1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI Radeon HD 2900 XT

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by W1zzard, Apr 26, 2007.

  1. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    meh... :banghead: its a dx10 card, why wont peeps just leave off till we get unbiased dx10 benchies? it will run every dx9 game out there at max settings at insane resolutions. now please hang on with all this moaning till we can test it as it is designed to be used...
     
  2. mascaras New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    102 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    portugal
    atitool doesnt work with my x2900xt , any ideias ??? i use amdtool to OC but in this review you say that atitool work OK to change voltages , but i cant get it work

    i tryed with atitool 0.27
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    The main developer for ATItool is very busy, I doubt he has very much time to make ATItool work with the HD series.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,365 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    You might keep an eye on Ray Adam's Ati tray tools. He should come up with something for that card.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,264 (3.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,945
    the current development build with voltage/monitoring/fan control support isnt publicly released yet
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Just a quick question W1z, will we need the 8-pin plugged in for ATItool to overclock?

    Oh, and if you need help testing. lol
     
  7. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    but isnt the extra power NEEDED for overclocking? so wouldnt using atitool without the extra power connector just result in failed overclocks and crashes or am i missing something here? wouldnt mind knowing coz im gonna get me one eventually
     
  8. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    I'm willing to try without. I think the headroom will just be lower with 2 6-pins vs a 6 and 8. Get paid today, and I'll be contacting Corsair for the 8-pin cable anyway.
     
  9. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    All this being said, doesnt anyone wonder how well the ATi card would do if there was a way to increase the shader clock?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,734 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Singapore
    Just like nvidia?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    hmmm, isnt there a way to do that? I mean, comparing to the 8800's, how is the shader clock controlled?
     
  12. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,814 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Good news is, it beat the 8800GTX in some benchmarks, but in most, it was either at the top, or very close to it. Im very impressed with this as its meant to compete against the GTS (640 and 320MB versions). Very well done indeed. Power consumption is the only yellow exclamation point I see.

    Spot on review W1zzard but you shouldnt be disappointed in the HD2900XTs performance. You should marvel at it. Its quite well. 6 month delay just proves that.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    The same person probably wonders how they'd cool and power a card that had such huge power requirements as a shader-overclocked R600 :p.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. hv43082

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,467 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    Orange County, CA and Miami, FL
    While I agree to most of what you said, I still think the 8800GTS 640mb is better. It's cheaper and consume far less energy. Although you can get a free Logitech G5 from newegg with purchase of any HD2900XT.
     
  15. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    I wouldnt say its better, if you can use the video hemi? part of the 2900xt the extra 80$ or whatever would be well worth it.. only time will tell what it is capable of really it has huge OC'n potential as expected from the majority of Ati products... I hope they come out with one with a die shrink and am going to wati until dx10 games really hit the market before I buy a dx10 card now... my 1900gt OC'd to 660+/810 takes on all my dx9 games with a breeze it even fairs well with Oblivion at very high settings. (I need to give it 1.4vgpu to reach up to 690/810 stable and will since Im waiting now).
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. strick94u

    strick94u New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,592 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Texas
    when the 9700 came out it was the best card ever(still got mine) those were great times. this 2900 xt is a great card but reminds me of the voodoo banshee kick ass card that is as good as the other card.Good news is there is only 2 real choices out there.:twitch:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    its not that hard. ATi need to redo the PCB tho, I mean dear god theres lazy and theres lazy, but that PCB design has introduced a whole new rank of lazy PCB design.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Actually I find the cooler pretty crap, the copper block is poorly designed, being far too thick.
     
  19. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Notice I didnt say anything about the stock cooler ;), just its not that hard to cool the 2kXT given the right modding tools.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    I really don't understand why everyone complains about it's heat output. I see 75c during heavy gaming according to the AMD GPU Clock Tool's log. My X1800XT ran just as hot.
     
  21. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    exactly :) 80nm can take that heat fine. Im saying it can be improved on.
     
  22. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    True.

    I think I'm gonna skip straight past any lapping or other basic mods, and jump into water cooling it. I'm thinking of picking up a 3x120mm rad and a MCW60 block with some ramsinks.
     
  23. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    1.4vgpu?? whats the stock 3dmode voltage? coz the x1900xtx is 1.45ish i think, i take it up to 1.57 for 760ish core oc, tho i could probs get away with a lower vcore
     
  24. plamen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    good card.
     
  25. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    LOL.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)