1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Antec Earthwatts 500W & HD2900pro... yes or no?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by twicksisted, Apr 2, 2010.

  1. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,439 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    353
    Hey Guys...

    Im upgrading my brother in laws pc with some old parts that I have left over...
    Basically i want to know if this Antec Earthwatts 500Watt PSU will be enough to run the HD2900 pro card... I know these things are power hungry beasts.

    System:

    P31 mobo
    E7300 c2D overclocked to 3.6ghz
    2GB DDR2 800mhz
    250gb SATA HDD
    DVD r/w
    3X 12cm fans

    Ive read that some of these were seasonic built but that others are now built by delta... either way you think itll work or will the HD2900 & overclock push it too hard?

    PS: they will be here in 20mins so hopefully i can get a few answers before that :)
     
  2. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,604 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    London, UK
    yep it should power it with ease and overclocking should be fine, a dual 9800gt system uses 500 watts peak so ures should be fine with a single card. just make sure the case is well ventilated and has good cooling to keep temps down
     
    angelkiller and twicksisted say thanks.
  3. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,439 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    353
    im more worried about the 12rail amps on the psu, along with the overclock and the 2900pro
     
  4. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,561 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    583
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
  5. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,439 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    353
    UPDATE:

    its installed and runs perfectly... infact at first i was worried that the antec psu was faulty as its 8cm fan wasnt spinning even after about 30secs of prime95... but eventually kicked in ;)

    In game it works flawlessly aswell... so its all good ;)

    the earthwatts 500watt and 2900pro were old parts i had lying around that i put into his rig for free... no money spent ;)
     
  6. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,604 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    London, UK
    see i told you ive had this pc on a 500 watt PSU no trouble :slap: :laugh:
     
  7. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,211 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,423
    I'm only using a corsair hx520 for mine,with a oc'd cpu and gpu.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. choppy

    choppy

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,173 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    UK
    ive got a 450vx powering a hd4870 , all good under the hood :)
     
  9. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,967 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,638
    Location:
    Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
    You should have no problem, especially if it is a EA-500D. These units had dual 22A rails.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)