Reviews

8.9
Date: May 13th 2007
Author: W1zzard
In: Video Cards
ATI Radeon HD 2900 XT

AMD's new flagship video card is the Radeon HD 2900 XT which is based on the brand-new R600 GPU. It comes at an amazing $399 price point and offers many unique features. While performance may not be as fast as the GeForce 8800 GTX, its price will definitely make this card a good choice for users who are looking for the best price/performance ratio.

Date: May 10th 2007
Author: W1zzard
In: Video Cards
8.0
Date: May 4th 2007
Author: W1zzard
In: Video Cards
Twintech GeForce 8600 GTS

Twintech's new GeForce 8600 GTS is based on the NVIDIA reference design using the G84 GPU. It comes with 256 MB of fast GDDR3 memory clocked at 1 GHz, the graphics processor runs at 675 MHz. This is the first DirectX 10 card for the midrange segment with its price tag of around $210.

8.1
Date: Apr 26th 2007
Author: W1zzard
In: Video Cards
Zotac GeForce 8500 GT

Zotac is a new player in the NVIDIA video card business and one of their first new cards is the GeForce 8500 GT which is based on NVIDIA's brand-new G86 graphics processor. Unlike the reference design Zotac's card is factory overclocked to a GPU clock of 700 MHz which gives the card a healthy performance boost for a price increase of about $10.

Date: Apr 17th 2007
Author: Darksaber
In: Video Cards
NVIDIA GeForce 8600 & 8500 Preview

Today NVIDIA announced their latest new graphics processors of the GeForce 8 Series. The new cards are called GeForce 8500 GT, 8600 GT and 8600 GTS. In our preview we examine the differences between the products and how they stack up against the last generation GeForce 7 products.

9.0
Date: Apr 16th 2007
Author: W1zzard
In: Video Cards
Sapphire X1950 Pro Dual

Sapphire's X1950 Pro Dual is the world's first video card that uses two ATI RV570 GPUs on a single PCB. The board comes with 2x 512 MB of GDDR3 memory for a price of $349. In our testing the card shows that it has to potential to narrow the performance gap to NVIDIA's lineup until R600 is released.

9.0
Date: Mar 27th 2007
Author: W1zzard
In: Video Cards
Sapphire X1950 GT

Sapphire's new X1950 GT is based on ATI's RV570 GPU. It comes with 256 MB of GDDR3 memory and is cheaper than the Radeon X1900 GT. Of course you can not expect performance wonders from a $140 card, but it is a great way to survive the wait for ATI's next-gen products while being able to play all the latest games.

9.3
Date: Feb 20th 2007
Author: W1zzard
In: Video Cards
EVGA e-GeForce 8800GTX KO ACS3 768MB

While most GeForce 8800 GTX cards are all based on the same product, with the exact same specs, EVGA has taken the 8800 GTX a step ahead. They cherry picked cards that can run high GPU and memory speeds and engineered a card that is running at higher clocks right out of the box. In our testing we see about 10% increased performance, especially at high resolutions with demanding games.

9.0
Date: Feb 11th 2007
Author: W1zzard
In: Video Cards
Biostar V7603GS21 GeForce 7600 GS V-Ranger

The Biostar V7603GS21 V-Ranger is based on NVIDIA's GeForce 7600 GS but comes at a higher memory clock. In addition to that Biostar added some changes to the PCB to allow software to change the GPU and memory voltages, which allows much better overclocking of the card. In our testing we could increase the core clock by 63% and the memory clock by 20% which made the card play in a completely different performance league.

9.1
Date: Jan 23rd 2007
Author: W1zzard
In: Video Cards
GeCube X1950 Pro Champion Edition

The Radeon X1950 Pro series is one of the hottest selling video cards at the moment. It is competitively priced and can run all current games without breaking a sweat. Gecube has engineered a special TEC cooled solution for improved overclocking. In our testing we saw amazing clock increases of 20% on both the core and memory for a final clock of 682 MHz / 816 MHz.

9.3
Date: Dec 21st 2006
Author: W1zzard
In: Video Cards
Mad-Moxx 7900 GTO 512 MB Burstfire

Mad Moxx has been providing pre-modded cards to their customers for several years now. Their GeForce 7900 GTO Burstfire is a GeForce 7900 GTO, overclocked to 7900 GTX speeds. In our benchmarks we saw that performance is identical to the 7900 GTX, at a much lower price. What makes the Mad Moxx product special is that you retain your warranty and the GTX overclock is tested and guaranteed.

9.3
Date: Nov 29th 2006
Author: W1zzard
In: Video Cards
Palit GeForce 8800 GTX

NVIDIA's new G80 GPU is the first to implement DirectX 10 support and Shader Model 4.0. Palit is one of NVIDIA's board partners who is selling the GeForce 8800 GTX. The card comes with 768 MB of video memory and can will run whatever you throw at it at highest resolutions with maximized settings. We test the card against the ATI Radeon X1950 XTX, X1900 Crossfire and the Geforce 7900 GTX.

8.0
Date: Nov 24th 2006
Author: W1zzard
In: Video Cards
Sapphire X1650 Pro 256 MB

If you are looking for a cheap video card that will keep you running until Windows Vista and DirectX 10 are out you may want to look at the Sapphire X1650 Pro. The card will run most games on high details at 1024x768 without taking a sweat. It comes equipped with fast GDDR3 memory and the fan is temperature controlled to keep the noise levels down.

Date: Nov 7th 2006
Author: W1zzard
In: Video Cards
NVIDIA GeForce 8800 Preview

Today NVIDIA released their highly anticipated GeForce 8800 Series based on their all-new G80 GPU. The first two cards will be the GeForce 8800 GTS and 8800 GTX. We take you through the changes in the GPU design and what's new and great on these cards.

Date: Nov 7th 2006
Author: W1zzard
In: Video Cards
9.1
Date: Oct 25th 2006
Author: W1zzard
In: Video Cards
Sapphire Radeon X1300 XT OC Edition

The new ATI Radeon X1300 XT is based on the RV530 GPU core which is used on the X1600 series. That alone should bring quite a nice performance boost. On top of that Sapphire has added GDDR3 memory and a healthy clock increase. There is no need to run an overclocking software on your system, the increased clocks are stored in the BIOS. In our testing we saw a huge performance difference to the X1300 and almost no difference to the X1600 series.

8.7
Date: Oct 23rd 2006
Author: W1zzard
In: Video Cards
ATI Radeon X1900 XT 256 MB

ATI's new X1900 XT 256 MB is designed to fit into the price range that is bound by the X1900 GT on the lower end and the X1900 XT 512 MB on the upper end. In order to bring the card's price down ATI chose to reduce the total memory size from 512 MB to 256 MB. Also a bit slower memory is used. We test how big the performance difference to the more expensive X1900 XTX with 512 MB is.

8.0
Date: Oct 22nd 2006
Author: D_o_S
In: Video Cards
Powercolor X1650 Pro

ATI's Radeon X1650 was introduced with the X1950 XTX and the X1300 XT. Just what is this card? As the name suggests, it is a little step up from the X1600 XT. With the same amount of pipelines, and slightly higher clocks, is there anything to look forward to with the X1650 Pro? No doubt, this card at least runs cooler - insured by a smaller manufacturing process. Does it bring balanced performance at a fair price? How does it fair compared to the X1300 XT? Most importantly, is it worth buying?

9.0
Date: Aug 22nd 2006
Author: W1zzard
In: Video Cards
ATI Radeon X1950 XTX

The ATI Radeon X1950 XTX is a refresh of the X1900 series and is the first video card to use GDDR4 memory. Another major change is the new cooling system which was designed to reduce noise while keeping temperatures down. ATI's new flagship card is clocked at 600 MHz GPU and crazy 1000 MHz effective memory clock. Read our review to find out how this card performs.

8.8
Date: Jul 25th 2006
Author: Darksaber
In: Video Cards
NVIDIA GeForce 7900 GTX vs. 7950 GX2

The GeForce 7950GX2 is NVIDIA's current high-end offering. While this card is based on the GeForce 7900GX2 used in Quad SLI systems, the 7950GX2 is just as long as a 7900GTX and currently meant to be used as a single card, replacing the 7900GTX. It offers a great performance boost while currently costing just about as much as the 7900GTX at launch. We run it through the benchmarks, to see what the card will deliver.

9.3
Date: Jul 2nd 2006
Author: Urlyin
In: Video Cards
Diamond Viper X1900XT

A while ago the Diamond Viper X1900XT was the lowest priced X1900XT card from all manufacturers and is still one of the lowest priced cards available today. Diamond Multimedia has produced modems, sound cards and MP3 players. One of the first consumer MP3 players ever was called the Rio PMP300. They have since sold their MP3 player line, but still offer a range of multimedia products. In this review we'll take a look at this X1900XT offering from Diamond Multimedia along with some basic X1900XT functionality and overclocking tips.

Date: Jun 4th 2006
Author: Darksaber
In: Video Cards
NVIDIA GeForce 7950GX2 Preview

NVIDIA's Quad-SLI was released only for system integrators. The first retails cards for enthusiasts are showing up now. The new name is 7950GX2 and it means smaller PCB and optimized design for self-builders. In our preview we show what NVIDIA has thought up this time and if it is something that you should look into for your gaming rig.

Date: May 22nd 2006
Author: Darksaber
In: Video Cards
NVIDIA nForce 500 Preview

Today NVIDIA launched their nForce 500 Family chipsets for the AMD AM2 Socket. There will be four models to allow a wide range of motherboard products from budget to high-end for enthusiasts. A lot of new features have been introduced like SLI Memory, First Packet, DualNet and Media Shield. Read our preview to find out what the new nForce500 offers.

8.9
Date: May 10th 2006
Author: D_o_s
In: Video Cards
Powercolor X1800GTO

The X1800 GTO cards use regular X1800XL chips with just 12 rasterizing pipelines instead of 16. Clocks are still at 500 MHz for both memory and core. We tested this card and found it is an overclocker's dream. Even though we could not unlock the extra pipelines, the card still overclocks very well, in our case to over 700 MHz on air cooling.

Date: Apr 28th 2006
Author: W1zzard
In: Video Cards
NVIDIA Quad-SLI vs. ATI Crossfire

At this year's CeBIT the most controversial and most debated new hardware was NVIDIA's Quad-SLI, which was awarded "best product of CES" earlier this year. We had the chance to put two identical retail 7900 GX2 QuadSLI and X1900 XTX CrossFire systems right next to each other and evaluate them. There were quite a bunch of surprises.