• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI Catalyst 8.12 Released

Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
1,890 (0.37/day)
Likes
260
Location
The Kingdom of Norway
System Name Wiak's Gaming Rig 2017
Processor Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard ASUS PRIME X370-PRO
Cooling Noctua NB-9B SE2
Memory Corsair Vengenace LPX 3200 CL16 @ 2933
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon 480 8GB Gaming X
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB / Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Display(s) 3x Dell U2412M
Case Corsair 200R
Audio Device(s) Hifimediy Sabre 9018 USB DAC
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Corsair Sabre Laser
Keyboard Logitech Orion Brown (G610)
Software Windows 10?
#51
i cant figure out why people got problems, everytime i install ati catalyst on my htpc, and my gaming rig it works fine, htpc got a HD 3200 (780G IGP) and my gaming rig got a HD 4870 512MB
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
1,890 (0.37/day)
Likes
260
Location
The Kingdom of Norway
System Name Wiak's Gaming Rig 2017
Processor Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard ASUS PRIME X370-PRO
Cooling Noctua NB-9B SE2
Memory Corsair Vengenace LPX 3200 CL16 @ 2933
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon 480 8GB Gaming X
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB / Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
Display(s) 3x Dell U2412M
Case Corsair 200R
Audio Device(s) Hifimediy Sabre 9018 USB DAC
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Mouse Corsair Sabre Laser
Keyboard Logitech Orion Brown (G610)
Software Windows 10?
#52
Which cards are currently supported under AMD Stream? Think i may be able to give em a shot under Win 7?
atm HD 4800 series supports AMD Steam
 

Polarman

New Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
1,626 (0.44/day)
Likes
290
Location
Rimouski
System Name Polar's Dragon
Processor AMD Phenom II 975BE
Motherboard MSI 890FXA-GD65 (Bios 18.7)
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9700 Led
Memory Gskill 8GB DDR3-1333 (8,8,8,21)
Video Card(s) MSI HD6870 Hawk
Storage WD Raptor 250 - WD RE4 500GB
Display(s) Samsung T240 (1920 X1200)
Case Silverstone Raven 2
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply PC Power&Cooling Silencer 750 (Red)
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64Bit + SP1
#53
Everything is working ok with 8.12 except...

I still have the same nagging problem. DVI looses signal when Windows load. Have to use VGA.
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
3,496 (0.88/day)
Likes
572
Location
UK
System Name Dream Weaver
Processor 3770K @ Stock
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5H
Cooling NH-D14
Memory 8GB DDR3 @ Stock
Video Card(s) MSI RX 480 8GB Gaming
Storage Crucial M4 128 Gb + 4TB
Display(s) ASUS 27" 1440p 144hz FreeSync
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DS
Power Supply Corsair HX 620W
Software Windows 10 x64
#54
Everything worked out fine for me,

Just uninstalled 8.11 first, rebooted, installed 8.12, rebooted.
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.35/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#55
Still cant play crysis, yay!
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
22,462 (5.53/day)
Likes
6,897
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
22,462 (5.53/day)
Likes
6,897
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#57
Everything is working ok with 8.12 except...

I still have the same nagging problem. DVI looses signal when Windows load. Have to use VGA.
sounds like monitor itself.
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2008
Messages
652 (0.17/day)
Likes
124
Location
Bay Shore NY
System Name BACKTOTHEFUTURE
Processor Stock I7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-DS4 BIOS F6
Cooling 4 120mm 1 140mm top fan
Memory 12 gigabytes of DDR3 1333 RAM
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780ti
Storage Samsung 1.5 terrabyte Steam Drive and 2 Samsung 750 gig Sata 2 in Raid 0
Display(s) HP LP3065 30" Monitor
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DS
Power Supply Solid Gear Neutron 750 watt
Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64 bit
#58
Just keep restarting

im using vista 64 and i truly believe this problem is either microsoft or ati....dam cards wont work in xfire...but if i disconnect the bridges windows boots fine...put it back on...window boots to welcome screen then bsod...
if i download the 8.11 package from msi it works fine i can enable crossfire and all no worries...ANY SUGGESTIONS
Ok, I got the BSOD with crossfire in Vista 32 bit with 4 Radeon 4850s. Keep on restarting and the bug will work itself out. First I got a BSOD when I enabled crossfire after it said something wierd about one of my cards being disconnected after installing the drivers plus CCC. It had disabled crossfire and a BSOD was instant after reenabling it. After that I just let Windows start normally and crossfire "magically" was enabled and performance benchmarks confirmed that. Something is not right but I find that simply restarting works out the kinks with multi GPU setups. Sure it is ridiculous but true.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
22,462 (5.53/day)
Likes
6,897
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
57 (0.01/day)
Likes
13
Location
Monroe, Michigan
Processor i7 3820
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Cooling corsair H100 and lots of fans
Memory 32gb G.skill
Video Card(s) MSI Lightning Radeon HD 6970
Storage PCI-E Revodrive 3 X2 MAX IOPS 240GB
Display(s) 27" Samsung S27A950D
Case Xigmatek Elysium
Power Supply Antec Truepower 1KW
Software Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores 1600 MB/s storage read speed
#60
8.12 seems to have installed a World of Warcraft FREE Trial icon onto my desktop. They used to give an option for that, now the only option I seen was to install Folding@Home. This was the 8-12_xp32_dd_ccc_wdm_enu_72271 file.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
22,462 (5.53/day)
Likes
6,897
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#61
there are options of having that stuff unless if you select no, but that WOW link i think is to download a Free Trial of the Game.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,800 (9.70/day)
Likes
18,718
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#62
sounds like monitor itself.
Yes. I had a monitor that did it with my 4870. Once I got it to work (after several hard resets), the monitor could never be unplugged or the "reset" cycle would have to be done again. New monitor, never had the problem again.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,832 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,040
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC / Miner
Processor i5 8700K @4.8Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970 / i5 2500k
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3/ P67 Pro 3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903 / Stock
Memory 16Gb Nighthawk 3000 MHz/ 4GB DDR3 / 16gb DDR3 / 12 GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT / 2x1060 + 1080
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO/ 250gb Mechanical
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV/ None
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240 / Custom
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W / FSP 850 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = Timespy = 9427 Heaven = 3735
#63
I Tested this last night. I get a nice performance boost
3dmark vantage = extra 1380 3dmarks
Crysis Warhead = Extra 5fps
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
3,151 (0.83/day)
Likes
814
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asrock Taichi X370
Cooling NH-C14
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 1 Samsung NVMe 960 EVO 250 GB + 1 3.5" Seagate IronWolf Pro 6TB 7200RPM 256MB SATA III
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Logitech Performance MX
Software Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
#64
I Tested this last night. I get a nice performance boost
3dmark vantage = extra 1380 3dmarks
Crysis Warhead = Extra 5fps
Questions:

Has Vantage benefited, in any way, from that "Stream" thing?

Can you check the scores you got with the individual tests to see if any one test is the "culprit" for this increase?
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2008
Messages
255 (0.07/day)
Likes
18
Location
Wasteland
System Name Cast Lead™
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-7600 CPU @ 3.50GHz
Motherboard Asus ROG STRIX H270F GAMING
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 LED
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon RX 480 GAMING X 8G
Storage Seagate 1TB 7200 rpm
Display(s) LG 24MP59G
Case Green Z4
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio
Power Supply Green 650 UK Gold
Software Windows 10™ Pro 64 bit
#65
oh!shit
GTA IV is bad on ATI Catalyst 8.12
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
22,462 (5.53/day)
Likes
6,897
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#66
its bad on any card, nvidia released 180.84 beta driver to get best experience out of their hardware, sorry but this Game and Crysis Doesnt make PC Gaming, PC gaming, more like "Ports" which are Developed for Non X86 based systems.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,832 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,040
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC / Miner
Processor i5 8700K @4.8Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970 / i5 2500k
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3/ P67 Pro 3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903 / Stock
Memory 16Gb Nighthawk 3000 MHz/ 4GB DDR3 / 16gb DDR3 / 12 GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT / 2x1060 + 1080
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO/ 250gb Mechanical
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV/ None
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240 / Custom
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W / FSP 850 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = Timespy = 9427 Heaven = 3735
#67
Questions:

Has Vantage benefited, in any way, from that "Stream" thing?

Can you check the scores you got with the individual tests to see if any one test is the "culprit" for this increase?

Here's a screen shot of the results.



The speeds of the HD4850 might be slightly different, i don't remember exactly what it was set too the other day. but it's only different by a few % as i keep my 4850 clocked to around 720/1100 most of the time. So it isn't an in-depth accurate test, just my first impression. I'm sure a few other folk around here will be doing a better comparison.
-Sorry bad screenshot the Perlin Noise FPS is 57.05

Again i'm not sure how accurate these are as i just fished out on old .3dr file from a couple of days ago. And my rig isn't set up for testing. I'd be interested to see what other people get. I just found another .3dr file and the differences weren't so great. just an extra 400 Graphics marks, and for that test file i am sure the clock speeds were the same.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
3,151 (0.83/day)
Likes
814
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asrock Taichi X370
Cooling NH-C14
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 1 Samsung NVMe 960 EVO 250 GB + 1 3.5" Seagate IronWolf Pro 6TB 7200RPM 256MB SATA III
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Logitech Performance MX
Software Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
#68
Here's a screen shot of the results.

http://img.techpowerup.org/081211/Catalyst-compare.jpg

The speeds of the HD4850 might be slightly different, i don't remember exactly what it was set too the other day. but it's only different by a few % as i keep my 4850 clocked to around 720/1100 most of the time. So it isn't an in-depth accurate test, just my first impression. I'm sure a few other folk around here will be doing a better comparison.
-Sorry bad screenshot the Perlin Noise FPS is 57.05
Yeah: i can't tell from that either since, in some tests, it shows a drop of ~50% while, in others, gains of ~66%.
 

miloshs

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2008
Messages
362 (0.10/day)
Likes
39
Location
Serbia
System Name Begginer's E
Processor Intel E8500
Motherboard DFI LT X48-T2R
Cooling Thermalright HR-01 Plus & Silverstone FM-121B (800-2400rpm)
Memory 2x2gb GEIL Ultra Plus PC8500 CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD5850 1gb
Storage WD 1tb Black Series
Display(s) ASUS VW242HS 24"
Case CoolerMaster 690
Audio Device(s) ICH8 integrated crappie
Power Supply OCZ 700W xStream SLI PSU
Software Windows 7 x64
#69
Problems?!?!

I don't know whats the problem with you guys hardware, but on my Vista x64 it installed flawlessly and didn't even ask for a restart!!! Just upgraded from 8.11 to 8.12 with no uninstalls or similar crap... Works fine...
Gonna fire up GTA 4 to see how it runs compared to 8.11...
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,832 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,040
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC / Miner
Processor i5 8700K @4.8Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970 / i5 2500k
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3/ P67 Pro 3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903 / Stock
Memory 16Gb Nighthawk 3000 MHz/ 4GB DDR3 / 16gb DDR3 / 12 GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT / 2x1060 + 1080
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO/ 250gb Mechanical
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV/ None
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240 / Custom
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W / FSP 850 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = Timespy = 9427 Heaven = 3735
#70
Just edited. The windows weren't aligned properly so it's confusing to compare - sorry.
Fished out an older banchmark result and they weren't too different. but whatever they did it worked for me. I might have just had a bad driver install (i was using the 8.12 beta drivers for the test)
Still an improvement over the other drivers tho which is always a good thing.
 

miloshs

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2008
Messages
362 (0.10/day)
Likes
39
Location
Serbia
System Name Begginer's E
Processor Intel E8500
Motherboard DFI LT X48-T2R
Cooling Thermalright HR-01 Plus & Silverstone FM-121B (800-2400rpm)
Memory 2x2gb GEIL Ultra Plus PC8500 CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD5850 1gb
Storage WD 1tb Black Series
Display(s) ASUS VW242HS 24"
Case CoolerMaster 690
Audio Device(s) ICH8 integrated crappie
Power Supply OCZ 700W xStream SLI PSU
Software Windows 7 x64
#71
GTA IV results with the 8.12 drivers...

Taken from Fraps excel sheet:

Frames, Time (ms), Min, Max, Avg
9838 , 360000 , 16, 39, 27.328

Settings were:
Res - 1680x1050
Tex - medium
the next one (forgot what it was :D) - high
draw dist - 25 (wont let me set higher)
cars - 100
details -100
shadows - 16

That was actual 5 min gameplay... driving, shooting, killing, smashing... no animations or similar stuff that runs at an 50-60fps average...
Signature rig...

P.S. can't really tell theres a difference compared to 8.11... if there is, then its very small gain and in select areas...
 

Prash

New Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2008
Messages
69 (0.02/day)
Likes
12
Location
Karnataka, India
Processor E2160
Motherboard Biostar TP35D2-A7
Cooling TRUE 120 + Glacialtech 120mm (89CFM) X 2 in pushpull
Memory Gskill 2 X 1GB 800MHz (Powerchips)
Video Card(s) None at the moment!
Display(s) Dell 198WFP
Power Supply OCZ GameXtreme 700W
#72
Has anyone tested this with a 4870? I have heard that the gains are lesser than those found in 4850? Anyone...
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2008
Messages
1,897 (0.53/day)
Likes
676
System Name Star Citizen Enabler
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65
Cooling Triple 120 rad WC with EK-Supreme LTX CSQ waterblock
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866MHz C9
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming 6G GTX 980Ti
Storage Corsair Force 3 120GB, Kingstone V300 240GB, Seagate Barracuda 1.5tb, Samsung Spinpoint F1 1tb
Display(s) Oculus Rift DK2 + 24" 1920x1200 HP LP2475w(H-IPS panel)
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X (pci-e) with optical into logitech z-5500 speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Software Windows 7 Professional 64-bit [full retail]
#73
8.12 seems to have installed a World of Warcraft FREE Trial icon onto my desktop. They used to give an option for that, now the only option I seen was to install Folding@Home. This was the 8-12_xp32_dd_ccc_wdm_enu_72271 file.
It is an option if you choose "custom" when installing the drivers instead of express, the wow free trial link has been there for quite a few months now.

In regards to issues installing on vista 64 with 3870s and 3870X2s im currently in communication with ATI driver senior technicians to see if we can find what's wrong (their support is very good if you create a ticket and give plenty of details about the problem).
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2005
Messages
294 (0.06/day)
Likes
25
Location
Szekszárd, Hungary
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 955BE
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V Evo
Cooling Xigmatek HDT S1283
Memory 4GB Kingston Hyperx DDR3
Video Card(s) GigaByte Radeon HD3870 512MB GDDR4
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, Hitachi Deskstar T7K250 250GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster F2380M
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy ES 5.1
Power Supply Corsair VX550
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Professional x64
#74
In regards to issues installing on vista 64 with 3870s and 3870X2s im currently in communication with ATI driver senior technicians to see if we can find what's wrong (their support is very good if you create a ticket and give plenty of details about the problem).
Please tell them, that the xp x64 driver is crap too. (hd3870 + xp x64 = resets my computer on windows logon)
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2007
Messages
189 (0.05/day)
Likes
9
#75
Has anyone tested this with a 4870? I have heard that the gains are lesser than those found in 4850? Anyone...

I have a 4870 1GB with these drivers. I kept getting an out of memory erro after about half hour to hour play time. I never got this error before even though, I could tell before that there was a memory leak with the game. iT is just that now the game bitches about it LOL. I will run fraps and post results tonight but, I ran it last night and at first it hits 60FPS then dropped to like 45 then droppped to like 30 avg then dropped to like 25 then out of memory error just to give you a rough guesstimete of what is to come with my results.
 
Top