1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    That's some deep pockets you got there.
    :twitch:

    Those are all great cards, two 480's would be epic.:rockout:
  2. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,710 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    two 480s? Take it you don't care that everyone else in Brazil would be without electric when your gaming?
  3. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    You made a great choice, there are few things that I hate more than ATI drivers :mad:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,854 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    272
    Location:
    Brasil
    Electricity here is cheap. All hydroelectric.
  5. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,894 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    No the HSF has got an CM R4 in it as the cpu usually sit around 3.2GHz and is folding it gets a bit to warm to run passive
  6. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,894 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    It'd be the same here except our Govt has no balls and signed up to the ETS (emissions trading scheme):nutkick: now the power companies think that's a good enough reason to up the prices by 20~30% :wtf: If only we could harness all the methane coming off of the cow shit from dairy farms we'd be sweet
  7. stevednmc

    stevednmc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    916 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    nebraska
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  8. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,894 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,706 (11.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,223
    unless you have a dual GPU card, they tend to be problem free.
    [Ion] and eidairaman1 say thanks.
  10. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,156 (13.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,608
    I never understood the "bad ATi drivers" thing. I have Catalyst drivers going back to 6.9's. There were some bad releases here and there but an older driver fixed that. ATi drivers have gotten much better too with the ability to overclock and have fan control with CCC. Granted, I never really had a problem with a Nvidia driver either. Perhaps it's just a popular thing to say or some people just don't understand the importance of removing older drivers from differently branded cards. Even then, I have both ATi and Nvidia display drivers installed on my machine with no issues. So, maybe I've just been lucky all these years. :ohwell:
  11. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,629 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,279
    rly? never seem to have any problems with them.
  12. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (12.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,224
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I used to install new drivers without cleaning out old ones back in the days when I wasn't so familiar with the driver cleaning stuff. However, I never ever had a problem. I have had a 9800GX2 and now 8800GTS's in SLI and never an issue. So either or, guess I've been lucky too!
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,156 (13.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,608
    I was referring more towards switching from Nvidia to ATi and vice versa. Perhaps it's certain driver combinations that fail due to some major change in the driver or something. Idk.. I've been wanting some new Nvidia cards, or better yet something with two GPU's on a PCB. Hopefully my luck won't run out. :D
  14. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (12.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,224
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Well even when doing that I didn't have any issues. I went from C/F'ed 4870's to GX2, then back to 4850's C/F'ed then now to my 5770's C/F'ed. But I've been back and forth, never an issue bro.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,024 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    673
    Neither :( ... I've had both SLI and crossfire both are as much of a hassle as each other... and both have no problems on single card.

    But I'd prefer ATI when it comes to single card since I'm more familiar with using it and really do appreciate the overwrite installation process. I'd prefer Nvidia for vsync and AA tho...
  16. ConstDinoC7

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    New Project Alive Soon ;)

    The Case is not in the photo. Im goin to use the CoolerMaster Cosmos S with the window.

    Only thing missing: Nozzles and tubing. Im goin to order 1/2 ID.

    The only thing you can't see is the 2 XSPC RX 360 and 120 radiators at the back.

    If you wanna find more check the full specification list.

    DSC01284.jpg DSC01285.jpg DSC01283.jpg DSC01280.jpg DSC01281.jpg DSC01282.jpg DSC01279.jpg DSC01278.jpg
  17. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,007 (5.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    here is the rig. I redid the water cooling and took out the top rad. It LOWERED temps alittle
    [​IMG]

    while i had the water cooling out i thought what the hell lets have some fun with it on the X2 250
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    that says 13c
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [Ion] says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,471 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    655
    Wow, fuzzy pics... Camera having focus problems?
  19. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,710 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    You got the shakes? lol.

    Get some better pictures, we cant drool over them! lol
  20. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,462 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,096
    Sounds like someone could use a free 120.3 ;) I'll be in touch soon... :D
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  21. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,854 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    272
    Location:
    Brasil
    I am very anal about updating drivers, so its not that issue, its just that ATI cards are unstable at "un-gaming" while gaming great, except for BC2.
    Also i dislike ATI CCC its annoying and "loud"
    Nvidias is silent and you never know its there.

    the 5970 is unstable at 157/300 clocks and they fixed with upping the clocks and temps/noise/power. I tried using 300/500 with profiles, but geez, I should't be the one fixing it. I hate using profiles also. And I hated the lag at setting fan speeds, the fan rises to the setting, doesnt jump to it. Gaming performance was great. But the 480 has a much better minimum, and the noise is "better" like a wooosh, not ATIs BRRRRR

    I might get another 480 and 2 GELIDs Icy Vision
  22. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,007 (5.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I sure could use one. The i7 is in need of an upgrade to the cooling

    i can take some pics of the i7 rig later but the AMD rig is back on air and i'm not willing to redo the setup :laugh::laugh:
    sorry for the fuzzy pics. It was my fault the camera was on macro :banghead:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,786 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Maybe some pics of the AMD setup where we can see things? ;)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,894 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    thanks for saying the camera was set to macro i thought i needed new glasses there for a second pheew :p
  25. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,007 (5.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    well like i said it's back on air now, so its not anything worth looking at now. If you still want a pic of it in the case and being cooled by the xiggy let me know and i will take a pic or 2
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 6 (0 members and 6 guests)

Share This Page