• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

AMD Details Bulldozer Processor Architecture

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
Yes good point, thanks :)
I think the real point there is that once again, AMD isn't exactly forthcoming with PRECISE information, ever. Or maybe it's those reporting...I am unsure since everyone in those circles is so "buddy-buddy" at this point.
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2010
Messages
868 (0.30/day)
Likes
160
Location
Toronto, ON. Canada
System Name Gamers PC
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE @ 3.80 GHz
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70 AM3
Cooling Corsair H50 Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 5770 1GB GDDR5
Storage 2 x WD Caviar Green 1TB SATA300 w/64MB Buffer (RAID 0)
Display(s) Samsung 2494SW 1080p 24" WS LCD HD
Case CM HAF 932 Full Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-FI TITANIUM -PCIE x 1
Power Supply Corsair TX Series CMPSU-650TX (650W)
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
So Bulldozer CPUs will not work with old AM3 motherboards but old AM3 cpus will work in new AM3+ motherboards. I hope AMD does not mess up the DDR3 scaling because Dual-channel is not enough to feed 8 bulldozer cores.

Desktop Bulldozer Processors Will Require New Platforms - AMD.
AMD Zambezi to Use AM3+ Platforms

http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/cpu/display/20100826225852_Desktop_Bulldozer_Processors_Will_Require_New_Platforms_AMD.html

Advanced Micro Devices said that its next-generation desktop processors code-named Zambezi will use socket AM3+ platforms, which will be backwards compatible with the firm's existing AM3 products. While the latter is an advantage for the platform, it may be a disadvantage for eight-core processors based on Bulldozer micro-architecture...............
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
I'm not buying any of it. Let's wait for some motherboards to surface before deciding who's got the right story...I think these guys aren't all talking to the same people @ AMD, and the guys they are talking to, aren't exactly up to date on all the pertinent info. Idiots.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,340 (1.04/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Ohio
System Name Spanky
Processor Ryzen 1400
Motherboard MSI 350 gaming pro
Cooling NZXT Kracken X42
Memory 8gb Crucial 2133 at 2667
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1060
Storage 250gb WD blue
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Raidmax Sigma
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy FX
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
I'm thinking the first round will be like the PhenomII 920 and 940 but after that they will all be AM3r2 only Cpu's
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
2,995 (0.64/day)
Likes
609
Location
Ancient Greece, Acropolis (Time Lord)
System Name My Red Dragon Gaming PC
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4.40GHz w/8-Cores - Bus 277 / 1.35v
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula ROG - Bios v1801
Cooling Corsair H100 Water Cooling (120mm x4 Push/Pull)
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3-2210 (8GBx2)
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE (ATI) DUAL-X R9 280X 3GB GDDR5 OC + Sapphire Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+ LE
Storage Corsair Force 3 SSD 180GB + WD 32MB buffer 1TB HD
Display(s) Asus 24" (VG245H) FHD 75Hz 1ms FreeSyn - Gaming Monitor
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 - My Custom Red Dragn MOD!
Audio Device(s) SteelSound 5Hv2 8CH HD + EAX® Advanced™ HD 5.0 -SupremeFX X-Fi 2
Power Supply Corsair 750W Gamers Power Supply
Mouse Razer DeathAdder PC Gaming Mouse - Ergonomic Left Hand Edition
Keyboard Logitech G15 Classic Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 x64 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores I have the worlds Fastest PC ever Built - 1980
New platform, no problem I am looking forward to buying a new mobo.
 

Neo4

New Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2009
Messages
151 (0.05/day)
Likes
16
Location
Illinois, USA
System Name Game Box
Processor AMD FX 8120
Motherboard ASrock Fatal1ty 990FX Professional
Cooling Zalman CMPS 9900 MAX (red LED)
Memory Mushkin DDR3 1600 (1.35v)
Video Card(s) Powercolor Radeon HD6970
Storage Crucial RealSSD C300 (64X2 gig RAID 0) & Seagate 1 TB
Display(s) ASUS 22" 1920x1080
Case CoolerMaster Storm Enforcer
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster X-Fi Gamer PCI
Power Supply Cooler Master Real Power Pro 850W
Software Windows 7 Professional X64
So Bulldozer CPUs will not work with old AM3 motherboards but old AM3 cpus will work in new AM3+ motherboards. I hope AMD does not mess up the DDR3 scaling because Dual-channel is not enough to feed 8 bulldozer cores.
Dual channel memory is more than enough and Intel proved it with socket 1366 and triple channel designs being an unnecessary expensive. Why do you think they went back to dual channel? Read the reviews it wasn't just for the expense. (By the way, read the reviews on the real world impact on RAM speed as well.) And how can current AM3 designs support a radical and completely new design never before tried by ANY CPU manufacturer? One that doesn't require a Northbridge chipset because it's built into the CPU itself? If current boards supported "Bulldozer" then it would just be a rehash of "Stars" and little faster than what AMD has now. Despite the die shrink to 32 nm which will certainly allow higher clocks and lower TDP's. It certainly wouldn't have a chance against Intel's current and future processors. Allowing current CPU's to work in the Bulldozer boards to come is far more generous than anybody should expect and far more than the Intel camp would ever allow. AMD, I strongly suspect, has a major new performance boost coming with Bulldozer and it's going to strike with even more impact because they will downplay it right up to the day it's released to the server market next April or so. Remember when AMD shocked everybody by how much faster the 4000 video series was to the 3000 series by keeping a low profile up until the day they went on sale? By next August, regular peeps like us will be able to purchase hardware from NewEgg probably no more expensive than current AMD hardware and all we'll need to upgrade our boxes will be a new board and CPU. Next year at this time TechPowerup, HardOCP, Anandtech and all the other hardware review sites will be gushing their enthusiasm for what AMD will have accomplished. Exciting times my friends when you think that you can just buy a new board that supports Bulldozer, use your current Phenom II and buy a Bulldozer CPU later when you have the cash. That's a pretty painless and inexpensive upgrade path compared to ChipZilla.. ;)
 

JF-AMD

AMD Rep (Server)
Joined
Dec 18, 2009
Messages
163 (0.06/day)
Likes
229
People seem to be really caught up in how many channels of memory there are, and not necessarily how efficient those channels perform.

What if you had 2 channels that could perform the same as 3? Would you still demand 3 or would you be ok with 2?

It's the same thing with thermals on servers. Intel is at 32nm but their best 2P power score (@ 100% utilization) is 174W. Ours is 126W (on a 45nm process). I have people try to convince me that 32nm is an advantage because you have lower power consumption.

It's not about the technology, it's about the output.
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2010
Messages
265 (0.10/day)
Likes
10
System Name no bases
Processor E8400/e5300/qx9770
Motherboard rampage formula/DG41TY/p5q DELUXE
Cooling stock DTC cooler&copper core
Memory titanium XTC DDR2 800 2gbx4/2gbx2/ballistix 2GBx4 DDR2-800
Video Card(s) evga gtx 460 oc/zotac 9600gt amp/evga gtx 580
Storage WD cavior black 2TB 16mb eSATA 2/500gb 16mb ATA133/ OCZSSD2-1ONX32G + samsung 320gb 8mb ESATA
Case cm 690/GZ-x2/antec qaudro 1200w
Power Supply antec quattro 1200w/zumax 500w v2/antec HCG 900w
Software windows server 2008 sp2/windows xp x64 pro sp2c/windows server 2008 sp1
People seem to be really caught up in how many channels of memory there are, and not necessarily how efficient those channels perform.

What if you had 2 channels that could perform the same as 3? Would you still demand 3 or would you be ok with 2?

It's the same thing with thermals on servers. Intel is at 32nm but their best 2P power score (@ 100% utilization) is 174W. Ours is 126W (on a 45nm process). I have people try to convince me that 32nm is an advantage because you have lower power consumption.

It's not about the technology, it's about the output.
that's because in computer world everything are accelerate by pure brutal force. not efficiency. if you can do same performance intel that consume 174W while only use 126W. why not increase to 174W and crush intel? i don't understand you logic at all.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
1,534 (0.57/day)
Likes
200
Location
Britland
System Name Gaming temp// HTPC
Processor AMD A6 5400k // A4 5300
Motherboard ASRock FM2A75 PRO4// ASRock FM2A55M-DGS
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-D1284 // stock phenom II HSF
Memory 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance // 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance low profile
Storage 64gb sandisk pulse SSD and 500gb HDD // 500gb HDD
Display(s) acer 22" 1680x1050
Power Supply Seasonic G-450 // Corsair CXM 430W
People seem to be really caught up in how many channels of memory there are, and not necessarily how efficient those channels perform.
I think that some people, myself included just assumed that each channel is limited more by the ram than anything else thus assumed that the only way to get more performance is to add more channels.

I'm still interested in the idea of a quad memory channel bulldozer (preferably interlagos) for a home server partly as in a way i assume that with so many core's and with running a multiple virtual machines it would benifit from the extra channels, although really i dont have a clue what would be needed memory bandwith wise or if i would have a need for so many channels.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,335 (9.22/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
that's because in computer world everything are accelerate by pure brutal force. not efficiency.
That's exactly what JF is talking about. "Pure brutal force" counts, not what goes into creating that. So If Bulldozer's client SKU uses say dual-channel DDR3-1866 MHz as its memory standard (since 1866 MHz 1.5V bulk DIMMs are a reality), it's making up for memory bandwidth that triple-channel DDR3-1066 MHz (Core i7 official memory standard) has with its third channel. It's the same as 256-bit high-speed GDDR5 vs. 384-bit low-speed GDDR5 AMD vs. NVIDIA point.

And you're wrong, efficiency is God in the server world.
 

JF-AMD

AMD Rep (Server)
Joined
Dec 18, 2009
Messages
163 (0.06/day)
Likes
229
Because there are large companies that buy tens of thousands of servers and all they care about is the absolute lowest power possible so that they can have the largest number of threads with the lowest watts per thread. Think of very large cloud companies.

As a matter of fact, these customers routinely underclock their processors because the proportional drop in power is greater than the drop in performance, leading to better performance per watt.

Not every application requires performance. As a matter of fact, because only ~5% of the processors bought are top bin (ours and intel's), you can actually say that 95% of the customers want something other than raw performance (either price/performance or performance/watt.) It is pretty simplistic to think that performance is the only vector that matters. It's akin to asking a hybrid car owner what the 0-60mph time is or asking a sports car owner what the gas mileage is.

There are plenty of different usage models in the market and the "raw performance at all costs" is ~5% of the market. At best.
 

JF-AMD

AMD Rep (Server)
Joined
Dec 18, 2009
Messages
163 (0.06/day)
Likes
229
I think that some people, myself included just assumed that each channel is limited more by the ram than anything else thus assumed that the only way to get more performance is to add more channels.

I'm still interested in the idea of a quad memory channel bulldozer (preferably interlagos) for a home server partly as in a way i assume that with so many core's and with running a multiple virtual machines it would benifit from the extra channels, although really i dont have a clue what would be needed memory bandwith wise or if i would have a need for so many channels.
Actually, you find that 3 channels is in reality less efficient. I could get into the long math of it, but let me cut to the chase: Everything in the computer world is based on even numbers. 3 channels of memory is the odd man out and is not handled the same way. Plus you don't get to do some things on the server side like advanced ECC unless you have even numbers of channels.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
And you're wrong, efficiency is God in the server world.
AMD's process uses less current than Intel's, and this is a huge advantage for AMD(not like I haven't said that before). I think they have the efficiency thing down pat already...and hopefully Bulldozer brings that brute force. The two things together = 1 killer chip.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
1,534 (0.57/day)
Likes
200
Location
Britland
System Name Gaming temp// HTPC
Processor AMD A6 5400k // A4 5300
Motherboard ASRock FM2A75 PRO4// ASRock FM2A55M-DGS
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-D1284 // stock phenom II HSF
Memory 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance // 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance low profile
Storage 64gb sandisk pulse SSD and 500gb HDD // 500gb HDD
Display(s) acer 22" 1680x1050
Power Supply Seasonic G-450 // Corsair CXM 430W
Actually, you find that 3 channels is in reality less efficient. I could get into the long math of it, but let me cut to the chase: Everything in the computer world is based on even numbers. 3 channels of memory is the odd man out and is not handled the same way. Plus you don't get to do some things on the server side like advanced ECC unless you have even numbers of channels.
Really i'm expecting to have to choose between 2 or 4 channels for the server mainly depending on performace along with either 8 or 16 core's. But it is good to know that a triple channel baised server would not be a good idea for my wants/needs.
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2009
Messages
510 (0.17/day)
Likes
73
Location
UK South
System Name AMD FX
Processor AMD FX 8350 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus Sabretooth 990FX R2.0
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory 16GB Corsair Vegance 1866
Video Card(s) AMD HD7970 Gigabyte
Storage Sandisk Extreme SSD, 500gb SG Sata
Display(s) Samsung 2333sw
Case HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750w
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
People seem to be really caught up in how many channels of memory there are, and not necessarily how efficient those channels perform.

What if you had 2 channels that could perform the same as 3? Would you still demand 3 or would you be ok with 2?
i think JF knows something hes not telling us...lol blink twice if its dual channel
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
1,534 (0.57/day)
Likes
200
Location
Britland
System Name Gaming temp// HTPC
Processor AMD A6 5400k // A4 5300
Motherboard ASRock FM2A75 PRO4// ASRock FM2A55M-DGS
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-D1284 // stock phenom II HSF
Memory 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance // 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance low profile
Storage 64gb sandisk pulse SSD and 500gb HDD // 500gb HDD
Display(s) acer 22" 1680x1050
Power Supply Seasonic G-450 // Corsair CXM 430W
i think JF knows something hes not telling us...lol blink twice if its dual channel
I'm pretty sure he knows a lot that he can't tell us :p we are just lucky he is doing a good job at kind of telling us things without telling us cirtain things... if that makes any sence lol.
 

CDdude55

Crazy 4 TPU!!!
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
8,178 (2.15/day)
Likes
1,269
Location
Virginia
System Name CDdude's Rig!
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 620
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence @1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6970 2GB
Storage OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD/WD Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) ASUS VH232H 23" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM690 (w/ side window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard (It sounds fine)
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SP1
i think JF knows something hes not telling us...lol blink twice if its dual channel
lol, there's a lot he probably can't tell us, even if he's only the server guy.

I think if they can make it efficient and get near or more memory bandwidth while only using two channels, then im all fine with that. As said, i think of the server side of things efficiency is very important, but i think client wise, triple channel is more then enough even if it's not as efficient.
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2009
Messages
510 (0.17/day)
Likes
73
Location
UK South
System Name AMD FX
Processor AMD FX 8350 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus Sabretooth 990FX R2.0
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory 16GB Corsair Vegance 1866
Video Card(s) AMD HD7970 Gigabyte
Storage Sandisk Extreme SSD, 500gb SG Sata
Display(s) Samsung 2333sw
Case HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750w
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
yea ive complete faith in amd to deliver the goods thats why im saving now., its just JL as hinted at least 3 times or more that 2 channels could be less efficient. his blog is also Very interesting, memory noted there as well.
AMD hit man knocking my door soon.
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
3,455 (1.07/day)
Likes
708
System Name Money Hole
Processor Core i7 970
Motherboard Asus P6T6 WS Revolution
Cooling Noctua UH-D14
Memory 2133Mhz 12GB (3x4GB) Mushkin 998991
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X OC R9 290X
Storage Samsung 1TB 850 Evo
Display(s) 3x Acer KG240A 144hz
Case CM HAF 932
Audio Device(s) ADI (onboard)
Power Supply Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
People seem to be really caught up in how many channels of memory there are, and not necessarily how efficient those channels perform.

What if you had 2 channels that could perform the same as 3? Would you still demand 3 or would you be ok with 2?

It's the same thing with thermals on servers. Intel is at 32nm but their best 2P power score (@ 100% utilization) is 174W. Ours is 126W (on a 45nm process). I have people try to convince me that 32nm is an advantage because you have lower power consumption.

It's not about the technology, it's about the output.
You sir are crazy! Everyone knows that 3 channels pwns all and 4 is teh win! :rockout:

:laugh: j/k

I'm glad we could get some clarity on this straight from the horses mount (per say).
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
All I care about is how much overclocked performance it can achieve within the heat output my cooling setup is able to manage. I don't care how it's achieved, only that it is.

I just want to know how it performs and how it overclocks.

If it's better than Intel, my next rig is AMD. If not, I stick with Intel. That's that.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
1,534 (0.57/day)
Likes
200
Location
Britland
System Name Gaming temp// HTPC
Processor AMD A6 5400k // A4 5300
Motherboard ASRock FM2A75 PRO4// ASRock FM2A55M-DGS
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-D1284 // stock phenom II HSF
Memory 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance // 4GB 1600mhz corsair vengeance low profile
Storage 64gb sandisk pulse SSD and 500gb HDD // 500gb HDD
Display(s) acer 22" 1680x1050
Power Supply Seasonic G-450 // Corsair CXM 430W
All I care about is how much performance it can achieve within the heat output my cooling setup is able to manage. I don't care how it's achieved, only that it is.

I just want to know how it performs and how it overclocks.


If it's better than Intel, my next rig is AMD. If not, I stick with Intel. That's that.
I have to agree, i really want to go with some water cooling with my next cpu upgrade so i am really hoping that bulldozer will oc well under water.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
2,995 (0.64/day)
Likes
609
Location
Ancient Greece, Acropolis (Time Lord)
System Name My Red Dragon Gaming PC
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4.40GHz w/8-Cores - Bus 277 / 1.35v
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula ROG - Bios v1801
Cooling Corsair H100 Water Cooling (120mm x4 Push/Pull)
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3-2210 (8GBx2)
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE (ATI) DUAL-X R9 280X 3GB GDDR5 OC + Sapphire Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+ LE
Storage Corsair Force 3 SSD 180GB + WD 32MB buffer 1TB HD
Display(s) Asus 24" (VG245H) FHD 75Hz 1ms FreeSyn - Gaming Monitor
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 - My Custom Red Dragn MOD!
Audio Device(s) SteelSound 5Hv2 8CH HD + EAX® Advanced™ HD 5.0 -SupremeFX X-Fi 2
Power Supply Corsair 750W Gamers Power Supply
Mouse Razer DeathAdder PC Gaming Mouse - Ergonomic Left Hand Edition
Keyboard Logitech G15 Classic Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 x64 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores I have the worlds Fastest PC ever Built - 1980
Dual channel memory is more than enough and Intel proved it with socket 1366 and triple channel designs being an unnecessary expensive. Why do you think they went back to dual channel? Read the reviews it wasn't just for the expense. (By the way, read the reviews on the real world impact on RAM speed as well.) And how can current AM3 designs support a radical and completely new design never before tried by ANY CPU manufacturer? One that doesn't require a Northbridge chipset because it's built into the CPU itself? If current boards supported "Bulldozer" then it would just be a rehash of "Stars" and little faster than what AMD has now. Despite the die shrink to 32 nm which will certainly allow higher clocks and lower TDP's. It certainly wouldn't have a chance against Intel's current and future processors. Allowing current CPU's to work in the Bulldozer boards to come is far more generous than anybody should expect and far more than the Intel camp would ever allow. AMD, I strongly suspect, has a major new performance boost coming with Bulldozer and it's going to strike with even more impact because they will downplay it right up to the day it's released to the server market next April or so. Remember when AMD shocked everybody by how much faster the 4000 video series was to the 3000 series by keeping a low profile up until the day they went on sale? By next August, regular peeps like us will be able to purchase hardware from NewEgg probably no more expensive than current AMD hardware and all we'll need to upgrade our boxes will be a new board and CPU. Next year at this time TechPowerup, HardOCP, Anandtech and all the other hardware review sites will be gushing their enthusiasm for what AMD will have accomplished. Exciting times my friends when you think that you can just buy a new board that supports Bulldozer, use your current Phenom II and buy a Bulldozer CPU later when you have the cash. That's a pretty painless and inexpensive upgrade path compared to ChipZilla.. ;)
Is that a shared NB?
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
2,995 (0.64/day)
Likes
609
Location
Ancient Greece, Acropolis (Time Lord)
System Name My Red Dragon Gaming PC
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4.40GHz w/8-Cores - Bus 277 / 1.35v
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula ROG - Bios v1801
Cooling Corsair H100 Water Cooling (120mm x4 Push/Pull)
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3-2210 (8GBx2)
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE (ATI) DUAL-X R9 280X 3GB GDDR5 OC + Sapphire Radeon RX 580 8GB Nitro+ LE
Storage Corsair Force 3 SSD 180GB + WD 32MB buffer 1TB HD
Display(s) Asus 24" (VG245H) FHD 75Hz 1ms FreeSyn - Gaming Monitor
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 - My Custom Red Dragn MOD!
Audio Device(s) SteelSound 5Hv2 8CH HD + EAX® Advanced™ HD 5.0 -SupremeFX X-Fi 2
Power Supply Corsair 750W Gamers Power Supply
Mouse Razer DeathAdder PC Gaming Mouse - Ergonomic Left Hand Edition
Keyboard Logitech G15 Classic Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 x64 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores I have the worlds Fastest PC ever Built - 1980
The NB is still integrated into Bulldozer was what I was trying to point out. Just like the IMC.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,401 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,923
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
I think the real point there is that once again, AMD isn't exactly forthcoming with PRECISE information, ever. Or maybe it's those reporting...I am unsure since everyone in those circles is so "buddy-buddy" at this point.
I think thats the case with any major company. You never show all the goods. It can give you an edge or hide your flaw.