• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Anyone can upgrade to Windows 8 Pro for $14.99.

sugiik

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2012
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
thx for the info

just upgrade, and looks like i got trouble for the metro, and after i reinstall all works fine....

got question :
i download the win 8 , wich in : C:\esd (about 2,xx gb), how can i move it to my ekst hdd / flashdisk
to make a boot for clean install ?

can i use this for my other pc ?(is this installer 64 and 32 bit compatible ? )
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.37/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
From the desktop is easier. Mouse on the bottom right corner, settings then PC Info.
or Windows-X -> Control Panel -> System

Still haven't figure out why programs are giving me an error when I try to run them.
I was googling but didn't see anything concrete on it.
Run executable
Say yes to UAC crap
Get error "Extended attributes are inconsistent"
Program quits.
 

lamous

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2012
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
here's a question:

i want to install 64-bit windows 8 on my self-built pc. right now, i have vista 32-bit, as that was the only windows disc i had at the time. i take it that when i download win8 from microsoft, i'll get the 32-bit version. if i download the 64-bit version from somewhere else, can i use the key that i pay for from microsoft on the 64-bit version i downloaded from an alternate source?
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,947 (1.08/day)
Likes
1,386
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.37/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Thanks CrapDaddy. That worked.
This also fixed the problem that if I tried to run Command Prompt (Admin) it would give me a "no association" error.

Also found out that by dragging to bottom left and right clicking on start box gives you the same menu as Win-X (for people who can't remember shortcuts. :D )
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,494 (4.35/day)
Likes
5,698
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}
Memory Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage WD Black Edition 512GB SSD (Boot)|Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1xFractal Design HP-12|1x140mm Noctua P14S Redux|2x Corsair ML 140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
From the sounds of it... Its a good thing im not installing Win 8 just yet.
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.37/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Go for it, FE. Half the fun of a new OS is getting it to work right. lol

I added Shutdown and Restart shortcuts to both the desktop and Metro UI. Not sure why they didn't include that in the Win-X menu.
I know I can add it with the hashlnk tool, but the shortcuts are just as easy.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,494 (4.35/day)
Likes
5,698
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}
Memory Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage WD Black Edition 512GB SSD (Boot)|Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1xFractal Design HP-12|1x140mm Noctua P14S Redux|2x Corsair ML 140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
I will do eventually :toast:

this win 8 is destined to be installed on my HP DM1 which is already having some issues with the registry that even CC Cleaner or any well known registry repair software cant seem to fix.

Its working fine, but there are some software that keeps crashing for no reason after I tried to setup a ram disk. had it load some files and stuff on there. restarted my laptop and the ram disk never autoloaded and thats the end of that story. Ive managed to fix some of the issues but there are some still there that I cant fix cuz i dont quite understand why its happening.

I was gonna reinstall Win 7 Ultimate on it but Win 8 will do just fine, when It finally finishes all its torrents which isnt going to be anytime soon.
 

lamous

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2012
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
here's a question:

i want to install 64-bit windows 8 on my self-built pc. right now, i have vista 32-bit, as that was the only windows disc i had at the time. i take it that when i download win8 from microsoft, i'll get the 32-bit version. if i download the 64-bit version from somewhere else, can i use the key that i pay for from microsoft on the 64-bit version i downloaded from an alternate source?
this worked, by the way.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,947 (1.08/day)
Likes
1,386
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
Joined
Dec 24, 2010
Messages
307 (0.11/day)
Likes
70
Location
mississauga, on, Canada
Processor 6600k,i3-6300,g4500,4790k, i3-4330, , 2x g3258
Motherboard Maximus VIII gene, msi m5-mortar,G1.sniperM5, z97m-d3h, sabertooth fx990,
Cooling corsaair H110i-gt, h105 GPU cooling,, kraken x61,x41, noctua fans, heatsinks...
Memory Gskill F4-3600C16D-16GTZ ddr4, f4-2800c16d-16f, f3-2400c10d-16gtx ddr3 ...many more ddr3,ddr2,ddr...
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX980AMP!extreme x2, AMP!GTX680+accel extreme, gt640v2, gtx660, gt630
Storage samsung 512Gb 950pro M.2, evo 1TB, Corsair gt90, intel530 180G, neutron 128.+ hdd's in junkyard...
Display(s) acer XB270hu, acer XB280hk, asus VG 278H, nec ea231WMi,
Case TT core V21, fractal 304, 804,design S, Inwin cases (itx size)
Audio Device(s) obs,
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750 P2,ss380gb,corsair hx1000w, PSU's RIP seasonic x-760(DEAD),x-400(DEAD)
Mouse Microsoft wired, wireless gaming.
Keyboard steelcase gaming, apple keyboard
Software win10pro; win7x64, win8.1proX3, mythbuntu xenial x64
Because if one wants to use the $14.99 offer you have to enter your Windows7 key that is why,.
i purchased the win8 14.99 offer, and i did not have to enter the win7 key... (and i only had to enter the win8 key once, and it was activated automatically) probably because i did a clean install onto a spare HDD (ssd)
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,534 (6.19/day)
Likes
6,958
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender!
Processor I7 7700K @ STOCK
Motherboard AsRock Z270 Extreme 4 mATX
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz OC'd to 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080TI SC2
Storage 2x Kingston 256GB M.2 PCIe SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) LG 29Inch Ultra wide 2K
Case NZXT Vulcan
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Mouse Zowie EC1A
Keyboard Logitech G910 Gaming
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
WIth Start8 (4.99$) it makes it identical to windows 7 just if you want metro scroll over to the top right and click the start in the middle of the bar
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
12,951 (2.61/day)
Likes
6,296
Location
Europe\Slovenia
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling Cooler Master Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB (2000/11100)
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Fall Creators Update)
How do you get a CD key? From the looks of it, the program does it all by itself, but where do you get the ISO and key if you want to reinstall it later?
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
10,322 (2.28/day)
Likes
4,195
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K (Stock speeds right now)
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Vega 64 (Non Reference)
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / QNAP TS-253 8GB NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440)
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB & G610 Orion Red
Software Win 10 upgraded from Win 7 Pro
How do you get a CD key? From the looks of it, the program does it all by itself, but where do you get the ISO and key if you want to reinstall it later?
It gave me the key twice. I think the first time was before the download, and then it gave it to me again after. I know because I pasted into a txt file at the end, and saw I had already pasted it from earlier.

I downloaded to USB - it formats it and creates a bootable disc. Knowing the size, I wouldn't have comitted it to use all of a nice 8GB stick...
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
1,574 (0.47/day)
Likes
568
Location
Warwick
System Name PC-Chips
Processor Intel core I5 4690K
Motherboard Asrock z87 Extreme 3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G-Skill Ripjaws 2133mhz 4x4gig
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro+ 8gig
Storage Samsung 250gig 840 SSD / 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 27 inch Curved LED
Case NZXT phantom 410
Audio Device(s) Realtek digital out - Yamaha A-S501 - Wharfedale pacific evo 20 speakers - Wharfedale SW150 sub
Power Supply Cooler Master G650M
Mouse logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech delux 250
Software Windows 10 pro 64bit
It took a few trys but got it to work and downloading now.
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2010
Messages
307 (0.11/day)
Likes
70
Location
mississauga, on, Canada
Processor 6600k,i3-6300,g4500,4790k, i3-4330, , 2x g3258
Motherboard Maximus VIII gene, msi m5-mortar,G1.sniperM5, z97m-d3h, sabertooth fx990,
Cooling corsaair H110i-gt, h105 GPU cooling,, kraken x61,x41, noctua fans, heatsinks...
Memory Gskill F4-3600C16D-16GTZ ddr4, f4-2800c16d-16f, f3-2400c10d-16gtx ddr3 ...many more ddr3,ddr2,ddr...
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX980AMP!extreme x2, AMP!GTX680+accel extreme, gt640v2, gtx660, gt630
Storage samsung 512Gb 950pro M.2, evo 1TB, Corsair gt90, intel530 180G, neutron 128.+ hdd's in junkyard...
Display(s) acer XB270hu, acer XB280hk, asus VG 278H, nec ea231WMi,
Case TT core V21, fractal 304, 804,design S, Inwin cases (itx size)
Audio Device(s) obs,
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750 P2,ss380gb,corsair hx1000w, PSU's RIP seasonic x-760(DEAD),x-400(DEAD)
Mouse Microsoft wired, wireless gaming.
Keyboard steelcase gaming, apple keyboard
Software win10pro; win7x64, win8.1proX3, mythbuntu xenial x64
i saw this online and tried it earlier - but the key was missing.

after doing the slmgr re-arm and rebooting, the key has now appeared and i'll give it another shot.




clean install works, but only for about a day. then it asks for the key again and it wont accept the upgrade key (testing the regedit method people have mentioned, to see if that works)

try installing win7 (without a key) to the hdd, then erase the win7 install using the win8 disk, and continue... enter win8 key...

that is what I did.

well, i had a win7 tester install (just skipped the key entry page,) on the drive which i erased in the win8 installer, so maybe that is why i was not asked for the win7 key. I only entered the win8 key in the install and that is all.


try slmgr /xpr (that will tell you how long you have until you need to activate it.)

also google "slmrg.vbs" ... it will detail the options for slmgr...


just checked to win8 install I did yesterday. did not ask me for the win7 key.
but, I have the win8 in a separate SSD, and win7 on another SSD and i use the bios boot method (press f8 while in bios boot info screen) to get to the win8/win7 install. I dont use the windows "dual" boot screen.

TL;DR.. install win7 (skip key entry)(or any other qualifying OS)...after (the OS) win7 is installed, shut-down win7, then install win8 clean from the DVD (will need to enter the win8 key), by deleting the win7 install... that is what i did, and maybe that was why i was not asked for the win 7 key.


"slmgr /xpr" to check how long before you need to activate it.


BTW, yes this is way to complicated... but if an empty HDD/SSD, does not work for a clean install of win8... probably what you will need to do.
 
Last edited:

manofthem

WCG-TPU Team All-Star!
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
10,869 (4.08/day)
Likes
26,666
Location
Florida
System Name crunchBox | officeBox | mDonk
Processor Ryzen 1600X @3.7 | i7 4770k @4.3 | i7 4790 @3.8
Motherboard AsRock X370 Taichi | MSI Z87 G45 | MSI H97m G43
Cooling Water | Water | Reeven Justice RC1204
Memory 16GB G Skill Ripjaws V 2800 | G Skill TridentX 8GB 2400 | G Skill Ripjaws 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) GTX 980 SC ACX2.0 | R9 290 | onboard
Storage ADATA SX700 512GB | 850 Evo 250GB | 830 256GB
Display(s) LG 34UC88 & QNIX WX2710 | Shimian Achieva QH270-Lite | TV
Case Fractal Design S | Corsair 900D | IKEA cube
Audio Device(s) Siberia v2 | onboard | onboard
Power Supply SeaSonic 660XP2 | Corsair AX1200 | XFX 550Pro
Mouse Logitech G900 | Corsair M95 | Razer Mamba 2012
Keyboard Das Keyboard 4 Pro | Cougar Attack X3 | Das Keyboard X40
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Pro
I added Shutdown and Restart shortcuts to both the desktop and Metro UI. Not sure why they didn't include that in the Win-X menu.
I know I can add it with the hashlnk tool, but the shortcuts are just as easy.
How did you add those shortcuts?
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,576 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,184
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
Does the upgrade work for XP pro? anyone tried?
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.37/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
I looks like you can but will have to re-install all your apps.

If your PC is running Windows 7, your files, apps, and settings will easily transfer to Windows 8 Pro. If your PC is running Windows XP or Windows Vista, you will need to reinstall your apps. Some features such as touch may require a new PC. Check out our great lineup of new PCs, many of them are touch.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,947 (1.08/day)
Likes
1,386
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
Does the upgrade work for XP pro? anyone tried?
Don't know if this deal will work but the regular upgrade, the 40$ one works, tough as Kreij said you can keep only documents.
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.37/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
I think it will work (given the limitations) as the $39.99 one is the same except for the promo code to get it cheaper. It still uses the same updater.
I too, am interested to see if anyone did this.
 

manofthem

WCG-TPU Team All-Star!
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
10,869 (4.08/day)
Likes
26,666
Location
Florida
System Name crunchBox | officeBox | mDonk
Processor Ryzen 1600X @3.7 | i7 4770k @4.3 | i7 4790 @3.8
Motherboard AsRock X370 Taichi | MSI Z87 G45 | MSI H97m G43
Cooling Water | Water | Reeven Justice RC1204
Memory 16GB G Skill Ripjaws V 2800 | G Skill TridentX 8GB 2400 | G Skill Ripjaws 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) GTX 980 SC ACX2.0 | R9 290 | onboard
Storage ADATA SX700 512GB | 850 Evo 250GB | 830 256GB
Display(s) LG 34UC88 & QNIX WX2710 | Shimian Achieva QH270-Lite | TV
Case Fractal Design S | Corsair 900D | IKEA cube
Audio Device(s) Siberia v2 | onboard | onboard
Power Supply SeaSonic 660XP2 | Corsair AX1200 | XFX 550Pro
Mouse Logitech G900 | Corsair M95 | Razer Mamba 2012
Keyboard Das Keyboard 4 Pro | Cougar Attack X3 | Das Keyboard X40
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Pro
@manofthem : Here you go

I could have told you to goolge it, but I HATE WHEN PEOPLE DO THAT. Especially in my sections. lol
That is rather marvelous, thanks for rewarding my ineptitude lol. I was sort of expecting a "let me google that for you" link :laugh:

Got them pinned right where I want them, thanks.
 
Last edited:

Phusius

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
1,316 (0.59/day)
Likes
369
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard Asus Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 @ 1200/1475 @ 1175v
Display(s) Dell 23" 2ms
Case Carbide 500r
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
I feel like Microsoft owes me for promoting Windows 8 Pro and selling about 100-200 of their products. :)

lolol :love:

Newegg actually PM'ed me TPU forums here, asking me why I had an issue with them in one topic but thanking me for promoting their great deals I post sometimes like the 7950 for $269.99, etc. They sent me a XL Newegg t-shirt and amd 7950 4-1 game coupon that i missed out on with my 7950 :love: (should both be here around Wednesday)