• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Working on "Dynamic Frame Rate Control" Feature

Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
7,400 (2.04/day)
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name Newer Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) RTX 2080ti MSI Duke @2Ghz ish
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) LG 32" 165Hz 1440p GSYNC
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
But if you play Quake 3 on a 295x2 at 800x600 the power savings will be "mind blowing".
#seewhatididthere
I see indeed :toast:

Q3?

DX9, crossfire is broken, :laugh:

See what I did there :p

And if you're playing Q3 at 600p, Dr Who wants his Tardis back. :D
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
16,176 (3.57/day)
Location
UK\US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) eVga GTX1060 SSC \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-A820 \ Yamaha CX-830+Yamaha MX-630 Infinity RS4000 Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
As someone with multiple cards (3) I think this is a fantastic feature to have.

I always try to play with vsync on and if you look at the power consumption with it on vs off on many titles there is a substantial difference. If this allows clock rate adjustment to achieve the synced rate it should be even better - if it even went so far as to put "extra" cards into zero-core (power them off) when running a title that doesn't need them to get xx(x)fps that would be excellent too.

Another possible side-benefit would be if the changed clock speed also reduced/eliminated the dreaded coil whine that many cards unfortunately suffer, especially with water blocks on them.

A big thumbs up from me if this does what's claimed, the sooner we get it the better, maybe with Omega release 2? (I can dream).
Massive difference, some were around 100-180w for me, even if they could save 100w still talking about 80w which is basically my system running idle.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2006
Messages
885 (0.18/day)
Location
Ireland
System Name Cubed
Processor R7 1800X
Motherboard ASRock X370 Gaming Pro
Cooling Custom 3 radiator loop for CPU and GPUs, D5 pump
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) Team 4000MHz @ 3200MHz
Video Card(s) 2 x Vega 64 with single slot full cover blocks
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 512GB NVMe
Display(s) BenQ BL3200
Case Corsair Carbide 540
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Corsair HX1200i
Mouse Roccat Leadr
Keyboard K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores #1 worldwide on 3D Mark 99 or 2000 or one of those, at one point back in the day. :)
Right, but a (or many) coil(s) are(is) whining because it is (they're are) not fully secured. Just because more load makes a coil whine more because of one reason or another is beside the point. It whines for one reason and one reason only, because a coil is allowed to move and it vibrates. If coils don't vibrate, there is no coil whine.
True - but if they are sealed in a little box it's often not possible to fix externally (certainly if you want to keep the warranty) so given that, if other things like changing the clock speed can help, it's better than nothing until the makers get their fingers out and fix it properly. :)
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2008
Messages
1,617 (0.40/day)
System Name Lailalo / Edelweiss
Processor Ryzen 1700 @ 3.8Ghz / i7 3610QM @2.3-3.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus X370 Prime/ Lenovo Y580
Cooling Noctua / Big hunk of copper
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Ripjaws with Samsung chips / 8GB Hyundai DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) XFX R9 390 / GTX 660M 2GB
Storage Crucial 1TB MX500 SSD, Segate 3TB, 64GB Synapse SSD as Pagefile drive / Western Digital 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) LG Ultrawide 29in @ 2560x1080 / Lenovo 15.6 @ 1920x1080
Case Coolermaster Storm Sniper / Lenovo Y580
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG / Whatever Lenovo used
Power Supply Antec Truepower Blue 750W + Thermaltake 5.25in 250W / Big Power Brick
Mouse G602
Keyboard G510s
Software Windows 10 Pro / Windows 10 Home
So its literally just an ultra dynamic over/underclocker. Does the same thing Boost modes do, just is constantly doing it instead of being boosted the moment the game starts.

Yeah, this is going to be a buggy mess. Plus likely will be some latency as it decides if and when to clock up. Try again AMD.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2006
Messages
885 (0.18/day)
Location
Ireland
System Name Cubed
Processor R7 1800X
Motherboard ASRock X370 Gaming Pro
Cooling Custom 3 radiator loop for CPU and GPUs, D5 pump
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) Team 4000MHz @ 3200MHz
Video Card(s) 2 x Vega 64 with single slot full cover blocks
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 512GB NVMe
Display(s) BenQ BL3200
Case Corsair Carbide 540
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Corsair HX1200i
Mouse Roccat Leadr
Keyboard K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores #1 worldwide on 3D Mark 99 or 2000 or one of those, at one point back in the day. :)
So its literally just an ultra dynamic over/underclocker. Does the same thing Boost modes do, just is constantly doing it instead of being boosted the moment the game starts.

Yeah, this is going to be a buggy mess. Plus likely will be some latency as it decides if and when to clock up. Try again AMD.
It's more that it tries to keep the set frame rate (e.g. 60fps) and only does as much as is needed for that, rather than with boost where it clocks up when there is more work to be done or the temperature is under control to put out as many fps as possible. So it's not the same thing.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
10,728 (2.11/day)
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K (Stock speeds right now)
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Vega 64 (Non Reference)
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / QNAP TS-253 8GB NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440) *FREE_SYNC*
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB & G610 Orion Red
Software Win 10 upgraded from Win 7 Pro
Too bad that AMD can't put that kind of effort into multi-monitor power usages at idle. :(
Or just idle consumption in general! That was my hope looking at the headline :(
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,222 (0.34/day)
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Acer Nitro 5
Processor AMD FX-9590 || R5 2500U @ 35W
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX R 2.0 || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull + frankenstein loop H80i modded onto 290|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB DDR4 @ 2400MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1175MHz / 1625MHz || RX 560X
Display(s) Samsung U28E590 4K & S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P IPS @ 100Hz Freesync enabled
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 135Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
Judging by some of these comments you'd almost think people would prefer AMD to just do nothing instead of trying to improve their products.

Weird world we're living in...
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
10,728 (2.11/day)
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K (Stock speeds right now)
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Vega 64 (Non Reference)
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / QNAP TS-253 8GB NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440) *FREE_SYNC*
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB & G610 Orion Red
Software Win 10 upgraded from Win 7 Pro
Judging by some of these comments you'd almost think people would prefer AMD to just do nothing instead of trying to improve their products.

Weird world we're living in...
A lot of skepticism in general. The question is if they can execute and what the trade-offs are going to be.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2014
Messages
3,835 (1.89/day)
Location
Texas
System Name SnowFire / The Reinforcer / Portable?
Processor i7 8700K 5.0ghz (24/7) / 2x Intel Xeon E52650v2 / Intel i7 7700HQ
Motherboard Asus Z370 Prime-A / Dell Dual Socket (R720) / HP Omen Stock
Cooling RX 360mm + 140mm Custom Loop in Push Pull Config. / Dell Stock / HP Stock
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB 16gb DDR4 3000 CL 16 / 1600mhz DDR3 128gb 16 x 8gb / 12gb DDR4 3 x 4gb
Video Card(s) GTX Titan XP (2025mhz) / Asus GTX 950 (No Power Connector) / RX 580
Storage Samsung 512gb SSD RAID 0 and 2tb HDD x4 RAID 5 / 300gb x8 RAID 5 / NVME 240gb SSD and 1tb HDD
Display(s) Acer XG270HU 1440p 144hz Freesync, Acer B286HK 4K UHD Monitor / 1080p 60hz Freesync display
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D / Dell Poweredge R720 Rack Mount Case / HP Omen 17
Audio Device(s) Realtec ALC1150 (On board)
Power Supply Rosewill Lightning 1300Watt
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Logitech G19S
Software Windows 10 Pro / Windows Server 2008 R2 / Windows 10 Home
This feature may not be something entirely new in the world of graphics, but it is nice to have it (eventually) at a driver level as part of the software packaged with the cards because that means it will work better/get better with time instead of relying on third party vendors to do it. Radeon Pro had a similar feature which I use that helps with games that have a horrible built in V-Sync (BF4 is a prime example of this for me) that cause extreme lag while its enabled which this should help alleviate. I can't wait to see what it brings!
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,436 (1.33/day)
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
I want a faster card that is more efficient and cooler. I don't want to underclock yesterdays technology to make it "green on paper" but actually slower.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,222 (0.34/day)
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Acer Nitro 5
Processor AMD FX-9590 || R5 2500U @ 35W
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX R 2.0 || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull + frankenstein loop H80i modded onto 290|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB DDR4 @ 2400MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1175MHz / 1625MHz || RX 560X
Display(s) Samsung U28E590 4K & S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P IPS @ 100Hz Freesync enabled
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 135Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
I want a faster card that is more efficient and cooler. I don't want to underclock yesterdays technology to make it "green on paper" but actually slower.
The problem often lies, as with this comment, in the oversimplification and wrongly assumption of things.

First of all (if this tech gets implemented): Noone ever said, nor is it likely, that this tech will cause the card to become less efficient and cool compared to without this tech. There is also no reason it would be slower; It will only have a (optional) feature which allows the card to be more efficient at certain loads, while keeping the (perceived) user experience the same.

It also does not mean that when implemented to a specific card that this card will all of a sudden go from "current day technology" to "yesterdays technology". As a matter of fact, judging by how AMD's current lineup works, I recon this will only work on the R9 290(x), 285 and R7 260X, because other "current day technology" cards do not posses their new powertune capabilities.

Lastly, if this tech actually works, it won't be only "green on paper" but will actually (in the right usercase) save you measurable and significant amounts of power (and heat) in the real world.


Seriously, can we stop with the bullshit posts here? First of all: AMD didn't do a press release, its just some quote by someone picked up by someone. Also, as Nvidia already showed on their mobile line-up, this tech can actually work. There really is no downside to AMD including this option in some future driver for (some of) their cards if implemented correctly.

A lot of skepticism in general. The question is if they can execute and what the trade-offs are going to be.
Aye I understand people being sceptical. I'm also sceptical, especially when it comes to implementation across their full line-up. However I just don't think it should become normal for people to just spew unfounded nonsense that goes against the generally good spirited constructive atmosphere that used to set our forum apart from most other forums.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,875 (6.17/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
So its literally just an ultra dynamic over/underclocker. Does the same thing Boost modes do, just is constantly doing it instead of being boosted the moment the game starts.

Yeah, this is going to be a buggy mess. Plus likely will be some latency as it decides if and when to clock up. Try again AMD.
Trying to constantly ramp up/down clock rates per frame is just like how some cards already suffer from them entering 2d clocks suddenly in a game or cards constantly jumping back n forth in browsers
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
7,400 (2.04/day)
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name Newer Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) RTX 2080ti MSI Duke @2Ghz ish
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) LG 32" 165Hz 1440p GSYNC
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
...unfounded nonsense that goes against the generally good spirited constructive atmosphere that used to set our forum apart from most other forums.
The spirit is still here, you just have to look through muddy waters.

The problem here is that it's a driver based frame limiter and while a welcome step, we still want to see greater hardware efficiencies from AMD next round. FTR my last AMD cards were watercooled 7970's and rocked, mostly.
The issue of where the info came from is of great relevance. It was the AMD PR guy on a public forum.
It doesn't matter that it wasn't a corporate and dated memo. This is how the web works, PR guys don't do things by schedules and release dates - they leak snippets, normally without much technical detail and with much bravado about how good it is. AMD have done a lot of this recently and it's getting boring.

This is a tech forum and we want to hear about tech, we want tasters and physical realities to grasp. 'Stacked memory?' - awesome, tell us more and how it will work with bandwidth and gaming. What about increases in processing capacities and things we can look forward to?

I'm kinda annoyed that Maxwell isn't as good as I first thought it was. Yes, it's power efficient (clock for clock versus Kepler it's nuts) but clock for clock it's slower than Kepler. So Nvidia have a lot to do next round, though their next round might just be big Maxwell (and they're probably siting on it until AMD show up). I don't want to hear PR bullshit from either camp, whether it's a formal statement from the CEO or forum grooming by some underling.

It's unsurprising people are being negative. PR guys are paid to tell you what 'they' want you to hear, not what is 'fact' or not.
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2012
Messages
169 (0.06/day)
Location
Canada
System Name custom
Processor intel i5 8600k 3.60 GHz
Motherboard asrock taichi z370
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S
Memory 2X4G Kingston HyperX Fury 2666mhz
Video Card(s) GTX 690 EVGA
Storage SSD OCZ 240GO REVODRIVE3 X2 + 2 Crucial 500go SSD
Display(s) BENQ XL2420T
Case Corsair 900D
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply corsair ax1200i
Software windows 10
steam game already doing this long time ago (tf2,cs,dota..)

u can lock fps via the ingame console..

dont know if driver job or game job.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
10,728 (2.11/day)
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K (Stock speeds right now)
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Vega 64 (Non Reference)
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / QNAP TS-253 8GB NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440) *FREE_SYNC*
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB & G610 Orion Red
Software Win 10 upgraded from Win 7 Pro
Aye I understand people being sceptical. I'm also sceptical, especially when it comes to implementation across their full line-up. However I just don't think it should become normal for people to just spew unfounded nonsense that goes against the generally good spirited constructive atmosphere that used to set our forum apart from most other forums.
We just have to beat those bad spirited folks to the point they become good spirited :p
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2006
Messages
885 (0.18/day)
Location
Ireland
System Name Cubed
Processor R7 1800X
Motherboard ASRock X370 Gaming Pro
Cooling Custom 3 radiator loop for CPU and GPUs, D5 pump
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) Team 4000MHz @ 3200MHz
Video Card(s) 2 x Vega 64 with single slot full cover blocks
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 512GB NVMe
Display(s) BenQ BL3200
Case Corsair Carbide 540
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Corsair HX1200i
Mouse Roccat Leadr
Keyboard K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores #1 worldwide on 3D Mark 99 or 2000 or one of those, at one point back in the day. :)
Beatings will continue until morale improves! ;)
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2013
Messages
911 (0.42/day)
System Name BlueKnight
Processor Intel Celeron G1610 @ 2.60GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H61M-S2PH (rev. 1.0)
Memory 1x 4GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz (Kingston KVR13N9S8/4)
Video Card(s) Onboard
Storage 1x 160GB (Western Digital WD1600AAJS-75M0A0)
Display(s) 1x 20" 1600x900 (PHILIPS 200VW9FBJ/78)
Case μATX Case (Generic)
Power Supply 300W (Generic)
Software Debian GNU/Linux 8.7 (jessie)
Dynamic Frame Rate Control, or DFRC, is a frame-rate limiter, which gives you power savings when you reduce frame-rates.
I do not believe AMD users are concerned about power saving. But any attempt of AMD to minimize this undesirable effect can help many NVIDIA users buying their cards.

At the moment, I didn't change my mind. :shadedshu:
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
10,728 (2.11/day)
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K (Stock speeds right now)
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Vega 64 (Non Reference)
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / QNAP TS-253 8GB NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440) *FREE_SYNC*
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB & G610 Orion Red
Software Win 10 upgraded from Win 7 Pro
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.44/day)
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
I want a faster card that is more efficient and cooler. I don't want to underclock yesterdays technology to make it "green on paper" but actually slower.
If I understand it well, it's meant to maintain a certain FPS target and would adjust speed accordingly. Let's say that you're playing Age of Empires III. I can play it comfortably enough on my Athlon 5350 (I get some hiccups when I move fast around the map but that's it) so I'd think that a 280X on 2D clocks could handle it at 1080p@60fps easily so, if you have DFRC on and a 60Hz monitor, the driver would look at the GPU load and keep the 2D clocks active instead of ramp up the clocks. If you're playing BF4 at Ultra I'd guess DFRC wouldn't do much if anything. Only way for AMD to fuck this is to not make it optional and have it being always active (doubtful since that would hurt them in benchmarks).

I think this will be more useful to us guys with 60Hz screens.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 19, 2011
Messages
2,106 (0.67/day)
Location
So. Cal.
In all probability you will have the ability to use it or not, if you don't like it don't use it

It stinks if companies have employees posting snippets like this, to me it seems to lack control of the message. Social media while thought to be a place to generate "Buzz", in these cases it just end's up mudding the supposed message as it come across (even from a PR guy) as rouge. AMD needs to back-off these Social media snippets. If they want to cover something just say tomorrow... and then provide a decent overview... if it's not ready just yet then STFU until you can provide something useful.

As an overall technology 3D gaming isn't about just Fps and B-M's, but to provide responsive tactical agility while feelinf a fully "immersive" experience for the resolution you aim to use, if they provide you that while improving the energy used... it's all good.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2013
Messages
911 (0.42/day)
System Name BlueKnight
Processor Intel Celeron G1610 @ 2.60GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H61M-S2PH (rev. 1.0)
Memory 1x 4GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz (Kingston KVR13N9S8/4)
Video Card(s) Onboard
Storage 1x 160GB (Western Digital WD1600AAJS-75M0A0)
Display(s) 1x 20" 1600x900 (PHILIPS 200VW9FBJ/78)
Case μATX Case (Generic)
Power Supply 300W (Generic)
Software Debian GNU/Linux 8.7 (jessie)
I do not believe AMD users are concerned about power saving.
Wrong
Considering they are... I guess they are more worried with their pockets (at the moment of purchase), otherwise it is not logical.

And I hope they're not running their cards 24/7 or for long periods /day (8+ hours)... Otherwise it is not justifiable, unless AMD is bringing them twice the performance /WATT, otherwise the difference in their electricity bill added to the amount they paid for the AMD card exceeds the NVIDIA card costs for the same performance (i.e. they ended up paying more for the same performance).
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 3, 2005
Messages
435 (0.08/day)
The article is about more precisely reducing GPU clocks to the speed necessary to drive the specified FPS. Why should my 280x run at 1.2ghz when 600mhz would be sufficient to achieve 60fps on my application with vsync enabled?

-It has nothing to do with capping 144hz displays at 60hz
-It has nothing to do with reducing performance
-It has nothing to do with most of the comments in this thread.
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2011
Messages
98 (0.03/day)
Location
Christchurch, New Zealand
Unless this power saving feature is adaptive sync with an upper limit then how does DFRC not produce more jitter?
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
3,696 (0.83/day)
Location
Police/Nanny State of America
System Name More hardware than I use :|
Processor 4.7 8350 - 4.2 4560K - 4.4 4690K
Motherboard Sabertooth R2.0 - Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H-CF - AsRock Z97M KIller
Cooling Mugen 2 rev B push/pull - Hyper 212+ push/pull - Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB Gskill - 8GB Gskill - 16GB Ballistix 1.35v
Video Card(s) Xfire OCed 7950s - Powercolor 290x - Oced Zotac 980Ti AMP! (also have two 7870s)
Storage Crucial 250GB SSD, Kingston 3K 120GB, Sammy 1TB, various WDs, 13TB (actual capactity) NAS with WDs
Display(s) X-star 27" 1440 - Auria 27" 1440 - BenQ 24" 1080 - Acer 23" 1080
Case Lian Li open bench - Fractal Design ARC - Thermaltake Cube (still have HAF 932 and more ARCs)
Audio Device(s) Titanium HD - Onkyo HT-RC360 Receiver - BIC America custom 5.1 set up (and extra Klipsch sub)
Power Supply Corsair 850W V2 - EVGA 1000 G2 - Seasonic 500 and 600W units (dead 750W needs RMA lol)
Mouse Logitech G5 - Sentey Revolution Pro - Sentey Lumenata Pro - multiple wireless logitechs
Keyboard Logitech G11s - Thermaltake Challenger
Software I wish I could kill myself instead of using windows (OSX can suck it too).
RadeonPro has had this feature forever, but i've never tested it out.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,222 (0.34/day)
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Acer Nitro 5
Processor AMD FX-9590 || R5 2500U @ 35W
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX R 2.0 || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull + frankenstein loop H80i modded onto 290|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB DDR4 @ 2400MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1175MHz / 1625MHz || RX 560X
Display(s) Samsung U28E590 4K & S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P IPS @ 100Hz Freesync enabled
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 135Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
RadeonPro has had this feature forever, but i've never tested it out.
I've never seen anything in RadeonPro that can dynamically clock your card depending on what FPS it is generating, are you sure you read the article correctly?
 
Top