Reviews

8.8
Date: Nov 27th 2012
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
Fractal Design NODE 304

Fractal Design expands their line of cases with the NODE family aiming to provide unique enclosures to storage and HTPC enthusiasts. We take the little one - the NODE 304 - for a spin to see what scenario it is best suited for.

Date: Nov 25th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Kingwin Power Force 850 W

A new PSU series, named Power Force, was just added to Kingwin's portfolio. It currently includes only one member with 850 W capacity. The PF-850 features a semi-modular cabling design and Bronze efficiency. With a price tag a little above 100 bucks, it targets the budget oriented user.

8.8
Date: Nov 21st 2012
Author: Darksaber
In: USB Sticks
Lexar JumpDrive Triton 32 GB USB 3.0

The Lexar JumpDrive Triton tries to offer excellent build quality with quite the performance. Even though Lexar advertises maximum attainable speeds and not average numbers, the Triton still manages to push the envelope in read speeds while achieving good write performance.

Date: Nov 21st 2012
Author: cadaveca
In: Motherboards
Biostar Hi-Fi A85W AMD Socket FM2

Biostar is at it again with a mid-range entry level product, the Biostar Hi-Fi A85W. Ready to rock out with AMD's new Piledriver FM2 APUs, the Biostar Hi-Fi A85W comes with an audio-oriented theme that's usually reserved for high-end products. Did it play sweet music, or is it a bit out of tune?

Date: Nov 20th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Silverstone Zeus 1350 W

Silverstone decided to bring back their top of the line power supply series named after the "Father of Gods and men". The new Zeus ZM1350 is currently the flagship of Silverstone's PSU offerings, and it promises top of the line performance with 1350W continuous power at 50°C.

Date: Nov 19th 2012
Author: W1zzard
In: Video Cards
HIS Radeon HD 7970 X Turbo 3 GB

The HIS HD 7970 X Turbo is the company's entry into the super high-end HD 7970 market. It comes with a massively overclocked GPU which provides a 6% performance boost over the GHz Edition. Also included are six monitor outputs that can be used at the same time without breaking dual-link DVI functionality.

Date: Nov 16th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
In Win Commander III 600 W

In Win recently released the third version of their combat PSUs, the Commander III. The new series consists of three members, and today we will take a look at the smallest of them whith 600 W capacity, Gold efficiency, a modular design, and a unique, tactile finish!

8.1
Date: Nov 15th 2012
Author: Darksaber
In: USB Sticks
Lexar JumpDrive S73 32 GB USB 3.0

Being a more affordable product from Lexar, we do not expect the JumpDrive S73 to break any records, but it should still deliver the benefits of USB 3.0 connectivity. While it does lack write speed, it makes up some ground in read performance.

9.3
Date: Nov 14th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Seasonic Platinum Series Fanless 520 W

Seasonic has decided to upgrade the platforms of their smaller PSU models, which includes the fanless ones. The fresh SS-520FL features Platinum efficiency, increased capacity, and promises sky high efficiency. Read our review to find out how good this new Seasonic PSU is.

Date: Nov 12th 2012
Author: cadaveca
In: Motherboards
Gigabyte F2A85X-UP4 AMD Socket FM2

Got a shiny new FM2 APU, and want to clock the snot out of it? Looking to add a couple of RAID controllers to house a storage monster? Gigabyte's got the F2A85X-UP4 for you! Built with enthusiasts in mind, the F2A85X-UP4 comes with a lot of overclocking features.

9.6
Date: Nov 11th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Corsair AX860i 860 W

A couple of days ago we reviewed the Corsair AX760i, which impressed us with amazing performance. Today we'll evaluate its bigger brother, the AX860i, which should perform equally as good and offer the same features with a little higher capacity.

Date: Nov 9th 2012
Author: Darksaber
In: USB Sticks
Mach Xtreme MX-ES 32 GB USB 3.0

The MX-ES can be mistaken for a cheap run-of-the-mill USB 2.0 drive, but its generic housing holds an SLC-flash-based heart. Mach Xtreme got us drooling with advertised speeds of 170/185 MB/s read/write. The drive did not quite hit those numbers, but managed to get our nod of approval.

Date: Nov 8th 2012
Author: Frederik S
In: Mice
CM Storm Recon Gaming Mouse & Scorpion Bungee

CM Storm just launched the Recon gaming mouse and the Scorpion mouse bungee. Today, we test to see whether the Recon has the performance to take up the fight against other mid-range gaming mice. We will also see if mouse bungees should get their place back on our gaming desks.

9.5
Date: Nov 7th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Corsair AX760i 760 W

Corsair's new AX860i and AX760i promise to blow away the competition with their performance and digital (DSP) control. The smaller of the two will be the test subject of this review, and we are eager to see how it will perform on our test bench.

Date: Nov 6th 2012
Author: W1zzard
In: Video Cards
HIS Radeon HD 7750 IceQ X Turbo 1 GB

The HIS HD 7750 IceQ X Turbo is a custom design, overclocked HD 7750. A separate 6-pin PCI-Express power connector has been added to the card, which improves power delivery and might have an effect on overclocking potential. In our testing, we saw over 25% real-life performance gain from overclocking.

Date: Nov 5th 2012
Author: Darksaber
In: USB Sticks
Patriot Memory Supersonic RageXT 32 GB USB 3.0

Patriot has released an updated version of the Rage drive that offers up to 180 MB/s read and 50 MB/s write in a small & compact package. We take a closer look to find out if the Rage XT is like Speedy Gonzales, or ends up huffin' and puffin' through the benchmarks.

Date: Nov 2nd 2012
Author: cadaveca
In: Motherboards
Biostar Hi-Fi Z77X Intel Socket LGA1155

Fresh on store shelves is Biostar with a completely new take on budget-board features through none other than the Hi-Fi Z77X. Bringing upgraded audio functions to the entry-level market, the Biostar Hi-Fi Z77X is going to rock your socks off.

Date: Oct 30th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: Power Supplies
Silverstone SFX Series ST45SF-G 450 W

With the successful ST45SF counting more than two years in production, it was about time for Silverstone to release its successor, the ST45SF-G. The latter is the strongest SFX PSU and on top of that is the only one in its category that features Gold efficiency and a fully modular cabling.

9.5
Date: Oct 29th 2012
Author: Darksaber
In: Media Players
Zotac ZBOX nano XS AD11 PLUS

The Zotac ZBOX nano is minuscule in size, but packs a full AMD based system within. The compact dimensions along with the wall mount and plethora of connectivity make the ZBOX nano an interesting choice for HPTC and Office users.

Date: Oct 26th 2012
Author: Frederik S
In: Speakers
Logitech UE Boombox

Logitech bought Ultimate Ears about a year ago and now we are finally seeing the first joint effort of the two companies. Today we will be taking a look at their new Boombox which is a basically a battery powered wireless speaker with over six hours of battery life.

Date: Oct 24th 2012
Author: crmaris
In: NAS
Synology DS213+

Synology recently introduced several new NAS servers, including the DS213+ which includes many upgrades over its predecessor. A dual-core processor powers the DS213+ offering faster speeds in every RAID configuration it supports. Also, with only 2.6 Watts during system hibernation this NAS offers great energy savings, something many users will appreciate.

9.2
Date: Oct 24th 2012
Author: W1zzard
In: SSD
Mach Xtreme MX-DS Turbo 120 GB SLC

Unlike the majority of SSDs on the market, the MX DS Turbo SLC uses the faster and more durable SLC flash chips. As a result the drive is the fastest SSD we ever tested, and it also comes with improved durability thanks to the different flash type.

Date: Oct 23rd 2012
Author: Darksaber
In: Cases
NZXT Phantom 820

NZXT has evolved the Phantom into the next generation chassis. Bigger, more elaborate, plenty of new features and a higher price tag are some of what sets the Phantom 820 apart from its older brethren. Is this big case a true evolution into something great or a mere mutation with no place to be?

Date: Oct 22nd 2012
Author: cadaveca
In: Processors
AMD FX-8350 - "Piledriver" for AMD Socket AM3+

Without much fanfare, AMD is launching yet another new product, this time the Piledriver-based AM3+ CPUs. Ready as a drop-in replacement for current 9-series AMD motherboards, the FX-8350 not only offers a bit of a surprise in performance, but also a suprise that your wallet will like too!

Date: Oct 21st 2012
Author: W1zzard
In: Video Cards
MSI GeForce GTX 660 HAWK 2 GB

MSI's new GeForce GTX 660 HAWK is a fully customized, overclocked GTX 660. It comes with the company's signature TwinFrozr cooler and includes goodlies like dual BIOS and voltage measurements points.