1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

4 Pin CPU PSU Cable in 8 Pin Mobo?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by CarolinaKSU, May 23, 2008.

  1. CarolinaKSU New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    442 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    So I am helping my roomate put together his new pc. He has a Q6600 paired with a XFX 680i LT Mobo and bought a Raidmax Smilidon Case with a 500 watt PSU that came with it.

    We were about to plug in the CPU cable when we realized that the PSU only has the 4 pin CPU cable and not an 8 pin one. Would that be enough juice for the processor and should I be concerned about the PSU's quality?
     
  2. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,201
    it should work fine
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. PrudentPrincess

    PrudentPrincess New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    669 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Eugene
    I'm running a E6750@3.64ghz, 2 hard drives and a 9800gtx with the PSU that comes with the X-Qpack2 (500w) if that gives you an idea.
    That reminds me...I need to change system specs...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. CarolinaKSU New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    442 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Thanks for the quick replies, does anyone know about the quality of these PSUs that are included in this case? I have heard that alot of the PSU + case bundles either have total crap or an excellent one that is just rebadged.
     
  5. Squirrely

    Squirrely

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    367 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    I personally do not trust power supplies for my systems. But, since you have one, just check the amps on each voltage, and make sure you have enough on each rail. (Or you can post them here)

    But, you should be fine, unless you plan to overclock the snot out of it lol.
     
  6. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,201
    psu itself isn't too good i must say..

    and of course almost all of the included case psu's are crap.. unless if its from a decent brand (eg silverstone psu in a silverstone case, silverstone psus= excellent)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Duxx Guest

    I;m pretty sure they are absolute crap because for a case and PSU for under 70$, something isn't right. However, i do have 3 friends with that same case/PSU, one has had for over a year without any problems, so it shouldn't be too awfully bad. I despise them for it, and hope it will go bust just so they learn their lesson, but it hasn't come yet :nutkick:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,338 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    Take a pic of the psu so i can see the amps and brand. Higher amps = better, Brands, well I gotta see it first.
     
  9. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,201
    [​IMG]

    ul number pulled up andyson (also confirmed with psu guide).. its the same company that makes the notorious hiper psu's.... in other words, bad psu.
     
    CarolinaKSU says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. CarolinaKSU New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    442 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Actually I made a typo in the original post, its the 600 watt PSU, but thanks to Panchoman for the pic because it is the exact same thing we are dealing with over here.

    So it looks like my roomate is investing in a Silverstone.. :toast:
     
  11. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,201
    try getting a corsair 520hx psu :toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. CarolinaKSU New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    442 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    All within the realm of possibility, I have the 620 and I love it.. Unfortunately they dont have those at the local rinky dink PC shop, I am pretty sure he doesnt want to wait for it to show up.. :laugh:
     
  13. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,201
    well what choices do you have for a psu? do you have pc power and cooling? antec neohe? seasonic?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. CarolinaKSU New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    442 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    When I was in there last time they had a Silverstone 500w and an Antec 600w and Thermalright (no thanks..)

    The antec will probably be cheapest so he will go for that Im betting..
     
  15. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,201
    get an antec neohe or quattro (not smartpower) or thermaltake (thermalright doesn't make psus afaik) tough power psus.. otherwise silverstone
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. MrW

    MrW New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    188 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    I've never had any problems with Seasonic, Silverstone, or Corsair power supplies.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,462 (6.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,473
    Location:
    Houston
    umm there is nothing wrong with thermaltake psus check my specs thats a 2-3yr old purepower not toughpower its silent and runs cool but now i have an added 40mm on the back just in case...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,201
    i said thermaltake was fine...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,462 (6.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,473
    Location:
    Houston
    you did but OP said no to them
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,201
    Op?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    26,462 (6.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,473
    Location:
    Houston
    original poster
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,809 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    548
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Original Poster :p

    That PSU isnt too bad, and some of Hiper's PSUs are actually pretty damn good, though I couldnt tell you which ones. It says its approved by Intel and AMD so Im guessing its good enough to run most mainstream procs without any overclocks. I highly recommend getting an aftermarket PSU. If he can hold off on anything extreme with his system, Newegg.com is one of the best places to pick up a Corsair, Silverstone, Thermaltake, Antec,etc psu and get it in about 1 - 2days (depending on where you live it may actually take all 3).
     
    CarolinaKSU says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. CarolinaKSU New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    442 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    I meant Thermaltake, had a little brain fart there..

    But we are going to go with the cheap POS for now and just get it up and running and then probably pick up a Corsair or Silverstone from the internets.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)