• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

AMD Working on a Real GPU Dynamic Overclocking Technology

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,543 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,907
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#26
I understand there's folks like you who like the whole GPU-boost side of things (and obviously the majority of customers don't overclock), which is why I think a dual-BIOS solution would be ideal.

The idea that you don't need the extra performance is debatable, though... I'm getting about 25-30% more real world performance than stock 7970s due to my overclock. It makes a pretty significant difference in demanding scenarios.
I really question if that difference actually makes a true USEABLE difference, in anything other than benchmarks. 99.999% of titles are console ports, that do not need anything more than a 7950, hardware-wise. Unfortunately, current hardware is poorly optimized.

If they lock stuff up, it creates an easier development platform, which to me, means higher-quality software. Consoles draw so much power from so little for good reason...years and years and years of software development. PC hardware...gets 12 months before it's mostly considered "obsolete", and 4 before all support is dropped entirely. 6-series AMD VGAs...get how much driver attention? 5-series? 4-series? Of waait..4-seires is already obsolete.:p

BTW, my 7970 doesn't clock worth a damn, and is locked from voltage adjustments. My 7950 gives me better performance. Why? OEM freedom in product development. You can't imagine a card that benefits from hardware mods on air, yet one sits in my machine right now, and many other machines across the globe. :p We already have two threads here full of complaints, just from this one model.:roll:
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
523 (0.25/day)
Likes
122
Processor Intel Core i7-5930k @ 4.6 GHz
Motherboard ASUS X99-A
Cooling Corsair H110
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR4-2666
Video Card(s) 2x Titan X @ 1450/8000
Storage WD Black 4TB + Agility 3 240GB + Seagate 600 240GB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos 4k LC-60UD27U
Case Corsair Obsidian 450D
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
#27
But does your card benefit from hardware mods simply because the software controls are locked? Because that's an issue with what model you bought more than anything else.

Anyways, I'm playing at 1440p, and my overclock (1195/1800) has so far been quite helpful from a practical perspective in:
Far Cry 3
The Witcher 2
Crysis
Sleeping Dogs
Metro 2033
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,543 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,907
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#28
Anyways, I'm playing at 1440p
That's part of the problem.


I bought a Dell 3007WFP in 2007. I learned all about high-res gaming in the near 6 years since. I chased decent performance, since then, at high res. I have 3x 1080p monitors, and 3x 1200p monitors for Eyefinity. I own dual 7950's, and a 7970.

Industry standard isn't even 1080p yet. Of course you see a benefit.. you're playing with tech that is technically, from the future.


Drop down to 1080p, and it is a far different story. Your story about performance, is from a limited perspective, because of your resolution, one that is very much in the minority. I've seen the same with Eyefinity, and 2560x1600, with my current Dell 3008WFP... which... because of poor performance, is collecting dust, unused.

With many apps, I get better performance in Eyefinity than I do @ 2560x1600. The same is reflected in many of W1zzard's benchmarks... that's a software problem.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369 (10.18/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#29
They should first fix the damn current 2D/3D clock swithching because it's all bugged and broken and not just keep on releasing countless versions of their broken power saving mechanism.
Did you think that possibly having dynamic clock states would fix the problem? Perhaps doing this IS the fix.

That being said I my 2D/3D clock states over the last few generations of AMD cards have not been broken.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,543 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,907
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#30
That being said I my 2D/3D clock states over the last few generations of AMD cards have not been broken.
They are, if you use multi-GPU. Secondary monitor flicker happens when clocks change only. It can also cause monitors to drop out of Eyefinity.

AMD uses higher clocks for 2D with multiple monitors, whether it's ebcuase the other hardware is the root cause or not, doesn't matter.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
523 (0.25/day)
Likes
122
Processor Intel Core i7-5930k @ 4.6 GHz
Motherboard ASUS X99-A
Cooling Corsair H110
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR4-2666
Video Card(s) 2x Titan X @ 1450/8000
Storage WD Black 4TB + Agility 3 240GB + Seagate 600 240GB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos 4k LC-60UD27U
Case Corsair Obsidian 450D
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
#31
Well, I had a single 7970 playing at 1920x1200 for about 4 months (Jan-April of last year) and saw a pretty noticeable difference at 1200/1700 compared to 925/1375 in games like Battlefield 3 and Crysis 2.

Now, I realize that I'm comparing my cards, which were factory overclocked (when I was on a single 7970 it was an XFX DD BE card), to stock frequency performance and not factory OC performance, so it's a little bit of a stacked deck, but I have seen practical benefit from overclocking my GPU.

I also realize that the 7970 is a bit unusual... 30% overclocks from stock are extremely uncommon on high end GPUs in general and the 7950/7970 just happen to be marvelous exceptions.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,543 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,907
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#32
Well, I had a single 7970 playing at 1920x1200 for about 4 months (Jan-April of last year) and saw a pretty noticeable difference at 1200/1700 compared to 925/1375 in games like Battlefield 3 and Crysis 2.

Current drivers make performance in these apps specifically very different. I play Ultra @ 1920x1200 on single 7950, @ 1000 MHz/1375 mem on BF3, nearly daily(over 600 hours logged). 60+ FPS all the time.

I do not think your overclocks are that odd..1200+ MHz is common for 7-series. 925 to 1200 is basically 30%.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369 (10.18/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#33
They are, if you use multi-GPU. Secondary monitor flicker happens when clocks change only. It can also cause monitors to drop out of Eyefinity.

AMD uses higher clocks for 2D with multiple monitors, whether it's ebcuase the other hardware is the root cause or not, doesn't matter.
...2D/3D clock states are not broken... On single monitors. Pardon me.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,543 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,907
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#34
...2D/3D clock states are not broken... On single monitors. Pardon me.
:laugh:


And i'd agree...as I sit here now running a single monitor.


:banghead:
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,398 (5.83/day)
Likes
8,921
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#35
They need to OC AMD's driver teams talent.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
#36
I have clock state problems with my HD 7950 in TF2 on a single 1080p 120Hz monitor. My core clock is always bouncing between 1150, 850, 500 and 300MHz because the game only loads the GPU from like 15-35%. It goes to 300 very often which makes my FPS halve from 120 to 60 and the game is super choppy until I look at the sky to get my 120 FPS back. Have to do the same ritual pretty much most of the time I respawn, and a 1v1 deathmatch training mod is pretty much unplayable because the GPU thinks there's not significant load. Game doesn't do that on my HD 3850 AGP, the Fermi GPUs I have used and even my 6950 didn't do it.

I will be installing RadeonPro soon to try and force the maximum power state for that game.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
523 (0.25/day)
Likes
122
Processor Intel Core i7-5930k @ 4.6 GHz
Motherboard ASUS X99-A
Cooling Corsair H110
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR4-2666
Video Card(s) 2x Titan X @ 1450/8000
Storage WD Black 4TB + Agility 3 240GB + Seagate 600 240GB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos 4k LC-60UD27U
Case Corsair Obsidian 450D
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
#37
Current drivers make performance in these apps specifically very different. I play Ultra @ 1920x1200 on single 7950, @ 1000 MHz/1375 mem on BF3, nearly daily(over 600 hours logged). 60+ FPS all the time.

I do not think your overclocks are that odd..1200+ MHz is common for 7-series. 925 to 1200 is basically 30%.
Yeah I figured current drivers had probably changed things a bit. Just wanted to point out that there can be practical benefit beyond benchmarking when you get a card that overclocks as well as the 79xx cards do.

And I know that 30% overclocks are common on the 7xxx cards, I just meant that historically it is rare for a high end card to be able to overclock like the 7-series does on average (10-15% overclocks are much more common).
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2011
Messages
1,724 (0.71/day)
Likes
203
Location
So. Cal.
#38
Hate to say it... but this might be the way of the world and AMD see's it can't keep going the same old direction.

I think AMD (and Nvidia) are finding how to achieve very precise binning of chips and then by appling more exacting dynamic profiles controls, that permit them to run at death defying limits without committing Hari-Kari. I think AMD this time around (like Nvidia did with Kepler) has added more feedback sensors in various areas on the chips. That allows them to really monitor on a granule appraisal of on die heat, voltage, memory and many other functions. With that they then can, based against the ASCI quality of the chip, will say use reference bios... while other right on up to the super-duper BIOS’s.

As someone said above Nvidia does seem to have the issue that two Keplers on the same AIB’s model will see some differences not so much in stock reference settings, but OC them and they can act completely unrelated even if they’re clocking the same. Sure it's like the old "luck of the draw" like always, but that's a reason OC"n will become something both Nvidia/AMD might look to curtail. I think they see by sorting chips to such a level they're no longer giving away OC"n, but can up-sell those chips with particular dynamic profile BIOS's to AIB's to use in their "naming convention series" like AMP, FTW, Signature, TOP, Extreme, Über. Confusing folks more, while shaking-down another $20-30 more.

I don’t want to be the Killjoy, but it looks to become you’ll buy at what level you feel comfortable pricewise, and plug it in and forget-a-bout-it.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
523 (0.25/day)
Likes
122
Processor Intel Core i7-5930k @ 4.6 GHz
Motherboard ASUS X99-A
Cooling Corsair H110
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR4-2666
Video Card(s) 2x Titan X @ 1450/8000
Storage WD Black 4TB + Agility 3 240GB + Seagate 600 240GB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos 4k LC-60UD27U
Case Corsair Obsidian 450D
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
#39
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
2,734 (0.73/day)
Likes
855
Location
Police/Nanny State of America
System Name More hardware than I use :|
Processor 4.7 8350 - 4.2 4560K - 4.4 4690K
Motherboard Sabertooth R2.0 - Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H-CF - AsRock Z97M KIller
Cooling Mugen 2 rev B push/pull - Hyper 212+ push/pull - Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB Gskill - 8GB Gskill - 16GB Ballistix 1.35v
Video Card(s) Xfire OCed 7950s - Powercolor 290x - Oced Zotac 980Ti AMP! (also have two 7870s)
Storage Crucial 250GB SSD, Kingston 3K 120GB, Sammy 1TB, various WDs, 13TB (actual capactity) NAS with WDs
Display(s) X-star 27" 1440 - Auria 27" 1440 - BenQ 24" 1080 - Acer 23" 1080
Case Lian Li open bench - Fractal Design ARC - Thermaltake Cube (still have HAF 932 and more ARCs)
Audio Device(s) Titanium HD - Onkyo HT-RC360 Receiver - BIC America custom 5.1 set up (and extra Klipsch sub)
Power Supply Corsair 850W V2 - EVGA 1000 G2 - Seasonic 500 and 600W units (dead 750W needs RMA lol)
Mouse Logitech G5 - Sentey Revolution Pro - Sentey Lumenata Pro - multiple wireless logitechs
Keyboard Logitech G11s - Thermaltake Challenger
Software I wish I could kill myself instead of using windows (OSX can suck it too).
#40
Well, that's the thing. We already have "overclocking" built in on nearly any part now, whether it be CPU or GPU. In a lot of ways, we are locked down.. Intel only allows wide adjustment on "K" SKUs, for example(AMD as well with certain platforms), and because of this, they are so confident on their product's resilience, they offer a cheap warranty(~$25 USD) so that when you do shove volts down a chip, you're covered.

The idea that we aren't already locked down, except if we pay enough, is FACT today. You buy unlocked chips from AMD and Intel, and the rest are locked up tight. NVidia GPU designs are restricted at the hardware-level, offering only minor adjustments, even so restricted that NVidia board partners have had to remove such functionality(eVBot) from products already released. AMD GPUs are limited by software.

By locking things up, they can ensure far greater quality in the parts sold, and when it comes to CPUs, boards already limit hardware physically with VRM designs and restrictions in BIOS.

My ASUS HD 7970..locked up tight, hence the mods. Look through the forum pages, you'll see many users complaining about it...especially since it advertises right on the box that these software adjustments would be there...but they aren't.

Now, they want to take advantage of those restrictions. This IS a good thing. And it's almost 100% completely deployed already. This isn't an idea...it's what's coming.
Notice that intel and nvidia are not in my system specs... :cool:

They're not controlling quality, they're just controlling product returns and attempting to force people to buy more expensive hardware (we all know there's virtually no difference in the CPUs, I don't think they're even specially binned minus OEM).

I understand that there needs to be some limitation to keep the noobs from instantly frying stuff and I'm okay with that. They think they're clever b/c completely locking it will have you coughing up a lot of extra money and pretty much zero chance of RMA if the mods are extensive at all (like you can't full reverse them). I haven't fried anything, but unrelated failures have happened, and I've volt modded cards to fix their crap (also, screw XFX).

I predict that you won't be paying 50 or 100 extra for a speed bump. It's going to be double those numbers, afterall, what are you going to do? Overclock it? 99% of people won't.
We're going to end up paying more for less, which, is normal for the crooks.
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2009
Messages
3,257 (1.11/day)
Likes
315
System Name Mercury KM-81
Processor Phenom II x4 B50
Motherboard ASUS M4A89GTD PRO
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX3
Memory 6GB Ram (4GBx1 Corsair 2GBx1 Nanya)
Video Card(s) PowerColor AX6770 V2.0
Storage 2TB WD Black, 1TB Hitachi, 500 GB WD Blue
Display(s) Philips 247E-LPH 24" 1920x1080
Case Mercury
Audio Device(s) Integrated Realtek
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Maybe it is time to benchmark :D
#41
It might be true, but only for those games who take benefit from it and it might need at least one generation after this one, to become spread around a lot of games
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2010
Messages
868 (0.30/day)
Likes
160
Location
Toronto, ON. Canada
System Name Gamers PC
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE @ 3.80 GHz
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70 AM3
Cooling Corsair H50 Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 5770 1GB GDDR5
Storage 2 x WD Caviar Green 1TB SATA300 w/64MB Buffer (RAID 0)
Display(s) Samsung 2494SW 1080p 24" WS LCD HD
Case CM HAF 932 Full Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-FI TITANIUM -PCIE x 1
Power Supply Corsair TX Series CMPSU-650TX (650W)
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#42
waste of time and resources. they should try instead to better the performance.
They need to do this plus get better performance. Combine the 2 and you have raw speed and power.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
4,355 (1.91/day)
Likes
1,074
Processor Intel Core i7 3770k @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LK
Memory 16GB(2x8) DDR3@2133MHz 1.5v Patriot
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X 8G
Storage 59.63GB Samsung SSD 830 + 465.76 GB Samsung SSD 840 EVO + 2TB Hitachi + 300GB Velociraptor HDD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 3440x1440@100Hz G-Sync
Case NZXT PHANTOM410-BK
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium PCIe
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Mouse Anker
Software Win 10 Pro - 64bit
Benchmark Scores 30FPS in NFS:Rivals
#43
...2D/3D clock states are not broken... On single monitors. Pardon me.
On single monitors. Or on single cards. On Crossfire, not so sure... :wtf::shadedshu
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
523 (0.25/day)
Likes
122
Processor Intel Core i7-5930k @ 4.6 GHz
Motherboard ASUS X99-A
Cooling Corsair H110
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR4-2666
Video Card(s) 2x Titan X @ 1450/8000
Storage WD Black 4TB + Agility 3 240GB + Seagate 600 240GB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos 4k LC-60UD27U
Case Corsair Obsidian 450D
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
#44
On single monitors. Or on single cards. On Crossfire, not so sure... :wtf::shadedshu
Clocks have always been fine for me in crossfire as long as ULPS is disabled (ULPS has always caused a crazy amount of show-stopping problems for me)