• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

0% gpu usage on RX 570

hikari

New Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2019
Messages
10 (0.02/day)
hey,

sorry for my bad english, I'm from italy :)

So recently i've got my self a rx 570 itx 4gb from sapphire off a ebay seller and it arrived yesterday.

I tried to open some games to test the graphics card but the game takes forever to even get to the main menu section and whenever the gpu usage drops down to 0% the game crashes. and some times the gpu utilization goes up and down like crazy 0%-33%-99%-20% and everytime it ends with not responding,freezing, crashing and i have to reset the computer or kill the program from task manager.
one time i managed to get in game it was running around 50fps high settings on watch dogs 2 but was struttering so much and crashed 5 minutes later
forgot to mention that the when it drops down to 0% the memclock and coreclock goes down to 300mhz not sure why.
I tried to update to the latest version of windows(had the 1809vers before), using an older gpu driver, installing reinstalling with ddu, anything i could think of but nothing.

and lastly i opened gpu-z and I saw some settings that were not matching with the original rx 570 itx maybe is that the cause of the problem? see pic below

you can see that my bandwidth, pixel fillrate,texure fillrate and the memory clock were not matching at all
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_2.png
    Screenshot_2.png
    150.9 KB · Views: 494
  • Gpu-z.gif
    Gpu-z.gif
    26.1 KB · Views: 553
Joined
Jul 21, 2019
Messages
157 (0.28/day)
System Name The Midranger
Processor Ryzen 7 2700
Motherboard ASUS PRIME X570-P
Cooling Cooler Master HYPER 212
Memory 16Gb corsair vengeance LPS 3000Mhz
Video Card(s) powercolor Rx 580 red dragon 8Gb
Storage 1TB Nvme ssd
Display(s) acer KG241Q 83HZ/OC 1080p
Case Cooler master ultra 2007
Power Supply Corsair VENGEANCE 650M
try to reinstall the bios
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
14,003 (2.85/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER XC ULTRA
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (Product of work, yes it's legit)
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/23478641 www.3dmark.com/spy/13863605 www.3dmark.com/pr/306218
try to reinstall the bios

No. No no no. Especially not without backing up.

Try other diagnostics first. That is like, last resort.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,442 (6.14/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Apr 1, 2019
Messages
206 (0.31/day)
Processor 3700x @ 4.3
Motherboard Crosshair 7 hero
Cooling Kraken X62
Memory 16GB Trident-Z 3200
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX2080 XC Ultra
Storage Samsung 960 evo 500gb NVME
Display(s) ASUS ROG Swift PG348Q
Case NZXT H500
Audio Device(s) Phillips SHP 9500s.....Audio Technica AT 2035 microphone.....Scarlett 2i2 audio interface.
Power Supply EVGA 850W Supernova G2
Mouse Model O
Keyboard Corsair K65
Software Windows 10

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,442 (6.14/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

hikari

New Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2019
Messages
10 (0.02/day)
Hi, thx for the answers, i managed to resolve the problem, it turns out was the sata cable connected to my hard drive(i have a ssd and a hard drive)where had all games stored was defective. So basically one week ago when I got my new powersupply that had 20more cables that my older one i decided to do some cable management(yeah..) and i swapped out the sata cable for that hard drive because was too short with a newer one that i bought from amazon a year ago as plus product. i thought that the hard disk was the problem when i tried to run a few games i had stored on the ssd and it had no issues of crashing, struttering or anything like that. so now the graphics card is working like a charm i managed to get a stable undervolt of 1190mhz, 920mv for better efficiency, but still some stats on gpu-z are matching a part of that everything works
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2019
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Processor G4600
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) RX 480
Hi, thx for the answers, i managed to resolve the problem, it turns out was the sata cable connected to my hard drive(i have a ssd and a hard drive)where had all games stored was defective. So basically one week ago when I got my new powersupply that had 20more cables that my older one i decided to do some cable management(yeah..) and i swapped out the sata cable for that hard drive because was too short with a newer one that i bought from amazon a year ago as plus product. i thought that the hard disk was the problem when i tried to run a few games i had stored on the ssd and it had no issues of crashing, struttering or anything like that. so now the graphics card is working like a charm i managed to get a stable undervolt of 1190mhz, 920mv for better efficiency, but still some stats on gpu-z are matching a part of that everything works
try 1200@930mv or 1250@970mv (im using that)

imo there is no point of overclock or use stock RX cards, almost no difference in fps but tdp much higher than undervolted
 
Last edited:

hikari

New Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2019
Messages
10 (0.02/day)
try 1200@930mv or 1250@970mv (im using that)

imo there is no point of overclock or use stock RX cards, almost no difference in fps but tdp much higher than undervolted
going to try that, currently i have power limit set to -40 and played ac odyssey for 2 hours without any problems with less than 70watt consumption
 

gx_play

New Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2021
Messages
1 (0.08/day)
Hi, thx for the answers, i managed to resolve the problem, it turns out was the sata cable connected to my hard drive(i have a ssd and a hard drive)where had all games stored was defective. So basically one week ago when I got my new powersupply that had 20more cables that my older one i decided to do some cable management(yeah..) and i swapped out the sata cable for that hard drive because was too short with a newer one that i bought from amazon a year ago as plus product. i thought that the hard disk was the problem when i tried to run a few games i had stored on the ssd and it had no issues of crashing, struttering or anything like that. so now the graphics card is working like a charm i managed to get a stable undervolt of 1190mhz, 920mv for better efficiency, but still some stats on gpu-z are matching a part of that everything works
Hello, I have the exact same problem and can you explain that well? As I understood, when you played games from the HDD it had a poblem, but when you turned on the games from the SSD, it worked well?
 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
6,917 (2.77/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veraltet
Processor 3700x
Motherboard AsRock Taichi Ultimate x470
Cooling NH-D15 Chromax
Memory G.Skill 2x16GB 3200mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 2 NVME + 4 HDD
Display(s) LG 34UB88-P + 2x AOC 2425W
Case CoolerMaster NR600
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 5
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w
Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro
Keyboard Corsair K57
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Brrrrrrr
Hello, I have the exact same problem and can you explain that well? As I understood, when you played games from the HDD it had a poblem, but when you turned on the games from the SSD, it worked well?
First, thread necro.

Second, he quite obviously says the new sata cable was defective.
 
Top