• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Working on "Dynamic Frame Rate Control" Feature

Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
3,714 (0.83/day)
Location
Police/Nanny State of America
System Name More hardware than I use :|
Processor 4.7 8350 - 4.2 4560K - 4.4 4690K
Motherboard Sabertooth R2.0 - Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H-CF - AsRock Z97M KIller
Cooling Mugen 2 rev B push/pull - Hyper 212+ push/pull - Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB Gskill - 8GB Gskill - 16GB Ballistix 1.35v
Video Card(s) Xfire OCed 7950s - Powercolor 290x - Oced Zotac 980Ti AMP! (also have two 7870s)
Storage Crucial 250GB SSD, Kingston 3K 120GB, Sammy 1TB, various WDs, 13TB (actual capactity) NAS with WDs
Display(s) X-star 27" 1440 - Auria 27" 1440 - BenQ 24" 1080 - Acer 23" 1080
Case Lian Li open bench - Fractal Design ARC - Thermaltake Cube (still have HAF 932 and more ARCs)
Audio Device(s) Titanium HD - Onkyo HT-RC360 Receiver - BIC America custom 5.1 set up (and extra Klipsch sub)
Power Supply Corsair 850W V2 - EVGA 1000 G2 - Seasonic 500 and 600W units (dead 750W needs RMA lol)
Mouse Logitech G5 - Sentey Revolution Pro - Sentey Lumenata Pro - multiple wireless logitechs
Keyboard Logitech G11s - Thermaltake Challenger
Software I wish I could kill myself instead of using windows (OSX can suck it too).
I've never seen anything in RadeonPro that can dynamically clock your card depending on what FPS it is generating, are you sure you read the article correctly?
I read it and don't care. I meant dynamic framerate. The drivers already lower the clock/V when playing a less intense game. The exception would be pixel art games or something where it can stay in 2D mode.

Vsync off is unplayable. Idk who can even use this new feature without their brain hemhoragging. Either have vsync on or off. This seems like a redundancy that I don't want.

It would be cool to play with to observe framerate fluidity at diffferent rates that should work on every game unlike the apps we use.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 19, 2011
Messages
2,121 (0.67/day)
Location
So. Cal.
Considering they are... I guess they are more worried with their pockets (at the moment of purchase), otherwise it is not logical.

And I hope they're not running their cards 24/7 or for long periods /day (8+ hours)... Otherwise it is not justifiable, unless AMD is bringing them twice the performance /WATT, otherwise the difference in their electricity bill added to the amount they paid for the AMD card exceeds the NVIDIA card costs for the same performance (i.e. they ended up paying more for the same performance).
It hasn't been as straight-forward as you contend... until 970/980 came onto the scene. When looking at the average power used the 290/780 weren't astronomically different, W1zzard had 780 besting the 290 by 3% at 2560x perf/w.

As you point out nobody games 24/7; if you game like 5hr's every day that's 20% a month. Do folks turn off their computer nowadays, no they "sleep" them. That remaining 80% of time AMD and Zerocore kicks' in dropping the card to like 2W vs. the 780 that's maintaining 6-7W. I like saving power but if enjoying gaming, I'm less concerned when playing than I am when the machine sitting there doing nothing suckling like a vampire, which is something Nvidia still does.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 7, 2011
Messages
2,785 (0.92/day)
Location
New Zealand
System Name MoneySink
Processor 2600K @ 4.8
Motherboard P8Z77-V
Cooling AC NexXxos XT45 360, RayStorm, D5T+XSPC tank, Tygon R-3603, Bitspower
Memory 16GB Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1600C8
Video Card(s) GTX 780 SLI (EVGA SC ACX + Giga GHz Ed.)
Storage Kingston HyperX SSD (128) OS, WD RE4 (1TB), RE2 (1TB), Cav. Black (2 x 500GB), Red (4TB)
Display(s) Achieva Shimian QH270-IPSMS (2560x1440) S-IPS
Case NZXT Switch 810
Audio Device(s) onboard Realtek yawn edition
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050
Software Win8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores 3.5 litres of Pale Ale in 18 minutes.
It stinks if companies have employees posting snippets like this, to me it seems to lack control of the message. Social media while thought to be a place to generate "Buzz", in these cases it just end's up mudding the supposed message as it come across (even from a PR guy) as rouge. AMD needs to back-off these Social media snippets. If they want to cover something just say tomorrow... and then provide a decent overview... if it's not ready just yet then STFU until you can provide something useful.
Unfortunately, guerrilla marketing has proven effective in the past and is often the only way for a company to fight for mindshare when it has no new product to spearhead PR.
Nvidia selectively talked up Fermi at every opportunity when/wherever it could as a stopgap between GT200 and the eventual GF100 arrival. AMD's John Fruehe did likewise with the Bulldozer architecture for years during its slow gestation, and so effective was the message and strongarming forum moderaters to delete dissent, the 990X/FX boards that arrived in advance of Bulldozer sold very well in large part due to Fruehe's overselling (and outright lying) of the CPU architectures capabilities. Social media placement, guerrilla marketing, and company sanctioned "leaks" allow the company to claim plausible deniability post-factum while claiming PR credit with little actual company risk ( see the three pages- and counting- of this thread, and the mega hype generated by (what turned out to be) a mid range card launching in India).
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 9, 2013
Messages
911 (0.41/day)
System Name BlueKnight
Processor Intel Celeron G1610 @ 2.60GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H61M-S2PH (rev. 1.0)
Memory 1x 4GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz (Kingston KVR13N9S8/4)
Video Card(s) Onboard
Storage 1x 160GB (Western Digital WD1600AAJS-75M0A0)
Display(s) 1x 20" 1600x900 (PHILIPS 200VW9FBJ/78)
Case μATX Case (Generic)
Power Supply 300W (Generic)
Software Debian GNU/Linux 8.7 (jessie)
As you point out nobody games 24/7; if you game like 5hr's every day that's 20% a month. Do folks turn off their computer nowadays, no they "sleep" them.
They could let it "folding" while sleeping. :)

And I used to play 12-16* hours a day around 2008-2010.

*Values are approximate.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2013
Messages
97 (0.04/day)
Processor Intel i7 4960x Ivy-Bridge E @ 4.6 Ghz @ 1.42V
Motherboard x79 AsRock Extreme 11.0
Cooling EK Supremacy Copper Waterblock
Memory 65.5 GBs Corsair Platinum Kit @ 666.7Mhz
Video Card(s) PCIe 3.0 x16 -- Asus GTX Titan Maxwell
Storage Samsung 840 500GBs + OCZ Vertex 4 500GBs 2x 1TB Samsung 850
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZXR
Power Supply Corsair 1000W
Mouse Razer Naga
Keyboard Corsair K95
Software Zbrush, 3Dmax, Maya, Softimage, Vue, Sony Vegas Pro, Acid, Soundforge, Adobe Aftereffects, Photoshop
So its literally just an ultra dynamic over/underclocker. Does the same thing Boost modes do, just is constantly doing it instead of being boosted the moment the game starts.

Yeah, this is going to be a buggy mess. Plus likely will be some latency as it decides if and when to clock up. Try again AMD.

Last time I used Dynamic Frame Rate Control, it didn't overclock or underclock core frequencies. Personally, I think a lot of repliers on this threads have misunderstood and generalize the context of what AMD_Peter was trying to say. Simply, without the b.s., he is just stating that DFRC is going to be a new feature in the AMD CCC and Drivers. That's wonderful. I look forward to it. I honestly don't believe this has anything to do with regulating power consumptions or a counter to G-Sync as others have expressed.

Now do you truly understand what it does, NC37. It's very simple. DFRC basically (unless its been changed recently) act as a Frame Rate Lock. You pick a frame rate to lock, and whatever game you are playing, it stays at that frame rate. So say as an example, you wanted to play Planetside 2 at 100 FPS on the highest settings. Ok. So you go into RadeonPro, input 100 into the DFRC box, and click apply. What happens after that is this. You're going to see your FPS at 100 FPS. It's constant. The variants is + / - .5 fps roughly. No matter where you go, or what you do, or how many other players are in the area plus the particle effects, it's still showing an output of 100 FPS. So what's the caught. The caught is the inverse reciprocal of Framerates is Frame Time ((frames per second)^-1 = seconds per frame); QED--Ryan Shrout please take note of this because you suck at math) skyrocket from ms to seconds per frame. Frame times increase to meet the frame rates. So you're going to sit there watching your computer take more time to produce the 100 frames--plus the cpu dealing with shadows and particle effects, and you're toon could be dead in the process because you weren't able to react so fast in a 90 versus 90 plus NC-VS shet-feast of epic proportions. While your computer is trying to produce that 100 fps, you're going to be rocket-primaried to the face by an aimbotter on the NC side, and you weren't quick enough to react, even though, the output on the OST says 100 FPS.

Does it work? Yes. It works almost flawlessly, and the transition is smooth between frames. It's almost like having G-Sync without the G-Sync because you get 100% framerate uptime. So say you're only using a 60 hz display. So most likely, you're going to get 60 frames out of the 100, take a 40 frame loss, and have smooth, fluid animation without any form of screen-tearing or runt-frames at a cost of $0.00.

Now with some of the other members who have mentioned that this could be used to reduce power consumption, I can see this being true only under certain situations were you want to limit your FPS below your refresh rate throughout the game. Instead of going with 45 - 60 FPS at 98% of the game, and having those moments where it's 2% at 28FPS, this is a 6 hour play secession, you could just go with 100% 30 FPS, and you'd consume less power in the process.

I believe the goal of DFRC was really to find other ways of fixing the issue that AMD 7990 had when it was still king: Eliminate runt frames and provide a smooth, fluidic gameplay at no cost to the consumer or the manufacturers. That's good for the consumers, but that's not good for business.

Believe me. I know what I am talking about. I use to play around with DFRC on my AMD Graphic Card Rig. I don't because that rig has become my music and 3D content workstation.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,884 (1.90/day)
Processor Ryzen 3900x
Motherboard Asrock X570m PRO4
Cooling Scythe Mugen 5 Rev B with push pull fans
Memory Corsair 4x8gb 3533mhz Cas 16
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage Adata SX8200 1tb
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Fractal Design Something
Power Supply XFX 850w
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Input lag is a problem with vsync, and any frame limiter afaik. So it is not that free.
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2009
Messages
1,564 (0.39/day)
what kind of broken phone is this, where are people getting the insane idea that the card is going to do some weird power management!?

the google translated 3dcenter article doesnt say it, chris didnt say it, only TPU & some users are saying it
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
5,322 (1.77/day)
Processor Intel Core i7 3770k @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LK
Memory 16GB(2x8) DDR3@2133MHz 1.5v Patriot
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X 8G
Storage 59.63GB Samsung SSD 830 + 465.76 GB Samsung SSD 840 EVO + 2TB Hitachi + 300GB Velociraptor HDD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 3440x1440@100Hz G-Sync
Case NZXT PHANTOM410-BK
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium PCIe
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Mouse Anker
Software Win 10 Pro - 64bit
Benchmark Scores 30FPS in NFS:Rivals
Joined
Jan 17, 2006
Messages
887 (0.17/day)
Location
Ireland
System Name Cubed
Processor R7 1800X
Motherboard ASRock X370 Gaming Pro
Cooling Custom 3 radiator loop for CPU and GPUs, D5 pump
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) Team 4000MHz @ 3200MHz
Video Card(s) 2 x Vega 64 with single slot full cover blocks
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 512GB NVMe
Display(s) BenQ BL3200
Case Corsair Carbide 540
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Corsair HX1200i
Mouse Roccat Leadr
Keyboard K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores #1 worldwide on 3D Mark 99 or 2000 or one of those, at one point back in the day. :)
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
5,485 (1.91/day)
Location
Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor 2600K @ 4.4GHz / Dual Xeon 5675's @ 3.33GHz 12c/24t
Motherboard Sabertooth Z77 / GA-7TESM
Cooling Deepcool Assassin - 3 Fans / Custom
Memory 2x8GB 2133MHz Samsung Dual Channel / 6x4GB 1333MHz Samsung Hexa Channel
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 980 SC / Asus Strix 980ti
Storage Various SSD/HD
Display(s) Samsung 23' 2048x1152 / Various Dells
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver / Matrexx 55
Audio Device(s) SB X-fi on all systems
Power Supply Corsair TX 650w / Evga NEX 750B
Mouse Alienware AW558 @ 5000 DPI
Keyboard Asus KB34211
Software XP64/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores http://valid.x86.fr/79kuh6
With MSI afterburners RTSS you can set frame rate limit which in turn is a power saving feature.

Not dynamic, but it's something.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2013
Messages
911 (0.41/day)
System Name BlueKnight
Processor Intel Celeron G1610 @ 2.60GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H61M-S2PH (rev. 1.0)
Memory 1x 4GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz (Kingston KVR13N9S8/4)
Video Card(s) Onboard
Storage 1x 160GB (Western Digital WD1600AAJS-75M0A0)
Display(s) 1x 20" 1600x900 (PHILIPS 200VW9FBJ/78)
Case μATX Case (Generic)
Power Supply 300W (Generic)
Software Debian GNU/Linux 8.7 (jessie)
you can set frame rate limit which in turn is a power saving feature.
That's a "new" option I noticed in many overclocking utilities such as "Zotac FireStorm", "EVGA Precision", etc...

And in my opinion it was late... A very useful option I always needed! :)

There's just one problem, the frame rate min. they allow is too high. I had to hack the application for it to set lower frame rate limits. And it worked, so it is possible.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2012
Messages
1,110 (0.40/day)
System Name desktop
Processor i7-4770k
Motherboard Asus z87-plus
Cooling Corsair h80
Memory 32gb G.Skill Ares @ 2400mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 SC (ACX 3.0)
Storage 2x Samsung 1tb 850evo SSD, 3x WD drives, 2 seagate
Display(s) Acer Predator XB271HU 27inch IPS G-Sync 165hz
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster x-FI Platium, Turtle beach Elite pro 2 + superamp.
Power Supply OCZ Z Series 850W
Mouse Razer Deathadder Elite
Keyboard Logitch G710+
That's a "new" option I noticed in many overclocking utilities such as "Zotac FireStorm", "EVGA Precision", etc...
Um, i used it for years and years its not a "new" option.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2013
Messages
911 (0.41/day)
System Name BlueKnight
Processor Intel Celeron G1610 @ 2.60GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H61M-S2PH (rev. 1.0)
Memory 1x 4GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz (Kingston KVR13N9S8/4)
Video Card(s) Onboard
Storage 1x 160GB (Western Digital WD1600AAJS-75M0A0)
Display(s) 1x 20" 1600x900 (PHILIPS 200VW9FBJ/78)
Case μATX Case (Generic)
Power Supply 300W (Generic)
Software Debian GNU/Linux 8.7 (jessie)
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
2,934 (1.02/day)
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name Windows 7 64-bit Core i5 3570K
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.2 GHz, 1.26 V
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77MX-D3H
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory 4 x 4 GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3 @ 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) Gainward NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 Phantom
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue 1 TB, Seagate Baracuda 1 TB
Display(s) Dell P2414H
Case CoolerMaster Silencio 550
Audio Device(s) VIA HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX v2 650W
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Pro, Cherry MX Reds
Software MS Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit SP1
It all sounds exactly like a variant of existing clock control algorithm both red/green teams use ... target can be power usage, temperature and now the frame rate ... wait till someone has an idea to set fan noise as a target variable and calls it (Someone Is Asleep On The Couch Mode TM)
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,489 (8.56/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ Corsair H55 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G903 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
Browser crash ate half my post. The initial quote outright states its an FPS cap - if you want 30FPS on your laptop, 60FPS on your desktop or 144FPS on your leet gaming machine, you should be able to pick what you want and deal with teh appropriate power/heat/noise without needing Vsync.

I already do this with afterburner/rivatuner, capped my FPS to 70.


Many games that might run 40-60FPS in game will spike to 100-500FPS in various menus or loading screens causing capacitor whine, fans to ramp up and other annoyances... and this was a simple program running in the background to fix it.

Also solves problems with screen tearing and the various games that have broken Vsync (dead space comes to mind, and skyrims micro stutter both fixed by doing this)

See Frame rate limit in the middle right




Oh and with my wall meter i've observed power savings of upto 150W on my system by doing this in games that didnt work well with Vsync, which meant my fans stayed at silent levels instead of load levels.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 16, 2013
Messages
1,357 (0.59/day)
Location
Canada
System Name HTPC
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 - 3.00/6M/1333
Motherboard AsRock G31M-GS R2.0
Cooling CoolerMaster Vortex 752 - Black
Memory 4 Go (2x2) Kingston ValueRam DDR2-800
Video Card(s) Asus EN8600GT/HTDP/512M
Storage WD 3200AAKS
Display(s) 32" Irico E320GV-FHD
Case Aerocool Qx-2000
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax NoiseTaker 2 - 465w
Mouse Logitech Wave MK550 combo (M510)
Keyboard Logitech Wave MK550 combo (K350)
Software Win_7_Pro-French
Benchmark Scores Windows index : 6.5 / 6.5 / 5.6 / 6.3 / 5.9
I'm
Mantle does all what AMD said it would. Game developers not using it is another issue altogether.
As for DFRC, sounds interesting. I've yet to upgrade from a 60Hz monitor so this could be big for me. I'm already seeing :love:50W figures while gaming but if this can slash 10% or so it would be a welcomed improvement. I guess it'll launch along the Hawaii refresh?
I'm not into extensive understanding of design but is it me or these game designers are not into newer stuff? It's cost effective to keep technology already proved and paid since long time. Could it be also just the fact that they prefer Intel stuff over AMD newer development? As stated I'm not expert but I could just imagine what gaming and all graphic applications could be now if gaming companies used more AMD graphic technology fitted with AMD GPU. In my souvenir AMD have been long time in advance in graphic technology over Intel and Intel it was more CPU stuff. If companies had pushed more AMD stuff I can tell that GPU could be small like USB key and still deliver astonishing quality and power in full HD.
 
Top