1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ASUS hardware monitoring concern

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by imperialreign, Sep 8, 2007.

  1. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    900
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    just curious, here - new ASUS P5W-DH Deluxe mobo . . .

    my question is concerning the hardware monitoring through the board. I'm getting really odd reported temps, and even more odd is that 3 different monitoring programs all report the same temps at idle:

    CPU 15C
    SYS 43C
    AUX -3C

    alright, 15C for the CPU . . . maybe; maybe my air cooling is possibly that efficient to keep a P4 524 at 15C at idle . . . but, -3C ambient?!!! No way, I can't fathom that being possible!

    The programs I'm using is ASUS' PC Probe II, Everest Ultimate edition and SpeedFan.


    Any thoughts on this?
     
  2. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,635 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    They are VERY incorrect.... You will not get 15c unless maybe you have an air conditioner inside your case, or your computer is outside in the winter.

    Sensors may be bad.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,627 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    TX, USA
    Have you updated your bios and got the Lastest released ? Also try ASUS Ai Suite
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    900
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    couldn't find AI Suite anywhere on ASUS' site . . .

    anyhow, I did update the BIOS, it was quite a bit out - anyhow, temps are a bit more reasonable now, but still a little odd at idle:

    CPU is about 14-15C
    Mobo is ~33C
    Ambient is ~80C

    CPU is still a bit low, I think - but as soon as I put the proc under heavy load it jumps to about 27C+ . . . which is a few degrees lower than I had with my old board . . .

    Mobo looks good

    Ambient is quite a bit high, IMO - especially with no change taking the side panel of the case off - but it does seem more plausible than -3C


    I think it might be worth my while to message ASUS tech support on this, see if there might be something wrong with the board (hopefully not).
     
  5. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,635 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    That sounds like something is dead wrong... Ambient at 80c.... PLEASE, if it was that high your hard drives would be toast..

    CPU is at least 10-15 low if you are on air.
    Mobo sounds about right.
     
    imperialreign says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    900
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    every once and a while I'll notice the CPU temp hang out at about 30C - which is round about what I want to see anyways (I was able to pull that off with the old mobo) . . .

    well, I contacted ASUS about this, now just waiting on their response . . .
     
  7. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,627 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    TX, USA
    I guess its not for your mobo but theres ASUS Ai Booster its like ASUS Ai Suite


    Can you post some pics of ASUS' PC Probe II, Everest Ultimate edition and SpeedFan ?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    900
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    I've got Ai Booster, came with the mobo CD . . . decent program for desktop OC tweaking . . .

    but, yeah, I'll post those pics here in a few when I get back on my rig - I'm fighting a BSoD STOP error with it right now that pops up anytime that PC connects to the i-net, and I'm having a hell of a time trying to determine if it's a hardware conflict or software conflict (not enough info in the BSoD to directly pinpoint the problem). So, I've got to grab the screenshots, resize and reformat, throw 'em on a USB, bring it to this other PC, etc.

    I'll get it, though
     
  9. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,627 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    TX, USA
    whats the mem you got on it ? and at what speed is it at ?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    900
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    ended up going with PNY XLR8 DDR2 800 - I haven't changed any of the of the clocks or latencies on it, yet


    screenshot:

    [​IMG]


    don't mind the standard XP desktop image, havne't had time to change it just yet - still trying to get the system 100% stable!


    Oh, and I cured the BSoD - it was the friggin CA Security Suite I had on the computer - for whatever reason it wasn't accessing the network adapter properly, and would go blue whenever the anti-virus software started to scan incoming temp files from websites (GIFs, JPGs, etc). So, scrapped that and re-installed PC-Cillin. Good to go!
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2007
  11. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    900
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    update on this issue . . .

    ASUS responded to me, told me to update the mobo BIOS - which I had already done, so I tired one other BIOS ver. Still the same problem, which I let them know. They responded back saying that the temp sensors are more than likely faulty and that I can either go ahead and RMA the board (in which case they gave me the info to do so in their response), or I can live with the issue. So, I guess I'm going to go ahead and RMA it . . .

    It seems to be a known issue, though - I've read other articles on the net where people have had the same problems now and then. Perhaps ASUS just got a few bad batches of temp sensor diodes from their suppliers . . .
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)