• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

AMD Demonstrates Graphics Processing Power of Llano Fusion APUs

Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
3,684 (1.00/day)
Likes
402
Location
Smithfield, WV
System Name Felix777
Processor Core i5-3570k@stock
Motherboard Biostar H61
Memory 8gb
Video Card(s) XFX RX 470
Storage WD 500GB BLK
Display(s) Acer p236h bd
Case Haf 912
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Rosewill CAPSTONE 450watt
Software Win 10 x64
#51
25watts is quite a bit for a CPU, however if it can pull off performance of say a mobility HD 4670 or 5770 then that's dam good. the detail in that screenshot looks good, but can't tell how smooth it was running.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.49/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#52
I wouldn't say it's a lot for a APU solution. How much power does it take to power an equivalent CPU and GPU solution?
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2009
Messages
865 (0.27/day)
Likes
98
Location
Dawn
#53
the problem was you stuck the cpu in the socket.
You boot up the pc.
maybe it discovers it as eng sample.
mobo webpage.
dl bios.
Flash.

Solved.
This is the same if there is a new chip for a LGA1156 platform, doesnt matter, you still need the same update.
So thats not a valid statement in my opinion, i stuff in AM3 cpu's in AM2 boards and they work, yes AM2, with AGP and nforce 3( good old asrock) worked as easy as any other cpu upgrade.
I didn't actually have problems with it myself, it's the number of others who couldn't seem to figure out how to get an am2 or am2+ cpu to work in an am3 mobo (since they already had a chip) Or didn't bother to flash, or flashed badly or whatever.
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2009
Messages
865 (0.27/day)
Likes
98
Location
Dawn
#54
I wouldn't say it's a lot for a APU solution. How much power does it take to power an equivalent CPU and GPU solution?
I seem to recall my athlon x2 5000+ being about 89watts or similar? maybe it was 125 but I haven't used it in a while, I think 25 watts is easily something a Lithium Ion laptop battery could maintain, though I think that figure was targetted at netbooks, not so much laptops.

They said they wanted four core x86 processing, but didn't say how many sp's on the die, so I'm not sure.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
659 (0.20/day)
Likes
83
Location
I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
System Name 2 sys spec seperated by "|"
Processor R7 1700 | Xeon 2680
Motherboard Asus | HP Z620
Cooling Water | Air
Memory 64gb | 128 gb
Video Card(s) EK-FC - RX Vega 64 | quadro K4000\GTX970
Storage Many SSD's
Display(s) AOC 28" 4K something
Case Corsair Carbide 88R
Power Supply Corsair HX750
Mouse G500
Keyboard TT Meka G1
Software Ubuntu 17.10 - 4.14 AMDGPU
#55
25watts is quite a bit for a CPU, however if it can pull off performance of say a mobility HD 4670 or 5770 then that's dam good. the detail in that screenshot looks good, but can't tell how smooth it was running.
let remind you.
Quadcore. 15W
GPU 5W
Chipset 5W

well, then we're down to a 8 pci-e lane chipset from AMD.
A single core 1.6 ghz
and no gpu got that TPD.

its basicly impossible with dedicated gpu, 5770 is too high, 4670 is more the right direction, maybe slightly less due to memory performance.
Rather excited, even though im not a huge laptop fan, but i would like to see better performance on laptops, intel have really improved, but amd gonna bring it to another level with gpu performance.
Opencl may really kick off if intel manages to bring out "acceptable" performance atleast in terms of gpgpu, 100 gigaflops would be a huge improvement for a app when the part is needed anyways for video when required.
The only looser is nvidia, GF9400 class and such may get really obsolute! (huge profits there!)

and for high end pc's the gpu part could be used in opencl, so no matter what its usefull. physx on the gpu on the cpu in high end pc's :p alltho nvidia wudnt let us do that anyways :p
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.59/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#56
AMD that is just sweet news, dx11 on a chip especially if it can run the game like that at decent frames. I definitely would want a desktop version (HTPC) and a notebook to boot.
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2010
Messages
105 (0.04/day)
Likes
3
System Name Wife Pisser
Processor AMD X6 1090T
Motherboard Anus Crosshair IV
Cooling H50
Memory 8gb Gskill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Dual Sapphire 4870x2
Storage WD 1TB
Display(s) DUAL 23inch LCDs
Case HAF AMD Limited Edition
Power Supply Corsair 950W
Software WIN 7-64bit
Benchmark Scores 3.9ghz with the aid of ROG software.. but soon to change as I learn more
#57
I wish i knew if this will support DDR3 OR DDR5?

Im ready for DDR5..... and I hope AMD will jump to it for the next Gen of motherboards and processors...
 

F1reFly

New Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2010
Messages
227 (0.08/day)
Likes
66
Location
Indiana
Processor Phenom 2 965 Black Edition OC
Motherboard MSI G65
Cooling H50 Liquid Cooling
Memory 6 gig DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX 580
Storage Corsair Real SSD c300
Display(s) Sony 40" 3D LED TV
Case Fractal Design-define mini
Audio Device(s) Creative Sigma 3d
Power Supply Tagen 900 watt
Software Windows 7 x64
#58
considering video cards get upgraded far more often and easier, i doubt AMD will ever want to completely kill off the discreat video card business. i suspect the graphical power of these will remain in the lower end for many years.
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Messages
162 (0.04/day)
Likes
12
System Name lumi
Processor Intel Core i3 3100, 3.1GHz (2/4)
Motherboard MSI Z68A-G43 (B3)
Cooling Stock :O
Memory 16GB DDR3-12800 1600Mhz (4*4GB)
Video Card(s) AMD 270X
Storage 60GB SSD/256GB SSD, 2*3TB HDD's, 1*4TB HDD's
Display(s) acer 24" (1920*1080) H243H.
Case Fractal Design Core 3000
Audio Device(s) Onboard :/
Power Supply 850 watt pretty green thing
Software LM14(arch when i cba) // Win7.64
#59
so its like cell cpu ?
if you mean the Cell BroadBand Engine, no. not in the slightest.

it should be thrown in with the high performance computing components though.


maybe~
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,905 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,000
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#61
Ok, I'm confused...a "fusion" between a GPU and a CPU...results in a APU...and what exactly is that?
Auxiliary Power Unit. ;)

They need a better acronym like CPUWG (Central Processing Unit With Graphics).


I wish i knew if this will support DDR3 OR DDR5?

Im ready for DDR5..... and I hope AMD will jump to it for the next Gen of motherboards and processors...
I imagine it uses the main system RAM just like every other IGP.
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2009
Messages
396 (0.13/day)
Likes
124
Location
Belgium
System Name Illidan
Processor Intel Core i7 6700K
Motherboard MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling Scythe Mugen 4
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB DDR4 3000MHz CL14
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1080 Super Jetstream
Storage Sandisk Ultra II 960GB SSD + Samsung 830 128GB SSD + 2 x Samsung F3 1TB HDD
Display(s) AGON AG35UCG + Benq GW2765HT
Case Corsair 750D Airflow
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 + Yamaha HTR-4065 + Onkyo SKS HT 528
Power Supply XFX 650W Pro Core
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 (Cherry MX Red)
Software Windows 10 Pro
#62
this is very interesting, even cheap laptops good get decent performance. My mate's nv7000M just sucks...He can barely run warcraft 3 with a mobile athlon X2 and that crap igp.
if intel and nvidia would team up, we got a serious cpu/gpu war on our hands :D (hopefully with better prices for us costumers :p)
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,878 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,411
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#63
this is very interesting, even cheap laptops good get decent performance. My mate's nv7000M just sucks...He can barely run warcraft 3 with a mobile athlon X2 and that crap igp.
if intel and nvidia would team up, we got a serious cpu/gpu war on our hands :D (hopefully with better prices for us costumers :p)
I assume it's an Intel IGP. They do suck.
 
Joined
May 4, 2009
Messages
1,940 (0.62/day)
Likes
409
Location
Singapore
System Name penguin
Processor i3-4160
Motherboard Asus H81 Mini-ITX
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Saphire Radeon 7850 2GB
Storage Plextor M5S 120GB+1TB Seagate
Display(s) 23' Dell
Case CM Elite 130
Audio Device(s) stock
Power Supply Corsair CX430m
Software W7/Lubuntu
#64
I'm really interested in the memory configuration of this. Will it have two memory controllers - one for the CPU part and one for the GPU part. Will the GPU have an on-board memory like AMD's current igps? So many questions come up to mind...
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
3,684 (1.00/day)
Likes
402
Location
Smithfield, WV
System Name Felix777
Processor Core i5-3570k@stock
Motherboard Biostar H61
Memory 8gb
Video Card(s) XFX RX 470
Storage WD 500GB BLK
Display(s) Acer p236h bd
Case Haf 912
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Rosewill CAPSTONE 450watt
Software Win 10 x64
#65
be sweet/inovative if they shared the memory controller. def show real integration right there.
 
Joined
May 4, 2009
Messages
1,940 (0.62/day)
Likes
409
Location
Singapore
System Name penguin
Processor i3-4160
Motherboard Asus H81 Mini-ITX
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Saphire Radeon 7850 2GB
Storage Plextor M5S 120GB+1TB Seagate
Display(s) 23' Dell
Case CM Elite 130
Audio Device(s) stock
Power Supply Corsair CX430m
Software W7/Lubuntu
#66
It would be great if we could see a 265bit bus split 50/50 between the two, and as someone else said earlier maybe DDR5 - but i highly doubt that. The easiest thing to do is have dedicated GDDR5 sideport memory on the motherboard and then dual channel ddr3 fro the cpu.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2007
Messages
597 (0.15/day)
Likes
63
Location
Under Columbus, Ohio
System Name Gen0cide
Processor AMD Phenom x4 920 2.8 @ 3.36 1.44v
Motherboard Asus M2N-Deluxe + WiFi
Cooling Thermoright True Rev C
Memory 2x 2gig of Gskill DDR2 1066 @ 5-5-5-15 20 2.125v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 250 GTS 1 Gig
Storage 5x 730gig 7,200 RPM Raid 5 Western Digital Black
Display(s) Neovo F-417
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) On-Board
Power Supply SeaSonic M12 SS-600HM
Software Windows 7 x64 / Arch Linux-fluxbox(duel Boot)
#67
I assume it's an Intel IGP. They do suck.
I think he said it was a amd system so hes prob got an xpress 200 series igp
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
3,684 (1.00/day)
Likes
402
Location
Smithfield, WV
System Name Felix777
Processor Core i5-3570k@stock
Motherboard Biostar H61
Memory 8gb
Video Card(s) XFX RX 470
Storage WD 500GB BLK
Display(s) Acer p236h bd
Case Haf 912
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Rosewill CAPSTONE 450watt
Software Win 10 x64
#68
i dout it, probly more along the lines of an actual discrete card's gpu, like an HD 5550 or something along those lines. just a guess.
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2008
Messages
1,062 (0.31/day)
Likes
68
System Name REBEL R1
Processor Core i7 920
Motherboard ASUS P6T
Cooling Stock
Memory 6GB OCZ GOLD TC LV Kit 1866MHz@1.65V 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Two Sapphire HD 5770 Vapor-X Xfire'd and OC'd (920/1330)
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB 32MB
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar D1 PCI Sound Card
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 500W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Benchmark Scores 16585 Performance Score on 3DMark Vantage
#69
I wonder what OCing would be like???
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
2,146 (0.76/day)
Likes
499
Location
England
System Name White Noise
Processor AMD 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Corsair H80 (single pull config) + 3x 140mm ThermalTake Riing fans
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tactical PC3-14900 @1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 Core 4GB
Storage 120Gb OCZ Agility 3 + 2x 500Gb WD Blue (raid 0) + 1Tb WD Green
Display(s) HP 24XW
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi + Samsung HT-C450 via SPDIF
Power Supply BeQuiet! Pure Power 850w + Cablemod custom cables
Mouse Logitech G502 Core
Keyboard Cooler Master Master Keys Pro L
Software Windows 10
#70
I wonder what OCing would be like???
That's actually the something no one questioned until now... and now you've really got me thinking... Would overclocking even be something we would be able to do on these chip's, lot's and lot's of question's and only time will tell :banghead:
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2009
Messages
865 (0.27/day)
Likes
98
Location
Dawn
#71
That's actually the something no one questioned until now... and now you've really got me thinking... Would overclocking even be something we would be able to do on these chip's, lot's and lot's of question's and only time will tell :banghead:
In the presentation, they talk about "Black" editions that would be unlocked for enthusiats. But I wonder about it myself. Two different clock speed sections on a die? How would that work?
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
3,455 (1.08/day)
Likes
708
System Name Money Hole
Processor Core i7 970
Motherboard Asus P6T6 WS Revolution
Cooling Noctua UH-D14
Memory 2133Mhz 12GB (3x4GB) Mushkin 998991
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X OC R9 290X
Storage Samsung 1TB 850 Evo
Display(s) 3x Acer KG240A 144hz
Case CM HAF 932
Audio Device(s) ADI (onboard)
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
#72
Talking about how many shaders this thing has, rumors are pretty consistant that max will about around 400. Basically, a 5570 on a cpu die (since it has the slower ddr3 instead of gddr5 like the 5670). Combine that with up to a quad phenom minus the L3 and you have Llano or what was just demoed.

AM3+ (aka AM3r2) is coming probably when this thing debuts or with Bulldozer. There is a slide that has been posted on several sites that show it. This is probably what the 8 series chipsets have been designed for.

Also, anyone remember the talk about quad channel AMD cpus? If they start pushing up the size of the gpu on the die with the cpu, your going to need a wider bus or else you will end up with a bandwidth limited APU. Although, the GPU is suppose to become more integrated like how the Interger processing unit was back 10+ years ago.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369 (10.18/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#73
Two different clock speed sections on a die? How would that work?
It'll work. They basically do it now with the CPU and the memory controller. :)
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,309 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,717
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#74
I assume it's an Intel IGP. They do suck.
Suck that depends on how you look at it. Laptops should be kept for none gaming and when they make them for gaming you have to expect them to blow up due to the crappy cooling a laptop can have. Just a way for them make money of people saying they can cope with such heat they produce.

Now if ya had it in a PC that's a different matter.
 
Joined
May 4, 2009
Messages
1,940 (0.62/day)
Likes
409
Location
Singapore
System Name penguin
Processor i3-4160
Motherboard Asus H81 Mini-ITX
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Saphire Radeon 7850 2GB
Storage Plextor M5S 120GB+1TB Seagate
Display(s) 23' Dell
Case CM Elite 130
Audio Device(s) stock
Power Supply Corsair CX430m
Software W7/Lubuntu
#75
I guess you can always set the frequency of the GPU as multiple of the HT speed?