• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Anyone can upgrade to Windows 8 Pro for $14.99.

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,100 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,528
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
It's like Windows 7. You can use it in-activated for 3 days.
yeah but it activated to install, and now wants to activate again and wont, even with the key i paid for -.-


hoping its temporary
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,100 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,528
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
ok got it: by trying to install the key a dozen times over, i finally got an error message that makes sense.


windows didnt like that i did a clean install, even tho it accepted the key at the time. has to be upgraded from an existing OS.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,791 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,780
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
yeah but it activated to install, and now wants to activate again and wont, even with the key i paid for -.-

hoping its temporary
Not a good sign. I was wondering what would happen to my OEM Win7 license key after upgrading, does it become invalid? If you try upgrading on anything other than the original Win 7 machine, doe it fail like you describe?

My plan was to clone my Win7 HDD and do the upgrade to Win8 on the clone... just in case. But as I said, the concern is the old Win7 install will be checked as invalid.

Edit:

ok got it: by trying to install the key a dozen times over, i finally got an error message that makes sense.

windows didnt like that i did a clean install, even tho it accepted the key at the time. has to be upgraded from an existing OS.
That makes sense.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,100 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,528
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
as i posted just before you replied - its because i did a clean install and not an upgrade (Since i wanted to use a fresh OS)


i just have to upgrade over the top of this OS, and it should be good.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,791 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,780
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro

dedi

New Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2012
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
any one who would get a promo code for me? If think it still works, but never has for me, always getting to the validation page where I should enter a Win7 key.

I know I'm asking for much, but I would really appreciate it so much!
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,625 (2.38/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
any one who would get a promo code for me? If think it still works, but never has for me, always getting to the validation page where I should enter a Win7 key.

I know I'm asking for much, but I would really appreciate it so much!
Use internet explorer. I had the same problem but got through it when I tried with IE instead of chrome.
 

manofthem

WCG-TPU Team All-Star!
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
10,726 (4.24/day)
Likes
26,169
Location
Florida
System Name bBox | tOffice | mDonk
Processor i7 4770k @4.3 | i7 2600k @3.5 | i7 4790 @3.8
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 | MSI Z68 GD55 | MSI H97M G43
Cooling Water | Reeven Justice RC-1204 | can't remember
Memory G Skill TridentX 8GB 2400 | Patriot Viper 3 8GB 1600 | G Skill Ripjaws 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) 2x R9 290's | 980 SC ACX2.0 | n/a
Storage 850 Evo 250GB & 2TB Desktar 5K3000 | 830 256GB & 1.5TB & 3TB Barracudas| 830 256GB
Display(s) QNIX WX2710 (96Hz OC) & Shimian Achieva QH270-Lite | Acer 27HL | n/a
Case 900D | Fractal Define S | n/a
Audio Device(s) Siberia v2 | onboard | n/a
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 | XFX 550Pro | SeaSonic 660XP2
Mouse Razer Mamba 2012 | Corsair M95 | n/a
Keyboard Das Keyboard Pro 4 (blues) | Cougar Attack X3 (blues) | n/a
Software Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64
Great, I did a clean install too so looks like I'll be having this trouble too. :(
 

dedi

New Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2012
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
I'm still on evaluation copy ... so it's impossible to activate from the fresh copy or I misunderstood you? If so it sucks lol
I thought there is a registry hack to apply when doing a plain fresh install, which will allow you to activate it.
 

dedi

New Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2012
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Setup\OOBE]
"MediaBootInstall"=dword:00000000


try this.
Change it from 1 to 0
then reboot and activate

If this does not work alone, continue with

1. Open elevated command prompt (Right click -> Run As Administrator)
2. Type slmgr -rearm <enter>
3. Reboot

After that it should be activated.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,625 (2.38/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
I tried, both 32 and 64bit. From 2 different computers. Multiple times :(
Try firefox on ubuntu then. http://www.ubuntu.com/tour/en/#
I spent an hour trying different info in chrome. Then went to IE and it worked without a problem. I used the info october 2, newegg, other built myself
 

dedi

New Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2012
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Try firefox on ubuntu then. http://www.ubuntu.com/tour/en/#
I spent an hour trying different info in chrome. Then went to IE and it worked without a problem. I used the info october 2, newegg, other built myself
Same thing for me with chrome, firefox and IE.
Not quite Ubuntu, but I tried also Android, Chrome and FF. Still nothing works.

The only hope for me is now someone would be that nice to obtain a promo code for me :respect:
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.49/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
When I try to run certain executables I am getting "The extended attributes are inconsistent".
Thoughts?
 

manofthem

WCG-TPU Team All-Star!
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
10,726 (4.24/day)
Likes
26,169
Location
Florida
System Name bBox | tOffice | mDonk
Processor i7 4770k @4.3 | i7 2600k @3.5 | i7 4790 @3.8
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 | MSI Z68 GD55 | MSI H97M G43
Cooling Water | Reeven Justice RC-1204 | can't remember
Memory G Skill TridentX 8GB 2400 | Patriot Viper 3 8GB 1600 | G Skill Ripjaws 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) 2x R9 290's | 980 SC ACX2.0 | n/a
Storage 850 Evo 250GB & 2TB Desktar 5K3000 | 830 256GB & 1.5TB & 3TB Barracudas| 830 256GB
Display(s) QNIX WX2710 (96Hz OC) & Shimian Achieva QH270-Lite | Acer 27HL | n/a
Case 900D | Fractal Define S | n/a
Audio Device(s) Siberia v2 | onboard | n/a
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 | XFX 550Pro | SeaSonic 660XP2
Mouse Razer Mamba 2012 | Corsair M95 | n/a
Keyboard Das Keyboard Pro 4 (blues) | Cougar Attack X3 (blues) | n/a
Software Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64
Same thing for me with chrome, firefox and IE.
Not quite Ubuntu, but I tried also Android, Chrome and FF. Still nothing works.

The only hope for me is now someone would be that nice to obtain a promo code for me :respect:
I may be able to help, give me a bit.
 
Joined
May 14, 2012
Messages
883 (0.43/day)
Likes
75
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard AsRock X370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
Memory 16 GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX 3000 Mhz (Running at 2933)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte G1 GTX 1070
Storage 240 GB Kingston SSD, 7 TB's of HDD
Display(s) Dell 16:10 20" Monitor
Case Phanteks Enthos Pro M
Audio Device(s) Integrated
Power Supply Corsair 750 P2
Mouse Mionix Naos 8200
Keyboard G Skill Ripjaws RGB Mechanical Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro
You can get the Windows 8 Pro for $39.99 from Staples, Office Max, and Office Depot. I know Office Depot for sure but customers have to ask to price match it from Staples and Office Max since they are price matching it from Microsoft.
 

manofthem

WCG-TPU Team All-Star!
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
10,726 (4.24/day)
Likes
26,169
Location
Florida
System Name bBox | tOffice | mDonk
Processor i7 4770k @4.3 | i7 2600k @3.5 | i7 4790 @3.8
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 | MSI Z68 GD55 | MSI H97M G43
Cooling Water | Reeven Justice RC-1204 | can't remember
Memory G Skill TridentX 8GB 2400 | Patriot Viper 3 8GB 1600 | G Skill Ripjaws 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) 2x R9 290's | 980 SC ACX2.0 | n/a
Storage 850 Evo 250GB & 2TB Desktar 5K3000 | 830 256GB & 1.5TB & 3TB Barracudas| 830 256GB
Display(s) QNIX WX2710 (96Hz OC) & Shimian Achieva QH270-Lite | Acer 27HL | n/a
Case 900D | Fractal Define S | n/a
Audio Device(s) Siberia v2 | onboard | n/a
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 | XFX 550Pro | SeaSonic 660XP2
Mouse Razer Mamba 2012 | Corsair M95 | n/a
Keyboard Das Keyboard Pro 4 (blues) | Cougar Attack X3 (blues) | n/a
Software Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64

snowbound

New Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2012
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
I am a bit confused here is this offer giving keys that do not work on computers which already either have Windows8 Release Preview or on ones that you want to do a clean install onto?

Its a bit moot here anyways since it did not take my Windows7 key for proof of ownership.
 
Last edited:

dedi

New Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2012
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
You have a PM, try it out :toast:
Thank you very much! From here on it worked flawless

It's great to meet such nice people


I still don't know what makes the difference, I even tried going through TOR, but only with firefox (torbrowser) and firefox/chrome on android (orbot). Maybe VPN to an other country could work, but I dont have access to one.
 

Phusius

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
1,316 (0.63/day)
Likes
369
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard Asus Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 @ 1200/1475 @ 1175v
Display(s) Dell 23" 2ms
Case Carbide 500r
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
Can't believe some of these posts, sorry you all had so much trouble, I literally just typed a random date, and literally the words Carbide 500r and random what the brand and model.

I selected transfer Nothing, then deleted the windows.old folder with disk cleanup after all was done, you literally could not tell it was not a fresh install. /shrug

Windows activated perfectly with 0 hiccups.
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.49/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
No need to apologize, Phusius.
You posted a link to get Windows 8 for a great price.
There will always be issues as different people will do different things that may or may not work as planned.
This thread is a great place for people to figure out the details and ask for help to get everything working to their satisfaction.
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2010
Messages
307 (0.12/day)
Likes
70
Location
mississauga, on, Canada
Processor 6600k,i3-6300,g4500,4790k, i3-4330, , 2x g3258
Motherboard Maximus VIII gene, msi m5-mortar,G1.sniperM5, z97m-d3h, sabertooth fx990,
Cooling corsaair H110i-gt, h105 GPU cooling,, kraken x61,x41, noctua fans, heatsinks...
Memory Gskill F4-3600C16D-16GTZ ddr4, f4-2800c16d-16f, f3-2400c10d-16gtx ddr3 ...many more ddr3,ddr2,ddr...
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX980AMP!extreme x2, AMP!GTX680+accel extreme, gt640v2, gtx660, gt630
Storage samsung 512Gb 950pro M.2, evo 1TB, Corsair gt90, intel530 180G, neutron 128.+ hdd's in junkyard...
Display(s) acer XB270hu, acer XB280hk, asus VG 278H, nec ea231WMi,
Case TT core V21, fractal 304, 804,design S, Inwin cases (itx size)
Audio Device(s) obs,
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750 P2,ss380gb,corsair hx1000w, PSU's RIP seasonic x-760(DEAD),x-400(DEAD)
Mouse Microsoft wired, wireless gaming.
Keyboard steelcase gaming, apple keyboard
Software win10pro; win7x64, win8.1proX3, mythbuntu xenial x64
Same thing for me with chrome, firefox and IE.
Not quite Ubuntu, but I tried also Android, Chrome and FF. Still nothing works.

The only hope for me is now someone would be that nice to obtain a promo code for me :respect:
with all due respect....


you can't use ubuntu to get a windows upgrade key...
just use any other window browser...

BTW i used chrome in win7 to get the win8 "deal"... i planned on upgrading the win7, but then remembered that it is always wise to clean install...that is what i did.

And I Disconnected My Windows 7 drive.

everything went smoothly.. (only difference is that you must enter your win8 key in order to procede with the win8 install... but it did install cleanly and i did not have to activate)
of course, when i checked the win8 activation by using "slmgr /xpr" it responded with "this computer is permanently activated"... if that means that it is permanently tied to this computer... oh well,it is only 15 "wasted" dollars on a program.. :laugh: ok overstated a bit...

anyways, I'm going to let win8 "age" a bit... i think i prefer win7... but i do like win8's task manager.



TL;DR... use win7 to get the "deal"... must enter the win8 key before installing... clean install preferable IMO, and i prefer win7 at the moment.
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2010
Messages
307 (0.12/day)
Likes
70
Location
mississauga, on, Canada
Processor 6600k,i3-6300,g4500,4790k, i3-4330, , 2x g3258
Motherboard Maximus VIII gene, msi m5-mortar,G1.sniperM5, z97m-d3h, sabertooth fx990,
Cooling corsaair H110i-gt, h105 GPU cooling,, kraken x61,x41, noctua fans, heatsinks...
Memory Gskill F4-3600C16D-16GTZ ddr4, f4-2800c16d-16f, f3-2400c10d-16gtx ddr3 ...many more ddr3,ddr2,ddr...
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX980AMP!extreme x2, AMP!GTX680+accel extreme, gt640v2, gtx660, gt630
Storage samsung 512Gb 950pro M.2, evo 1TB, Corsair gt90, intel530 180G, neutron 128.+ hdd's in junkyard...
Display(s) acer XB270hu, acer XB280hk, asus VG 278H, nec ea231WMi,
Case TT core V21, fractal 304, 804,design S, Inwin cases (itx size)
Audio Device(s) obs,
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750 P2,ss380gb,corsair hx1000w, PSU's RIP seasonic x-760(DEAD),x-400(DEAD)
Mouse Microsoft wired, wireless gaming.
Keyboard steelcase gaming, apple keyboard
Software win10pro; win7x64, win8.1proX3, mythbuntu xenial x64
I am a bit confused here is this offer giving keys that do not work on computers which already either have Windows8 Release Preview or on ones that you want to do a clean install onto?

Its a bit moot here anyways since it did not take my Windows7 key for proof of ownership.
you get a key for win 8 pro. (and i works for me for a clean install)

i don't really know if you can upgrade the win8 preview with the key (microsoft "free" preview OS tend not to be upgradable..) you can try, nothing lost. if it does not work, reinstall win8, and you could do the files and settings thing, reinstall all the programs etc... "a clean install"