• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Adventures of the 939 build

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
5,929 (3.00/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Volt // Dualie
Processor i7-4790k // E5-2680v2 x2
Motherboard MSI Z97 MPower // S2600IP4
Cooling NZXT Kraken X60 // Hyper 212 x2
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 4x8GB // 16x4GB ECC
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X // GT 7800
Storage 250GB NVME boot + 5 HDDs (2x RAID1) // 240GB SSD + 300GB HDD
Display(s) LG 34UB88-P + 2x AOC 2425W + Dell 2007FP // Dell 2007FP
Case Nanoxia Deep Silence 6 // Gutted case
Audio Device(s) LucidSound LS30 // None
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w // EVGA NEX650G
Mouse Logitech G602 // IBM J85845R
Keyboard G.Skill KM780 RGB (Brown switches) // Logitech M100
Software Windows 10 Professional // Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Technical term is PEBCAK issue, which stands for Problem Exists Between Chair And Keyboard
So a roomie of mine has given up a socket 939 build since he's getting his X58 rig going. (Being built by me, I'll post pics if you guys want later)

It's a Asus A8N32-SLI, no clue on the CPU yet, 4x1GB Corsair CMX1024-3200C2PT sticks 400mhz CL2 sticks. Stock cooler, wee bit of dust on it, nothing too bad. The question is there anything I should be concerned with on building this thing up? Just go for it or tweaks I should know about? I'll add pics later on when I'm not going to run on 5 hours of sleep.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2015
Messages
2,233 (1.57/day)
Location
Argentina
System Name Ciel / Yukino
Processor AMD Ryzen R3 1200 @ 3900MHz / Intel Core i3 5005U
Motherboard MSI B350M PRO-VDH / HP 240 G5
Cooling Wraith Stealth / Stock
Memory 2x 4GB Corsair Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400MHz @ 3333MHz / 2x 4GB Hynix + Kingston DDR3L 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 270X Toxic 2GB / Intel HD 5500
Storage SSD WD Green 240GB M.2 / SSD Kingston A400 120GB SATA
Display(s) HP w17e 1440x900 @ 75 Hz / Integrated 1366x768 @ 94Hz
Case Generic / Stock
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 / Realtek ALC282
Power Supply Sentey XPP 525W / Power Brick
Mouse Logitech G203 / Elan Touchpad
Keyboard Generic / Stock
Software Windows 10 LTSC x64 + Arch Linux
Benchmark Scores Time Spy: 2200
Try to avoid going over 1000MHz on the HT. That's as far as I know for 939.
 
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
830 (0.69/day)
System Name BOX
Processor Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ 4,3GHz
Motherboard Sabertooth X79 (BIOS 4801 + NVMe mod + uCode update)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X (w/LGA 2011 kit) + 2x Delta PWM Push-Pull
Memory 8x A-Data Xtreme 2000X 2GB (1868MHz CL8.9.8.24 CR2T @ 1,65V)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 (FE)
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB NVMe, RAID0 2x WD10EZEX (1TB), HGST HUS726060ALE610 (6TB)
Display(s) Samsung T240
Case NZXT Tempest (Nanoflux/PWM fans only, some w/LEDs)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence ST Deluxe 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Roccat Savu
Keyboard Logitech UltraXPremium
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V9/display.php?id=108080818886
Invest in 4x 2GB Reg. ECC for 8GB max. RAM :)
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
5,365 (1.94/day)
Location
Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor 2600K @ 4.4GHz / Dual Xeon 5675's @ 3.33GHz 12c/24t
Motherboard Sabertooth Z77 / GA-7TESM
Cooling Deepcool Assassin - 3 Fans / Custom
Memory 2x8GB 2133MHz Samsung Dual Channel / 6x4GB 1333MHz Samsung Hexa Channel
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 980 SC / Asus Strix 980ti
Storage Various SSD/HD
Display(s) Samsung 23' 2048x1152 / Various Dells
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver / Matrexx 55
Audio Device(s) SB X-fi on all systems
Power Supply Corsair TX 650w / Evga NEX 750B
Mouse Alienware AW558 @ 5000 DPI
Keyboard Asus KB34211
Software XP64/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores http://valid.x86.fr/79kuh6
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
3,117 (1.28/day)
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
System Name AMD inside
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600 @ 4.1GHz
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Plus
Cooling Custom loop
Memory 16GB G.Skill DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Radeon R9 290 Crossfire @ 1100/1325MHz
Storage 3x SSD, 3x HDD
Display(s) 2x 1920x1080 (23" & 22")
Case Corsair Carbide Air 740
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Logitech G410
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 19545 in Fire Strike with 290 Crossfire OC
Of course you need to test older cards (GeForce 6 and 7 series) on SLI! ;)
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
26,812 (6.04/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Latest bios updates, certain gpus will give an error 43 i believe too
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,276 (2.03/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory SK Hynix 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 @2666MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Navi 5700 XT
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 2TB
Display(s) HP LA2405WG 24" Triple Monitor (5760x1200)
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
I have the exact board with a Athlon 64 X2
One thing I’ve ran into is that I can’t get Windows 10 to install on it. Windows 7 runs fine though but I’m also only using 4x1GB DDR
 
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
830 (0.69/day)
System Name BOX
Processor Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ 4,3GHz
Motherboard Sabertooth X79 (BIOS 4801 + NVMe mod + uCode update)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X (w/LGA 2011 kit) + 2x Delta PWM Push-Pull
Memory 8x A-Data Xtreme 2000X 2GB (1868MHz CL8.9.8.24 CR2T @ 1,65V)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 (FE)
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB NVMe, RAID0 2x WD10EZEX (1TB), HGST HUS726060ALE610 (6TB)
Display(s) Samsung T240
Case NZXT Tempest (Nanoflux/PWM fans only, some w/LEDs)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence ST Deluxe 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Roccat Savu
Keyboard Logitech UltraXPremium
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V9/display.php?id=108080818886
You can't get it to install on Windows 10, because you tried 64-bit version (which requires instruction "CompareExchange128", that Athlon 64s doesn't support, untill "F" revision and AM2 socket).
Use 32-bit, it should go through installation.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,877 (1.17/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD R7 2700X | i7 2600 | i7 970
Motherboard MSi AM4 Pro Carbon | GA-H77M-D3H | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Coolermaster Gemini with Noctua 3000RPM Fan | Big shairkan B
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 G.Skill Ripjaws 3600MHz| 2x4GB Corsair 1600 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Gainward GTX 650 TI GS | ASUS 7970 Matrix
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB WD ES/WD Black | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) LG 27" 1440P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Coolermaster Pro | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
I still have my original 939 system, FX-57, 2GB DDR500 RAM, and a 9600GT, one of my fav systems of all time, loved it! K8NF9-Ultra Motherboard, shit I remembered lol
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,276 (2.03/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory SK Hynix 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 @2666MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Navi 5700 XT
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 2TB
Display(s) HP LA2405WG 24" Triple Monitor (5760x1200)
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
You can't get it to install on Windows 10, because you tried 64-bit version (which requires instruction "CompareExchange128", that Athlon 64s doesn't support, untill "F" revision and AM2 socket).
Use 32-bit, it should go through installation.
32Bit is limited to 4GB though
 
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
830 (0.69/day)
System Name BOX
Processor Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ 4,3GHz
Motherboard Sabertooth X79 (BIOS 4801 + NVMe mod + uCode update)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X (w/LGA 2011 kit) + 2x Delta PWM Push-Pull
Memory 8x A-Data Xtreme 2000X 2GB (1868MHz CL8.9.8.24 CR2T @ 1,65V)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 (FE)
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB NVMe, RAID0 2x WD10EZEX (1TB), HGST HUS726060ALE610 (6TB)
Display(s) Samsung T240
Case NZXT Tempest (Nanoflux/PWM fans only, some w/LEDs)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence ST Deluxe 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Roccat Savu
Keyboard Logitech UltraXPremium
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V9/display.php?id=108080818886
You said you are using 4x1GB...
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,276 (2.03/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory SK Hynix 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 @2666MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Navi 5700 XT
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 2TB
Display(s) HP LA2405WG 24" Triple Monitor (5760x1200)
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
You said you are using 4x1GB...
Yes but with plans to up it

But you do also know even with 4GB 32Bit Windows would not allow access to the full 4GB only 3-3.5GB
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
20,619 (4.43/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: Athlon II x4 630 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1866 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: none
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply EVGA 500w 80 Plus :: Wounded Corsair CX600
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
Not good enough! Memory from the graphics card also takes up that 4GB space, among other things. Even if you had a system with no video card at all to take away from that, you still wouldn't quite have 4GB available... if you really have to use 32 bit, you're better off with 3GB system ram and a 1GB graphics card at most, and even then something is gonna lose out somewhere. But then, wouldn't PAE be an option?

I wonder what would happen if I tried to install a 32 bit OS on my system, with 8GB system ram, and two GTX1070s weighing in at 8GB a piece...
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,276 (2.03/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory SK Hynix 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 @2666MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Navi 5700 XT
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 2TB
Display(s) HP LA2405WG 24" Triple Monitor (5760x1200)
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
Not good enough! Memory from the graphics card also takes up that 4GB space, among other things. Even if you had a system with no video card at all to take away from that, you still wouldn't quite have 4GB available... if you really have to use 32 bit, you're better off with 3GB system ram and a 1GB graphics card at most, and even then something is gonna lose out somewhere. But then, wouldn't PAE be an option?

I wonder what would happen if I tried to install a 32 bit OS on my system, with 8GB system ram, and two GTX1070s weighing in at 8GB a piece...
I have a

Athlon 64 X2 4200+
ASUS A8N32-SLI
Corsair 4GB(4x1GB) DDR
EVGA GTX 260
Antec 450W

With Windows 7 64bit and it allows full 4GB usage, no allocations
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
20,619 (4.43/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: Athlon II x4 630 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1866 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: none
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply EVGA 500w 80 Plus :: Wounded Corsair CX600
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
Well... yeah, cause you're running 64 bit. We'll probably blow ourselves up before we run out of memory address space with 64 bit...
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,276 (2.03/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory SK Hynix 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 @2666MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Navi 5700 XT
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 2TB
Display(s) HP LA2405WG 24" Triple Monitor (5760x1200)
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
Well... yeah, cause you're running 64 bit. We'll probably blow ourselves up before we run out of memory address space with 64 bit...
Which is why I refuse to use 32Bit

But system runs pretty good. Using a Zalmon Low Profile Cooler it never gets very hot. Pretty snappy for such a old plateform
 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
5,929 (3.00/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Volt // Dualie
Processor i7-4790k // E5-2680v2 x2
Motherboard MSI Z97 MPower // S2600IP4
Cooling NZXT Kraken X60 // Hyper 212 x2
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 4x8GB // 16x4GB ECC
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X // GT 7800
Storage 250GB NVME boot + 5 HDDs (2x RAID1) // 240GB SSD + 300GB HDD
Display(s) LG 34UB88-P + 2x AOC 2425W + Dell 2007FP // Dell 2007FP
Case Nanoxia Deep Silence 6 // Gutted case
Audio Device(s) LucidSound LS30 // None
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w // EVGA NEX650G
Mouse Logitech G602 // IBM J85845R
Keyboard G.Skill KM780 RGB (Brown switches) // Logitech M100
Software Windows 10 Professional // Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Technical term is PEBCAK issue, which stands for Problem Exists Between Chair And Keyboard
So try Win10, both types. If that doesn't work slap win7 on?
 
Joined
May 12, 2017
Messages
498 (0.60/day)
Try to avoid going over 1000MHz on the HT. That's as far as I know for 939.
I'm still building my 939 system & the HT even when overclocked has zero effect on stability overclocked or not.
it's more to do with the quality of the core(s).

If you need screenshot of proof, I can do this with 4000+, FX55. FX57 & FX60, just ask & you shall receive, take your pick of processor, all HT clocked beyond 1000MHz.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
830 (0.69/day)
System Name BOX
Processor Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ 4,3GHz
Motherboard Sabertooth X79 (BIOS 4801 + NVMe mod + uCode update)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X (w/LGA 2011 kit) + 2x Delta PWM Push-Pull
Memory 8x A-Data Xtreme 2000X 2GB (1868MHz CL8.9.8.24 CR2T @ 1,65V)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 (FE)
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB NVMe, RAID0 2x WD10EZEX (1TB), HGST HUS726060ALE610 (6TB)
Display(s) Samsung T240
Case NZXT Tempest (Nanoflux/PWM fans only, some w/LEDs)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence ST Deluxe 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Roccat Savu
Keyboard Logitech UltraXPremium
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V9/display.php?id=108080818886
Not good enough! Memory from the graphics card also takes up that 4GB space, among other things. Even if you had a system with no video card at all to take away from that, you still wouldn't quite have 4GB available... if you really have to use 32 bit, you're better off with 3GB system ram and a 1GB graphics card at most, and even then something is gonna lose out somewhere. But then, wouldn't PAE be an option?

I wonder what would happen if I tried to install a 32 bit OS on my system, with 8GB system ram, and two GTX1070s weighing in at 8GB a piece...
Basic idea :


Advanced version ;)
GTX 1080 + Celeron 2,0A :


Modern PCIe GPUs always take 256MB of physical memory.
With SLI, you would get 2.99GB usable (or a bit less depending on BIOS/MB).
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
117 (0.04/day)
System Name Ryzen 7 / Ryzen 5
Processor Ryzen 7 2700X / Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard Asrock X370 Proffesional Gaming X2
Cooling Ryzen Wraith Prysm RGB / Arctic Xtreme Freezer
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 3000 / 2x8GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 3000
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080Ti Gaming X / Zotac GTX1070 Mini
Storage Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB + 8x2Tb RAID0 / Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 5x2Tb RAID0
Display(s) Samsung 32" LC32JG50 Curved 2560x1440 / Samsung 32" LC32H711 Curved 2560x1440
Case Cooler Master Stacker 830 NV Edition / Cooler Master 690 Advance II
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Surround 5.1 SBX / Creative X-Fi Titanium Pci-E
Power Supply Corsair Platinum HX850i X2
Mouse Logitech G7 WL / MS BT 8000
Keyboard Logitech G19s / Logitech UltraX
Software Win10 Pro
single core cpu with a gtx1080 - yes!!!
 
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
830 (0.69/day)
System Name BOX
Processor Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ 4,3GHz
Motherboard Sabertooth X79 (BIOS 4801 + NVMe mod + uCode update)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X (w/LGA 2011 kit) + 2x Delta PWM Push-Pull
Memory 8x A-Data Xtreme 2000X 2GB (1868MHz CL8.9.8.24 CR2T @ 1,65V)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 (FE)
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB NVMe, RAID0 2x WD10EZEX (1TB), HGST HUS726060ALE610 (6TB)
Display(s) Samsung T240
Case NZXT Tempest (Nanoflux/PWM fans only, some w/LEDs)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence ST Deluxe 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Roccat Savu
Keyboard Logitech UltraXPremium
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V9/display.php?id=108080818886
single core cpu with a gtx1080 - yes!!!
Single core is easy (Disable cores + HT on modern stuff and you are good to go :)).
32-bit only (ie. older than Prescott) though... That is a challange ;)
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,276 (2.03/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory SK Hynix 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 @2666MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Navi 5700 XT
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 2TB
Display(s) HP LA2405WG 24" Triple Monitor (5760x1200)
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply Corsair RM750X
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
So try Win10, both types. If that doesn't work slap win7 on?
I just run Windows 7 Home 64bit. No issues here and has drivers under vista that works
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2005
Messages
3,239 (0.61/day)
System Name TheReactor
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.95ghz - delid
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VIII Genie z170
Cooling EK EVO NIckle/Pump, 2xBlackIce GTX 240's
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz Cas 14
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980ti Gaming 6G
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Acer Predator xb271hu - 2560x1440 @144hz
Case Corsiar 550
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply Antec Quattro 1000W
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair Gaming k70
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Opteron 185, pretty sure I got my Opt 165 running at 3ghz way back in the day on water cooling.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
20,619 (4.43/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: Athlon II x4 630 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1866 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: none
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply EVGA 500w 80 Plus :: Wounded Corsair CX600
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
GTX1080 with a 2GHz celeron... :( I had a 2GHz celeron before... it was pretty bad. I also remember wanting the socket 478 P4EE cause I was young and couldn't afford anything myself, and I thought that would be the best I could do for a while...
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,877 (1.17/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD R7 2700X | i7 2600 | i7 970
Motherboard MSi AM4 Pro Carbon | GA-H77M-D3H | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Coolermaster Gemini with Noctua 3000RPM Fan | Big shairkan B
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 G.Skill Ripjaws 3600MHz| 2x4GB Corsair 1600 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Gainward GTX 650 TI GS | ASUS 7970 Matrix
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB WD ES/WD Black | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) LG 27" 1440P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Coolermaster Pro | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
What CPU is in your 939 system?

I think I have a few spare here, 3700 Sandi Core and some 3200's.

I did run for many yrs a 4800+ on a GA-K8NF9 Sli Motherboard with 8600GT's but since sold them all off.
 
Top