Reviews

8.4
Date: Dec 6th 2005
Author: W1zzard
In: VGA Coolers
Thermalright V1 Ultra

Thermalright is well known for making world-class CPU coolers. Now they have entered the VGA cooling business. The Thermalright V1 Ultra is an improved version of the V1 and features a third heatpipe. Not only does it cool well, it does this without creating a lot of fan noise. During our testing the cooler could easily beat a low-cost watercooling solution.

8.2
Date: Dec 5th 2005
Author: W1zzard
In: Memory
OCZ EL DDR PC-3200 2GB Gold GX XTC

Modern games require more and more memory. One gigabyte of system memory has pretty much become today's standard. Once you turn up the eye candy you are much better off having 2 GB. OCZ is using their new XTC honey-comb heatspreaders on these modules which offer much better thermal properties than the traditional solid heatspreaders. For 1024 MB modules the overclocking works quite well too, we reached up to 240 MHz without any voltage increase.

8.2
Date: Nov 29th 2005
Author: W1zzard
In: Power Supplies
MGE XG Vortec 500W

MGE targets the extreme gamer/modder niche and the build-your-own mainstream market of PC enthusiasts with this power supply. It features a unique blue anodized design with side windows in the PSU case. A PCI-Express video card connector is available, all cables are sleeved. During our testing we found that the PSU can supply stable clean voltage. Another plus is that the retail price of $60 is quite competitive.

9.7
Date: Nov 25th 2005
Author: W1zzard
In: Motherboards
DFI LanParty NF4 SLI-DR Expert

When I first heard that DFI is coming up with a new "Expert" version of this board, I was wondering if they could really improve things so much that it warrants a new product. Yes they did! There are a lot of improvements compared to the older LanParty NF4 series. For example you can finally run four 512 MB memory modules at 1T timing.

9.0
Date: Nov 22nd 2005
Author: Steven B
In: Mice
Razer Green Copperhead Gaming Mouse

When we hear Razer, we think of high-performance mice made for gamers. The latest Razer product is the Razer Copperhead Gaming Mouse, it has an amazing 2000 DPI laser engine with a response time of 1 ms. Unlike other mice the laser never powers down during game play, so you are ready to frag at any time.

8.5
Date: Nov 21st 2005
Author: W1zzard
In: Power Supplies
Cooler Master RealPower 550W

Cooler Master has engineered a great PSU which has a PCI-Express Power connector and can supply 12V from three rails. Most PSUs have only one or two. For the visual aspect there is a Watt Viewer which goes into a drive bay and automatically displays the current power consumption of your computer - without the need of additional software.

Date: Nov 20th 2005
Author: W1zzard
In: Video Cards
NVIDIAs Desperate Stand

After all the good reviews NVIDIA got for their brand-new 7800 GTX 512 MB, ATI had to come up with ideas how to respond to this. Instead of building better products which are available at launch date, their marketing guys sat down and put together this presentation.

8.8
Date: Nov 19th 2005
Author: //mAr
In: Watercooling
MIPS RAM Freezer

MIPS Computer is a manufacturer of specialized high-performance water cooling solutions for overclockers. Their products offer excellent build quality made in Germany. This time we test the RAM Freezer which is a water cooling device for DDR1/DDR2 memory. We saw great testing results with Winbond UTT, Samsung TCCD and Winbond BH-5 memory - up to 25 MHz faster without any additional fan noise is very impressive.

8.7
Date: Nov 16th 2005
Author: W1zzard
In: Memory
OCZ EL DDR PC-3200 Gold GX XTC

OCZ is well known for being constantly on the lookout for new ways to improve performance of their enthusiast memories. The 3200 Gold GX XTC are using OCZ's completely reingeneered heatspreaders which feature a pattern of honeycomb holes for improved heat transfer. Being able to run tight latencies of 2-2-2-5 1T is a great way to improve system performance. In our tests we could run at DDR476 with those timings.

8.2
Date: Nov 15th 2005
Author: Stefan Tsoukalas
In: Cases
Sansun SN-C001 The Bat

Sansun is a new and rather unknown company, which produces various types of hardware including premodded cases. There are different designs available, the one that we tested has a Batman theme. It looks good and performs pretty well at the same time.

9.6
Date: Nov 8th 2005
Author: Steven B
In: Memory
Mushkin Redline XP4000 2GB

Mushkin has been well known for producing top-notch overclocker's memory. Now they have released a 2 GB kit which features their brand-new reengineered heatspreaders. Even though it uses 6 ns rated memory chips from Infineon we could overclock them to 280 MHz, a great result for a 2 GB kit.

9.0
Date: Nov 6th 2005
Author: W1zzard
In: Motherboards
ASRock 939Dual-SATA2

ASRock has engineered the 939Dual-SATA2 around ULi's new M1695 chipset. The board has both AGP 8x and PCI-Express x16 slots which do not suffer from performance loss like other manufacturers' implementations. You can even use both slots at the same time. General performance is very close to that of the competition. Suprisingly the board is a good overclocker as well, it reached an amazing 380 MHz HTT after some tweaking.

9.6
Date: Nov 2nd 2005
Author: D_o_s
In: Video Cards
Sapphire Radeon X850XT PE AGP

Today, we will take a look at Sapphire's Radeon X850XT Platinum Edition for AGP. With nForce 4 for AMD and the i9XX chipsets for Intel, it seemed that the long era of AGP was over once and for all. However, about a year later, this is not quite the case, and many people still use AGP. Is there still some life left in the dying standard? Or would you be better off upgrading to PCI-Express right this minute?

8.7
Date: Nov 1st 2005
Author: //mAr
In: Memory
G.SKILL F1-4000USU2-2GBHZ PC4000

The G.SKILL F1-4000USU2-2GBHZ unite overclocking and 2GB. They almost overclock like the best 1 GB Dual-Channel kits, but offer double the amount of capacity. We reached 275 MHz (DDR550) at low 2.6V. If you want the smoothness of 2 GB and also overclocking, they can be yours for about $245, which is an excellent price.

7.5
Date: Oct 30th 2005
Author: W1zzard
In: Power Supplies
Sirtec High Power ATX-410-212

Sirtec may not be one of the known big players of the PSU industry, but in fact they are a huge OEM producer of power supplies, for example for Thermaltake and Chieftec. We test Sirtec's 410W unit which offers a beautiful chrome finish and a low-noise fan at a very competitive price.

9.0
Date: Oct 20th 2005
Author: W1zzard
In: Memory
G.SKILL F1-4400DSU2-1GBFC PC4400

G.SKILL uses Samsung TCCD or TCC5 chips on these DDR memory modules. The timings of 2.5-4-4-8 are pretty much what you would expect from modules using these chips. During our overclocking tests we could get DDR600 speeds out of the sticks, at a rather small voltage of 2.8V. The best about this memory? It's the price. You can find a 2x 512MB kit for around $170 online.

8.9
Date: Oct 17th 2005
Author: W1zzard
In: Watercooling
Thermaltake Tide Water

Thermaltake has engineered a completely new video card cooling concept. A self-contained water cooling unit which is mounted into two PCI slots keeps the GPU cool. People who think watercooling requires a lot of maintenance or leaks easily will be proven wrong. The installation is also remarkably easy. What makes this unit even more attractive is its competitive price. Powercolor liked it so much, that they use it on their X800 GT EVO series.

9.5
Date: Oct 16th 2005
Author: Steven B
In: CPU Coolers
Zalman CNPS 9500 LED

Under-hyped or Overrated? The Zalman CNPS 9500 LED is Zalman's newest addition to their top of the line air coolers. This full-copper heatsink comes with a fan controller so you can optimize for performance or fan noise. In our testing it even beats a watercooling kit and proves that it is well worth your money. Watch as we put it to the test on the Pentium 4 Prescott 561 at 180 Watt TDP.

9.0
Date: Oct 12th 2005
Author: W1zzard
In: Other
Mashie Design Visual Audio MDVA

World-famous case modder Mashie has created this unique case modding accessory. It is a stereo 7-channel real-time spectrum analyzer which shows beautiful patterns on 112 LEDs. It goes into two 5.25" drive bays and does not require any additional software because it comes with its own microprocessor on-board.

Date: Oct 9th 2005
Author: W1zzard
In: Video Cards
What to expect from NVIDIA

ATI has created this presentation in which they share with us what they think will be NVIDIA's reactions on the X1000 Series launch.

9.0
Date: Oct 5th 2005
Author: Urlyin
In: Processors
ASUS CT-479 Pentium M Adapter

We are taking a look at the ASUS CT-479 Adapter which allows you to use an Intel Mobile Processor in your desktop. This Socket 478 to Socket 479 converter is considerably less expensive than the native Socket 479 boards. With this adapter you can turn that old ASUS 865P/875P mobo into a serious gaming machine. The OCZ DDR Booster is reviewed along with the ASUS CT-479 Adapter.

9.0
Date: Oct 4th 2005
Author: W1zzard
In: USB Sticks
OCZ Rally 1GB USB Stick

OCZ is well known for their excellent enthusiast memory. Now they have entered the USB memory stick market with a bang. Their Rally USB sticks use dual-channel technology to deliver the fastest transfer speeds available. Not only are the sticks fast, they also come in a robust aluminum case.

8.9
Date: Oct 2nd 2005
Author: Steven B
In: Other
Logisys Wireless Remote MultiFunction Panel

Functional panels for our computers have been around for a while now, but Logisys took the standard functional panel with USB, Firewire, fan controller, and temp monitors and tricked it out one more. They created "The first remote panel in the world designed for media PC and for enhancement of all computers". The Logisys FP800BK includes almost everything you could want in a front panel device, plus you can turn your PC on and off with its handy remote!

Date: Oct 1st 2005
Author: W1zzard
In: Video Cards
ATI R5XX Sell Sheets

ATI held a nice press event at Ibiza this weekend, where they showed off their new R5xx series to the press. We weren't there, but we brought you some nice slides from the presentation for your prerelease viewing experience.

8.5
Date: Sep 30th 2005
Author: D_o_S
In: Other
VLSystem LIS 2 Blue Eye VFD

We take a close look at VL System's L.I.S 2 Blue eye, to find out how this middle-segment LCD performs. It can display anything from fan RPM and current time all the way to CPU temperature and voltages, it can even control up to 4 fans. Have you ever caught yourself wondering what time it is in the middle of a frag fest, and couldn't risk switching back to desktop? Do you own a modded case and attend LAN Parties regularly? Then this might just be the unit you are after...