1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 7 to Pack Virtual Windows XP

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Apr 27, 2009.

  1. chooky New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    23 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    This should make Windows 8 better because they can strip away some of the compatibility layers.
    But watch them stuff it up some other way.
  2. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
    The shops probably wouldn't be able to shift the units if it didn't come with the latest OS.

    I don't believe that Windows 7 has the same problem running on older hardware. I've successfully gotten 7077 to run better on my old pentium m 2.13 w/ ati x300 / 2gb ram than it did on Vista. Aero works fine as well (just turn off fading and animate maximise/minimise windows).

    Just need to get the driver ATI driver properly modded, since the one that came with is 8.12 has performance issues with running in VMR9, so I'm running media in vmr7.
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,152 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,476
    i've got vista running on a 1.6Ghz sempron (skt 754) with 1GB 333Mhz ram and a 256MB radeon 9550.

    No tweaks, other than disabling superfetch, readyboost and indexing (cause the HDD noise was annoying me, mostly) and its running very happily as an internet machine/torrent box. Full aero, if anyone cares.

    Vistas only problem is running less than 1GB of ram for 2D/office use, or less than 2GB for gaming use. When i started using XP (when it was NEW) it was the same thing, only the numbers were 256MB and 512MB.
  4. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    I guess this means 7100 isnt the RC :(
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,152 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,476
    7100 is the RC. this is an optional downloadable extra, so even RTM wont come with it.
  6. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Oh I see, I didnt read the article like that :confused:
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,152 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,476
    it wasnt in the article, it was explained in the comments.
  8. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    bta needs to update with that then.
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,152 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,476
    when RC1 is actually released to the public, i'm sure it will turn up in windows updates.
  10. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,605
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    Are you joking??? I have yet to see a company that has migrated all their client terminals to Vista from XP. And at a national company that I worked helpdesk for still to this day issues their computers to units accessing their infrastructure with XP installed.

    Thanks Mussels. I'd like to add that the above mentioned company I worked for also had a DEV team who modified source code of existing applications and develop applications exclusively for the company brands.
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2009
  11. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,229 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,150


    I care, and the almost 50 PC's and laptops need XP for business software. MS is way wrong on the business side of thigns still, it is almost like they have gotten a Mac system idea, but with super protection everywhere. So the client access and much other software is a bitch to make run on Vista, and I haven't even tried Win7 yet. All the diagnostic software for the engine/controller management requires a direct connection through serial and or USB into a protopcol adapter and the extra layer of security and way the kernel handles things on Vista and Win7 will make it a long time in adoption.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  12. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,847 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,946
    Wait I don't understand, what's the big deal, this was already available in Vista...I use it on an almost daily basis. It is the only way I can play my old 16-bit favorites in Vista x64.

    [​IMG]
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,152 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,476
    in business maybe, but its not here in ultimate.
  14. iStink

    iStink New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    648 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    I don't think anything's wrong with Vista personally. I run a visa machine here at work with an AMD x2 4800 @ 2.5 ghz, and 2gb of ram. It runs perfectly fine. At home I run XP, but only because I felt there was no reason to buy Vista. Not that I don't like Vista, I just don't need to upgrade to it to do what I want with a computer. Windows 7 will be another upgrade I don't need but something I'll do just to stay modern lol.

    When I look at netbooks, I tend to look for an xp system. I just think since it's an older os, it'll run better on the lighter specs of a netbook.

    I remember one of the Mac guys at apple insider told me XP needed the latest and most powerful hardware to run smoothly, and I linked him to a video of a guy running xp just fine on his phone lol.
  15. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,847 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,946
    I said available, not pre-loaded. Any version of Vista(except maybe Home Basic) can already do this. And with Ultimate, you already have the XP licence to do it...

    And remember, Vista Ultimate has all the features from every version of Vista, so if something is in Business it is in Ultimate.

    You would think this, but surprisingly this isn't the case. Vista actually runs better on netbooks than XP does, at least that was my experience, and many of the articles that talk about the subject agree.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,152 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,476
    well, link me to this software for vista then :) i could use a new toy
  17. iStink

    iStink New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    648 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Oh wow ok lol. I'll need to expand my search criteria then, thanks for the info. The large majority of netbooks at newegg run xp, I think that's why I figured it was better.
  18. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,847 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,946
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...02-3199-48A3-AFA2-2DC0B40A73B6&displaylang=en

    There you go, free from Microsoft since 2006.

    It seems all they are doing with Win7 is including this software standard, and a pre-setup Windows XP install. The screenshot even says "Microsoft Virtual PC" at the top. Perhaps they have update Virtual PC to a newer version, hopefully with better hardware integration, but the current version is great for software compatibility issue.
    Mussels says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Very smart and a very good idea. Ive yet to install my copy of 7 but because I dont want to partition. I need to hook up this hard drive and go with it.
  20. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,605
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    I read somewhere that MS actually designed W7 to compete with the netbook market and gain market (if not dominate) share over MAC versions of the netbook not to mention stamp out linux's rise. I actually think I read the article right here on TPU ;)
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,152 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,476
    weee, downloading it now.

    It'll make a nice, virus safe little virtual netbox
  22. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,847 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,946
    That is another reason I use it. Anything I download that is questionable, I just open in there. The virtual computer also integrated onto the network just like another PC would, so it shows up in the router as a seperate PC, and gets its own IP. And any data you want to share between the host PC and the Virtual PC can be done via network shares.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,605
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    There's also VMWare which is also free.
  24. iStink

    iStink New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    648 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    I didn't think of that. There's no way for a program running in the virtual environment to "reach out" to the system and mess anything up?
  25. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    Because, they are cheap, and their system/software is not up to date.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page