• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Adventures of the 939 build

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
6,179 (2.74/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veraltet // Dualie
Processor 3700x // E5-2680v2 x2
Motherboard AsRock Taichi Ultimate x470 // S2600IP4
Cooling NH-D15 Chromax // Hyper 212 x2
Memory G.Skill 2x16GB // 16x4GB ECC
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X // MSI GTX750
Storage 2 NVMEs + 5 HDDs // 2x 240GB SSD + 700GB HDD
Display(s) LG 34UB88-P + 2x AOC 2425W
Case Nanoxia Deep Silence 6 // Big boxy case
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 5 // None
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w // Rosewill 1kw
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard G.Skill KM780 RGB (Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Trips the breaker
So a roomie of mine has given up a socket 939 build since he's getting his X58 rig going. (Being built by me, I'll post pics if you guys want later)

It's a Asus A8N32-SLI, no clue on the CPU yet, 4x1GB Corsair CMX1024-3200C2PT sticks 400mhz CL2 sticks. Stock cooler, wee bit of dust on it, nothing too bad. The question is there anything I should be concerned with on building this thing up? Just go for it or tweaks I should know about? I'll add pics later on when I'm not going to run on 5 hours of sleep.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2015
Messages
2,560 (1.51/day)
Location
Argentina
System Name Ciel / Yukino
Processor AMD Ryzen R5 3400G / Intel Core i3 5005U
Motherboard Gigabyte B450 Aorus M / HP 240 G5
Cooling AM3 Wraith + Spire fan / Stock
Memory 2x 8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3200MHz / 2x 4GB Hynix + Kingston DDR3L 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon RX Vega 11 + Nvidia Geforce GT 1030 2GB / Intel HD 5500
Storage SSD WD Green 240GB M.2 + HDD Toshiba 2TB / SSD Kingston A400 120GB SATA
Display(s) Samsung S22F350 @ 75Hz/ Integrated 1366x768 @ 94Hz
Case Generic / Stock
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 / Realtek ALC282
Power Supply Sentey XPP 525W / Power Brick
Mouse Logitech G203 / Elan Touchpad
Keyboard Generic / Stock
Software Windows 10 x64
Try to avoid going over 1000MHz on the HT. That's as far as I know for 939.
 
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
991 (0.67/day)
System Name BOX
Processor Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ 4,3GHz
Motherboard Sabertooth X79 (BIOS 4801 + NVMe mod + uCode update)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X (w/LGA 2011 kit) + 2x Delta PWM Push-Pull
Memory 8x A-Data Xtreme 2000X 2GB (1868MHz CL8.9.8.24 CR2T @ 1,65V)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 (FE)
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB NVMe, RAID0 2x WD10EZEX (1TB), HGST HUS726060ALE610 (6TB)
Display(s) Samsung T240
Case NZXT Tempest (Nanoflux/PWM fans only, some w/LEDs)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence ST Deluxe 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Roccat Savu
Keyboard Logitech UltraXPremium
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V9/display.php?id=108080818886
Invest in 4x 2GB Reg. ECC for 8GB max. RAM :)
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
5,545 (1.82/day)
Location
Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor 2600K @ 4.5GHz / Dual Xeon 5675's @ 3.33GHz 12c/24t
Motherboard MAXIMUS V FORMULA / GA-7TESM
Cooling Deepcool Assassin - 3 Fans / RAIJINTEK AIDOS x2
Memory 2x8GB 2133MHz Samsung Dual Channel / 6x4GB 1333MHz Samsung Hexa Channel
Video Card(s) Asus Strix 980ti /Sapphire Pulse RX590
Storage Various SSD/HD
Display(s) AOC 24" IPS / Various Dells
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver / Matrexx 55
Audio Device(s) Various
Power Supply Corsair TX 650w / Evga NEX 750B
Mouse Alienware AW558 @ 5000 DPI
Keyboard Asus KB34211
Software XP64/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores http://valid.x86.fr/79kuh6
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
4,495 (1.65/day)
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
Processor Intel Core i7-2600K @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Asrock Z68 Pro3
Cooling Stock
Memory 16GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti FTW
Storage Sandisk 120GB SSD, 3x Kingston A400 480GB SSD, 500GB & 320GB HDDs
Display(s) 2x 1920x1080 w/ Arctic Z2 gen3
Case Phanteks Eclipse P400S
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS
Power Supply Kolink Modular 600W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Logitech G410
Software Windows 10 Pro
Of course you need to test older cards (GeForce 6 and 7 series) on SLI! ;)
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,443 (6.46/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Latest bios updates, certain gpus will give an error 43 i believe too
 

Durvelle27

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,739 (1.99/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @4.2GHz
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling China Rock 4
Memory Oloy 32B(2x16GB) DDR4 3200MHz @3733MHz
Video Card(s) ASRock RX 5700 XT Challenger OC
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 3TB
Display(s) Acer ED323QUR ADIBPX 31.5" Curved 144Hz FreeSync
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply SilverStone 750W
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
I have the exact board with a Athlon 64 X2
One thing I’ve ran into is that I can’t get Windows 10 to install on it. Windows 7 runs fine though but I’m also only using 4x1GB DDR
 
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
991 (0.67/day)
System Name BOX
Processor Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ 4,3GHz
Motherboard Sabertooth X79 (BIOS 4801 + NVMe mod + uCode update)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X (w/LGA 2011 kit) + 2x Delta PWM Push-Pull
Memory 8x A-Data Xtreme 2000X 2GB (1868MHz CL8.9.8.24 CR2T @ 1,65V)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 (FE)
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB NVMe, RAID0 2x WD10EZEX (1TB), HGST HUS726060ALE610 (6TB)
Display(s) Samsung T240
Case NZXT Tempest (Nanoflux/PWM fans only, some w/LEDs)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence ST Deluxe 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Roccat Savu
Keyboard Logitech UltraXPremium
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V9/display.php?id=108080818886
You can't get it to install on Windows 10, because you tried 64-bit version (which requires instruction "CompareExchange128", that Athlon 64s doesn't support, untill "F" revision and AM2 socket).
Use 32-bit, it should go through installation.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
5,066 (1.14/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD R7 2700X | Ryzen 1600X | i7 970
Motherboard MSi AM4 Pro Carbon | GA- | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Stock Cooler, Copper Core)| Big shairkan B
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 G.Skill Ripjaws 3600MHz| 2x8GB Corsair 3000 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Inno3d GTX 1050 TI | MSI RX 580 8GB
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB SSD WD, 2x1TB, 1x750 | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) LG 27" 1440P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Coolermaster Pro | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
I still have my original 939 system, FX-57, 2GB DDR500 RAM, and a 9600GT, one of my fav systems of all time, loved it! K8NF9-Ultra Motherboard, shit I remembered lol
 
Last edited:

Durvelle27

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,739 (1.99/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @4.2GHz
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling China Rock 4
Memory Oloy 32B(2x16GB) DDR4 3200MHz @3733MHz
Video Card(s) ASRock RX 5700 XT Challenger OC
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 3TB
Display(s) Acer ED323QUR ADIBPX 31.5" Curved 144Hz FreeSync
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply SilverStone 750W
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
You can't get it to install on Windows 10, because you tried 64-bit version (which requires instruction "CompareExchange128", that Athlon 64s doesn't support, untill "F" revision and AM2 socket).
Use 32-bit, it should go through installation.
32Bit is limited to 4GB though
 
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
991 (0.67/day)
System Name BOX
Processor Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ 4,3GHz
Motherboard Sabertooth X79 (BIOS 4801 + NVMe mod + uCode update)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X (w/LGA 2011 kit) + 2x Delta PWM Push-Pull
Memory 8x A-Data Xtreme 2000X 2GB (1868MHz CL8.9.8.24 CR2T @ 1,65V)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 (FE)
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB NVMe, RAID0 2x WD10EZEX (1TB), HGST HUS726060ALE610 (6TB)
Display(s) Samsung T240
Case NZXT Tempest (Nanoflux/PWM fans only, some w/LEDs)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence ST Deluxe 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Roccat Savu
Keyboard Logitech UltraXPremium
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V9/display.php?id=108080818886
You said you are using 4x1GB...
 

Durvelle27

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,739 (1.99/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @4.2GHz
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling China Rock 4
Memory Oloy 32B(2x16GB) DDR4 3200MHz @3733MHz
Video Card(s) ASRock RX 5700 XT Challenger OC
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 3TB
Display(s) Acer ED323QUR ADIBPX 31.5" Curved 144Hz FreeSync
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply SilverStone 750W
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
You said you are using 4x1GB...
Yes but with plans to up it

But you do also know even with 4GB 32Bit Windows would not allow access to the full 4GB only 3-3.5GB
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
21,024 (4.26/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: Athlon II x4 630 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1866 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: none
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply FSP Hydro GE 550w :: something
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
Not good enough! Memory from the graphics card also takes up that 4GB space, among other things. Even if you had a system with no video card at all to take away from that, you still wouldn't quite have 4GB available... if you really have to use 32 bit, you're better off with 3GB system ram and a 1GB graphics card at most, and even then something is gonna lose out somewhere. But then, wouldn't PAE be an option?

I wonder what would happen if I tried to install a 32 bit OS on my system, with 8GB system ram, and two GTX1070s weighing in at 8GB a piece...
 

Durvelle27

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,739 (1.99/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @4.2GHz
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling China Rock 4
Memory Oloy 32B(2x16GB) DDR4 3200MHz @3733MHz
Video Card(s) ASRock RX 5700 XT Challenger OC
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 3TB
Display(s) Acer ED323QUR ADIBPX 31.5" Curved 144Hz FreeSync
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply SilverStone 750W
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
Not good enough! Memory from the graphics card also takes up that 4GB space, among other things. Even if you had a system with no video card at all to take away from that, you still wouldn't quite have 4GB available... if you really have to use 32 bit, you're better off with 3GB system ram and a 1GB graphics card at most, and even then something is gonna lose out somewhere. But then, wouldn't PAE be an option?

I wonder what would happen if I tried to install a 32 bit OS on my system, with 8GB system ram, and two GTX1070s weighing in at 8GB a piece...
I have a

Athlon 64 X2 4200+
ASUS A8N32-SLI
Corsair 4GB(4x1GB) DDR
EVGA GTX 260
Antec 450W

With Windows 7 64bit and it allows full 4GB usage, no allocations
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
21,024 (4.26/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: Athlon II x4 630 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1866 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: none
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply FSP Hydro GE 550w :: something
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
Well... yeah, cause you're running 64 bit. We'll probably blow ourselves up before we run out of memory address space with 64 bit...
 

Durvelle27

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,739 (1.99/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @4.2GHz
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling China Rock 4
Memory Oloy 32B(2x16GB) DDR4 3200MHz @3733MHz
Video Card(s) ASRock RX 5700 XT Challenger OC
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 3TB
Display(s) Acer ED323QUR ADIBPX 31.5" Curved 144Hz FreeSync
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply SilverStone 750W
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
Well... yeah, cause you're running 64 bit. We'll probably blow ourselves up before we run out of memory address space with 64 bit...
Which is why I refuse to use 32Bit

But system runs pretty good. Using a Zalmon Low Profile Cooler it never gets very hot. Pretty snappy for such a old plateform
 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
6,179 (2.74/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veraltet // Dualie
Processor 3700x // E5-2680v2 x2
Motherboard AsRock Taichi Ultimate x470 // S2600IP4
Cooling NH-D15 Chromax // Hyper 212 x2
Memory G.Skill 2x16GB // 16x4GB ECC
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X // MSI GTX750
Storage 2 NVMEs + 5 HDDs // 2x 240GB SSD + 700GB HDD
Display(s) LG 34UB88-P + 2x AOC 2425W
Case Nanoxia Deep Silence 6 // Big boxy case
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 5 // None
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w // Rosewill 1kw
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard G.Skill KM780 RGB (Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Trips the breaker
So try Win10, both types. If that doesn't work slap win7 on?
 
Joined
May 12, 2017
Messages
867 (0.78/day)
Try to avoid going over 1000MHz on the HT. That's as far as I know for 939.
I'm still building my 939 system & the HT even when overclocked has zero effect on stability overclocked or not.
it's more to do with the quality of the core(s).

If you need screenshot of proof, I can do this with 4000+, FX55. FX57 & FX60, just ask & you shall receive, take your pick of processor, all HT clocked beyond 1000MHz.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
991 (0.67/day)
System Name BOX
Processor Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ 4,3GHz
Motherboard Sabertooth X79 (BIOS 4801 + NVMe mod + uCode update)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X (w/LGA 2011 kit) + 2x Delta PWM Push-Pull
Memory 8x A-Data Xtreme 2000X 2GB (1868MHz CL8.9.8.24 CR2T @ 1,65V)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 (FE)
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB NVMe, RAID0 2x WD10EZEX (1TB), HGST HUS726060ALE610 (6TB)
Display(s) Samsung T240
Case NZXT Tempest (Nanoflux/PWM fans only, some w/LEDs)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence ST Deluxe 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Roccat Savu
Keyboard Logitech UltraXPremium
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V9/display.php?id=108080818886
Not good enough! Memory from the graphics card also takes up that 4GB space, among other things. Even if you had a system with no video card at all to take away from that, you still wouldn't quite have 4GB available... if you really have to use 32 bit, you're better off with 3GB system ram and a 1GB graphics card at most, and even then something is gonna lose out somewhere. But then, wouldn't PAE be an option?

I wonder what would happen if I tried to install a 32 bit OS on my system, with 8GB system ram, and two GTX1070s weighing in at 8GB a piece...
Basic idea :


Advanced version ;)
GTX 1080 + Celeron 2,0A :


Modern PCIe GPUs always take 256MB of physical memory.
With SLI, you would get 2.99GB usable (or a bit less depending on BIOS/MB).
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
204 (0.06/day)
System Name Gaming PC/ EDU PC/ HFSS PC
Processor Intel i9-9900KF/ Dual Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard Asrock Z390 Taichi Ultimate/ Dual Asrock X370 Proffesional Gaming
Cooling Noctua NH-C14S/ Arctic Xtreme Freezer/ Ryzen Wraith Prysm RGB
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Dominator 3000/ 2x8GB Corsair Dominator 3000/ 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 3200
Video Card(s) MSI RTX2080Ti Ventus / Zotac GTX1070 Mini / EVGA GTX 1060 SC Gaming
Storage Dual 970 EVO Plus 1TB / 960 EVO 500GB + 10Tb R0/ 840EVO 250Gb + 16Tb R0
Display(s) Samsung 32" LC32JG50 Curved 2560x1440 144Hz / Samsung 32" LC32H711 Curved 2560x1440 Freesync
Case Cooler Master Stacker 830 NV Edition/ Dual Cooler Master 690 Advance II
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Surround 5.1 SBX/ Creative X-Fi Titanium Pci-E/ On-board Realtek
Power Supply Triple Corsair Platinum HX850i
Mouse Logitech G7 WL / Logitech G903 Lightspeed / MS BT 8000
Keyboard Dual Logitech G19s
Software Win10 Pro
single core cpu with a gtx1080 - yes!!!
 
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
991 (0.67/day)
System Name BOX
Processor Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ 4,3GHz
Motherboard Sabertooth X79 (BIOS 4801 + NVMe mod + uCode update)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X (w/LGA 2011 kit) + 2x Delta PWM Push-Pull
Memory 8x A-Data Xtreme 2000X 2GB (1868MHz CL8.9.8.24 CR2T @ 1,65V)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 (FE)
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB NVMe, RAID0 2x WD10EZEX (1TB), HGST HUS726060ALE610 (6TB)
Display(s) Samsung T240
Case NZXT Tempest (Nanoflux/PWM fans only, some w/LEDs)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence ST Deluxe 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Roccat Savu
Keyboard Logitech UltraXPremium
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V9/display.php?id=108080818886
single core cpu with a gtx1080 - yes!!!
Single core is easy (Disable cores + HT on modern stuff and you are good to go :)).
32-bit only (ie. older than Prescott) though... That is a challange ;)
 

Durvelle27

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
5,739 (1.99/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @4.2GHz
Motherboard ASRock B350 Pro4
Cooling China Rock 4
Memory Oloy 32B(2x16GB) DDR4 3200MHz @3733MHz
Video Card(s) ASRock RX 5700 XT Challenger OC
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + Seagate 3TB
Display(s) Acer ED323QUR ADIBPX 31.5" Curved 144Hz FreeSync
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x120mm Intake + 4x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) Samsung 5.1 Setup
Power Supply SilverStone 750W
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
So try Win10, both types. If that doesn't work slap win7 on?
I just run Windows 7 Home 64bit. No issues here and has drivers under vista that works
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2005
Messages
3,308 (0.59/day)
System Name TheReactor
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.95ghz - delid
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VIII Genie z170
Cooling HeatKiller VI CPU/GPU Block -2xBlackIce GTX 240 Radiators - Swiftech MCP655 Pump
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3600Mhz Cas 14
Video Card(s) PNY RTX 2080 TI
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Acer Predator xb271hu - 2560x1440 @144hz
Case Corsiar 550
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply Antec Quattro 1000W
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair Gaming k70
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Opteron 185, pretty sure I got my Opt 165 running at 3ghz way back in the day on water cooling.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
21,024 (4.26/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: Athlon II x4 630 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1866 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: none
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply FSP Hydro GE 550w :: something
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
GTX1080 with a 2GHz celeron... :( I had a 2GHz celeron before... it was pretty bad. I also remember wanting the socket 478 P4EE cause I was young and couldn't afford anything myself, and I thought that would be the best I could do for a while...
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
5,066 (1.14/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD R7 2700X | Ryzen 1600X | i7 970
Motherboard MSi AM4 Pro Carbon | GA- | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Stock Cooler, Copper Core)| Big shairkan B
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 G.Skill Ripjaws 3600MHz| 2x8GB Corsair 3000 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Inno3d GTX 1050 TI | MSI RX 580 8GB
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB SSD WD, 2x1TB, 1x750 | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) LG 27" 1440P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Coolermaster Pro | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
What CPU is in your 939 system?

I think I have a few spare here, 3700 Sandi Core and some 3200's.

I did run for many yrs a 4800+ on a GA-K8NF9 Sli Motherboard with 8600GT's but since sold them all off.
 
Top