1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,568 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,100
    The older QX chips were multi-clockers, they didn't care for the bus to move much, hense why the multi is unlocked;)
     
  2. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,446 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,153
    Talking about the chips is fine as long as you didn't buy or sell it here.
    Those Enzotech heatsinks work beautifully, I used some for additional cooling on a few graphics card I've had.
     
  3. Kovoet

    Kovoet

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    864 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    179
    [​IMG]
    H80 arriving tomorrow and going to try that out.
    [​IMG]
    On holiday in a weeks time. That's cable tidying time
     
  4. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,493 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,049
    Location:
    Mexico
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. PopcornMachine

    PopcornMachine

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,563 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Los Angeles/Orange County CA
  6. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,932 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    491
    well here you go then

    [​IMG]
     
  7. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,932 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    491
    I use these heatsinks on my mobo

    [​IMG]


    they work really good and look great too
     
  8. Sliver27

    Sliver27 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    @everyone some of the dust come off. it's nice now. temps are under 30 on the desktop.

    here is a preview of my workstations before the sli mobo comes so I can unleash the six screens in the setup.

    [​IMG]

    pc one specs (top left screen)
    AMD Athlon X2 260 Asrock MB (Brand new stuff)

    pc two - surround center three screens (left)
    i7 920 + GTX580's x3 Asus rog MB Corsair 6GB 2ghz

    pc three right screen (42" LCD TV)
    AMD FX 4100 windows vista 32bit AMD Radeon Vapor-X 6770

    thx ;)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2012
    MT Alex, theonedub, cadaveca and 8 others say thanks.
  9. phill

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    357 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    Bridgwater, Somerset
    If your 3 580's are anything like mine, they use a massive amount of power and I was even tempted to upgrade my 1200W PSU to a 1500W as it was getting close!!

    Very nice setup :D
     
  10. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,446 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,153
    Silver27, you really shouldn't lie hardware like motherboards on carpet/rug like that. Electrostatic discharge can kill components...
     
  11. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    To be fair, the equipment is just as likely to spontaneously die.

    I've rubbed motherboards up and down carpets with no ill effects.


    I think static shock damage is well over hyped.
     
  12. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,622 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,235
    What are yo doing with those 580s? Because they max out at about 300W if you disable the limiter. But then I assume you will not run Furmark 24/7. :p
     
  13. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,946 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,068
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    It depends on your environment. IF things are relatively humid, static is not that much of a concern, but in a dry climate, static can do it's damage. It's not usually immediate damage, but it can shorten the lifespan of electrical bits and bobs.
     
    pantherx12 and phanbuey say thanks.
  14. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Well that would explain why I've not really experienced it.

    Gota love England and it's rain :laugh:
     
  15. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,204 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    974
    Location:
    Miami
    No wonder I've never had anything die from static, south Florida is like a friggin sauna.
     
  16. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    It get's real dry here in the winter months...so when I put a rig together in the winter I always remove my socks and wet my hair. Works like a charm. And motherbaords always sit on the anti-static bags they came in until the get installed - humid or not. :)
     
  17. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,946 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,068
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yeah, we get to deal with both, and I make sure to take steps to prevent static damage during the winter, for sure. OEMs are building boards now, with a focus on both dry and humid environments, as both can be problematic.
     
  18. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,446 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,153
    See, and I'm in mid-florida(less than a mile from the shore) and have killed components with ESD.
    Luckily it was in the classroom and not my hardware, but it still goes to show you can't just assume you're safe from ESD.
    Needless to say the teacher lectured us about the importance of wearing our anti-static wrist straps, but at least he wasn't upset...:roll:
     
  19. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,946 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,068
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Changes?:

    [​IMG]
     
  20. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,898 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,176
  21. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    cadaveca and mjkmike say thanks.
  22. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,846 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,393
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    cadaveca says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Not as fast or sexy ad cavedca's rig, but here's what I have:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Yup...that's a stock Intel cooler and a PentiumDC sticker on the case...but an i7 875k w/ 8GB of RAM
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. Tardan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    100 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Canada
    Got my hands on a Cosmos II a few weeks ago. What a giant this case is!

    No color coordination here either. I'm just kind of obsessed with cleanliness right now. :)

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    If anyone has any suggestions to clean those pesky USB wires at the bottom I'll gladly take some advice. Those wires kind of irk me right now. :laugh:
     
  25. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    I usually have a hoover close by and a new/clean paint brush with a can of air for the best part of my rig, for cables with braiding on them there is nothing better than a clean but damp cloth to wipe them down with.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page