Reviews

9.3
Date: Apr 13th 2015
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Andyson Titanium N 700 W

After the release of the 1200 Platinum unit, Andyson has now also put a Titanium unit with four models into their portfolio. We will take a look at the N700 today: It features a semi-modular cabling design to keep its price down and promises to perform incredibly well.

7.4
Date: Mar 31st 2015
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Xigmatek Maverick S 500 W

Xigmatek released the Maverick S line consisting of three rather compact, Bronze-certified PSUs a while ago. We will evaluate the line's 500 W member today; it features a semi-modular design and interesting looks. This unit's strongest point is its incredibly low price; however, you currently won't find it anywhere in the US.

9.5
Date: Mar 10th 2015
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Seasonic Snow Silent Series 1050 W

Seasonic released a special version of their Platinum offering with 1050 W capacity; it comes with a while paint job and is equipped with an FDB fan and a relaxed fan profile for less noise output, which will thrill users looking for a quiet high-performance PSU.

8.7
Date: Feb 2nd 2015
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Fractal Design EDISON M Series 650 W

Fractal Design has for the first time worked with Seasonic, and the outcome is the Edison Modular series. Today, we will take a detailed look at the Edison M with 650 W capacity, the second-strongest unit of the series. It features Gold-certified efficiency, a semi-modular cabling design, and an FDB fan.

9.2
Date: Dec 4th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Seasonic X Series XM2 1050 W

We had the chance to evaluate many Seasonic products within the last couple months. Today, we will take a look at their 1050 W Gold-certified X series unit. Like its big brother, the X-1250 XM2 we tested recently, we expect it to perform incredibly well.

8.8
Date: Nov 28th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Antec Edge Series 650 W

Antec recently released a fresh mid-capacity series for enthusiast users. The EDGE unit with 650 W will be evaluated today. All EDGE units use a fully modular cabling design and are 80 Plus Gold certified, and Seasonic is their OEM, so we expect great things from them.

9.5
Date: Nov 21st 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
XFX XTS Series 1000 W

XFX teamed with Seasonic to introduce the new XTS line of PSUs. In this review, we will test the flagship of the series with 1 kW capacity, Platinum efficiency, a fully modular cabling design and hybrid-fan-mode operation for as little noise output as possible at light loads.

9.3
Date: Nov 12th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Corsair HXi Series 750 W

After the flagship HX1000i unit, the time has now come to evaluate the smaller member of this series, the HX750i. Like its big brother, this one is fully modular and 80 Plus Platinum certified. It is also fully compatible with the Corsair Link system because of the digital monitoring circuit it is equipped with.

8.8
Date: Nov 7th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Thermaltake Toughpower DPS G 1050 W

Thermaltake delves even deeper into the digital PSU era with the fresh DPS G lineup. Today, we will test the flagship of the series, which not only features software monitoring and 1050 W of power, but also comes with a fully modular cabling design and a unique look.

9.3
Date: Oct 29th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Seasonic Platinum Series 1050 W

We evaluated the flagship Seasonic unit SS-1200XP3 some time ago. In this review, we will check on the second-strongest model of the series with 1050 W capacity, the SS-1050XP3. It comes with the same features - Platinum efficiency and a fully modular design, for instance. Like its big brother, it also delivers top-notch performance.

8.7
Date: Oct 22nd 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
be quiet! Straight Power 10 CM 800 W

Be quiet! is well known for their low-noise products. Today we will test a member of their fresh Straight Power 10 series. It is nearly inaudible thanks to its SilentWings fan, can deliver up to 800 W of power, and features a semi-modular cabling design in which only the main ATX cable is fixed.

9.3
Date: Oct 15th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
FSP Aurum PT Series 1200 W

FSP recently launched the Aurum PT series, which currently only consists of a 1200 W member with the Platinum efficiency certification. The PT-1200FM uses only Japanese caps and exploits a fully modular cabling design. FSP also says the unit to be for hardcore overclockers and gamers with multiple VGAs.

8.2
Date: Sep 30th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Enermax Revolution X't 430 W

It was nigh time to test a small PSU with less than 500 W since such units are among the most popular. The smallest member of Enermax's Revolution X't line will be our test subject today. This small fellow comes with Gold-certified efficiency, a semi-modular cabling design, and, like every modern PSU, support for the sleep states Intel’s Haswell CPUs introduced.

8.7
Date: Sep 22nd 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Rosewill Fortress 750 W

Rosewill's portfolio includes the Fortress line, a Platinum PSU series for users who look for high efficiency and reliability, but are on a tight budget. We are testing the 750W model today, which features a non-modular cabling design to save on cost and comes with a hefty seven-year warranty. The cherry on top is its silent operation.

9.3
Date: Sep 8th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Corsair HXi Series 1000 W

Corsair just introduced the new HXi series, comprised of members with Platinum efficiency and full compatibility with the Corsair Link software. Today, we will take a look at the second-strongest unit of the line with 1 kW capacity, ideal for a power-hungry system with up to four VGAs.

9.7
Date: Sep 1st 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
EVGA SuperNOVA G2 1600 W

EVGA recently introduced their new flagship SuperNOVA unit with 1600 W capacity and 80 Plus Gold efficiency. According to their description, this PSU is the ultimate tool for any highly overclocked system, and in this review, we plan to push it beyond its limits to see how it fares.

8.7
Date: Aug 27th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Corsair RM Series 1000 W

Corsair's RM series includes some of the quietest PSUs available on the market. Today, we take a detailed look at the strongest member of this series, the RM1000. It promises good performance and ultra-silent operation, a rare feature for a 1 kW unit.

9.5
Date: Aug 20th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Seasonic X Series XM2 1250 W

Along with their Platinum units, Seasonic also revamped their Gold-certified line-up, and the fresh X-1050 and X-1250 now get to add "XM2" to their model numbers. In this review, we will evaluate the X-1250 -- its promise is to deliver high efficiency and top performance at an honest price.

8.8
Date: Aug 6th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Cooler Master V750 Semi-Modular 750 W

Cooler Master decided to upgrade their VS(M) series and added a new model with 750 W capacity and nothing but Japanese capacitors, which play a key role in its increased reliability. Today, the VSM750 will be put to the test to prove it is worthy of your money.

9.6
Date: Aug 1st 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
EVGA SuperNOVA P2 1200 W

Another member joined EVGA’s SuperNOVA family. The new P2-1200 with a capacity of 1200 W and Platinum efficiency promises up to 94% efficiency with 220 V input and features a fully modular design with Japanese capacitors to ensure it is incredibly reliable and stable.

9.5
Date: Jul 28th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Seasonic Platinum Series 1200 W

Seasonic recently added a new high-end model to their arsenal, a 1200 W unit with Platinum efficiency, extraordinary performance, semi-passive operation, and a fully modular cabling design. This PSU is one of the best we ever tested and teaches manufacturers a lesson in how to push analog circuits to their limits.

8.8
Date: Jul 21st 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Rosewill Capstone Modular 1000 W

Rosewill built up a solid reputation over the last few years, especially for PSUs, where things are tough because of the strong competition. In this review, we will evaluate the Capstone series' flagship model. It features 1 kW capacity, a semi-modular design, and a nice price tag. Our expectations are high because the unit is based on a Super Flower platform.

9.1
Date: Jul 15th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Silverstone Nightjar 520 W

Silverstone has been offering fanless PSUs for quite some time; however, they hadn’t released a relevant product for some years now, which changed recently as their Nightjar fanless series now includes the NJ520 with Platinum efficiency, a fully modular cabling design, and a promise of total silence.

9.2
Date: Jul 7th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Antec High Current Pro Platinum 850 W

We are testing the smallest member of the Antec HCP family with 850 W capacity and Platinum efficiency. The unit promises very high build quality, top-notch performance, and high efficiency, so stay tuned to find out more.

8.7
Date: Jun 25th 2014
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Deepcool Quanta DQ1250 1250 W

Another high-end Platinum PSU, this time by Deepcool, the DQ Series 1250 W unit uses a high-end platform with incredible performance, Platinum efficiency, and low noise output. Especially the latter is something not often seen in such a strong PSU, so stay tuned if you want to learn more about this product.