• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Asus and MSI have started using Micron GDDR6 on 6600 XT

Joined
Nov 11, 2020
Messages
122 (0.28/day)
Location
Earth, Solar System
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Asus TUF Gaming B550M-Plus (Wi-Fi)
Cooling Thermalright AS120, Arctic P12, Arctic F12
Memory Crucial BL8G32C16U4W.M8FE1 ×2
Video Card(s) Asus ROG-STRIX-RX6600XT-O8G-GAMING
Storage Samsung MZVLB1T0HBLR-000L2, Seagate ST1000DM010-2EP102
Display(s) AOC I2490PXH5
Case Huntkey GS409
Audio Device(s) Somic G923
Power Supply EVGA 650 GD
Mouse Logitech G102
Keyboard Logitech K845 TTC Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro 1903, Dism++
Benchmark Scores CPU-Z 17.01.64: 3700X @ 4.6 GHz 1.3375 V scoring 557/6206; 760K @ 5 GHz 1.5 V scoring 292/964
Month ago I saw somebody bought a MSI 6600 XT but with Micron GDDR6 VRAM and I've been worrying since then.
Now I got my own Strix OC. AND it is Micron vram...
I'm disappointed. Micron GDDR6's capability is far behind Samsung's. It can't overclock as much, and it doesn't perform any better than it's not overclocked.
What's even worse though, is that simply switching it to fast timing (at default 2000 MHz) would cause the card to crash.
What garbage...

Btw, my 6600 XT doesn't work well with Euro Truck Simulator 2. I have to turn off Shadow Quality so that I can play the game. When shadow is low, mid, or high, it freezes and then game crashes. Anyone knows the solution?

2021.12 out of factory
 

Attachments

  • Radeon RX 6600 XT.gif
    Radeon RX 6600 XT.gif
    23.8 KB · Views: 28

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
33,481 (6.30/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
That game is nearly 10 years old, no wonder you have problems.

Report to game dev for a patch and do a report to amd for driver

I had to run WMP in background just to Play Motocross Madness 2 and Deus EX on a Radeon X1950 Pro 512MB AGP.
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2011
Messages
863 (0.23/day)
Location
Springfield, Vermont
System Name KHR-1
Processor Ryzen 5 5600X
Motherboard AsRock B550 PG Velocita
Memory 16 GB AData XPG Spectrix D41 @3200
Video Card(s) Zotac GeForce GTX 1660 Super (+200 core, +800 VRAM)
Storage Samsung 970 Pro 512 GB NVMe SSD
Display(s) Asus VG278QR
Case Corsair 275R
Audio Device(s) Technics SA-EX140 receiver with Polk VT60 speakers
Power Supply eVGA Supernova G3 750W
Mouse Logitech Pro (Hero)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 21H2
I was wondering if that's why my RX 5600 XT seemed to not OC much and randomly cause "Cache Hierarchy Error" WHEAs. (only when VRAM OC'ed) (Never got a WHEA error with "SCLK" being unstable.)
(albeit mine is a generation before the RX 6000 series, because they are unobtanium!)

But, that was before it got bricked.

And, AMD's Radeon team, apparently don't want to play ball as a competitor to the GeForce GTX 1650! Soo bummed! Looks like Nvidia's going to spank the Radeon team!

But, that was before it got bricked.
If I could still get that custom VBIOS on there, I could get the SCLK to 1.9 Ghz and possibly 2.0 at only 1137 mV! The core wasn't what sucked. What happened was that I flashed back, because I was getting WHEAs that turned out to just be the VRAM settings. But, I panicked and flashed the stock VBIOS and months later, couldn't redownload it after I realized that I probably somehow deleted the custom VBIOS from one of my USB sticks!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 11, 2020
Messages
122 (0.28/day)
Location
Earth, Solar System
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Asus TUF Gaming B550M-Plus (Wi-Fi)
Cooling Thermalright AS120, Arctic P12, Arctic F12
Memory Crucial BL8G32C16U4W.M8FE1 ×2
Video Card(s) Asus ROG-STRIX-RX6600XT-O8G-GAMING
Storage Samsung MZVLB1T0HBLR-000L2, Seagate ST1000DM010-2EP102
Display(s) AOC I2490PXH5
Case Huntkey GS409
Audio Device(s) Somic G923
Power Supply EVGA 650 GD
Mouse Logitech G102
Keyboard Logitech K845 TTC Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro 1903, Dism++
Benchmark Scores CPU-Z 17.01.64: 3700X @ 4.6 GHz 1.3375 V scoring 557/6206; 760K @ 5 GHz 1.5 V scoring 292/964
Update: I just got message from other gamers that they've got a Sapphire Pulse OC with Micron VRAM, a new patch.
Seems like there's a lack of Samsung VRAM???

@eidairaman1 Hey bro, I've got my eyes on a Sapphire Pulse OC that automatically overclocks to 2707 MHz by the Adrenaline driver. Is that good binning? I remember you telling me that Sapphire Pulse is different from those of Asus Dual.
I just hope I can finally get a nice overclocking card.
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
33,481 (6.30/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Update: I just got message from other games that they've got a Sapphire Pulse OC with Micron VRAM, a new patch.
Seems like there's a lack of Samsung VRAM???

@eidairaman1 Hey bro, I've got my eyes on a Sapphire Pulse OC that automatically overclocks to 2707 MHz by the Adrenaline driver. Is that good binning? I remember you telling me that Sapphire Pulse is different from those of Asus Dual.
I just hope I can finally get a nice overclocking card.
I would say the Pulses are better, however Sapphire's Best are Toxic/VaporX. So a Nitro might be a viable option besides pulse
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2020
Messages
122 (0.28/day)
Location
Earth, Solar System
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Asus TUF Gaming B550M-Plus (Wi-Fi)
Cooling Thermalright AS120, Arctic P12, Arctic F12
Memory Crucial BL8G32C16U4W.M8FE1 ×2
Video Card(s) Asus ROG-STRIX-RX6600XT-O8G-GAMING
Storage Samsung MZVLB1T0HBLR-000L2, Seagate ST1000DM010-2EP102
Display(s) AOC I2490PXH5
Case Huntkey GS409
Audio Device(s) Somic G923
Power Supply EVGA 650 GD
Mouse Logitech G102
Keyboard Logitech K845 TTC Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro 1903, Dism++
Benchmark Scores CPU-Z 17.01.64: 3700X @ 4.6 GHz 1.3375 V scoring 557/6206; 760K @ 5 GHz 1.5 V scoring 292/964
I would say the Pulses are better, however Sapphire's Best are Toxic/VaporX. So a Nitro might be a viable option besides pulse
Absolutely. I want to know whether driver oc to 2707 MHz means good binning. I don't have many samples so I want to hear your idea.
Could there be a situation that driver overclocks it to a very high frequency like 2750 MHz and yet the card crashes in real games or applications? Is that driver oc worth referring to?
If that's a probable guarantee for good binning, I would give it a try. Thanks.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
33,481 (6.30/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Absolutely. I want to know whether driver oc to 2707 MHz means good binning. I don't have many samples so I want to hear your idea.
Could there be a situation that driver overclocks it to a very high frequency like 2750 MHz and yet the card crashes in real games or applications? Is that driver oc worth referring to?
If that's a probable guarantee for good binning, I would give it a try. Thanks.
That really means nothing, overclocking is random, some require less volts, others require more.
 
Top