• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

5600XT flashing problem

cadjer

New Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2021
Messages
6 (0.13/day)
Hello!
Like many people here I have a problem with my 5600 xt (Sapphire Pulse rx5600xt BE. PN S88-4E416-002SA).
I think I broke it with a bad bios.
From the first boot up, I got:
- impossible to start my rodi which gave me a black screen (I couldn't even see the bios of my computer..)
-> I managed to get past this stage with the paper clip trick (connecting two legs of the microprocessor together).
- I'm not sure if I'm going to be able to get my computer to boot up, but I'm sure I'll be able to see my 5600 card in amdvbflash_win.
The problem I have is that I can't get a new stable BIOS to work with it.
The problems I'm having:
-- "error in Vbios image": yet I tried several BIOS or error 0FL01.
I've tried several BIOSes, but even when I try to apply the one I've saved, it doesn't work (it's the one attached to this email)
- I have tried all amdvbflash: 3.04, 3.04+, UEIF, windows.

- The back commands I use are:
CMD in admin
amdvbflash -i (sometimes I can't even see my card so I have to reboot);
amdvbflash -unlockrom 0 (0 is the location of my card)
amdvbflash -f -p 0 biosname.rom

- under windows:
amdvbflash
I'm trying to select a bios but every time I get: "error in Vbios image".

Under IUEF:
I have "unable to read ROM".

Is "Insttool64.exe" mandatory with the windows version and the DOS version?
Is the bios I have to inject 512 or 1 MB?
I've tried all the amdvbflash: 3.04, 3.04+, UEIF, windows... Can anyone tell me what I should do as I'm afraid I broke my card...

Thank you very much to all of you!
 

Attachments

  • Navi_10_bios_original.zip
    199.5 KB · Views: 17
  • original.zip
    200.1 KB · Views: 13
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
196 (2.02/day)
Location
Europe
Hello
For sure you bricked your card.
Well, you know something but you did not went all the way.
What i mean is : you must use a paper clip to shortcut those 2 pins, but you must keep it until you finish the flash procedure.
Only AFTER you finished the flash procedure you can take off the paper clip.
Do it again and keep us informed
 

cadjer

New Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2021
Messages
6 (0.13/day)
ok thanks!
I thought the paper clip was just for switching to windows.
So I do the whole procedure under my back but with the paper clip and I only remove it afterwards?
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
196 (2.02/day)
Location
Europe
1. Unplug all your dead cards, plug in the working card (I used USB riser, seating it could work but with the paperclip it's going to be hard).
2. Boot your PC, press F11 to access BIOS settings (for me). You need enable that you primarily boot from your IGPU (or videocard). It should be somewhere under Advanced Settings > GPU cards or similar.
3. Turn off your PC. I now connected my monitor cable into the VGA input on my motherboard (so it was not directly plugged into the GPU card)
4. Turn your PC on to ensure that you can boot. If OK, turn off.
5. Unplug your working card, and connect one of your dead cards (Power+riser). Keep the monitor cable connected to the motherboard.
6. Use the 1+8 method. This means you connect pins 1 and 8 on your dead GPU using a paperclip, you bridge the pins so that they touch.

7. Turn on your PC. Post screen should appear. If not, check that paperclip is touching pins 1 and 8 (I gave it a nudge).
8. Once in Windows, open the cmd admin prompt for atiflash. Run atiflash -i and your dead card should appear, but state "fail".
9. Remove the paperclip, re-run atiflash -i, now you should see BIOS version (I liked to take this extra step).
10. Now reflash as you want using atiflash -f -p 0 xxx.rom.
11. Once finished, turn off your PC and repeat from step 5 for each card.
12. Do not forget to enter BIOS one last time to switch back the primary boot to your PCI Express card before you boot up using your resurrected cards.


This post i used as a guide to unbrick my card.
So i put it here in order to have it.

Good luck!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 21, 2019
Messages
80 (0.09/day)
Location
Texas
Processor AMD R7 5800x
Motherboard MSI MAG B550 Tomahawk
Cooling msi mag core liquid 240R aio
Memory corsair vengeance rgb pro 32gb
Video Card(s) evga 970 ssc what can i say
Storage 4 ssd 2 hdd
Display(s) 43" samsung
Case Corsair icue 220t rgb
Power Supply corsair 850
Mouse logitech
Keyboard logitech
Software w10
no dual bios switch to use as a work around?
why the update? is your card a 12 or 14 gbs memory model?
 

cadjer

New Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2021
Messages
6 (0.13/day)
Hello!
I just tried the above method.
It is the one I had already tried.
I have several situations:
- sometimes the card is detected but as a basic microsoft card;
- sometimes it is not detected at all...
I'm not sure if it's a good one or not...

Thanks a lot for your help :)
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
196 (2.02/day)
Location
Europe
Hello
If your card appear in device manager as basic microsoft... then it was correctly discovered under windows but you need to install the drivers for it.
On the other hand when you do not see it under device manager then this could be a bad BIOS flashed into.
Let's refresh a bit the post:
- tell us how in the 1st place you got into this situation?
- i mean the video card that you own now - was new, you buy it from store ?
- if yes - how it end in this situation when you have a wrong BIOS in it ?
 

cadjer

New Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2021
Messages
6 (0.13/day)
so yes, it is a bios problem.
I bought this card second hand and it worked fine.
I wanted to increase its performance so I decided to flash its bios.
I made a backup of its original bios.
Then I modified it.
However, when injecting this modified bios, I got an error message.
I checked it was still working.
But when I rebooted my pc, it had a bug.
I restarted my pc and I got my card which prevented me from even seeing my bios....
I did the paper clip technique and tried to reflash it with the bios I had saved. But impossible...
Very often I had the message "error VBIOS image";
sometimes my card is recognized sometimes not. Sometimes amdvbflash sees an AMD card sometimes not...

Now I'm really stuck.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
31,083 (6.05/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
so yes, it is a bios problem.
I bought this card second hand and it worked fine.
I wanted to increase its performance so I decided to flash its bios.
I made a backup of its original bios.
Then I modified it.
However, when injecting this modified bios, I got an error message.
I checked it was still working.
But when I rebooted my pc, it had a bug.
I restarted my pc and I got my card which prevented me from even seeing my bios....
I did the paper clip technique and tried to reflash it with the bios I had saved. But impossible...
Very often I had the message "error VBIOS image";
sometimes my card is recognized sometimes not. Sometimes amdvbflash sees an AMD card sometimes not...

Now I'm really stuck.
Stop using paperclips/wires and follow my directions.

Uninstall the GPU drivers before flashing using Display Driver Uninstaller found online.

You cannot modify GTX1000 or RX Vega Bios and newer. We will need to try and restore the card.


This is most likely the SKU on your card.
11296-05-20G

The Device and Subsystem ID is this
1002-731F-1DA2-E416

Subsystem ID E416 along with the SKU number is on the card, either on the back or by the pcie blade contactor.

I found 1 BE bios. Download it

From this list

You are not using correct command line syntax. So for now stop using DOS/CMD.

Get this tool.




www.techpowerup.com



AMD VBFlash / ATI ATIFlash (3.20) Download

Unzip the tool, open the Winflash.exe version by right clicking and opening with administrator rights.

Find the bios file and flash. (You may need to unzip the bios file first)

Warning use these methods below if 1 above fails

2nd method use only if 1st method doesn't work.

Since the Subsystem ID will be changing slightly you will need to do a force flash in an administrator privileged command prompt. (Find cmd in start menu right click and open as administrator)

If that is not performed you may receive the stupid 0FL error.

Then follow this command

Enter this command first

Amdvbflash.exe -unlockrom 0

(0 is the very first card in the top pcie slot, 1 is the secondary card)


Then enter this command

amdvbflash -f -p 0 XXXX .rom

Note: XXXX is the name of the VBIOS file you downloaded. You can also change the downloaded file name to a simple name.


Last method if 1&2 dont work due to syntax being wrong.


Create a new text file in your ATIFlash directory, name it FLASH.bat, and place this code into it:

@Echo off
cls

echo Flashing card 0 with BIOS.rom...
echo.
amdvbflash -p 0 -f BIOS.rom
echo.

pause
Assuming the new BIOS you want to flash onto your card is named BIOS.rom, this is the BIOS it will use for flashing.

Save your changes, then run the batch file by double-clicking on it.

Once you've received a success message, reboot your computer for the new BIOS to come into effect. If you can boot into Windows successfully, then that's good! (Note: your screen may flicker for a bit, because you basically have a new card, and Windows is trying to recognize it. If you want to be thorough, go ahead and do a clean re-install of your graphics drivers.)
 
Last edited:
Top