• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

ATI Preparing 'Super RV770' to Challenge GeForce GTX 200 Series

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,322 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,424
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#1
The RV770 is perhaps the best thing that happened to AMD in a long while. But more than AMD, it's perhaps the best thing that happened to us, the consumers. But general product launches seem to be just the tip of the ice-berg. The new PCB's designed by ATI for RV770 cards are actually running at well below the clock speed they can support and there is every reason to believe that these cards will be challenging NVIDIA's very best.

Show full news post
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Jul 13, 2005
Messages
353 (0.08/day)
Likes
11
Processor Intel Core i7 950 @ 4.5 Ghz
Motherboard X58 SABERTOOTH
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 24 GB
Video Card(s) EVGA 980 ti sc @ 1550 mhz
Storage EVO 512 gb
Display(s) ASUS 24 QE248
Case ANTEC Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) Soundbalster
Power Supply EVGA 1300 Supernova
Mouse Zowie EC1-A
Keyboard Steelseries 6gv2
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores high
#2
Oh Baby
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
127 (0.03/day)
Likes
34
#3
well a really good custom after market air cooler could probably run the chips at 950 as well, I am already running at 790core, with temps never exceeding 65c under hours of gaming, that is with the stock cooler with fan speed at 40%. So the companys could easily hit 950 on air with a special bios as well, I really don't think that water cooling is really required for that speed.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,096 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,525
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#4
sounds fun. to be honest, i think they'll all be like that diamond model.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369 (10.18/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#5
I hope this means, that all I need is some great cooling and a bios flash and I can have 900+ on the core!:p
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,322 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,424
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#6
I hope this means, that all I need is some great cooling and a bios flash and I can have 900+ on the core!:p
It's not just a BIOS flash you'll need, those cards have higher binned parts (incl. the GPU) that allow stable operation at 950+ MHz.
 

Megasty

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
1,263 (0.36/day)
Likes
81
Location
The Kingdom of Au
Processor i7 920 @ 3.6 GHz (4.0 when gaming)
Motherboard Asus Rampage II Extreme - Yeah I Bought It...
Cooling Swiftech.
Memory 12 GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer - I Love Red
Video Card(s) ASUS EAH4870X2 - That Fan Is...!?
Storage 4 WD 1.5 TB
Display(s) 24" Sceptre
Case TT Xaser VI - Fugly, Red, & Huge...
Audio Device(s) The ASUS Thingy
Power Supply Ultra X3 1000W
Software Vista Ultimate SP1 64bit
#7
yum, I can smell the burning silicon already :D
 

wolf

Performance Enthusiast
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
5,576 (1.44/day)
Likes
864
System Name MightyX (MITX)
Processor Core i7 4770K @ 4.2ghz
Motherboard Asus Z87i-Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory 16gb DDR3 1600 LP
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 G1 OC
Storage Lots of SSD's
Display(s) AOC AGON AG352QCX
Case Raven RVZ-01
Power Supply SFX 450 G
Mouse Razer Mamba Tournament Chroma
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow X Chroma
#8
a 4870 at 900mhz core and 4.8ghz memory would be NUTSO :D:D

me wantie, that would really kick my 9800GTX in the nuts, and actually represent a viable upgrade.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.95/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#9
I hope this means, that all I need is some great cooling and a bios flash and I can have 900+ on the core!:p
Those were my thoughts exactly. just take the place of binning with better cooling. lol.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,374 (1.55/day)
Likes
983
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#10
ATI need the RV771. A rework, probably, of ROPs and local cache size/latency. I think we have enough TMU and SPEs to scale a bit further... problem is the bottleneck is elsewhere. Why?

I've yet to see ONE benchmark, real or synthetic, where th 4850/70 is scoring 250% x the 3870/50 units. So that means with 800/40 SPE/TMU (250% of 320/16) the poor buggers are not scaling and are handicapped elsewhere. "OVERCLOCKING" isnt really getting more performance out of the SPE/TMU but from overclocking the bottleneck area... whereever that bottleneck is.

But that is a serious waste of power and unnecessary heat. Attack the problem directly. Find and solve the bottleneck.

*** HUNT THE BOTTLENECK ***

1./ It's not SPE/TMU. We've go enough of those. In fact more than the GTX280
2./ It's not memory clocks. With GDDR5, we're faster then GTX280
3./ It's not PCIe1.0/2.0 interface. GTX280 can burst through

>> Drivers?
>> ROPs?
>> Local thread scheduler problems/cache/latency?
>> Memory bandwidth? Does ATI need to get back to 512-bit? Is there too much latency with 256-bit due to multiple read/write rather than single read/write

***ARCHITECTURE***
It's tempting to compare this number to the 240 stream processing units of the GTX 200 GPU, or the 128 shaders of the G92 chip that will power the boards competing with the Radeon HD 4850 and 4870. Unfortunately, you can't just add up shader units to determine total computational power. Each of these units has a different design, and Nvidia clocks their shader units at a higher speed than the core clock of their GPU.

One of the long-maligned sore spots of the R600 and RV670 architecture is that it only had 16 texture units. It has long been our belief, and others, that simple texture address and filter rates held those chips back in a great many applications. ATI apparently agrees, because they have made major improvements here. Now there are 4 texture units per SIMD array, for a total of 40. The units themselves have been redesigned to get more work done in less transistors and die size. The result is a massive increase in texture address and filter power that bears itself out in our lab tests.
Perhaps the *new* 800SPE and *new* 40 TMU are, in fact, less powerful PER UNIT than the old ones... due to instruction scheduling, data caching, and transistor-count optimisation issues. Getting 250% more units in only 33% more silicon will require some compromise somewhere. Perhaps that's the problem.
 
Last edited:

indybird

New Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2007
Messages
175 (0.05/day)
Likes
9
System Name Abyss
Processor Intel Core i5 750 @ 4.0GHz
Motherboard evga P55 FTW
Cooling Corsair H50, Custom fans in Push/Pull
Memory Crucial DDR3 1600 @ CL 7
Video Card(s) ASUS HD 4890 TOP 1GB @ 980/1200
Storage Dual Western Digital 160GBs in RAID 0
Display(s) Gateway FHD-2400 24" LCD
Case Heavily Modded Globalwin YCC-802
Audio Device(s) Razer Barracuda AC-1
Power Supply Xigmatek 750W Modular Power Supply
Software Windows 7 Professional X64
#11
The real question is, when will these be available retail?

-Indybird
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,096 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,525
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#12
ATI need the RV771. A rework, probably, of ROPs and local cache size/latency. I think we have enough TMU and SPEs to scale a bit further... problem is the bottleneck is elsewhere. Why?

I've yet to see ONE benchmark, real or synthetic, where th 4850/70 is scoring 250% x the 3870/50 units. So that means with 800/40 SPE/TMU (250% of 320/16) the poor buggers are not scaling and are handicapped elsewhere. "OVERCLOCKING" isnt really getting more performance out of the SPE/TMU but from overclocking the bottleneck area... whereever that bottleneck is.

But that is a serious waste of power and unnecessary heat. Attack the problem directly. Find and solve the bottleneck.
most people would call that bottleneck a CPU :p
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,374 (1.55/day)
Likes
983
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#14
most people would call that bottleneck a CPU :p
I REALLY do hope you are joking. You saying that the performance bottleneck on synthetics or GPU limited tests, is the CPU? ROFL. :nutkick:

Just take a benchmark that is pretty much independent of CPU, like FurMark. QED
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,374 (1.55/day)
Likes
983
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#15
@Nkd, take your PC, choose a clock for your GPU and stick with it. Now run Furmark with your CPU @2.0, 2.5, 3.0, 3.5, 4.2 and show your results. I bet they are all within 1% of each other, probably even closer.

Next. Choose clocks for your GPU and CPU and stick with it. Now run Furmark with your GPU with memory clocks (main GPU clock same) increasing. Plot the results. Any difference? If there is, then there is a memory bottleneck. If it doesnt increase, or it is only marginal, then there is no memory bottleneck. (For furmark at least)
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.49/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#16
yeh that is what i talking about, super rv 770 , but i hope to add havok physics too , that will be best card for 2008
 

InnocentCriminal

Resident Grammar Amender
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
6,477 (1.38/day)
Likes
844
System Name BeeR 6
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K*
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Gene (1155/Z77)
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Samsung Green 1600MHz DDR3**
Video Card(s) 4GB MSI Gaming X RX480
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung C27F591FDU
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
Software 64bit Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores *@ 4.6GHz **@ 2133MHz
#17
I said this would happen in the Diamond thread.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2008
Messages
661 (0.19/day)
Likes
73
#18
Will these Super RV770's be the ATI Radeon HD 4850+/4870+ series?

I suppose I'll wait a while before buying a 4870 now, wait to see what these better RV770's are capable of.
 

InnocentCriminal

Resident Grammar Amender
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
6,477 (1.38/day)
Likes
844
System Name BeeR 6
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K*
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Gene (1155/Z77)
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Samsung Green 1600MHz DDR3**
Video Card(s) 4GB MSI Gaming X RX480
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung C27F591FDU
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
Software 64bit Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores *@ 4.6GHz **@ 2133MHz
#19
Will the 256bit memory bus be able to give us the bandwidth needed if the RAM is maxed out, that's what I want to know.
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,322 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,424
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#20
Will the 256bit memory bus be able to give us the bandwidth needed if the RAM is maxed out, that's what I want to know.
With GDDR5, the bus width isn't as significant a figure as it used to be with GDDR4/3. Each pin of the memory bank transfers 2x the amount of data /clock cycle. 1200 MHz (2400MHz DDR) 256bit GDDR5 means the same bandwidth as 1200 MHz (2400 MHz DDR) 512bit GDDR3.
 
Last edited:

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.56/day)
Likes
4,256
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#21
for sure the winner here is the consumer! now wouldnt it be hilarious of matrox decided to enter the high end gpu market?
 

InnocentCriminal

Resident Grammar Amender
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
6,477 (1.38/day)
Likes
844
System Name BeeR 6
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K*
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Gene (1155/Z77)
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Samsung Green 1600MHz DDR3**
Video Card(s) 4GB MSI Gaming X RX480
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung C27F591FDU
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
Software 64bit Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores *@ 4.6GHz **@ 2133MHz
#22
With GDDR5, the bus width isn't as significant a figure as it used to be with GDDR4/3. Each pin of the memory bank transfers 2x the amount of data /clock cycle. 1200 MHz (2400MHz DDR) 256bit GDDR5 means the same bandwidth as 1200 MHz (2400 MHz DDR) 512bit GDDR3.
You're right, I completely ignored the fact GDDR5 has that benefit as well as consuming far less power whilst doing so, but don't you mean GDDR4 not GDDR3?

EDIT: No, I'm stupid, GDDR3. Man, I hate mornings.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 26, 2006
Messages
6,957 (1.70/day)
Likes
331
Location
Australia, Sydney
#23
I REALLY do hope you are joking. You saying that the performance bottleneck on synthetics or GPU limited tests, is the CPU? ROFL. :nutkick:

Just take a benchmark that is pretty much independent of CPU, like FurMark. QED
Explain why my FPS jumps from 30 FPS to 50FPS + from 1.86Ghz to 2.4Ghz..... The GPU cannot function without the CPU. The CPU is a bottleneck, NO benchmark is 100% independent from the GPU as the CPU processes the data from the HDD BEFORE it goes to the GPU.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,374 (1.55/day)
Likes
983
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#24
Try adding a bit of useful information, like game, resolution, effects. Otherwise my explanation that you asked for is: you changed the settings. ROFL. 50fps+ is 70%+ more than 30fps. But you increased your CPU only 30%. ROFL.

 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
1,777 (0.50/day)
Likes
163
Location
South Australia
System Name QUACK
Processor Intel i7 2600K (3.4 GHz, 8 threads)
Motherboard Asus P67P8-V3
Cooling Xigmatek Balder 120mm (4x120,1x140mm case)
Memory Patriot 2 Viper Sector 5, 8GB DDR3 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 960 G1 4GB
Storage 1x Samsung EVO 850 (500GB) SSD, 1x Fujitsu 256GB SSD
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp U2311h 23" (so sexy)
Case CoolerMaster Gladiator RC-600
Audio Device(s) Onboard 5.1
Power Supply Antec 850w with yellow racing stripes
Software Windows 7 HP 64 bit
#25
lemonadesoda said:
***ARCHITECTURE***

Perhaps the *new* 800SPE and *new* 40 TMU are, in fact, less powerful PER UNIT than the old ones... due to instruction scheduling, data caching, and transistor-count optimisation issues. Getting 250% more units in only 33% more silicon will require some compromise somewhere. Perhaps that's the problem.
Yep, thats the problem.
From what I've picked up, ATi have decided to try using heaps of stream processing units, except they've had to downsize them so that they would fit on the die. They gave their designers a specific transistor count and size to work in, so the designers must'v had to cut back on the power of each unit.
If they made each SPU the same as the last generation, the die size would be MASSIVE!
I hope they get 45 nm chips out soon (better SPUs!), and not only ATI: c'mon AMD, where's some die shrinks??