• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Adobe Premiere Pro 2019

Joined
Mar 13, 2009
Messages
826 (0.21/day)
Location
Bannock County
Processor AMD FX-8320 4.1Ghz
Motherboard Asus Aura
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 32GB
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 SC
Storage Intel 535 Series SSD + Seagate FireCuda 2TB
Case NZXT
Power Supply EVGA 650 Watt
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
I need some serious help!

I am unable to edit video in Premiere Pro because the time line is so incredibly choppy/laggy and at times just unable to play. I am editing 4k and 1080p video clips under 2 minutes.

I've tried changing rendering from software and hardware and preview file format.

My PC

Ryzen 3 3200G
16GB RAM
RX 460
Windows 10

Installed on a 240GB SSD

This PC should have absolutely no issues running this software.

Please, i'm desperate ...
 

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
21,140 (4.01/day)
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EK Custom
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan RTX
Storage 2x 2TB Micron SSDs | 1x ADATA 128SSD | 1x Drevo 256SSD | 1x 1TB 850 EVO | 1x 250GB 960 EVO
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Kone Aimo White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
This PC should have absolutely no issues running this software.
I mean according to adobe this machine is barely passable. Im going to take a shot in the dark and say the very first problem is the CPU. I would stick to hardware offloading like you had before. For good measure if its possible on your board see if you can shut off integrated GPU completely unless you otherwise know for certain that the offload is infact going to the RX460.
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2009
Messages
826 (0.21/day)
Location
Bannock County
Processor AMD FX-8320 4.1Ghz
Motherboard Asus Aura
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 32GB
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 SC
Storage Intel 535 Series SSD + Seagate FireCuda 2TB
Case NZXT
Power Supply EVGA 650 Watt
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
I mean according to adobe this machine is barely passable. Im going to take a shot in the dark and say the very first problem is the CPU. I would stick to hardware offloading like you had before. For good measure if its possible on your board see if you can shut off integrated GPU completely unless you otherwise know for certain that the offload is infact going to the RX460.

Its not my computer. there is more than enough power. This software ran fine on my old 8350 with 8GB of RAM.
 
Joined
Aug 14, 2012
Messages
200 (0.07/day)
System Name "Big E"
Processor I5 2400
Motherboard Intel DQ67OW
Cooling Scythe Samurai ZZ
Memory 4 X 2 Gb Kingmax 1333
Video Card(s) MSI RX470 gaming x 4gb
Storage samsung F3 500 GB
Display(s) Acer S271HLBbid
Case "Big E"
Power Supply Gembird 450 W
Mouse Generic
Keyboard Generic
Software W7 X64
Benchmark Scores Nothing worthy to mention
check the preview options if its 1to1 it might stutter.Also it might work if you disable paging file.
 
Joined
Sep 16, 2016
Messages
85 (0.07/day)
Location
Canada
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard MSI MEG x570 ACE
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 (Chromax)
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-2666
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080 Super Gaming X Trio
Storage Samsung 970 Pro M.2 512 GB, Samsung 860 Pro 512 GB, WD Black 4 TB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U2515H (1440p, 60Hz IPS)
Case Fractal Define R6 TG
Audio Device(s) Audio-Technica M50x, Kanto YU4 w/ Kanto Sub6 (Matte Black), Rode NT-USB w/ Rode PSA1
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G3
Mouse Logitech G Pro Wireless w/ Gigabyte AMP300, Wacom Intuos Pro (Medium)
Keyboard Ducky One 2 RGB (MX Brown)
Software Windows 10 64-bit
Are these HEVC files (or just highly compressed in general?) If so, make proxies. Select the clips in your media bin, right-click and select Proxy > Create Proxies. You'll get a window prompting for the format - just set as: Format = QuickTime, Preset = 1280x720 GoPro Cineform. The Cineform files are quick to decode which will get rid of the stutters when you playback/scrub the timeline. Pick the location...generally, I keep these along side my main project media, but it's up to you. A quicker drive is better (for example, my WD Black works fine). Do note that these files are going to be quite a bit larger than the original media. Best of luck :)

ETA: Ah sorry...one more thing. You'll have to enable the "Toggle Proxies" button to use them. Under the Program Monitor window, click the plus button. Look for the "Toggle Proxies" button and add it, click it (so it's blue now) and then proxies should work.

See this link for more details too: https://blog.pond5.com/21491-how-use-proxies-to-edit-faster-in-adobe-premiere-pro-cc/
 
Top