1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Bad Biosflash on X1800 XL...plz help!!

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Zaphod B, Sep 26, 2006.

  1. Zaphod B New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    Hello I´m new to the forums but i´ve found a lot encouraging info here and hope that you might be able to help me with my problem.

    A few day ago i flashed my Sapphire ATI Radeon X1800 XL with the Sapphire ATI Radeon X1800 XT Bios from the Bios download section of www.techpowerup.com.

    The 1st flash went all right, booted to windows, reinstalled ati catalyst 6.8...all was fine except some image corruption in 3D Mode.

    So i used the RaBit v2.1 Bios Editor to further increase the GPU Voltage, flashed again...all ok, more garble on the screen in 3D (2D picture is fine).

    Modiefied the Bios about 3 or 4 times...no problems flashing the card.

    Then i tried to reflash the original bios previously saved to my HD with atiflash...than the shit happens...atiflash exited with an error "No Adapter Found".

    Obviously that last flash went bad and after i checked what could be the reason for that i found that my DOS Bootdiskette was corrupted :cry: and my graphics card´s bios too.

    I tried nearly everything...atiflash -f -p 0 mybios.bin -> "No Adapter found", flashrom -f p 0 mybios.bin -> "No Adapter found", ATI winflash -> "No valid ATI Graphics card found".

    Finally i came to try uniflash which had no support for ati graphics cards or the bios chip. So i modified the available uniflash sources (st.pas) and added accordingly to the addchip.faq file the STMicroelectronics M25P05-A chip to st.pas which seems to be the one on the card. Compiled it, ran it with parameters uniflash -pcirom 2 0 0 -e mybios.bin -force 2005 (2005 is the id for the st M25p05-a chip).

    Chip detection was successful, but it did not flash because there is a disk error (Error #100: Disk Read Error) :cry:

    The card id is stuck at device ID 7000h which is no valid ati card id -> no go on installing windows drivers...(i even tried to hack the drivers .inf files to add support for the 7000h id but on installation of the last file in the driver´s file set the pc crashes)...

    PLZ HELP ME!! :ohwell:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. cat320 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    LOL. (Sry, my English is bad)

    I have the self card with the self Problem and you have no chance to reflash the bios. The only one way is, a 9600 or 9800 with the self EEprom 25p05.. and make a hotflash with the Old AGP Card(discard??? both EEproms from the Cards and that is easy, i have no luck my Card). I have buy now a 7900GTO for my Daughter and never buy the ATIshit.


    DeviceID_7001 Vendor 1002 Bus 5, Vgasave Atiflash etc ADAPTER NOT FOUND
    Good Luck

    PS.The 1800xl comes on the Wall from my Son with a little bit of UVcolour und UVlight.:D
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2006
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Zaphod B New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    LOL...Good Luck with your new card. NVidia uses the same chip....:roll:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. {Sniping}Waste

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    96 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Zaphod B, I might be able to repair the card and would do it for $20. If I can't fix it then no charge. I have a moded video card just for reflashing EEproms.

    Cat320. How much do you want for your X1800XL?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Zaphod B New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    I´m from Germany. Where are you form? :confused:

    Besides can it be that because of the bad flash the chip is in Deep-Power-Down mode and therefore does not respond to any Write or Erase commands sent?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. {Sniping}Waste

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    96 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    US Dallas Texas. What I would do is Flash a EEprom with the right BIOS and unsolder the old EEprom off and resolder the new one with the right BIOS on.

    This is the modded video card I use for this.
    [​IMG]

    This the EEprom
    [​IMG]
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. cat320 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    jo, zaphod ich auch:)
    @{Sniping}Waste. i have seen your flash pics in a other thread but it´s not easy to remove the shit eeprom from the PCB and the 9600 is not mine. Is there not a Chance, to Hexedit a Atiflash dll to find the card with the bad DeviceID?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Zaphod B New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    I just began writing a flashtool myself in C. Seems very easy with the standard libraries provided by ST Microelectronics. :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. cat320 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Uniflash erkennt über den Befehl -pcirom 5 0 0 bus Device Function meine Karte aber er kennt leider den EEpromtyp nicht

    (Sry for the English People but it´s hard 4 me to write this in English)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. {Sniping}Waste

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    96 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    For ATIflash to work the video cards BIOS must be loaded in to system memory. There is no way to hexedit ATIflash to get around that as far as I know.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. cat320 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    @ Zahphod, irgendwelche fortschritte?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Zaphod B New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    For the Program to work I need the Hex Base-Adress of the flash chip. I tried some PCI-Bus scanners but they only show the I/O adress range of the card. It will take a while to figure out the correct adress of the chip. :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)