• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

AMD Details Bulldozer Processor Architecture

Joined
Nov 9, 2008
Messages
2,191 (0.66/day)
Likes
1,068
Location
Texas
System Name Behemoth-6700k
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.7Ghz 1.37v
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z170 Mark 1
Cooling D5 Vario w/ EK X-Top; EK 240 PE, EK 420 PE; EK RES X3 150; HeatKiller IV Pro
Memory 32Gb (4x8Gb) GSkill Ripjaws 3000Mhz @ 15/16/16/35 1.35v
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080ti Amp Extreme
Storage Crucial M500 240GB; Mushkin 1TB SSD x 2; WD Blue 2TB; WD Black 1TB x2
Display(s) Acer XR341CK 34" 3440x1440; LG 27" 1920x1080
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo; Phanteks F140SP Fans x 12 (6 x Top Rad); Noctua IPPC-2000 x4 (Bottom Rad)
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1350
Mouse MS Trackball Optical
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB; Razer Tartarus Chroma
Software Windows 10 Pro
#76
I understand it is not native, but have you seen any 790FX board with it, or as it only been added to 890FX?

If you didn't need SATAIII or USB 3, why didn't you grab a 790FX board? They are AM3 as well, and "should have supported Bulldozer" too, according to your arguement. You grabbed the most expensive board out there. I made my argument, I am now done.

On-topic: Bring on BULLDOZER!!!
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.99/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
#77
AMD by law have given false and misleading information regarding the Bulldozer.
.... No they have not, a road map is not a legally binding statement.

But anyway, chaps who have issues with the AM3 thing wanna take your discussion to a new thread instead?


All it takes is clicking the start new topic button : ]
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
921 (0.30/day)
Likes
123
Location
SouthERN Africa
System Name inferKNIGHT
Processor Intel Core i5-4590
Motherboard MSI Z97i Gaming AC
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 2 x 4GB DDR3-1866 Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer (R/G)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 STRIX 3.5GB (+0.5GB? o.O)
Storage 1 x 256GB Cricial M550, 1 x 2TB Samsung 7200.12
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T260
Case Corsair Obsidian 250D
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Software Windows 8.1.1 pro x64
#78
If u read the earlier posts he was talking about AMD saying there releasing the AM3 socket on the bulldozer and AMD changed there minds.
After Millions of ppl bought AM3 socketed cpus believing they would be compatible.
And now they have changed the socket on the Bulldozer.
AMD by law have given false and misleading information regarding the Bulldozer.
I read the whole thread before posting.
AMD did not officially announce anything, so people riding on rumors made a mistake just as pantherx12 said.
Anyway, it's not like they can't sell to upgrade, it's not a consumable.:wtf:
 

naram-sin

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2009
Messages
103 (0.03/day)
Likes
10
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name Valkyrie II
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T
Motherboard Asus M5A97 PRO
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
Memory 2 * 4GB CMX8GX3M2A2000C9
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX460 768 MB
Storage 1*WD1500HLFS + 1*WD10EARS + 2*WD20EARS RAID1
Display(s) Xerox 24"
Case Cooler Master HAF932
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC885 8ch
Power Supply Chieftex 650W modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#79
If u read the earlier posts he was talking about AMD saying there releasing the AM3 socket on the bulldozer and AMD changed there minds.
After Millions of ppl bought AM3 socketed cpus believing they would be compatible.
And now they have changed the socket on the Bulldozer.
AMD by law have given false and misleading information regarding the Bulldozer.
In essence, it said they "plan", not "we take a pledge to insure backward comp...", you get the idea. And I can't believe that anyone bought the board only to be able to upgrade it 2 years after... that, my good sir is foolish. I get a new MOBO's more often than my car get's new tires. And it's never on a premium. Anyone that upgraded wanted 8xx because it was a larger no. than 7xx, because it had from scratch support for DDR3 and supported new interfaces...

You AMD boyz are just spoiled, what with AM2/AM2+/AM3 backward compatibility... :D

I read the whole thread before posting.
AMD did not officially announce anything, so people riding on rumors made a mistake just as pantherx12 said.
Anyway, it's not like they can't sell to upgrade, it's not a consumable.:wtf:
Good frelling point.
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2005
Messages
294 (0.07/day)
Likes
25
Location
Szekszárd, Hungary
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955BE
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V Evo
Cooling Xigmatek HDT S1283
Memory 4GB Kingston Hyperx DDR3
Video Card(s) GigaByte Radeon HD3870 512MB GDDR4
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, Hitachi Deskstar T7K250 250GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster F2380M
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy ES 5.1
Power Supply Corsair VX550
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Professional x64
#80
If u read the earlier posts he was talking about AMD saying there releasing the AM3 socket on the bulldozer and AMD changed there minds.
After Millions of ppl bought AM3 socketed cpus believing they would be compatible.
And now they have changed the socket on the Bulldozer.
AMD by law have given false and misleading information regarding the Bulldozer.
I think only a very low percentage of buyers chosed an am3 board because of bulldozer. Anyway backward compatibility is not a guarantee, never was. Do you remember the am2/+/3 compability? There were a lot of am2 boards which can accept the phenom II series, but not only the socket matters. There are other things like bios size, power design, manufacturer support quality.

If bulldozer would be backward compatible to am3 socket, and you have a popular am3 board from a decent manufacturer, you'll likely have bios support for the new processor.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,274 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,361
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#81
I'm interested to see how this performs. I really hope it has something for Intel, because their high end prices have been insane thanks to no competition.

But people need to not be fooled. If this really does outperform Intel, don't think AMD is going to keep prices low, they will jack prices up just as fast an Intel when they can. The only reason prices are cheap now is because they have to be cheap.

X48 realsed for the die shink core 2 65nm to 45nm and got bunch of new chips
i own a X48 and have nothing bad to say about it.
X48 was board i had befor upgrading to my 890fx, i could have gone 1366 drop a i7 930 and later i7 970.
trolling would mean i'm an intel fan boy or something, im just making my point that there was no need for the 890fx and to mislead people. like AMD did.
fact: people call me an emo first and i own a amd. im not a fanboy
I hate to be the one to burst your bubble, but the move to the 800 series was done to add USB 3.0 and SATA 6Gbps natively to the chipsets.

On the other hand, the move from x38 to x48 was for nothing other than a name change. In fact some x38 boards could be flashed to x48 without a problem because the manufacturers simply put a sticker on the x38 board and called it an x48. Yes, 1600FSB was offically supported with the x48 chipset, and not the x38, but anyone that ran an x38 knows it easily did 1600FSB.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,322 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,424
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update

link2009

New Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2010
Messages
38 (0.01/day)
Likes
16
Location
Toronto
System Name Armory
Processor Core 2 Duo E6300 @ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte P965P-DQ6
Cooling 5 Case Fans, 890g CPU Cooler
Memory 4 GB Mushkin DDR2 PC-6400 @ 5-4-4-12 1.8V
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X ATI Radeon HD 5770 1GB GDDR5
Storage 1x7200 RPM 1 TB Hitachi, 1x5400RPM 80 GB Samsung
Display(s) ASUS 24"
Case Antec P183
Audio Device(s) Integrated HD Audio
Power Supply Enermax MODU82+ 525W
Software Windows 7
#83
I dont think that "PaNiC" insulted anyone at all.
Im pretty sure that he was having a go at AMD not at any person.
Its called freedom of speech hence this being a FORUM.
Can you just quit it, we're not interested in your rant!:shadedshu
I can't believe people like you that complain about AMD's new CPU not being backward compatible, when they've been making all their others backward compatible for so long! Get over it, the world can't be on hold forever, the only way to make significant changes is to make things radically different and not backwards compatible.:nutkick:
this thread has been going downhill since page 1.
I think everyone knows he is trolling.
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2005
Messages
294 (0.07/day)
Likes
25
Location
Szekszárd, Hungary
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955BE
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V Evo
Cooling Xigmatek HDT S1283
Memory 4GB Kingston Hyperx DDR3
Video Card(s) GigaByte Radeon HD3870 512MB GDDR4
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, Hitachi Deskstar T7K250 250GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster F2380M
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy ES 5.1
Power Supply Corsair VX550
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Professional x64
#84
Old roadmap is old. AMD told us it's a different socket just last week.
Well, this is the newest roadmap so far (for 2011)...

Which socket did amd told you? It is an existing or a new socket?
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
921 (0.30/day)
Likes
123
Location
SouthERN Africa
System Name inferKNIGHT
Processor Intel Core i5-4590
Motherboard MSI Z97i Gaming AC
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 2 x 4GB DDR3-1866 Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer (R/G)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 STRIX 3.5GB (+0.5GB? o.O)
Storage 1 x 256GB Cricial M550, 1 x 2TB Samsung 7200.12
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T260
Case Corsair Obsidian 250D
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Software Windows 8.1.1 pro x64
#85
Old roadmap is old. AMD told us it's a different socket just last week.
Ooohh... what is the socket called?!... tell us, tell us, tell us, tell us!! *Giant Goo-Goo Eyes*
 

CDdude55

Crazy 4 TPU!!!
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
8,178 (2.15/day)
Likes
1,269
Location
Virginia
System Name CDdude's Rig!
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 620
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence @1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6970 2GB
Storage OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD/WD Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) ASUS VH232H 23" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM690 (w/ side window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard (It sounds fine)
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SP1
#86
Because of this design change, Bulldozer processors will come in totally new packages that are not backwards compatible with older AMD sockets such as AM3 or AM2(+).
Finally a new socket!

Hopefully we can actually see some performance from these things pretty soon, getting tired of AMD fanboys cuming there pants over speculation.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2008
Messages
2,191 (0.66/day)
Likes
1,068
Location
Texas
System Name Behemoth-6700k
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.7Ghz 1.37v
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z170 Mark 1
Cooling D5 Vario w/ EK X-Top; EK 240 PE, EK 420 PE; EK RES X3 150; HeatKiller IV Pro
Memory 32Gb (4x8Gb) GSkill Ripjaws 3000Mhz @ 15/16/16/35 1.35v
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080ti Amp Extreme
Storage Crucial M500 240GB; Mushkin 1TB SSD x 2; WD Blue 2TB; WD Black 1TB x2
Display(s) Acer XR341CK 34" 3440x1440; LG 27" 1920x1080
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo; Phanteks F140SP Fans x 12 (6 x Top Rad); Noctua IPPC-2000 x4 (Bottom Rad)
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1350
Mouse MS Trackball Optical
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB; Razer Tartarus Chroma
Software Windows 10 Pro
#87
Well, this is the newest roadmap so far (for 2011)...

Which socket did amd told you? It is an existing or a new socket?
Ooohh... what is the socket called?!... tell us, tell us, tell us, tell us!! *Giant Goo-Goo Eyes*
If I am not mistaken, they call it "Socket G"...anyone know if I am remembering that correctly? :eek:
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2009
Messages
921 (0.30/day)
Likes
123
Location
SouthERN Africa
System Name inferKNIGHT
Processor Intel Core i5-4590
Motherboard MSI Z97i Gaming AC
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 2 x 4GB DDR3-1866 Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer (R/G)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 STRIX 3.5GB (+0.5GB? o.O)
Storage 1 x 256GB Cricial M550, 1 x 2TB Samsung 7200.12
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T260
Case Corsair Obsidian 250D
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Software Windows 8.1.1 pro x64
#88
If I am not mistaken, they call it "Socket G"...anyone know if I am remembering that correctly? :eek:
Do you have details? Does it take pins or have them and contact the CPU like with Intel. Are physical dimensions the same? Number of contact-points/pins/whatever-you-call-them?

Really concerned about a possible different HS retention layout...:eek:
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2008
Messages
2,191 (0.66/day)
Likes
1,068
Location
Texas
System Name Behemoth-6700k
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.7Ghz 1.37v
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z170 Mark 1
Cooling D5 Vario w/ EK X-Top; EK 240 PE, EK 420 PE; EK RES X3 150; HeatKiller IV Pro
Memory 32Gb (4x8Gb) GSkill Ripjaws 3000Mhz @ 15/16/16/35 1.35v
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080ti Amp Extreme
Storage Crucial M500 240GB; Mushkin 1TB SSD x 2; WD Blue 2TB; WD Black 1TB x2
Display(s) Acer XR341CK 34" 3440x1440; LG 27" 1920x1080
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo; Phanteks F140SP Fans x 12 (6 x Top Rad); Noctua IPPC-2000 x4 (Bottom Rad)
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 1350
Mouse MS Trackball Optical
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB; Razer Tartarus Chroma
Software Windows 10 Pro
#89
I cannot remember where I read that at, but I think it was a derivative of the G34 Socket used for the Opteron Magny-Cours.

Socket G34 also supports 4 channel DDR3, so it seems like a natural extension to modify the socket for consumer desktop usage.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,322 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,424
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#90
This is pure FUD, but:

I personally expect the consumer Bulldozer package to have nearly 1000~1400 pins, just not arranged like AM3/2 or compatible with it.

The processor may continue to have a dual-channel DDR3 memory controller (maybe higher memory clock speeds of 1833 MHz support to give higher bandwidth).

Processor will need pins to give out 40 PCI-Express 2.1 lanes (incl. the A-Link III which is x4).

No HyperTransport pins on the consumer packages. The 2P/4P Opteron package might be bigger, as it needs pins for 1 or 2 16-bit HyperTransport links (to neighbouring sockets).
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2010
Messages
43 (0.02/day)
Likes
8
System Name Back to intel again
Processor Intel i7 5820k
Motherboard EVGA x99 classified
Cooling 360 deepcool AIO
Memory 16GB G.Skill 2800mhz
Video Card(s) VTX3D HD6970 x2
Storage Vertex4 256 x2 Raid 0
Display(s) Samsung 27" S27A850TSK 1440p
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo Red and Black
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply EVGA P2 1200w
Mouse razor naga hex
Keyboard K70
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#91
I'm interested to see how this performs. I really hope it has something for Intel, because their high end prices have been insane thanks to no competition.

But people need to not be fooled. If this really does outperform Intel, don't think AMD is going to keep prices low, they will jack prices up just as fast an Intel when they can. The only reason prices are cheap now is because they have to be cheap.





I hate to be the one to burst your bubble, but the move to the 800 series was done to add USB 3.0 and SATA 6Gbps natively to the chipsets.

On the other hand, the move from x38 to x48 was for nothing other than a name change. In fact some x38 boards could be flashed to x48 without a problem because the manufacturers simply put a sticker on the x38 board and called it an x48. Yes, 1600FSB was offically supported with the x48 chipset, and not the x38, but anyone that ran an x38 knows it easily did 1600FSB.
most of this was coverd in older posts
and as for the new AMD chip it will be good and AMD know that hence the socket forcing people to upgrade, seem intel dosn't have much they put all there eggs in the Larrabee basket and anything they bring out will only be a plan b
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
1,534 (0.57/day)
Likes
200
Location
Britland
System Name Gaming temp// HTPC
Processor AMD A6 5400k // A4 5300
Motherboard ASRock FM2A75 PRO4// ASRock FM2A55M-DGS
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-D1284 // stock phenom II HSF
Memory 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance // 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance low profile
Storage 64gb sandisk pulse SSD and 500gb HDD // 500gb HDD
Display(s) acer 22" 1680x1050
Power Supply Seasonic G-450 // Corsair CXM 430W
#92
I cannot remember where I read that at, but I think it was a derivative of the G34 Socket used for the Opteron Magny-Cours.

Socket G34 also supports 4 channel DDR3, so it seems like a natural extension to modify the socket for consumer desktop usage.

1974 pins :eek: that must be one fat package if bulldozer gives some good performance then quad memory channels might be quite useful for some virtual machines, i just hope we find out for sure what socket it will be and the sepc

I admit i am pretty glad i held off on going for an am3 board, im still running on an am2 790fx/sb600 asus m3a32-mvp that's on its third processor (currently an am3 pehnom ii) to be honest i would be happy with an all new socket as i have been very happy with my am2 upgrades and i saw little point going am3 yet unless buldozer was compatible.

either way i want more info on bulldozer and sandy bridge as im getting the full system upgrade itch (not that i realy need more power)
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2009
Messages
510 (0.17/day)
Likes
73
Location
UK South
System Name AMD FX
Processor AMD FX 8350 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus Sabretooth 990FX R2.0
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory 16GB Corsair Vegance 1866
Video Card(s) AMD HD7970 Gigabyte
Storage Sandisk Extreme SSD, 500gb SG Sata
Display(s) Samsung 2333sw
Case HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750w
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
#93
This is pure FUD, but:

I personally expect the consumer Bulldozer package to have nearly 1000~1400 pins, just not arranged like AM3/2 or compatible with it.

The processor may continue to have a dual-channel DDR3 memory controller (maybe higher memory clock speeds of 1833 MHz support to give higher bandwidth).

Processor will need pins to give out 40 PCI-Express 2.1 lanes (incl. the A-Link III which is x4).

No HyperTransport pins on the consumer packages. The 2P/4P Opteron package might be bigger, as it needs pins for 1 or 2 16-bit HyperTransport links (to neighbouring sockets).

i think i remember seeing bulldozer was going to have quad-channel memory, i could be wrong. but i cant wait for bulldozer been waiting for years, wish i could pre order now..:)
 

mdsx1950

New Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2009
Messages
2,064 (0.70/day)
Likes
408
Location
In a gaming world :D
System Name Knight-X
Processor Intel Core i7-980X [4.2Ghz]
Motherboard ASUS P6T7 WS
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro H70 + 2x CM 2000RPM 120mm LED Fans
Memory Corsair DOMINATOR-GT 12GB (6 x 2GB) DDR3 2000MHz
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon HD6970 2GB CrossFire [PhysX - EVGA GTX260(216SP) 896MB]
Storage 2x Corsair Perf. 512GB | OCZ Colossus 1TB | 2xOCZ Agilities 120GB SSDs
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp™ 3008WFP [2560x1600]
Case Cooler Master HAF-X + NZXT Temp LCD
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar D2X | ONKYO HTS9100THX 7.1
Power Supply Silverstone ST1500 1500W [80 PLUS Silver]
Software Windows 7 Ultimate X64 (Build 7600)
Benchmark Scores Heaven 2.0 with Extreme Tessellation at 1080p - 96FPS
#94
Wonder if these chips will kick Intel buttocks.
 

CDdude55

Crazy 4 TPU!!!
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
8,178 (2.15/day)
Likes
1,269
Location
Virginia
System Name CDdude's Rig!
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 620
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence @1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6970 2GB
Storage OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD/WD Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) ASUS VH232H 23" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM690 (w/ side window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard (It sounds fine)
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SP1
#95
Man, 8 cores and 16 threads just seems so pointless right now. The software isn't keeping up.:(
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
1,534 (0.57/day)
Likes
200
Location
Britland
System Name Gaming temp// HTPC
Processor AMD A6 5400k // A4 5300
Motherboard ASRock FM2A75 PRO4// ASRock FM2A55M-DGS
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-D1284 // stock phenom II HSF
Memory 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance // 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance low profile
Storage 64gb sandisk pulse SSD and 500gb HDD // 500gb HDD
Display(s) acer 22" 1680x1050
Power Supply Seasonic G-450 // Corsair CXM 430W
#96
Man, 8 cores and 16 threads just seems so pointless right now. The software isn't keeping up.:(
For the most part right now its is almost useless but there are more and more things that are geting more heavily threaded, one thing i would be interested in is how a folding@home smp client would do on a 16 threaded bulldozer although i dont know if it would scale over all 16 threads or do it well...... i geuss time should tell
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.99/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
#97
Man, 8 cores and 16 threads just seems so pointless right now. The software isn't keeping up.:(
8 or 16 cores XD

I think it is, there's been massive improvements the past 5 months or so.

I've plenty of apps that max out my cores.
 

CDdude55

Crazy 4 TPU!!!
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
8,178 (2.15/day)
Likes
1,269
Location
Virginia
System Name CDdude's Rig!
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 620
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence @1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6970 2GB
Storage OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD/WD Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) ASUS VH232H 23" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM690 (w/ side window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard (It sounds fine)
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SP1
#98
For the most part right now its is almost useless but there are more and more things that are geting more heavily threaded, one thing i would be interested in is how a folding@home smp client would do on a 16 threaded bulldozer although i dont know if it would scale over all 16 threads or do it well...... i geuss time should tell
8 or 16 cores XD

I think it is, there's been massive improvements the past 5 months or so.

I've plenty of apps that max out my cores.

No doubt software is moving forward and allowing more cores and threads to be utilized, but it's not as widespread still. Then again it depends on what you do, i mean for an average consumer or gamer, more then 2 cores still isn't needed in most programs. But on the flip side, the people doing massively CPU intensive things might actually need an 8 or 16 core CPU. there has definitely been improvements, but not enough to warrant a CPU with more then 4 cores. But even if the software isn't fully caught up, it's inevitable that hardware will just keep getting better regardless.(and that's what can be disappointing sometimes)
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
1,534 (0.57/day)
Likes
200
Location
Britland
System Name Gaming temp// HTPC
Processor AMD A6 5400k // A4 5300
Motherboard ASRock FM2A75 PRO4// ASRock FM2A55M-DGS
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-D1284 // stock phenom II HSF
Memory 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance // 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance low profile
Storage 64gb sandisk pulse SSD and 500gb HDD // 500gb HDD
Display(s) acer 22" 1680x1050
Power Supply Seasonic G-450 // Corsair CXM 430W
#99
No doubt software is moving forward and allowing more cores and threads to be utilized, but it's not as widespread still. Then again it depends on what you do, i mean for an average consumer or gamer, more then 2 cores still isn't needed in most programs. But on the flip side, the people doing massively CPU intensive things might actually need an 8 or 16 core CPU. there has definitely been improvements, but not enough to warrant a CPU with more then 4 cores. But even if the software isn't fully caught up, it's inevitable that hardware will just keep getting better regardless.(and that's what can be disappointing sometimes)
Very true but the bulk of my current machine i have had for over 2 years, i would hope a full system upgrade next year would give me at least a couple more years if not maybe 3 years and i hope at some point in that time software will start to catch up to what will be an out of date machine in that time lol
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,908 (0.65/day)
Likes
656
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor FX-8320@ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A-UD3
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair 1600 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty / 5.1 Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Silverstone DA750
Software Win10 pro 64bit
Kudos to AMD for finally trying something completely new i hope these can at least compete with intel for a change.

And congrats to PaNiC for making my ignore list on your first day way to go :shadedshu