1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Adding this OCZ memory to my loop, need help!

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Paulieg, Nov 17, 2008.

  1. Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,969 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,054
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2008
  2. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,211 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,578
    Location:
    Houston
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,503 (11.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,886
    Dip those tubes in some boiling water, loosen em' up and stuff em' on! :toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,969 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,054
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    No, the problem is the barbs are too SMALL. they are 1/4", the tubing is 3/8".

    edit: My OP was wrong. It should have been 1/4" not 1/2"
     
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,503 (11.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,886
    Paulieg says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    23,157 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,723
    ZOMG holy restriction Batman! Just pull the barbs and install the caps that come to replace em and be done with it...bad idea IMHO!

    Or just set up a tiny loop for it on its own!
     
    Paulieg says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,211 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,578
    Location:
    Houston
    i 2nd the tiny loop idea lol get a cheap pump 80mm rad etc
     
    Paulieg says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,969 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,054
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    There are no adapters/caps with this DDR3 set. I really don't want to set up a second loop.
     
  9. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,754
    Location:
    PA, USA
    I'm sure you don't need to put those under water. I could be wrong though.

    Whoa... way to effectively say nothing Binge... :slap:
     
  10. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,211 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,578
    Location:
    Houston
    you could do a split and run the ram thru a 2nd part of the loop to reduce the huge drop in tubing size
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    23,157 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,723
    erocker and I discussed that...
    I feel the loop wouldnt get flow on the restricted side due to the ease of the flow on the 3/8 side. It will get some but the pressure will stay on the main loop!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Would the output pressure of the pump come into factor here, if it was enough to be greater than the restriction of flow in the 3/8 loop.

    Not disputing anything..just interested in this :confused:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    23,157 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,723
    well my thought was the water would follow the path of least resistance. sort of like getting two hoses hooked to a faucet if you start to kink the one and restrict it the other hose flows with more pressure to compensate!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Yeah I agree but if the pump is strong enough then you are still getting flow in each tube -

    If X = output of pump
    And Y = flow in 3/8 loop
    And Z = flow in 1/4 loop

    If X > (Y+Z) = flow in both loops


    Sorry if this is not clear..just thinking about it.
    Maybe this would help

    http://www.martinsliquidlab.com/
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    23,157 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,723
    I wont deny that there will be "some" flow in the 1/4" loop the issue is will it be enough to justify running it on water at all?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Yeah I get you on that..would you see any real benefit over air cooling.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,211 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,578
    Location:
    Houston
    it should get enough flow to keep them cool...its not like ram runs super hot anyway :p
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,969 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,054
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
  20. Whilhelm

    Whilhelm

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    877 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    296
    Location:
    Canada
    What if you used a 3/8" Y splitter and 3/8" to 1/4" adapters to cool both memory sticks in parallel.

    Like this

    Inlet -- (Y splitter) -- (adapter) -- Memory stick 1 -- (adapter) -- (Y splitter) -- Outlet
    _______________ -- (adapter) -- Memory stick 2 -- (adapter) --

    What do you think of that? It may help reduce the potential flow rate drop from running them in series.
     
    Paulieg says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)