• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

80246002 Error from windows update

Joined
Jun 4, 2011
Messages
3,051 (0.94/day)
System Name The SwagMachine / The Sister
Processor Core i5 3570K @5.2ghz 1.3V/ 1100T
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V / ASUS M5A99X EVO
Cooling Phanteks PH TC14PE / Corsair H40
Memory M379B5273DH0-YK0 2X4GB + PVI316G213C1QK 2X4GB / 2x4GB Patriot 2133
Video Card(s) PNY 780Ti /Windforce 7950
Storage 2xSamsung 840 EVO 250gb+WD10EZEX + WD30EZRX/ 1x WD1500 Black
Display(s) AOC Q2963PM+Acer S200HL / Acer S200L+ LG 22LD350
Case Fractal Define R4 / NZXT Trinity
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG / Asus Xonar DG
Power Supply Seasonic 750X / ROSEWILL RG630-S12 630W R
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma / Roccat Kone+
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow 2013 Stealth / Roccat Isku
Software Windows 8.1 Pro / Windows 7 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores one time I scored a 3 on 3dmark 11
Every time I attempt to check for new windows updates, I get the error "Windows could not search for updates" and the error code 80246002. I've searched online quite a bit and only found a few links to Microsoft FixIts, and some commands you could run in attempt to clear it. I've attempted to simply reinstall windows, but even with a fresh copy I still have this error. Does anyone know anything at all that could help?
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
20,341 (4.29/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 16 Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz {2x8GB}
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
First & most important question..... Is your copy of windows Legit?

If it is legit and you have an installation disc, the files on it might be corrupt - I know it sounds crazy but Its happened to me before.

It might be worth trying to get an official ISO from technet & installing it to see if that fixes the problem.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,203 (1.15/day)
System Name Addison Clark
Processor Ryzen 3800X
Motherboard MSI B450i Gaming Plus AC
Cooling Custom EK loop for CPU and GPU
Memory G.Skill 32GB DDR4 - 3200
Video Card(s) Asus Dual RTX 2080 TI
Storage Plextor M8Pe 1TB M.2
Display(s) Acer 38" Preditor
Case Phantek Evo Evolv Shift
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek
Power Supply Corsair SFX 750W
Mouse Corsair Dark Core RGB SE
Keyboard Corsair K95 Platnium
Software Win 10 Pro
I've received this and 99% of the time if I turn off auto updates then turn it back on I get updates again. Generally I see the problem when SP1 on 7 isn't installed if that is the OS your getting this on.
 

Kursah

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
12,914 (2.62/day)
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig 2018 - Ryzen+ Edition | SpartanCore | SpartanCore2
Processor R7 2700X @ Stock (3.7/4.35) w/PBO+XFR2 | i7 3770 3.4/3.9 Stock | i7 4770 3.4/3.9 Stock
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X370-F Gaming | Intel DQ77MK | SuperMicro X10SLQ
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull + NT-H1 | Stock Intel Cooler + AC MX4 | Stock Intel Cooler + AC MX4
Memory 16GB (2x8) G.Skill DDR4-3200 | 16GB (4x4) Samsung DDR3-1600 | 32GB (4x8) Mushkin Stealth DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4000 | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage SSD 250GB + 960GB, 1x2TB | 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) | 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x3TB (9TB)
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" Dell on KVM..mostly headless operation.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans | Modified Lenovo TS430 Case
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Not in use
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC Back-UPS Pro 1500 | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze (Both) + APC Smart-UPS 1500
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse (KVM)
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard (KVM)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (Hyper-V) | Windows Server 2016 (Hyper-V)
I've seen this issue before and I believe that some times it was attributed to something corrupted with the OS. Have you ran CHKDSK C: /F, restarted let it run (or some similar command in CMD) and then SFC /scannow after that to ensure you had no corrupted files.

I also believe that it's a connection error, so try to ping and tracert to Microsoft and ensure that you are getting there.

As mentioned, if your copy is not legit. Try turning off auto updates as well. +1 to the above suggestions.
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2011
Messages
3,051 (0.94/day)
System Name The SwagMachine / The Sister
Processor Core i5 3570K @5.2ghz 1.3V/ 1100T
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V / ASUS M5A99X EVO
Cooling Phanteks PH TC14PE / Corsair H40
Memory M379B5273DH0-YK0 2X4GB + PVI316G213C1QK 2X4GB / 2x4GB Patriot 2133
Video Card(s) PNY 780Ti /Windforce 7950
Storage 2xSamsung 840 EVO 250gb+WD10EZEX + WD30EZRX/ 1x WD1500 Black
Display(s) AOC Q2963PM+Acer S200HL / Acer S200L+ LG 22LD350
Case Fractal Define R4 / NZXT Trinity
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG / Asus Xonar DG
Power Supply Seasonic 750X / ROSEWILL RG630-S12 630W R
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma / Roccat Kone+
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow 2013 Stealth / Roccat Isku
Software Windows 8.1 Pro / Windows 7 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores one time I scored a 3 on 3dmark 11
First & most important question..... Is your copy of windows Legit?

If it is legit and you have an installation disc, the files on it might be corrupt - I know it sounds crazy but Its happened to me before.

It might be worth trying to get an official ISO from technet & installing it to see if that fixes the problem.
It was installed using a legit disc. I'll burn a copy to my flash drive and try again after I've exhausted my options.

I've received this and 99% of the time if I turn off auto updates then turn it back on I get updates again. Generally I see the problem when SP1 on 7 isn't installed if that is the OS your getting this on.
This has not solved any problems for me unfortunately.


I've seen this issue before and I believe that some times it was attributed to something corrupted with the OS. Have you ran CHKDSK C: /F, restarted let it run (or some similar command in CMD) and then SFC /scannow after that to ensure you had no corrupted files.

I also believe that it's a connection error, so try to ping and tracert to Microsoft and ensure that you are getting there.

As mentioned, if your copy is not legit. Try turning off auto updates as well. +1 to the above suggestions.


I will try this right now! Thanks for the suggestion
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
16,159 (3.13/day)
Location
Piteå
System Name Black MC in Tokyo
Processor Ryzen 5 2600x
Motherboard Asrock B450M-HDV
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire I think
Memory 2 x 8GB G-skill Aegis 3000 or somesuch
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Kingston A400 240GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case Some old Antec
Audio Device(s) Line6 UX1 + slightly modded Sony DR-ZX302
Power Supply Fractal Design Effekt 400W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX-Board 3.0
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I once had +100 dorfs in DF, so yeah pretty great
Have you run Fitit? It has solved those problems for me in the past.
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2011
Messages
3,051 (0.94/day)
System Name The SwagMachine / The Sister
Processor Core i5 3570K @5.2ghz 1.3V/ 1100T
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V / ASUS M5A99X EVO
Cooling Phanteks PH TC14PE / Corsair H40
Memory M379B5273DH0-YK0 2X4GB + PVI316G213C1QK 2X4GB / 2x4GB Patriot 2133
Video Card(s) PNY 780Ti /Windforce 7950
Storage 2xSamsung 840 EVO 250gb+WD10EZEX + WD30EZRX/ 1x WD1500 Black
Display(s) AOC Q2963PM+Acer S200HL / Acer S200L+ LG 22LD350
Case Fractal Define R4 / NZXT Trinity
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG / Asus Xonar DG
Power Supply Seasonic 750X / ROSEWILL RG630-S12 630W R
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma / Roccat Kone+
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow 2013 Stealth / Roccat Isku
Software Windows 8.1 Pro / Windows 7 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores one time I scored a 3 on 3dmark 11
Have you run Fitit? It has solved those problems for me in the past.
I have run a few different Microsoft FixIts, and they have not solved the problem, just made it take slightly longer to give me the same error
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2010
Messages
386 (0.11/day)
Location
Romania
Processor Intel Core i5 4570
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z87-HD3
Cooling Stock
Memory 8GB Kingston ValueRAM CL9 1333MHz DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTS450OC-1GL
Storage 1TB WD Black + 1.5TB WD Black + Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) T200HD
Case Delux MZ401
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Enermax NAXN 500W
Software Windows 8 Pro x64
Is the system date correct? Yesterday a faced inability to update due to having the date set in 2013 when i first booted up my Surface pro. The next option would be installing the latest version of windows update manually from the MS site.
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2011
Messages
3,051 (0.94/day)
System Name The SwagMachine / The Sister
Processor Core i5 3570K @5.2ghz 1.3V/ 1100T
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V / ASUS M5A99X EVO
Cooling Phanteks PH TC14PE / Corsair H40
Memory M379B5273DH0-YK0 2X4GB + PVI316G213C1QK 2X4GB / 2x4GB Patriot 2133
Video Card(s) PNY 780Ti /Windforce 7950
Storage 2xSamsung 840 EVO 250gb+WD10EZEX + WD30EZRX/ 1x WD1500 Black
Display(s) AOC Q2963PM+Acer S200HL / Acer S200L+ LG 22LD350
Case Fractal Define R4 / NZXT Trinity
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG / Asus Xonar DG
Power Supply Seasonic 750X / ROSEWILL RG630-S12 630W R
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma / Roccat Kone+
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow 2013 Stealth / Roccat Isku
Software Windows 8.1 Pro / Windows 7 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores one time I scored a 3 on 3dmark 11
Is the system date correct? Yesterday a faced inability to update due to having the date set in 2013 when i first booted up my Surface pro. The next option would be installing the latest version of windows update manually from the MS site.
That was the first thing I thought of doing. Time is synced with Microsoft's servers
 

Mindweaver

Moderato®™
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
7,027 (1.75/day)
Location
Charleston, SC
System Name Sechs / AMDHasRyzen
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.5ghz / Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard X99S GAMING 7 / GIGABYTE B450 AORUS M
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro Series H100i Extreme / Stock cooler
Memory G.Skill DDR4 2800 16GB 4x4GB / CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000
Video Card(s) PNY Quadro K2000 / EVGA RTX 2070 Black
Storage Samsung 850 PRO 256GB SSD /Intel 240gb, corsair 120gb SSD, 3x 1 tb s storage
Display(s) 2x Acer G276HL 27" 1080p / 3x Acer 22" Nvidia surround
Case Phanteks “Enthoo Pro series”/ Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Azalia Realtek ALC1150 / Realtek ALC1220
Power Supply Corsair CXM CX600M / Corsair 600w
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma / Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate /
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 / Windows 10 Pro x64
Are you having this problem on one of the Windows 7 machines in your spec's or is it a different machine?
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,886 (2.16/day)
Location
Rochester area
System Name RPC MK2
Processor Intel Core i5 9600K@ 4.8Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard Asrock z390 phantom gaming 4
Cooling Enermax ets-t50
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 16GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2060 XC ULTRA GAMING
Storage 512GB Intel 545s ssd 500GB ADATA SU800 ssd 1TB WD blue
Display(s) Cheap VA panel
Case Phanteks P300
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse M65 Pro RGB
Keyboard K70 RGB
Software Windows 10 +startisback
Joined
Jun 4, 2011
Messages
3,051 (0.94/day)
System Name The SwagMachine / The Sister
Processor Core i5 3570K @5.2ghz 1.3V/ 1100T
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V / ASUS M5A99X EVO
Cooling Phanteks PH TC14PE / Corsair H40
Memory M379B5273DH0-YK0 2X4GB + PVI316G213C1QK 2X4GB / 2x4GB Patriot 2133
Video Card(s) PNY 780Ti /Windforce 7950
Storage 2xSamsung 840 EVO 250gb+WD10EZEX + WD30EZRX/ 1x WD1500 Black
Display(s) AOC Q2963PM+Acer S200HL / Acer S200L+ LG 22LD350
Case Fractal Define R4 / NZXT Trinity
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG / Asus Xonar DG
Power Supply Seasonic 750X / ROSEWILL RG630-S12 630W R
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma / Roccat Kone+
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow 2013 Stealth / Roccat Isku
Software Windows 8.1 Pro / Windows 7 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores one time I scored a 3 on 3dmark 11
Are you having this problem on one of the Windows 7 machines in your spec's or is it a different machine?
It is the Sexyvanillafreshness rig.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/958056
come on people google is your friend
also legit copy or other wise has nothing todo with the op's problem don't be silly
As I have already stated in the orignal post, I have already seen that page, and it did not solve the problem.


The solution I found to this problem was to just clone a drive I had, then restore it to default settings.
 

Mindweaver

Moderato®™
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
7,027 (1.75/day)
Location
Charleston, SC
System Name Sechs / AMDHasRyzen
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.5ghz / Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard X99S GAMING 7 / GIGABYTE B450 AORUS M
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro Series H100i Extreme / Stock cooler
Memory G.Skill DDR4 2800 16GB 4x4GB / CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000
Video Card(s) PNY Quadro K2000 / EVGA RTX 2070 Black
Storage Samsung 850 PRO 256GB SSD /Intel 240gb, corsair 120gb SSD, 3x 1 tb s storage
Display(s) 2x Acer G276HL 27" 1080p / 3x Acer 22" Nvidia surround
Case Phanteks “Enthoo Pro series”/ Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Azalia Realtek ALC1150 / Realtek ALC1220
Power Supply Corsair CXM CX600M / Corsair 600w
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma / Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate /
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 / Windows 10 Pro x64
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/958056
come on people google is your friend
also legit copy or other wise has nothing todo with the op's problem don't be silly
The issue you are linking to is a Pre Windows 7 problem buddy, that's why I asked if it was one of his spec machine's to rule out that issue.

It is the Sexyvanillafreshness rig.
As I have already stated in the orignal post, I have already seen that page, and it did not solve the problem.
The solution I found to this problem was to just clone a drive I had, then restore it to default settings.
I don't see a Sexyvanillafreshness rig. ;) I'm glad you got around it. :toast:
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,886 (2.16/day)
Location
Rochester area
System Name RPC MK2
Processor Intel Core i5 9600K@ 4.8Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard Asrock z390 phantom gaming 4
Cooling Enermax ets-t50
Memory CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 16GB DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2060 XC ULTRA GAMING
Storage 512GB Intel 545s ssd 500GB ADATA SU800 ssd 1TB WD blue
Display(s) Cheap VA panel
Case Phanteks P300
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse M65 Pro RGB
Keyboard K70 RGB
Software Windows 10 +startisback
The issue you are linking to is a Pre Windows 7 problem buddy, that's why I asked if it was one of his spec machine's to rule out that issue.



I don't see a Sexyvanillafreshness rig. ;) I'm glad you got around it. :toast:
actually it applies to 7 though 8.1 as well I have had it happen on my machine.

in the ops case what I think happened is that the install
completed but falsely returned a error code causing the updater to reinstall a package that wasn't really broken over and over and over .. expecting a error or broken pre-requisite
 

Mindweaver

Moderato®™
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
7,027 (1.75/day)
Location
Charleston, SC
System Name Sechs / AMDHasRyzen
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.5ghz / Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard X99S GAMING 7 / GIGABYTE B450 AORUS M
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro Series H100i Extreme / Stock cooler
Memory G.Skill DDR4 2800 16GB 4x4GB / CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000
Video Card(s) PNY Quadro K2000 / EVGA RTX 2070 Black
Storage Samsung 850 PRO 256GB SSD /Intel 240gb, corsair 120gb SSD, 3x 1 tb s storage
Display(s) 2x Acer G276HL 27" 1080p / 3x Acer 22" Nvidia surround
Case Phanteks “Enthoo Pro series”/ Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Azalia Realtek ALC1150 / Realtek ALC1220
Power Supply Corsair CXM CX600M / Corsair 600w
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma / Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate /
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 / Windows 10 Pro x64
actually it applies to 7 though 8.1 as well I have had it happen on my machine.

in the ops case what I think happened is that the install
completed but falsely returned a error code causing the updater to reinstall a package that wasn't really broken over and over and over .. expecting a error or broken pre-requisite
I don't know about that buddy, because the page you linked to doesn't have a resolution for anything higher than ConsumerOS = Vista, and ServerOS = 2008.
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2007
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Location
Italy
Processor Intel Pentium4 Nw HT FSB800 3.2GHz (M0 pkg)
Motherboard ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe
Cooling Thermalright for VGA,CPU and M/B + Microcool
Memory 2x512MB Corsair XMSpro PC3200XL 2-2-2-5
Video Card(s) BBA Radeon X800XL 256MB ViVO
Storage 2x80GB Hitachi DeskStar 7K80 RAID 0
Display(s) LCD Philips 170C7FS
Case AeroCool AeroEngineII Black
Power Supply Lc-Power LC6550 550W Modded
Software WindowsXP pro SP2

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,871 (2.21/day)
System Name Black blade red blood!
Processor I7-7700K 4.8/5.2++ 24/7 depending on conditions and challange.
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water 240MM OCool 45mm plus 240 EK Radiator cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz OC'd 3600 with C-14 T1 timings
Video Card(s) Vega56 all day long
Storage 970 EVO M.2 nvme \1TB, Samsumg 860 Evo 1TB / WD 1TB blue storage drive for my gal ^I^
Display(s) 144 Free sync 32" ultra wide
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W FTW
Mouse Logitech G703 with wireless charging pad
Keyboard G15 ol school
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores lol let's play!
seems to be fixed as of yesterday for me.
 
Top