• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Extends Energy-Efficient Processing Leadership with World’s First 65W Processor

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
27,329 (6.07/day)
Likes
8,214
Location
Houston
System Name All the cores
Processor 2990WX
Motherboard Asrock X399M
Cooling XSPC RayStorm Neo, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+AMD VEGA FE (sometimes)
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#26
if you're talking voltage, CPUZ just might not be reading it right.

from the charts it seems AMD is still behind clock for clock... YES, its 3GHz < 200USD where intel costs a lot more for a quad there, compared to say... intels 9300 at its current 350-$400 pricing.
However, if you compare it to an overclocked intel (anything with a multi above 8.0) then intel is going to own it.
AMD has made the right choice with the low prices, i just hope these things OC somewhat decently (especially the unlocked multi ones)

Intels 65nm are faster clock vs clock, and the 45's only widen the lead... so MHz and price are what matters.
actually i was going on the fact that he only changed the multi and did NOTHING with the bus speeds wtf? thats the most common way of oc'ing and he completely left it out? :wtf:
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,685 (9.05/day)
Likes
14,320
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name OCD (Overclocking Compulsive Disorder)
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Aorus AX370-Gaming 5 (planned x570 upgrade when they come out)
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Evo NVME + 500GB Samsung 840 sata
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY)
Case Fractal Design R6 Gunmetal Grey (Type C TG)
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G703 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#27
actually i was going on the fact that he only changed the multi and did NOTHING with the bus speeds wtf? thats the most common way of oc'ing and he completely left it out? :wtf:
why is it needed on an unlocked chip? he found out the CPU's max speeds (well ok, he didnt try hard) without worrying about ram or mobo limitations. you've never used an unlocked chip before?
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
27,329 (6.07/day)
Likes
8,214
Location
Houston
System Name All the cores
Processor 2990WX
Motherboard Asrock X399M
Cooling XSPC RayStorm Neo, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+AMD VEGA FE (sometimes)
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#28
why is it needed on an unlocked chip? he found out the CPU's max speeds (well ok, he didnt try hard) without worrying about ram or mobo limitations. you've never used an unlocked chip before?
i have and first you push the multi then you push the bus speeds. thats how it works cause your going to run out of multis pretty quick. you need to push that before you can even attempt to say you have the chip maxed out. hence why the 5000BE WRs are not set @ 200*whatever but 258*17 wow he pushed both? why would you leave one method of oc'ing completely untouched :shadedshu


you always push bus speeds unlocked chip or not
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
7,662 (1.82/day)
Likes
536
Location
c:\programs\kitteh.exe
Processor C2Q6600 @ 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Anus PQ5
Cooling ACFPro
Memory GEiL2 x 1 GB PC2 6400
Video Card(s) MSi 4830 (RIP)
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320 GB Perpendicular Recording
Display(s) Dell 17'
Case El Cheepo
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software MCE2K5
#29

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,685 (9.05/day)
Likes
14,320
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name OCD (Overclocking Compulsive Disorder)
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Aorus AX370-Gaming 5 (planned x570 upgrade when they come out)
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Evo NVME + 500GB Samsung 840 sata
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY)
Case Fractal Design R6 Gunmetal Grey (Type C TG)
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G703 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#30
what if the guy had one day to do the review - i used to review so maybe its obvious to me. If you have multis and FSB, yes FSB will have higher performance... but you will find the max area of the CPU from multis alone.
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
27,329 (6.07/day)
Likes
8,214
Location
Houston
System Name All the cores
Processor 2990WX
Motherboard Asrock X399M
Cooling XSPC RayStorm Neo, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+AMD VEGA FE (sometimes)
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#31
what if the guy had one day to do the review - i used to review so maybe its obvious to me. If you have multis and FSB, yes FSB will have higher performance... but you will find the max area of the CPU from multis alone.
no no you wont thats why the bus speeds is adjustable hell you wont even get a ballpark estimate of a chips max from multis alone.
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2006
Messages
2,717 (0.62/day)
Likes
445
Location
Blighty
System Name Skylake / Sandybridge
Processor i7 6700k@4.8 / i5 2500k@4.6
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger / Asrock z68 Extreme4 g3
Cooling EK Supremacy MX, CoolGate 240,EK D5pwm Revo Res/ EK Supreme, swiftech 240 rad, D5 non vario
Memory 16gb G.Skill Trident Z 16gb cl16 / 16gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400@2133cl9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix 1070 / Powercolor R9 390 PCS+
Storage Samsung SM961 256gb,BX100 250gb ,kc400 512gb/ 120gb Corsair Force GT, HyperX Savage 240gb,
Display(s) Panasonic 50dx700 tv + Dell u2515 / Dell u2312
Case TTake Suppressor F51/F31
Power Supply EVGA 1000 P2 / EVGA 650 G2
Mouse G900 / G700s
Keyboard Roccat Suora FX Brown / Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Win 10 / Win 10
#32
Phenoms just dont overclock via fsb very well at all, all the pre release ones that hit 3ghz only did so via multiplier
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
27,329 (6.07/day)
Likes
8,214
Location
Houston
System Name All the cores
Processor 2990WX
Motherboard Asrock X399M
Cooling XSPC RayStorm Neo, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+AMD VEGA FE (sometimes)
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#33
Phenoms just dont overclock via fsb very well at all, all the pre release ones that hit 3ghz only did so via multiplier
they can still hit a 230 bus speed and 230*15 is way more than 200*15 :p
 

ryboto

New Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2005
Messages
289 (0.06/day)
Likes
4
Processor Opteron 170 [2.8ghz@1.4v|1.25ghz@1.025v]
Motherboard Abit AT8 32x
Cooling HR-03, TR Ultra-120, 3xScythe S-Flex
Memory 2gb Crucial Ballistix PC4000
Video Card(s) Ati Radeon X1950 pro
Storage 150 GB WD Raptor/500GB WD
Display(s) Acer AL2032WA 20'' Widescreen LCD
Case Lian Li PC-A05b
Audio Device(s) On board Audio/Plantronics USB Headset
Power Supply Enermax NoiseTaker EG495AX-VE 485W
Software Windows XP SP2 bblean shell/Ubuntu
#34
you would think that, but they dont in reality.

NO a q6600 is 95W (EDIT), but it uses less power than a similarly clocked phenom. Assuming that this phenom at 65W is just a clocked down version of the same thing... then this is really a pretty bad marketing scam.

Here you go... http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819117158

Intel Xeon L5320 Clovertown 1.86GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache LGA 771 50W Quad-Core Processor.

"AMD Extends Energy-Efficient Processing Leadership with World’s First 65W Processor" when intel has had a 50W Quad for some time (non-mobile).
How else should they market this? It's a low power quad core system for maybe a low power HTPC, or desktop. They can claim this all they want, because technically that Xeon isn't a desktop processor, and it isn't monolithic like the Phenom die, it's 2xC2D. I like the option to buy a cheap quad, and bump it up to speed, or, keep it at stock and undervolt it, probably get it down below 50W load at the stock 1.8ghz. It's not a "marketing scam" it's positive spin, and they're technically correct in their claims.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,536 (1.62/day)
Likes
1,964
Location
Austin Texas
System Name Gamesies i5
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.95Ghz HT OFF / 3.2Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 4040Mhz DDR4 18-19-18-36-360-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black w Magnetic Side Panel
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse $15 500Mhz polling silent click no brand mouse
Keyboard Penclic tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 1690 Multi, 223 Single, superpi 1M - 7.2s
#35
They can claim this all they want, because technically that Xeon isn't a desktop processor, and it isn't monolithic like the Phenom die, it's 2xC2D.

Firstly, 4 cores is 4 cores... you can count them 1,2,3,4! all there.. hence "quad core." No not a "monolithic" quad core, but the 'monolithic' ones are much slower and less effective performance/watt ATM, so personally i dont see the benefit of having a "true" quad core (show me one positive).

Be that as it may, claiming that you "Extend(ed) Energy-Efficient Processing Leadership with World’s First 65-Watt Quad-Core Desktop Processor" is misleading.

Same as Intel going "WE HAVE BROKEN PROCESSOR SPEED RECORD WITH THE FASTEST FREQUENCY PROCESSOR, THE 3.6GHz POOPIUM 4!!!" well, yes... but no.

Notice how Intel never said anything about performance/HZ and now AMD never said anything about performance/watt. That's why I thought tkpenalty's first post was dead on.

You can get one, im not knocking the product... its good to find new niches in the same market, thats awesome. But putting so much spin on the product, claiming that it took some sort of leadership, and that its somehow earth-shattering quad core is a bit of smoke and mirrors. Its just bad form because theyre trying to make more money through misdirection.

If you dont think so, then i can sell you "THE FASTEST BICYCLE IN THE WORLD, FASTER THAN ALL OTHER BICYCLES!!!" for $500.
 
Last edited:

ryboto

New Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2005
Messages
289 (0.06/day)
Likes
4
Processor Opteron 170 [2.8ghz@1.4v|1.25ghz@1.025v]
Motherboard Abit AT8 32x
Cooling HR-03, TR Ultra-120, 3xScythe S-Flex
Memory 2gb Crucial Ballistix PC4000
Video Card(s) Ati Radeon X1950 pro
Storage 150 GB WD Raptor/500GB WD
Display(s) Acer AL2032WA 20'' Widescreen LCD
Case Lian Li PC-A05b
Audio Device(s) On board Audio/Plantronics USB Headset
Power Supply Enermax NoiseTaker EG495AX-VE 485W
Software Windows XP SP2 bblean shell/Ubuntu
#36
Firstly, 4 cores is 4 cores... you can count them 1,2,3,4! all there.. hence "quad core." No not a "monolithic" quad core, but the 'monolithic' ones are much slower and less effective performance/watt ATM, so personally i dont see the benefit of having a "true" quad core (show me one positive).

You can get one, im not knocking the product... its good to find new niches in the same market, thats awesome. But putting so much spin on the product, claiming that it took some sort of leadership, and that its somehow earth-shattering quad core is a bit of smoke and mirrors. Its just bad form because theyre trying to make more money through misdirection.

If you dont think so, then i can sell you "THE FASTEST BICYCLE IN THE WORLD, FASTER THAN ALL OTHER BICYCLES!!!" for $500.
Monolithic doesn't have to mean slower, just because K10 isn't a huge leap doesn't mean 4 cores on 1 die is inherently slower. But, like I said, they're not going to NOT put positive spin on it. They'll use technicalities like that. You and I and the rest of the tech forum users know 4 cores makes a quad core, but AMD will use there monolithic design as a marketing advantage, and I'm sick of people getting upset when they do. Every company in the history of business will speak positively about their products. They'll say anything and everything that walks the line between truth and lies just to get sales. It's not misdirection, it's slightly misleading, because it isn't the first quad core processor to hit below 65W, but it is the first available for the desktop to be rated 65W. I'm not defending their spin, I'm accepting it and moving on. But people still dwell on it as if it never happens!
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,685 (9.05/day)
Likes
14,320
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name OCD (Overclocking Compulsive Disorder)
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Aorus AX370-Gaming 5 (planned x570 upgrade when they come out)
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Evo NVME + 500GB Samsung 840 sata
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY)
Case Fractal Design R6 Gunmetal Grey (Type C TG)
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G703 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#37
"AMD turns up the heat on intel with words first 200W quad core CPU!"

Due to its monolithic* design, this CPU has centuries of development behind it!




*CPU was carved by hand from centuries old monolith.
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
27,329 (6.07/day)
Likes
8,214
Location
Houston
System Name All the cores
Processor 2990WX
Motherboard Asrock X399M
Cooling XSPC RayStorm Neo, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+AMD VEGA FE (sometimes)
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#38
oh and for all of you wondering if this will oc well its a B2
 
Top