• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

3700X Memory Issue

Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
2,918 (1.57/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 3900X
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X570
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB GSkill CL16 3600mhz
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 2 x AData XPG 8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake Tower 900
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,415 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Yes! But it appears that my luck is changing, 3900X will be on my doorstep on Sunday!
Let me review your parts, you still have your specs for intel lol

Well bios version 2.10 is Agesa ABBA for that board
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
2,918 (1.57/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 3900X
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X570
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB GSkill CL16 3600mhz
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 2 x AData XPG 8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake Tower 900
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum
Let me review your parts, you still have your specs for intel lol

Well bios version 2.10 is Agesa ABBA for that board
Yeah I haven't even switched it over to my main machine yet. This is it: https://pcpartpicker.com/list/rhcQzN. Power supply is Seasonic Ultra Platinum.

I am suspecting the board or 3700X. The problem seems to stem from the fclock which the ram seems to have nothing to do with. I was pissed off and saw Amazon had some in stock and said and f'if.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,415 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Yeah I haven't even switched it over to my main machine yet. This is it: https://pcpartpicker.com/list/rhcQzN. Power supply is Seasonic Ultra Platinum.

I am suspecting the board or 3700X. The problem seems to stem from the fclock which the ram seems to have nothing to do with. I was pissed off and saw Amazon had some in stock and said and f'if.
Interesting enough AsRock hasnt tested that kit of yours. And All Bios supposedly Support 3900X.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
2,918 (1.57/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 3900X
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X570
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB GSkill CL16 3600mhz
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 2 x AData XPG 8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake Tower 900
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum
Interesting enough AsRock hasnt tested that kit of yours.
No, no they haven't. They have tested this kit though: https://www.newegg.com/p/pl?d=F4-3600C16Q-32GTZNC. They haven't tested shit for 16GB sticks to be honest. However, given they had test Trident Z's and these were Trident Z Neos (Made for Ryzen), I figured what could go wrong? That said, the ram runs (mostly) fine at the rated speeds. The infinity fabric on the other hand, does not.

Also, get Thaiphoon burner and the DRAM Calculator to see what they spit out about your RAM.
So interestingly, if I try to use DRAM calculator, I get an error. I'll try to post that later.

Not sure why I thought it was giving an error. Pretty frustrated at that point to who knows.

133358
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
5,131 (0.91/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/ztiub6
No, no they haven't. They have tested this kit though: https://www.newegg.com/p/pl?d=F4-3600C16Q-32GTZNC. They haven't tested shit for 16GB sticks to be honest. However, given they had test Trident Z's and these were Trident Z Neos (Made for Ryzen), I figured what could go wrong? That said, the ram runs (mostly) fine at the rated speeds. The infinity fabric on the other hand, does not.



So interestingly, if I try to use DRAM calculator, I get an error. I'll try to post that later.

Not sure why I thought it was giving an error. Pretty frustrated at that point to who knows.

View attachment 133358
The Trident Z's are Samsung B-die and the Neo are Hynix CJR, two entirely different kettles of fish.

If you enter the DRAM Calculator settings in your UEFI, does the system boot, or is it still throwing a fit?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,415 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
No, no they haven't. They have tested this kit though: https://www.newegg.com/p/pl?d=F4-3600C16Q-32GTZNC. They haven't tested shit for 16GB sticks to be honest. However, given they had test Trident Z's and these were Trident Z Neos (Made for Ryzen), I figured what could go wrong? That said, the ram runs (mostly) fine at the rated speeds. The infinity fabric on the other hand, does not.



So interestingly, if I try to use DRAM calculator, I get an error. I'll try to post that later.

Not sure why I thought it was giving an error. Pretty frustrated at that point to who knows.

View attachment 133358
I just know the Gskill qvl mentions asrock X570 series and asrock qvl mentions these.


Where as this kit is on asrocks qvl but on gskills qvl it only mentions Z370 and X299.


This kit is not on asrocks qvl but on gskills qvl it states X570 and Z390 chipset

 
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
2,918 (1.57/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 3900X
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X570
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB GSkill CL16 3600mhz
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 2 x AData XPG 8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake Tower 900
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum
The Trident Z's are Samsung B-die and the Neo are Hynix CJR, two entirely different kettles of fish.

If you enter the DRAM Calculator settings in your UEFI, does the system boot, or is it still throwing a fit?
The 3900X comes tomorrow so I will find out everything then.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
2,918 (1.57/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 3900X
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X570
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB GSkill CL16 3600mhz
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 2 x AData XPG 8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake Tower 900
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum
Seasonic ultra platinum.
 

(*^^*)

New Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2019
Messages
27 (0.15/day)
There seems to have been a similar case in Japan. There are two ways to improve when running on 3200 instead of 3600. (1) Change from 4 DRAMs to 2 DRAMs. If it is 4 DRAM, it seems to be 3200 by default. (2) Re-stab 2 cards in the vacant slot, not the slot you are currently stabbing. Somehow this seems to have improved.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
2,918 (1.57/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 3900X
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X570
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB GSkill CL16 3600mhz
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 2 x AData XPG 8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake Tower 900
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum
So I have the 3900X installed and everything booted first try.

Ram is at 16 19 19 19 39 @ 1.35 and FCLK is at 1800.

Now to figure out what to do with this extra 3700X that I can only replace and not refund.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,415 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
So I have the 3900X installed and everything booted first try.

Ram is at 16 19 19 19 39 @ 1.35 and FCLK is at 1800.

Now to figure out what to do with this extra 3700X that I can only replace and not refund.
Replace it then sell it as is
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
5,131 (0.91/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/ztiub6
So I have the 3900X installed and everything booted first try.

Ram is at 16 19 19 19 39 @ 1.35 and FCLK is at 1800.

Now to figure out what to do with this extra 3700X that I can only replace and not refund.
This suggests that there's something of an issue with some Ryzen 3000 memory controllers, if everything else is exactly the same.
Good to hear everything is working as expected now though. You might be able to tighten the sub timings a little bit.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 5, 2019
Messages
227 (0.93/day)
System Name Neon Master
Processor AMD Ryzen 3900x
Motherboard x570 Aorus Master F10
Cooling H115i RGB Platinum 280mm/Case Fans NF-A14 x4
Memory 2x16GB 3733 C16 G.Skill Neo
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super Strix
Storage MP600 1tb+2tb / 860 Evo 1tb / WD4005FZBX
Display(s) LG 27GL850-b
Case Phanteks Evolv X
Audio Device(s) BeyerDynamic DT 770 Pro (250 Ohms)
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000w
Mouse Scimitar Pro rgb
Keyboard K95 Platinum rgb
Software W10Pro 1909
Faulty memory controller, even if you can't return it you should try to RMA it and then maybe sell the usable RMA unit.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,567 (8.40/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ Corsair H55 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G903 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
2,918 (1.57/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 3900X
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X570
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB GSkill CL16 3600mhz
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 2 x AData XPG 8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake Tower 900
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum
So I sent the 3700X back to Newegg and they are rejecting the RMA because they said the pins were damaged. Sigh....

Edit: Not sure how I am going to test this cpu when it is returned back to me because the CPU would boot and okay games just at f'ed up memory configs.
 
Last edited:

Pariah4life36022

New Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Messages
4 (0.01/day)
So, today is not my day. The 3700X is running and I am trying to get the specs dialed in.

So I have this kit of mem: https://www.newegg.com/g-skill-32gb-288-pin-ddr4-sdram/p/N82E16820232861
3700X
X570 Taichi

I can't for life of me get it to boot on anything other than 3600 16 19 19 19 39 with IF uncoupled at 1600. Anything else gives me a 0x07 on DrDebug which appears to be a lock after microcode (and not in my manual).

Sigh...
memory qvl for you motherboard and that kit is not listed https://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/X570 Taichi/#MemoryMS
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
5,131 (0.91/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/ztiub6
So I sent the 3700X back to Newegg and they are rejecting the RMA because they said the pins were damaged. Sigh....

Edit: Not sure how I am going to test this cpu when it is returned back to me because the CPU would boot and okay games just at f'ed up memory configs.
RMA to AMD.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
2,918 (1.57/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 3900X
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X570
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB GSkill CL16 3600mhz
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 2 x AData XPG 8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake Tower 900
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
5,131 (0.91/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/ztiub6
Yeah, that is going to be what I have to do but not sure what they are going to say about damaged pins. That's said, there were no damaged pins when it left my house and if left in the factory boxy decently padded.
You could always blame the courier...
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
2,918 (1.57/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 3900X
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X570
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB GSkill CL16 3600mhz
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 2 x AData XPG 8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake Tower 900
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum
You could always blame the courier...
Sucks, but without pictures I have no legs to stand on. Really have hates ordering from the Egg lately. I guess I don't need to worry about that anymore.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
2,918 (1.57/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 3900X
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X570
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB GSkill CL16 3600mhz
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 2 x AData XPG 8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake Tower 900
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum
Sucks, but without pictures I have no legs to stand on. Really have hates ordering from the Egg lately. I guess I don't need to worry about that anymore.
So I just got the CPU back from Newegg and there are indeed 4 pins bent the side of cpu with the R in Ryzen pretty much directly in the middle on the outermost row/columns of pins.

I don't believe the box was the one I sent in as it is damaged, has Scotch tape over the tamper seal with part of the seal missing, and the Ryzen sticker is missing from the tray. There was a mix-up or I got bamboozled.
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,415 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
So I sent the 3700X back to Newegg and they are rejecting the RMA because they said the pins were damaged. Sigh....

Edit: Not sure how I am going to test this cpu when it is returned back to me because the CPU would boot and okay games just at f'ed up memory configs.
Shop
 
Top