1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 8 Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by Dos101, Aug 17, 2012.

  1. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,761 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,052
    Haven't tested yet but I have a warning. Crysis2 with high-res texture pack DX11 is not working in Win8 RP, at least a few weeks ago when I tried to run it.
     
    H82LUZ73 says thanks.
  2. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,841 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,598
    Maybe you need to run as admin?

    October 26





    [​IMG]
    Virgin disk C after Installation. Enterprise 64 bit takes about 11 GB.

    [​IMG]
    Control Panel almost virgin (realtek lol). Enterprise has windows to go. I didn't test it though. I need a bigger flash drive.
     
    stinger608, H82LUZ73 and Jaffakeik say thanks.
  3. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,787 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    Just a heads up for you guys running BF3,I found out this morning that the screen would just go black,So i reinstalled the DX from the install folder ,And it is now working,I think when you install games if the installer runs DX setup for it you have to keep installing it (BF3 one)which is the newest one.But every game needs to run or install some dll file for itself and it breaks the one for BF3.

    Also there is some visal c+++ 08-10 updates for Win8 today.

    office14 installed no problem,Just waiting for the 30+ updates..........

    Crap Of Duty 2 works,had to validate the files and it installed some missing ones :)

    My first run of Vantage in performance mode

    Graphics Card

    Graphics Card
    AMD Radeon HD 6970
    Vendor
    Advanced Micro Devices Inc.
    # of cards
    2
    SLI / CrossFire
    On
    Memory
    3072 MB
    Core clock
    880 MHz
    Memory clock
    1375 MHz
    Driver name
    Driver version
    8.982.0.0
    Driver status
    FM Approved

    Processor

    Processor
    AMD Phenom II X4 965
    Processor clock
    3812 MHz
    Physical / logical processors
    1 / 4
    # of cores
    4

    General

    Operating system
    64-bit Windows 8 (6.2.9200)
    Motherboard
    ASUSTeK Computer INC. M3A79-T DELUXE
    Memory
    4096 MB
    Module 1
    2048 MB Corsair 7 @ 400 MHz
    Module 2
    2048 MB Corsair 7 @ 400 MHz
    Hard drive model
    500GB ST3500630AS

    Detailed scores

    3DMark Score
    22174 3DMarks
    Graphics Score
    29473
    CPU Score
    12722
    Jane Nash
    83.62 FPS
    New Calico
    89.14 FPS
    AI Test
    1651 operations/s
    Physics Test
    19 operations/s
    Texture Fill
    148 texels/s
    Color Fill
    17 pixels/s
    Pixel Shader
    136.41 FPS
    Stream Out
    46.54 FPS
    GPU Particles
    77.4 FPS
    Perlin Noise
    299.7 FPS

    Settings

    Default settings used
    Yes
    Preset
    Performance
    Width
    1280
    Height
    1024
    MSAA
    1
    Texture Filtering
    Optimal
    Anisotropy
    1
    Texture Quality
    Performance
    Shader Quality
    Performance
    Shadow Shader Quality
    Performance
    Shadow Resolution Quality
    Performance
    Post Processing Scale
    1:2
    PPU Disabled
    true
    PPU Used
    false
    Disable Bloom
    false
    Disable Streaks
    false
    Disable Anamorphic Flare
    false
    Disable Lens Flare
    false
    Disable Lenticular Halo
    false
    Disable Motion Blur
    false
    Disable DOF
    false
    Disable Fog
    false
    Disable Color Noise
    false
    Flush On Low FPS
    false
    Fixed Framerate
    false
    GPU Count
    2
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2012
    Dos101 says thanks.
  4. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,194 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,711
    So has anyone noticed any FPS increase with something like BF3 or is it about the same as Windows 7?
     
  5. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,352 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,881
    Location:
    Wyoming
    You can add me to the list. However you might have to start a new category as I am rocking it on my Laptop with Windows 8 Enterprise Retail!!!

    Yep, it is not the trial, RTM, or an OEM version. This is the real deal. :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,841 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,598
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2012
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
  7. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,132 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,322
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Been playing with the RTM at work and its pretty slick. I like it more then the Release Preview.

    Its actually about 5% worse do to Windows 8 drivers really are not there for both AMD and Nvidia. By the time Retail releases and Nvidia and AMD release new WHQL drivers performance should be the same if not better. Itll most likely be a bit better.
     
  8. TotalChaos

    TotalChaos New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    737 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    590
    The latest 12.8 Catalyst drivers are WHQL for Window 8

    [​IMG]
     
  9. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,352 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,881
    Location:
    Wyoming
    I am personally running an Nvidia system in my laptop. The 302.80 drivers don't seem to be WHQL drivers. Have not gamed on it yet.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  10. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,132 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,322
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Yeah, but they are no where near what they will be. Theres a reason why the OS's go RTM. So that companies can make their drivers for the final build, and make the best ones they can possible for retail launch day.
     
  11. Dos101

    Dos101

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    569 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    I've added the link to the OP, good find!

    Like Drone said, October 26 is the retail release. From what we have seen so far it looks like MS has only announced pricing for the upgrade versions of Windows 8. Full versions will probably be announced closer to release date.

    I might just download the Enterprise evaluation just to try the Windows To Go feature. Really curious about it.

    I'll be doing some testing tomorrow with a few games and I'll post my results here.

    Awesome man! Kinda makes me regret I didn't get the Professional Technet subscription :(

    I'm running 304.79 since 302.80 would crash on me every once in a while. Can't wait for the WHQL drivers as well, but knowing nvidia we might be waiting a while.
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2012
    NHKS and stinger608 say thanks.
  12. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,841 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,598
    This can go to applications section. Microsoft Office 2013 Customer Preview (Professional Plus)

    Microsoft Office 2013 32 bit

    Microsoft Office 2013 64 bit

    It's freeware and valid till June 2013 (without limitations, full version)

    Key

    You can get your key there for free. You just need hotmail account.
     
    Dos101 and MxPhenom 216 say thanks.
  13. Dos101

    Dos101

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    569 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Thanks! :toast: Added it. Funny I'm running the preview but I completely forgot about it.
     
  14. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,841 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,598
  15. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,132 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,322
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Awesome thank you! I was about to install my 2010 version after getting my new SSD, but I wanted this one!
     
  16. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,787 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    To be honest it loads much faster using a sata2 hd and old hardware (see system specs)It also feels less laggy to me.I played maybe 20 mins yesterday And about 1 1/2 On Thursday night when i finally got it working.

    Reason why I posted the 3dmark11 result was it actually scored about 300 points higher then under Win7,For some reason though 3dMark website lost all my old results(up until 12.6 cats remember they have been beta since)Shame too is I think my highest run was 17081-17145 Under 3dmark11 in Win7.

    Okay I just found my old results and the 3dMArk11 score1 is win7 and Score 2 is Win8(boy I had vantage and 11 mixed up lol My bad )

    3dMark11 score s
    Result details
    Score 1
    P7954 3DMarks
    Score 2
    P7857 3DMarks
    Its about 95-98 points behind with gen1 cats.So in about 2-3 months it has potential to increase.

    Okay here is Vantage Score1 is Win8 and score2 Win7,I do have a Win7 22751 score but It shows my cards were over clocked.The 21912 is with stock clocks.


    Score 1
    P22017 3DMarks
    Score 2
    P21912 3DMarks

    Again it seems as if the cats under Win8 are not up to par.Maybe you green users will have better results .
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2012
  17. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    My Dad bought a new HP PC that came with Windows 8 upgrade for 14.99, he doesn't plan to upgrade, so I registered my email to be notified when the 14.99 upgrade is ready. Hopefully it will work on my PC, $25 saved would be nice.

    I think I will just do a complete re-install with Win8 whenever that 14.99 upgrade becomes available, to avoid any issues.
     
  18. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,787 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    those upgrade disks still need to find the old setup.exe to prove you have an old Windows ver?I remember my 98 upgrade would need me to put the 95 cd or disk1 from 3.11 Work groups. in and it would let me do a clean install.
     
  19. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    I planned to upgrade from win 7 to win 8, then backup win 8 to a disc write down my new win 8 key, and re-install it all fresh. That's the plan anyway, but plans do change. I don't want to encounter any issues, and I think a fresh install and not just an upgrade is the best way to do that.
     
    H82LUZ73 says thanks.
  20. NHKS

    NHKS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    596 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    hi, I haven't tried Win8, yet.. have been reading all the mixed reviews/feedback around it.. although I am happy with Win7 on desktop, I am willing try it out soon on my laptop.. but for those who have already spent some time, u might want to reply to this : http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=170728
     
    Dos101 says thanks.
  21. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,787 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    Does Anyone know where to Share themes? beside Defiant-rat or Art.....I made a TPUBF3 theme and a Gilles theme.(Gilles as in the F1driver)
     
  22. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,841 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,598
    H82LUZ73 do you have a hotmail account? If you do you can use skydrive.live.com
    Just sign in with your account and upload any file you want. If I understood you right.
     
    H82LUZ73 says thanks.
  23. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,787 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    Damn that is cool,Also very quick and you get 7gig in storage sweet.

    Someone please let me know if this works.Jut the 2 TPUBF3 themes i made ,Will work under Win7 too.Waiting on Word from the actual guy who took most Gilles Villeneuve`s pic`s from 77-May8 1982:(.Yes the Same guy if you have the 1996 Canadian Issued stamps,It will Be Allan De Palnte

    https://skydrive.live.com/redir?resid=ECC9FE2464CDAAD9!357&authkey=!AKEJEsIzR0rT0k4
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2012
  24. Dos101

    Dos101

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    569 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Skydrive is AWESOME! I love being able to sync/recover settings through it. I'm glad Microsoft has finally made it useful lol. Free space on the cloud is never bad either.

    EDIT: just tested the theme packs for you. Both seem to work for me :toast:
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2012
    H82LUZ73 says thanks.
  25. Dos101

    Dos101

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    569 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Half-Life 2: Lost Coast, and Mafia 2 bench comparison

    So I ran the benchmark for HL2: Lost Coast and Mafia 2 and did a comparison between Windows 7 and 8. Here's the test parameters and benchmark results (note that the Mafia 2 benchmark recognizes Windows 8 as Windows 7 Business):

    Test Setup

    Mid-2010 15" MacBook Pro

    Intel Core i5 M 540 - 2.53GHz
    8GB DDR3 1066MHz RAM
    nVidia GeForce 330m GT 256MB
    750GB WD Caviar Black HDD
    Widows 7 Ultimate and Windows 8 pro - both 64bit
    Windows 7 video drivers: 304.79
    Windows 8 video drivers: 304.79

    tl;dr

    Windows 7 Half-Life 2: Lost Coast - 113.89 fps
    Windows 8 Half-Life 2: Lost Coast - 111.16 fps

    Windows 7 Mafia 2 - 12.1 fps
    Windows 8 Mafia 2 - 12.1 fps

    I ran the Mafia 2 benchmark in both Windows 7 and Windows 8 three times, but got the same result each time which was very weird.


    Settings for Half-Life 2: Lost Coast

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    Half-Life 2: Lost Coast Windows 7 Results

    [​IMG]


    Half-Life 2: Lost Coast Windows 8 Results

    [​IMG]



    Settings for Mafia 2

    [​IMG]


    Mafia 2 Windows 7 Results

    [​IMG]


    Mafia 2 Windows 8 Results

    [​IMG]
     
    NHKS and H82LUZ73 say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page