• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

2900 bios clock tool

elementskater706

New Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2007
Messages
22 (0.00/day)
Processor Core 2 Duo E6550 @ 3.220Ghz
Motherboard Abit IP35-E
Cooling Stock
Memory 4x1GB G.Skill DDR2-800 @ DDR2-920
Video Card(s) Asus EAH 2900 XT @ 875/900
Storage 300GB Seagate Sata II 250GB WD Sata II
Display(s) 22 inch Westinghouse
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster Audigy 4
Power Supply Corsair HX620W
Software Windows XP X64
apparently it doesn't work on abit boards because they're the only ones that check for bad checksums.

the modded bioses will have a different checksum to the original, so they just need to be fiddled with to make sure the checksum stays the same.

there are modded bioses which retain the checksum you just have to look hard enough to find them.

if i find them again i'll post em up :toast:


Awesome. Thanks man. I'll keep checking back and I'll search around online for some modded bios'.
 

elementskater706

New Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2007
Messages
22 (0.00/day)
Processor Core 2 Duo E6550 @ 3.220Ghz
Motherboard Abit IP35-E
Cooling Stock
Memory 4x1GB G.Skill DDR2-800 @ DDR2-920
Video Card(s) Asus EAH 2900 XT @ 875/900
Storage 300GB Seagate Sata II 250GB WD Sata II
Display(s) 22 inch Westinghouse
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster Audigy 4
Power Supply Corsair HX620W
Software Windows XP X64
For anyone who has this same problem, I figured out how to keep the same checksum. All I did was open up my edited bios (I set the clock speeds in the quantum force utility) in a hex editor, and changed some of the values so the checksum would match the original.

The highlighted row is the only row I changed values
 

pablo NZ

New Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2007
Messages
19 (0.00/day)
Processor Q6600
Motherboard IP35-E
Cooling GeminII
Memory 2x1gb PC6400 CL4 aXeRam
Video Card(s) 512mb GeCube 3850 X-Turbo III OC
Display(s) Samsung 206BW
Audio Device(s) Xfi Xtremegamer
Power Supply Silverstone ST50EF
Hey element skater - would you be able to customise a bios for my 256bit 2900 pro? I'm having a difficult time finding one with the correct checksum :)
 

elementskater706

New Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2007
Messages
22 (0.00/day)
Processor Core 2 Duo E6550 @ 3.220Ghz
Motherboard Abit IP35-E
Cooling Stock
Memory 4x1GB G.Skill DDR2-800 @ DDR2-920
Video Card(s) Asus EAH 2900 XT @ 875/900
Storage 300GB Seagate Sata II 250GB WD Sata II
Display(s) 22 inch Westinghouse
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster Audigy 4
Power Supply Corsair HX620W
Software Windows XP X64
I might be able to. I'm at work at the moment, so I can't work on it right now. I will be back on later. Does the 256-bit bios open up in the quantum force bios editor? If so, then I may be able to match the checksum to the original. I just thought it wasn't possible to flash the 256-bit version.
 

Duffman

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
1,011 (0.19/day)
Location
Mt. Pocono, PA
System Name Black Knight
Processor Intel Xeon W3520 @4.2Ghz
Motherboard evga Classified 760
Cooling Prolimatech Mega Shadow with Dual Noctua NF-P12 fans
Memory 6GB Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 (3gb x 2) 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire 5870 Vapor-X
Storage Corsair P128 SSD for OS, 4 Samsung 500GB in RAID10 For Storage
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240HD
Case Corsair Obsidian 800d Twin Zalman ZM-MFC Plus fan controllers
Audio Device(s) HT|OMEGA CLARO
Power Supply Antec Truepower 1000
Software Win7 64bit ultimate
Is there a database for all these modded bios?
 

elementskater706

New Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2007
Messages
22 (0.00/day)
Processor Core 2 Duo E6550 @ 3.220Ghz
Motherboard Abit IP35-E
Cooling Stock
Memory 4x1GB G.Skill DDR2-800 @ DDR2-920
Video Card(s) Asus EAH 2900 XT @ 875/900
Storage 300GB Seagate Sata II 250GB WD Sata II
Display(s) 22 inch Westinghouse
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster Audigy 4
Power Supply Corsair HX620W
Software Windows XP X64
There is no database, at least that I know of. There is a database on this site with all the stock bios images for each brand of card.
 

pablo NZ

New Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2007
Messages
19 (0.00/day)
Processor Q6600
Motherboard IP35-E
Cooling GeminII
Memory 2x1gb PC6400 CL4 aXeRam
Video Card(s) 512mb GeCube 3850 X-Turbo III OC
Display(s) Samsung 206BW
Audio Device(s) Xfi Xtremegamer
Power Supply Silverstone ST50EF
I might be able to. I'm at work at the moment, so I can't work on it right now. I will be back on later. Does the 256-bit bios open up in the quantum force bios editor? If so, then I may be able to match the checksum to the original. I just thought it wasn't possible to flash the 256-bit version.

I haven't heard anything like that :confused:
 

elementskater706

New Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2007
Messages
22 (0.00/day)
Processor Core 2 Duo E6550 @ 3.220Ghz
Motherboard Abit IP35-E
Cooling Stock
Memory 4x1GB G.Skill DDR2-800 @ DDR2-920
Video Card(s) Asus EAH 2900 XT @ 875/900
Storage 300GB Seagate Sata II 250GB WD Sata II
Display(s) 22 inch Westinghouse
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster Audigy 4
Power Supply Corsair HX620W
Software Windows XP X64
Hey Pablo, what brand of card is it? (e.g. sapphire)
 

pablo NZ

New Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2007
Messages
19 (0.00/day)
Processor Q6600
Motherboard IP35-E
Cooling GeminII
Memory 2x1gb PC6400 CL4 aXeRam
Video Card(s) 512mb GeCube 3850 X-Turbo III OC
Display(s) Samsung 206BW
Audio Device(s) Xfi Xtremegamer
Power Supply Silverstone ST50EF
Sapphire 512mb 256-bit 2900 Pro.
 

elementskater706

New Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2007
Messages
22 (0.00/day)
Processor Core 2 Duo E6550 @ 3.220Ghz
Motherboard Abit IP35-E
Cooling Stock
Memory 4x1GB G.Skill DDR2-800 @ DDR2-920
Video Card(s) Asus EAH 2900 XT @ 875/900
Storage 300GB Seagate Sata II 250GB WD Sata II
Display(s) 22 inch Westinghouse
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster Audigy 4
Power Supply Corsair HX620W
Software Windows XP X64
What do you want the voltage and clock speeds at? Add any other info that you think is necessary. I may be able to make it tonight. Also, PM me your email address.

P.S. I'm not responsible if this bricks your card. Use it at your own risk!!!!
 

pablo NZ

New Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2007
Messages
19 (0.00/day)
Processor Q6600
Motherboard IP35-E
Cooling GeminII
Memory 2x1gb PC6400 CL4 aXeRam
Video Card(s) 512mb GeCube 3850 X-Turbo III OC
Display(s) Samsung 206BW
Audio Device(s) Xfi Xtremegamer
Power Supply Silverstone ST50EF
Heh - things rarely last 24 hours in my hands before the warranty is well and truly void so no probs mate! :p

2d profile = 300mhz core, 300mhz mem, 0.90v vcore, default all else
3d profile = 600mhz core, 800mhz mem, 1.15v vcore, default all else
overdrive profile = no change (i don't use it)

Thanks heaps n heaps n heaps :)
 

glenboy

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2007
Messages
34 (0.01/day)
hi there i have got a maximus extreme motherboard with 3 graphics cards slots picked up a s/hand 2900xt so put it in so it has 3 2900s in , at the moment i have flashed back to default bios , if i flash thes 2 are sapphire one is club3d so i was going to save the club 3d bios using ati flash as i already have the sapphire modded ones use the quantum force editor adjust clocks and volts , then reflash the cards would the identifier be 2 for the 3rd card eg 0 is first 1 is the second and 2 is the 3rd

p.s ran a few benchmarks and no improvement atm with current drivers over a 2 card setup


also if anybody wants to run the modded bios on a later driver than 7.11 a guy on xs reckons hes cracked it, i have installed 8.1 driver that way and it works ok but atm my cards are on stock bios

hers the link
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showpost.php?p=2707621&postcount=236
 

elementskater706

New Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2007
Messages
22 (0.00/day)
Processor Core 2 Duo E6550 @ 3.220Ghz
Motherboard Abit IP35-E
Cooling Stock
Memory 4x1GB G.Skill DDR2-800 @ DDR2-920
Video Card(s) Asus EAH 2900 XT @ 875/900
Storage 300GB Seagate Sata II 250GB WD Sata II
Display(s) 22 inch Westinghouse
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster Audigy 4
Power Supply Corsair HX620W
Software Windows XP X64
Yes, the third card would be number 2. I wasn't aware that you couldn't run these modded bio's with any version after 7.11 is that true?
 

glenboy

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2007
Messages
34 (0.01/day)
no it all boots up ok as normal but when you run 3dapps like 3d mark it only runs them at the 2d speed clocks doesn't upshift to 3d clock speeds , i'm going to flash my cards tonight i'll report back if the modded bios works with modded 8.1 driver
 

elementskater706

New Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2007
Messages
22 (0.00/day)
Processor Core 2 Duo E6550 @ 3.220Ghz
Motherboard Abit IP35-E
Cooling Stock
Memory 4x1GB G.Skill DDR2-800 @ DDR2-920
Video Card(s) Asus EAH 2900 XT @ 875/900
Storage 300GB Seagate Sata II 250GB WD Sata II
Display(s) 22 inch Westinghouse
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster Audigy 4
Power Supply Corsair HX620W
Software Windows XP X64
I can confirm that it doesn't work with modded bio's. I was wondering why I was having problems with my games. One thing I was doing as a temporary workaround was open atitool right before you play a game, so your card switches to the 3d clocks. But just to confirm, 7.11 and under are the only ones that work with the modded bios?
 

glenboy

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2007
Messages
34 (0.01/day)

elementskater706

New Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2007
Messages
22 (0.00/day)
Processor Core 2 Duo E6550 @ 3.220Ghz
Motherboard Abit IP35-E
Cooling Stock
Memory 4x1GB G.Skill DDR2-800 @ DDR2-920
Video Card(s) Asus EAH 2900 XT @ 875/900
Storage 300GB Seagate Sata II 250GB WD Sata II
Display(s) 22 inch Westinghouse
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) Creative Soundblaster Audigy 4
Power Supply Corsair HX620W
Software Windows XP X64
Awesome. Thanks for the links.
 

glenboy

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2007
Messages
34 (0.01/day)
no worries mate

everybodys done some good work on here especially mandelore as i didn't have a clue how to flash the ati cards and now due to this thread i've probably flashed the 20+ times , so thanks for sharing your insights, i think the quickest drivers in 3dmarks anyway were the 7.11 hotfix crysis driver but the 8.1's are pretty close, heres my aquamark score on an e6850 at 4.11 ghz 2 sapphire 2900xts at 893 core 980 mem with 8.1 driver and ccc with modded bios using quantum editor, so zeneffects fix definitely works, weird how 1 line of text in driver makes it work or not work



 

madmanmarz

New Member
Joined
May 22, 2007
Messages
22 (0.00/day)
i made a bios with the quantum force editor, only changes were really low 2d clocks (300/400ish), and voltage set to 1.25. i restarted, and then reinstalled the 8.2 drivers and did the inf fix and restarted again. problem is that now, nothing comes up on my screen until vista loads (bios, loading screen etc.) on a side note, clocks so far are 875/899 1.25v (slightly conservative) and stable through 3dmark06, i think i'm gonna try raising the voltage because my temps are only 42 idle and just below 60c load.

also, i'm trying to find a windowed stress test that will put my card into 3d mode, so far ati tool and rthdribl don't work. i could deal with rthdribl if it didn't lock itself into 640x480 in full screen which also locks my fps around 60, so i can't figure out if my oc changes are helping or not.
thanks ahead of time.

ps this mod is awesome, i finally broke 10k in 3dmark06 with vista64.
 
Last edited:

digitalhater

New Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2007
Messages
110 (0.02/day)
System Name [D]igital [H]ate
Processor Intel Quad Core Q6600 @2,4 Mhz cooled with Asus Silent Knight II
Motherboard ASUS P5E
Cooling 5x Case Coolers, 1x Video Cooler, 1x 2 Fans HDD Cooling
Memory Mushkin 2x2Gb @1066Mhz
Video Card(s) BFG nVidia GeForce 9800GX2 1GB DDRAM3
Storage 1xSeagate 160GB SATA2; 1x Seagate Barracuda 500GB - 7200.11, 32MB Buffer Sata2
Display(s) LG L226WA 22" HDReady LCD Monitor | LG LCDTV 42LG5000 1080p on HDMI
Case Raidmax Smilodon
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 7.1
Power Supply Thermaltake ToughPower 600W
Software Windows Vista Ultimate SP1
yes, 0 is card one, 1 is card two. good luck mate!

just flashed my card to 930 core/1200 memory @ 1.35 volts.

can do more, but not gonna bother till i get more volts coz i wanna see at least 980 core, and hoping for 1k core

heres the success of my flash :)


Bro, how do you cool your card like that? My Sapphire 2900PRO in idle has 60C ...what should I do about these temps?
 

digitalhater

New Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2007
Messages
110 (0.02/day)
System Name [D]igital [H]ate
Processor Intel Quad Core Q6600 @2,4 Mhz cooled with Asus Silent Knight II
Motherboard ASUS P5E
Cooling 5x Case Coolers, 1x Video Cooler, 1x 2 Fans HDD Cooling
Memory Mushkin 2x2Gb @1066Mhz
Video Card(s) BFG nVidia GeForce 9800GX2 1GB DDRAM3
Storage 1xSeagate 160GB SATA2; 1x Seagate Barracuda 500GB - 7200.11, 32MB Buffer Sata2
Display(s) LG L226WA 22" HDReady LCD Monitor | LG LCDTV 42LG5000 1080p on HDMI
Case Raidmax Smilodon
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 7.1
Power Supply Thermaltake ToughPower 600W
Software Windows Vista Ultimate SP1
Hi all, well, over at the foxconn forums shamino has created a clock tool for editing bios's from the 2900 graphics cards.

I have also inquired about the problems getting past 1.35 volts within the bios so hopefully there will be some sort of solution, but this tool rox, allows changes to 2d/3d clocks etc..

so if you know your good at 900mhz core 3d, you can just go set it. :)

http://resources.vr-zone.com/Shamino/QuantumForce2900BiosEditor.exe



Respect to Shamino :rockout:

Edit: TO FLASH YOUR CARD (warning, may kill your card, burn ur house down, kill endangered species etc if ur not careful, just a warning)

1) get atiflash: http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/748/.html

2) make a bootable dos floppy disk, or usb stick:

http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/330/HP_USB_Stick_Formatting_Tool.html (usb stick)

http://www.softpedia.com/get/System/Boot-Manager-Disk/My-BootDisk.shtml (floppy disk)

3) make a copy of your bios, duplacate for backup purposes, use this tool:

http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/BIOS_Saver.exe

4) once u make a boot disk/usb stick, copy atiflash and your modified bios to the disk its self.

5)restart computer, select in bios to start via usb drive, or the floppy drive and boot into the dos disk.

6)at the command prompt, type:

atiflash -p 0 -newbios xxxxbios.rom -f (with xxxxbios.rom being your new bios)

7)restart and enjoy



I'm a noob in overclocking modding flashing and all. Could you please tell me where do I find a good bios for my Sapphire 2900PRO 1GB ddram4 ? Or how should I get the best of it but yet not burn it?

Thanks m8!
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,317 (0.38/day)
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
^^mandelore he' on water
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,317 (0.38/day)
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,317 (0.38/day)
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
^^^ that's correct
 
Top