• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

5500 XT problem.

Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
1,997 (1.26/day)
Location
Currently Norway
System Name Bro2
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Carbon
Cooling Corsair h115i pro rgb
Memory G.Skill Flare X 3200 CL14
Video Card(s) RX Vega 64 Red Devil / Sapphire 5600XT pulse
Storage M.2 Samsung Evo 970 250MB/ Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Display(s) LG 27UD69 UHD
Case Fractal Design G
Audio Device(s) realtec 5.1
Power Supply Corsair AXi 760W / Seasonic 750W GOLD
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech slim
Software Windows 10 64 bit
Hi everybody.
I've got a problem with one of my 5500 XT cards.
I been using it with 3970X threadripper, 64 GB corsair vengeance ram, Asus TRX-40 pro Prime, Corsair AX850, Samsung 970 Pro 1TB.
The problem is pretty weird.
Computer boots to BIOS and I can see that everything is in order. Problem is when I try to boot to windows. I get black screen and that's basically it. I have used a different card 1050TI with my set up and I have uninstalled the driver for AMD (DDU)
After I did and swap the cards (back to 5500 XT) I was able to boot to windows with no problems. Downloaded latest driver from AMD but during the installation the screen goes black again and the only thing I can do is reset. After the reset the driver is not installed so I can easily boot to windows.
I think it is the 5500 XT that is somehow broken. I have exactly same set up for my second Threadripper (exactly same as 1st one) and the 5500 XT (another card) works fine. (The OS on each computer is the same by cloning)
I switched to 1050Ti now and been using it with no problems but was curios what do you guys think. Maybe someone has encountered such a problem.
I been thinking of re-pasting the malfunctioning card and change thermal pads but not sure if this would do any good.

Thanks for the information and insight.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2009
Messages
5,656 (1.34/day)
Location
Northampton,UK
System Name Ultraman
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600X
Motherboard MSI B450M Mortar Max
Cooling Be Quiet! Shadow Rock Slim/2x140mmCorsair SP140 /2x120mmSilverstone RGB /1x120mm Antec RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 16GB 3000MHZ
Video Card(s) Nvidia Palit GamingPro RTX 3080
Storage SSD - OCZ ARC 100 256GB HDD + Sandisk Ultra 3D 500GB - Western Digital Green 1TB
Display(s) MSI Optix MAG27CQ 1440p 144Hz Monitor
Case Silverstone RL08-BW (Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium - Grey Window Version Semi-retired)
Audio Device(s) onboard/Speakers: Logitech Z-4
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Gold+ 850W Modular
Mouse Corsair Harpoon
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Cherry MX Red Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
You DDU all graphic drivers including the Nvidia and previous AMD drivers? Maybe there is a clash which is preventing the driver installing correctly.
Maybe try and let windows install AMD GPU driver from windows update and see if you get same problem?
Does that 5500xt work in your other machine?
 
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
1,997 (1.26/day)
Location
Currently Norway
System Name Bro2
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Carbon
Cooling Corsair h115i pro rgb
Memory G.Skill Flare X 3200 CL14
Video Card(s) RX Vega 64 Red Devil / Sapphire 5600XT pulse
Storage M.2 Samsung Evo 970 250MB/ Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Display(s) LG 27UD69 UHD
Case Fractal Design G
Audio Device(s) realtec 5.1
Power Supply Corsair AXi 760W / Seasonic 750W GOLD
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech slim
Software Windows 10 64 bit
You DDU all graphic drivers including the Nvidia and previous AMD drivers? Maybe there is a clash which is preventing the driver installing correctly.
Maybe try and let windows install AMD GPU driver from windows update and see if you get same problem?
Does that 5500xt work in your other machine?
Everything both graphics. I didnt even install NV graphics when i swapped the cards. Just wanted to get to the windows to see if it boots. It did with no problems. I removed AMD (DDU) drivers and swapped the cards back. With the 5500XT, booted to windows and while installing drivers black screen. restarted booted back to OS but the driver was not installed. Just black screen every time I tried installing AMD graphics driver.
I tried the 5500 XT in other machine but same problem. Cant install the driver, I get black screen. That is why I'm sure it's the 5500XT but maybe it is due to some power management or thermals pads or thermal paste not put correctly.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,443 (6.29/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Download current most current bios files.

Download latest chipset driver

Download Radeon Pro software for Enterprise here

Disconnect from internet-pull cord/disable adapter.

DDU drivers using the switch card brands method, twice in windows, once in safe mode, delete all nvidia traces in folder/registry.

Flash mobo bios- make sure to save a profile and then load optimized defaults then flash, reload profile.

Install chipset driver, restart

Install gpu driver I suggested above, reatart.

If still fails, RMA the card or switch to a different card brand (Sapphire if not already)
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2015
Messages
242 (0.13/day)
Location
Perth , West Australia
System Name schweinestalle
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700 X
Motherboard Asus Prime - Pro X 570 + Asus PCE-AC68 Dual Band PCI-E Wi-Fi Adapter
Cooling Standard Air
Memory Kingston HyperX 2 x 8 gb DDR 4 3200mhz
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 5700 XT 8 GB Strix
Storage Intel SSD 240 gb Speed Demon & WD 240 SSD Blue & WD 250 SSD Green & Seagate Barracuda 1 TB Sata
Display(s) Asus XG 32 V ROG
Case Corsair AIR ATX
Audio Device(s) Realtech standard
Power Supply Corsair 850 Modular
Mouse CM Havoc
Keyboard Corsair Cherry Mechanical
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores Unigine_Superposition 4K ultra 7582
Have you tried using a different drive with a fresh format and install ?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,443 (6.29/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
1,997 (1.26/day)
Location
Currently Norway
System Name Bro2
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Carbon
Cooling Corsair h115i pro rgb
Memory G.Skill Flare X 3200 CL14
Video Card(s) RX Vega 64 Red Devil / Sapphire 5600XT pulse
Storage M.2 Samsung Evo 970 250MB/ Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Display(s) LG 27UD69 UHD
Case Fractal Design G
Audio Device(s) realtec 5.1
Power Supply Corsair AXi 760W / Seasonic 750W GOLD
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech slim
Software Windows 10 64 bit
My 2 PC are exactly same clones. They have the latest drivers installed. (Unless there is something new that showed up recently)
I tried the card in a different PC Intel 8700, ASUS ROG Strix Z390-F Gaming and no luck as well. Same thing. The TR works for now with NV 1050Ti and I can afford to waste more time. The threadrippers need to earn their money so I will have to wait with tests or simply just RMA the card now. I Understand that Updating the graphics cards Bios/Firmware ain't changing anything?
What about the thermal pads? I know people been having this issue with other cards and after re-paste and changing thermal pads all was gone. BTW. This is important. The card worked perfectly with the system I have. It just stopped after 2 and a half week or so. Suddenly just stopped.

Thanks for helping and all the comments.
 

Rixhard peace

New Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2020
Messages
1 (0.02/day)
Hi Ratirt, do you found the solution? Have the same problem and I dont know what to do with my card
 

thatbemeacb

New Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2020
Messages
1 (0.03/day)
im having the same issue. have tried every forum i have come across online, still no luck. ddu, reinstalling windows, removed gpu replaced it. nothing helped. my next thing is to try to get a replacement or sale it and buy a non 55-57xt
 

Triple 777

New Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2020
Messages
1 (0.05/day)
Same problem with the Gigabyte amd 5500xt. Soon as I load the drivers or let windows load them windows 10 go's down. Finally bought a 1660 super Nvidia card and evrything works great. drivers installed thereself within a couple mins. As they should.
Thats my first and last Readon card..........
 

djfreshas

New Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2019
Messages
4 (0.01/day)
same issue to me. bought the gpu and it started crushing to blue screen while in games. after that it could not boot but give black screen. i searched the internet to get fix but all the solution i get is temporary. and the card keeps crushing and not booting. i will never ever buy AMD products with my own money. this is a second GPU giving me issues.
 
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
1,997 (1.26/day)
Location
Currently Norway
System Name Bro2
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Carbon
Cooling Corsair h115i pro rgb
Memory G.Skill Flare X 3200 CL14
Video Card(s) RX Vega 64 Red Devil / Sapphire 5600XT pulse
Storage M.2 Samsung Evo 970 250MB/ Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Display(s) LG 27UD69 UHD
Case Fractal Design G
Audio Device(s) realtec 5.1
Power Supply Corsair AXi 760W / Seasonic 750W GOLD
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech slim
Software Windows 10 64 bit
same issue to me. bought the gpu and it started crushing to blue screen while in games. after that it could not boot but give black screen. i searched the internet to get fix but all the solution i get is temporary. and the card keeps crushing and not booting. i will never ever buy AMD products with my own money. this is a second GPU giving me issues.
I had to return my card and got a new one instead. No problems with the new one.
With the 5600xt i got a black screen as well. When I noticed my Vega 64 got damaged i bought 5600xt and had a problem with it. Turned out it was my PSU that was failing. Bought a brand new SeaSonic and problem was gone forever.
 

djfreshas

New Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2019
Messages
4 (0.01/day)
I had to return my card and got a new one instead. No problems with the new one.
With the 5600xt i got a black screen as well. When I noticed my Vega 64 got damaged i bought 5600xt and had a problem with it. Turned out it was my PSU that was failing. Bought a brand new SeaSonic and problem was gone forever.
thanks for the feedback. im now using Dual PSU including the old one and the problem is still there. I doubt if its the PSU but I will investigate and try using a different one and see if it will crush
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2016
Messages
391 (0.28/day)
System Name The de-ploughminator
Processor I7 8700K @ 5.1Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
Cooling Custom Watercooling
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Neo 3600mhz 15-15-15-30
Video Card(s) RTX 2080 Ti + Heatkiller IV wb
Storage Plextor 512GB nvme SSD
Display(s) LG 34GN850-B
Case Lian Li 011D Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Creative AE-5
Power Supply Corsair RM1000
So basically PSUs with poor transient response probably cause AMD GPU to crash ?
OEM probably put el cheapo caps on these GPUs to cut cost...
 
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
1,997 (1.26/day)
Location
Currently Norway
System Name Bro2
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Carbon
Cooling Corsair h115i pro rgb
Memory G.Skill Flare X 3200 CL14
Video Card(s) RX Vega 64 Red Devil / Sapphire 5600XT pulse
Storage M.2 Samsung Evo 970 250MB/ Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Display(s) LG 27UD69 UHD
Case Fractal Design G
Audio Device(s) realtec 5.1
Power Supply Corsair AXi 760W / Seasonic 750W GOLD
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech slim
Software Windows 10 64 bit
So basically PSUs with poor transient response probably cause AMD GPU to crash ?
OEM probably put el cheapo caps on these GPUs to cut cost...
My Corsair AXi 750W is more than enough for Vega 64 and for sure 5600XT. Vega just stopped working crazy sound and freeze. Couldn't get it to work. Bought a 5600XT with new PSU. On Corsair, random black screens. With new PSU no black screens. I didnt even reinstall system nor anything just installed the latest driver available.
thanks for the feedback. im now using Dual PSU including the old one and the problem is still there. I doubt if its the PSU but I will investigate and try using a different one and see if it will crush
I been saying this a while now but, PSU is important. The Navi cards, in my opinion, are kinda fragile in terms of power drops or current and PSU plays a role here , especially if you get a crappy one. My corsair was 8 years old and that would explain why my Vega failed and why 5600xt showed some problems. My PSU's reliability went down the window after such a long time of usage.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2016
Messages
391 (0.28/day)
System Name The de-ploughminator
Processor I7 8700K @ 5.1Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
Cooling Custom Watercooling
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Neo 3600mhz 15-15-15-30
Video Card(s) RTX 2080 Ti + Heatkiller IV wb
Storage Plextor 512GB nvme SSD
Display(s) LG 34GN850-B
Case Lian Li 011D Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Creative AE-5
Power Supply Corsair RM1000
My Corsair AXi 750W is more than enough for Vega 64 and for sure 5600XT. Vega just stopped working crazy sound and freeze. Couldn't get it to work. Bought a 5600XT with new PSU. On Corsair, random black screens. With new PSU no black screens. I didnt even reinstall system nor anything just installed the latest driver available.
I been saying this a while now but, PSU is important. The Navi cards, in my opinion, are kinda fragile in terms of power drops or current and PSU plays a role here , especially if you get a crappy one. My corsair was 8 years old and that would explain why my Vega failed and why 5600xt showed some problems. My PSU's reliability went down the window after such a long time of usage.
Jup, the capacitors inside the PSU degrade over time, same as the capacitors on your Vega 64. The degradation rate depends on temperature, the higher temp the faster the degradation. The best Panasonic caps has an endurance of 5000h at 105C, the lower caps have only 2000h endurance at 105C.
So yeah paying more for PSU is always a good idea, poor PSU will more likely to take out your entire PC when it goes out :D
 

djfreshas

New Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2019
Messages
4 (0.01/day)
My Corsair AXi 750W is more than enough for Vega 64 and for sure 5600XT. Vega just stopped working crazy sound and freeze. Couldn't get it to work. Bought a 5600XT with new PSU. On Corsair, random black screens. With new PSU no black screens. I didnt even reinstall system nor anything just installed the latest driver available.

I been saying this a while now but, PSU is important. The Navi cards, in my opinion, are kinda fragile in terms of power drops or current and PSU plays a role here , especially if you get a crappy one. My corsair was 8 years old and that would explain why my Vega failed and why 5600xt showed some problems. My PSU's reliability went down the window after such a long time of usage.
yes, i do understand that the PSU is very important. my current PSU its corsair RM1000X. though i bought it second hand. but i will try to replace it and see what happens today
 
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
1,997 (1.26/day)
Location
Currently Norway
System Name Bro2
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Carbon
Cooling Corsair h115i pro rgb
Memory G.Skill Flare X 3200 CL14
Video Card(s) RX Vega 64 Red Devil / Sapphire 5600XT pulse
Storage M.2 Samsung Evo 970 250MB/ Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Display(s) LG 27UD69 UHD
Case Fractal Design G
Audio Device(s) realtec 5.1
Power Supply Corsair AXi 760W / Seasonic 750W GOLD
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech slim
Software Windows 10 64 bit
yes, i do understand that the PSU is very important. my current PSU its corsair RM1000X. though i bought it second hand. but i will try to replace it and see what happens today
Try going to a colleague or a friend that can test your card or maybe can borrow you a functioning PSU. Maybe the number of phases that some PSU are using just don't agree with Navi cards? hard to tell. Or it is simply the quality and degradation of the PSU that matters here.
Maybe you can buy a new product and try it out. If it won't help you can return it and that way you will be able to test your card with a brand new PSU?
That was what I did actually but I had to keep the PSU since that was the issue solver for me.
 
Top