machine. It's a new operating system, so it's bound to be a bit ahead of current hardware. Just remember that the same was said about Win 2000 when it came out, then about XP... Of course XP flies on today's hardware, seven years after the OS was launched, DUH !

    I run 64 Ultimate on a C2D E 4500 with 4 GB of RAM and Vista is very fast and stable and looks great. Will probably switch to Win 7 after a service pack or two :)
     
  22. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,232 (11.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,532
    It adds no extra time. They all feature the same core OS, with different features enabled. They make ultimate first (all features) and then cut back/remove then on the lower OS's. Why do you think the betas are all of ultimate?

    Yes it will need hardware support to run fast. even without virtualistion support on the CPU it can still run in emulation, and run "office style" applications fairly fast. Vista runs awesome on modern machines... a celeron with 1GB of ram is not a modern machine, yet they still come bundled with it :(
     
  23. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,635 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,249
    And that's the problem. Even now they sell machines that's not well suited for Vista. A lot of people don't know that, and they don't care about it either, so they're switching back to XP.

    BTW, if the hardware requirements for Win7 are similiar to Vista's, I think it's going to do a lot better.
     
  24. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,232 (11.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,532
    i've seen laptops sold with 512MB of ram and vista basic. terrible, considering the price of ram these days.

    7's hardware requirements are basically the same on paper - in reality it will perform better due to its lower ram overhead. I'm confident the reason this has taken place is that MS wants to see 7 on next generation atom devices, like the eeePC and MSI wind. (this is also why i think they didnt make just an x64 version, those CPU's arent 64 bit)
     
  25. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,021 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    815
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    why dont you get a 64 bit atom or the like?
    anyway interesting feature this, i dont see my self using it tho but a full os built into this os is cool
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page