• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD/ATi Flash Command Line (CMD) Syntax Mini Guide (WINDOWS)

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,418 (6.73/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
This is a Mini Guide to using AMDVBFLASH/ATi Flash.

HAVE ONLY 1 CARD INSTALLED IN THE PC CASE, THE REST OUT OF THE CASE NOT HOOKED UP.

GET GPU-Z and look at your Device ID and Subsystem ID to the right, make a note of it, same with your clock speeds, ram size, ram brand
Example Sapphire RX 580 Pulse: 1002 67DF 1DA2 E353/366, 1366/2000 MHz, 8192/4096 MB, Micron, Samsung, Hynix, Eplida, Infineon, Qimonda.

Go to the Advanced Tab and click on the context menu and Select Memory, You should see 1 that matches your ram on the page with detailed info of the Chip Types, Samsung FB/FC, Hynix AJR/MJR etc.
Write that info down.

Go on VGA Bios Collection and find the correct bios for your card by all criteria you wrote above.

GET YOUR FAVORITE GPU DRIVER.
GET DISPLAY DRIVER UNINSTALLER


Then Get the latest version of AMDVBFLASH/ATiFlash

UNINSTALL GPU DRIVERS USING DISPLAY DRIVER UNINSTALLER DISCONNECTED FROM INTERNET

Then follow this

These versions also work for older cards
AMDVBFLASH
Versions 3.15, 3.20, 3.31:
Once you extract the .zip to its own directory. Find the directory and change it's name to something simple,
move it to the C: drive

Move your BIOS ROM INTO THE AMDVBFLASH Directory you created to make things simpler to find

Open the directory/folder, double click AMDVBFlashDriverInstaller.exe and allow it to install
YOU MUST INSTALL THIS FOR AMDVBFLASH TO WORK, YOU CAN UNINSTALL IT USING THE EXACT SAME .EXE

open your start menu and type in CMD, right click on it and open it as administrator, YOU MUST DO IT THIS WAY, NO EXCEPTIONS

at CMD, type in this
CD \ which takes you to the C:\
then this is an example CD C:\AMDVBFLASH\AMDVBFLASH3.31
you are now in the folder where AMDVBFLASH.EXE is in

type in this C:\AMDVBFLASH\AMDVBFLASH3.31\amdvbflash -i
that will identify the GPU with the number 0 (ZERO), 1 etc should be the only one gpu.

then type in amdvbflash -unlockrom 0

then type in amdvbflash -p -fa -fp 0 biosname.rom
(-fs command is optional and may not work in all versions)

biosname.rom is just an example

press enter, let it complete, follow prompt on the cmd line, once all complete exit CMD and restart computer.

Version 2.93, the above commands should work, if not, in cmd in the directory type amdvbflash -?

note there are spaces between each - so example -p(space)-fa


really old versions of ati flash use -f

this is a baseline to get users started.

include additional info if you must
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,418 (6.73/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Also make sure to have the gpu that you want flashed plugged in directly into the slot you want to flash, not on a extension cable.

So on non IGP/APU systems you should have the working display card in and then the card you want to flash (bricked card)


Dual bios cards that have 1 side working:

Make sure to boot up on working bios then in windows flip to dead bios, flash dead bios and boot up on that side.

If it failed, power off and flip switch to working side and repeat above.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,418 (6.73/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
MAKE SURE BEFORE YOU THINK IT IS A REASON TO FLASH ANY GPU, UPDATE YOUR MOTHERBOARD BIOS FIRST!
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,418 (6.73/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Alternate guide to the above.

Download atiflash/amdvbflash 2.93

Follow these steps carefully:

1. Open your "C:" drive in Windows, create a new folder, call it atiflash.

2. Extract the contents of atiflash_293.zip to the "C:\atiflash" folder

3. Find the bios file you downloaded and rename the bios file to biosname.rom

(Biosname.rom is just an example, change it to match your card model in 5 characters with .rom on end)

4. Move biosname.rom to the "C:\atiflash" folder

5. Open the start menu, type cmd, when cmd.exe appears right click it and hit "Run as administrator"

6. At the command prompt type in cd\ and press enter until only C:\> is on the screen.

7. Type in cd/atiflash and press enter, you should see C:\atiflash>

8. At the C:\atiflash> prompt type in
amdvbflash.exe -unlockrom 0
(there is a space between the e and -unlockrom and 0)(0 is the number zero)
press enter and you will be prompted that the "ROM Unlocked"

9. At the C:\atiflash> prompt type in
amdvbflash.exe -f -p 0 biosname.rom
(there is a space between the .exe and -f, and a space between -f and -p and 0)press enter.

Follow directions on screen and if flash is successful exit the command prompt and restart, windows should show up on screen.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,418 (6.73/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Jun 26, 2018
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
System Name The Classified
Processor Intel i7-4790K
Motherboard EVGA Z97 Classified
Cooling EVGA Hydro Copper Waterblock
Memory Corsair Vengeance Pro 32GB
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2080TI Kingpin 11GB GDDR6
Thank you eidairaman1 for this simple guide, you easily transported me back to 2016 when I first had to flash a card from the command line. Tonight I brought a card back to life from that era that I had been putting off this simple procedure, but I just couldn't remember the steps, although I knew all the basic steps. Many other versions of your instruction out there, but I settled on yours, fellow Texan, due to brevity and clarity, not to mention the fact that it's housed here in TPU.

Besides expressing gratitude, I have a question, and it is about the very crucial all important section of your instructions, and I quote here:

then type in amdvbflash -unlockrom 0

then type in amdvbflash -p -fa -fp 0 biosname.rom
(-fs command is optional and may not work in all versions)

Now, in the parentheses under the key instruction where you say to type the program [amdvbflash] and then the arguments [-p -fa -fp], you then say:
(-fs command is optional and may not work in all versions)

When you reference -fs, is that a typo? You are stipulating -fa and -fp as arguments, and I did go and run amdvbflash -? (I remembered something on my own!) and I don't see an -fs option. It makes sense you are referring to either the -fa or -fp argument as optional and "may not work in all versions." But I want to know if I'm missing something, please.

That tiny little thing gave me pause, but I went ahead and ran exactly as you had typed for this RX580 I'm working on, and it flashed like a charm thanks to you. Just had to ask this question because it might trip up someone else that hasn't done this before, make them overthink it maybe. The phrase "may not work" worries the hell out of me!

I appreciate you took the time to type out these instructions, I can't stand trying to learn from spoken-word video, I get lost. I have to see it in writing, and in its static form where I can progress at my own studied pace. And I read all the subsequent variations you also added, but fortunately your first iteration did the trick right off the bat.

I started following you not long ago and have read some of your old replies and valiant attempts to help people who don't know what they're doing. While this is normal for all help situations, I'm talking about the people with no rhyme or reason for their efforts, and I understand completely your one post basically disowning and abandoning extending help to this genre of hackers. That said, sometime on another thread or somehow I'd love to message you about the quirky practice MSI employed with their RX580s and similar around 2017, inexplicably using slightly different vBIOSes on batches of essentially identical cards, which affect their performance if you use say TV341MH.612 instead of TV341MH.614. There are several and can be different between cards basically exactly the same for model, even make of memory. And I still see people on your forums here as well as elsewhere seeking these vBIOS files, which can only be matched by decoding the serial number of the card as to which batch it comes from. If you see someone seeking help on these particular series of cards in the RX470/480 and RX570/580 family, both 4GB and 8GB, they have a special challenge in front of them. I have compiled a bit of a repository of 12 so far; there are three I think represented here on TPU for my RX580 in question, but there are others from the factory, and I had to come up with a unique way to harvest them from the official MSI forum, where the moderators can no longer help with this issue, yea barely discuss it, since around 2019. And I do see more in the "unverified" section, but I'll never be that adventurous. The ones I have are factory.

Cheers, Sir!
"Come and Take It!"
[on Reddit I go by EBTexas]
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,418 (6.73/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
For RX 580, just use the 2nd guide with amdvbflash 2.93
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2013
Messages
1,255 (0.37/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Current gaming rig + others...
Processor Core i7-11700K@5x50x, 3x51x / FX-8350@stock / Phenom II X6 1055T@stock
Motherboard MSI Z590 Unify / Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 / Asrock 890GM Pro3 R2.0
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate+2xCorsair ML140 / Gigabyte MA620P / Thermaltake NiC F4
Memory 32GB kit NeoForza@4600 CL19 / G.Skill F3-2133C11Q-16GAO / 8GB kit Patriot viper7@2000Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 6800 XT / RX 5700 XT / R9 Nano / 2 x HD7870 GHz edition
Storage 2x Kingston KC3000 1TB / Samsung 850 Pro 250GB / WD Blue 250GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung 32" Odyssey G5 / Numerous Philips 27 + 28" LCD panels...
Case Nanoxia Deep Silence 5 Rev.B / Lots of nice cheap cases!
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar AE 7.1+Razer Tiamat 7.1/, Onboard for the rest of them...
Power Supply Corsair RM1000x V2 /Corsair RM750x V2 / Silverstone SST-ST55F-G
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS300 + Lots of optical mice!
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Ultimate Stealth /steelseries 6G V2
Software Win10 x64 x 3
With obtaining my new card, I notice Asus have this bios/tool to upgrade the bios on my card. If & only IF I wanted to upgrade the bios on this card, should I use the Asus software or use this tool you have talked about in this thread?
Curios to know as I have never upgraded or flashed a dGPU bios before but am aware of the hazards in doing this.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,418 (6.73/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
With obtaining my new card, I notice Asus have this bios/tool to upgrade the bios on my card. If & only IF I wanted to upgrade the bios on this card, should I use the Asus software or use this tool you have talked about in this thread?
Curios to know as I have never upgraded or flashed a dGPU bios before but am aware of the hazards in doing this.

Hey man sometimes those Live Update Tools Provide the Wrong Bios, don't do it.

You should only update a bios if you are having a glitch (black screen) after other troubleshooting measures failed.
 
Top