• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Age Of Empires 2 HD - 10% off Steam!

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,885 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,416
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#2
Joined
Feb 20, 2008
Messages
4,435 (1.24/day)
Likes
733
Location
where everyone wants to be
System Name Everchanging
Processor Core i7 4790K
Motherboard ASUS ROG Maximus VII Hero
Cooling Custom loop
Memory 4x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2800MHz 11-14-14-35
Video Card(s) 2xEVGA GTX 970 SSC
Storage SSD Main, 7TB backups
Display(s) Samsung 40" 4k UHD
Case Corsair 900D
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster thingy
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Mouse Steel Series Sensi
Keyboard Thermaltake eSports Posiden Z Cherry Blues
Software Windows 10 x64
#3
Bought it a while ago when it came with a free copy of AoE 3.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2007
Messages
746 (0.20/day)
Likes
88
#4
Well, some still behave like children, if that makes you feel any better. :roll:
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
2,245 (0.70/day)
Likes
1,331
Location
Riverside, California
System Name Red Monster
Processor Intel Core i7 7800X @ 4.7GHz
Motherboard MSI X299 Gaming M7 ACK
Cooling Corsair Hydro Series H115i 280mm
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED 32GB DDR4 3466
Video Card(s) evga GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 iCX
Storage Intel 535 Series 2.5" 480GB SATA /WD Blue 1TB SSD /Radeon R7 240GB SSD /1TB, & 4TB HHD
Display(s) Samsung UN55KS8500 55" 4K & Oculus Rift CV1
Case Corsair Carbide Series Air 540
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZX > Pagoda DAC > multiple amps
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G600
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherri MX
Software Windows 10
#5
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
1,584 (0.47/day)
Likes
750
#7
Ordered it a few days ago, just waiting for it to release. This will tide me over until DayZ standalone.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
5,822 (1.56/day)
Likes
618
Processor Core I7 3770K@4.3Ghz
Motherboard AsRock Z77 Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory 12Gb G.Skill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070
Storage Sandisk SSD + 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200
Display(s) IPS Asus 26inch
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G2
Software Windows 10/Windows 7
#10
I remember playing it when it came out . . . . . . . when I was 16:laugh:

I feel young again:toast:
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2007
Messages
3,171 (0.84/day)
Likes
527
Location
Florida, US
System Name bits and pieces
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1230V3
Motherboard Gigabyte H97
Cooling stock
Memory 16GB for now
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage 256GB SSD + 3x 2TB WDs (storage)
Display(s) 2x BENQ GW2250 + ViewSonic 24"
Case Cooler Master Centurion 5 :P
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD --- JBL 4412 Studio Monitors / Polk PSW505
Power Supply Antec 550W
Mouse Corsair M65 pro
Keyboard MS Sidewinder
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#11
I love this game!!!
getting it NAO!
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
1,584 (0.47/day)
Likes
750
#12
Need some people to play with. First game we teamed up against the hardest CPU and ended up winning, but I think it glitched out. Second game I got demolished pretty quick and resigned, lol. Add me on Steam if anybody wants to play - I can also setup my Mumble so we can talk if wanted!
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2009
Messages
2,516 (0.85/day)
Likes
757
System Name Nightblade / Dell Latitude / Wife's Rig
Processor Core i5 4690K / i7 2720QM / FX-6100
Motherboard Nightblade ITX z97 / Dell 032T9K QM67 / Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Rev3
Cooling tower style cooler, plus one 120mm fan / stock blower / CNPS7000V
Memory Patriot Viper 2x8gb DDR3 2400 / Micron 2x4GB DDR3 / 2x4GB 2x2GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 970 4GB / NVS 4200M 512MB / nVidia GTX 460 1GB
Storage 120GB ForceGT SSD (OS), 2TB WD Black, 250GB Seagate 2.5in / 320GB WD Blue /240GB SSD M500
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT 1440P / Dell 14in @ 1600x900 / Vizio 1080p TV
Case MSI Nightblade Z97 / Dell Latitude / Corsair Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Microsoft Lifechat 3000 / Intel / ALC887
Power Supply Gold rated 600W / Battery with 95w brick / Antec EA-650 Green
Mouse MadCatz RAT5
Keyboard G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 on all
#13
The times i wish my internet connection wasn't a tethered Metro PCS "4G" phone.

damn their 2.5GB limit and having to pay $5 for every extra 500mb at "4G" speeds
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2012
Messages
229 (0.11/day)
Likes
129
Location
South Africa
#14
Other than wide-screen support, I'm hard pressed to see a difference between this and the original. This is based on the video and screen shots on Steam. If anyone is playing it, can you please tell me if it's worth $18 considering I have several copies of the game already (I was an AoE fanatic - I bought Age of Empires, Age of Empires: Rise of Roam, Age of Empires: Gold, Age of Empires II: Age of Kings, Age of Empires II: The Conquerors, Age of Empires II: Gold, Age of Empires: Collectors Edition [came with trading cards, how cool is that? :D]... Do I have a problem? :/ )? And does it have Conquerors? That's a no-brainer for me, playing without re-seeding farms annoys me :(
 

HammerON

The Watchful Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
7,435 (2.31/day)
Likes
4,740
Location
Up North
System Name Cruncher / Cruncher 2
Processor i7 6900K / E5 2683 v3
Motherboard X99A Gaming Pro Carbon / ASRock X99 Extreme 4/3.1
Cooling EK Supremacy EVO Elite 2011-3 / EK Supremacy
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB 3200 / G.SKILL Trident Z 16GB 3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 980 Ti Classified / ATI 3650
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB + Mushkin Reactor 1 TB / OCZ Vertex 4 256 GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U3011 30"
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D / TT Core V51
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 / EVGA 500W
Software Win 10 Pro/ Win 10
Benchmark Scores Always changing~
#15
Played it as a child? lol


You are making me feel old.

I was 27 when this game released.
So was I:) Didn't play Age of Empires though...
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
1,584 (0.47/day)
Likes
750
#16
There honestly isn't that much difference that I see other than being able to have it on Steam and run it fully 1920x1200 without a patch that doesn't work correctly anyways. That alone is worth it to me, but maybe not to others. Also not sure if you can network your copies with the Steam copies - they haven't changed the interface or menus or anything.
 
Joined
May 27, 2008
Messages
3,577 (1.02/day)
Likes
533
Location
Huddersfield, uk
Processor E8200
Motherboard Asus P5KC
Cooling cooler master hyper tx3, 2x 120mm, 1x 80mm
Memory 4 GB DDR3 OCZ Black Edition
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD 2600xt silent pipe II
Storage 500GB WD Sata / 60 GB Samsung IDE
Display(s) 20" samusng LCD, gaming at 1680 x 1050
Case some old amd thing
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 650W
Software Windows 8.1, with 'start is back' obviously
Benchmark Scores It boots whilst im still young so im pleased with that.
#17
I was 26 when it came out, so I know that feeling old feeling all too well. :banghead:
Played it as a child? lol


You are making me feel old.

I was 27 when this game released.
Just to rub the salt i was 9....

Anyhoo its there a whole lot of difference? I don't like playing with real people :laugh: i like to play against the AI as i like to save it and come back to it, so whats the AI like? any better then the original? If not ill stick to my patched version, plays perfectly fine :)
 

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,412 (3.16/day)
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
#18
Anyhoo its there a whole lot of difference? I don't like playing with real people :laugh: i like to play against the AI as i like to save it and come back to it, so whats the AI like? any better then the original? If not ill stick to my patched version, plays perfectly fine :)
The AI is unreal. Standard AI is too easy, and the next step up Moderate, will kick your front door in at 12 minutes and kill your children just about every single game. I've heard Moderate can be beat, but you will have to be damn good at the game, and once you beat Moderate, the other difficulties don't matter all that much.
 
Joined
May 27, 2008
Messages
3,577 (1.02/day)
Likes
533
Location
Huddersfield, uk
Processor E8200
Motherboard Asus P5KC
Cooling cooler master hyper tx3, 2x 120mm, 1x 80mm
Memory 4 GB DDR3 OCZ Black Edition
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD 2600xt silent pipe II
Storage 500GB WD Sata / 60 GB Samsung IDE
Display(s) 20" samusng LCD, gaming at 1680 x 1050
Case some old amd thing
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 650W
Software Windows 8.1, with 'start is back' obviously
Benchmark Scores It boots whilst im still young so im pleased with that.
#19
The AI is unreal. Standard AI is too easy, and the next step up Moderate, will kick your front door in at 12 minutes and kill your children just about every single game. I've heard Moderate can be beat, but you will have to be damn good at the game, and once you beat Moderate, the other difficulties don't matter all that much.
That sounds exactly how i want to play it, ive found the original AI on hard even with playing on a huge map so there's loads of resources and raising the unit count is still too easy. I like to build a huge fort then smaller outputs if you like to then launch attacks from or to defend large amounts of resources etc. I like it when the AI does that too so you can take out an output and the AI builds another else where, makes it interesting and means a game can last a while but the original AI very rarely does that.
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
6,560 (1.73/day)
Likes
835
System Name Vintage
Processor i7 - 3770K @ Stock
Cooling Scythe Zipang II
Memory 2x4GB Crucial DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970
Storage M4 124GB SSD// WD Black 640GB// WD Black 1TB//Samsung F3 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung SM223BW 21.6"
Case Generic
Power Supply Corsair HX 520W
Software Windows 7
#20
AI does suck at doing that in almost all strategy games. The outpost thing anyway. I can only think of a couple of games where the AI really does excel in strategy.
 

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,412 (3.16/day)
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
#21
That sounds exactly how i want to play it, ive found the original AI on hard even with playing on a huge map so there's loads of resources and raising the unit count is still too easy. I like to build a huge fort then smaller outputs if you like to then launch attacks from or to defend large amounts of resources etc. I like it when the AI does that too so you can take out an output and the AI builds another else where, makes it interesting and means a game can last a while but the original AI very rarely does that.
That could be the difference, I'm not playing on the largest map. I'll try the largest map, I really don't see how someone could be setting up a huge town though once the 12 min marker hits and theirs usually constant attacks. Unless you force teams or something. The last game I played against 3 bots at 13 min all 3 bots were attacking me together with their entire armies, pretty hard to beat a 3v1 at the start of the game.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
1,584 (0.47/day)
Likes
750
#22
That could be the difference, I'm not playing on the largest map. I'll try the largest map, I really don't see how someone could be setting up a huge town though once the 12 min marker hits and theirs usually constant attacks. Unless you force teams or something. The last game I played against 3 bots at 13 min all 3 bots were attacking me together with their entire armies, pretty hard to beat a 3v1 at the start of the game.
It takes me about 12 minutes to even get the the Feudal age (I think that is it). :(
 

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,412 (3.16/day)
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
#23
It takes me about 12 minutes to even get the the Feudal age (I think that is it). :(
I just ran a team game and it seemed to balance it up well. 5 Bots and me, ran 3 teams of two and I was doing pretty well. And yeah, I know what you mean.
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2012
Messages
229 (0.11/day)
Likes
129
Location
South Africa
#24
Has the AI been changed? I could hand it to an AI player (as in defeat) within 18 minutes on Hardest with the original AoE II. New AI would make me click Add to Cart.
 

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,412 (3.16/day)
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
#25
Has the AI been changed? I could hand it to an AI player (as in defeat) within 18 minutes on Hardest with the original AoE II. New AI would make me click Add to Cart.
Not that I know of. You could do that against the AI 1v1? I can't assume it would have been any higher than that or on larger maps.