• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Battlefield 3 - Horrible Lag

Joined
May 13, 2006
Messages
1,550 (0.37/day)
Likes
291
Location
City 17, California, U.S.A.
Processor AMD FX 8300 @ stock.//AMD 5350 AM1 APU.
Motherboard Biostar TA970.//ASUS AM1M-A.
Cooling AMD vanilla Wraith.//APU oem.//80mm Arctic Cooling fans both cases.
Memory 16G G.Skill TridentX @ 1866mhz.//8G low/low Crucial 1600mhz.
Video Card(s) Sapphire 8G RX 580 Pulse @ stock.//APU.
Storage Seagate 1T SSHD.//WD 500g Black.
Display(s) Dell S2309W 23" 1080p, shared.
Case Blue Chenming 301KB. (Vintage beauty).//Antec NSK 1300.
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty Xtreme Gamer.//Onboard Realtek.//Shared Logitech 2.1's.
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610.//Antec NSK 1380 psu.
Mouse Logitech MX518, shared.
Keyboard Logitech K310, shared.
Software Windows 10 Pro x64.//Windows 10 Home x64, XP Pro x86 dual boot.
Benchmark Scores FX rig is the gamer.//AM1 rig is the daily driver.
#51
A 64bit OS is in order for sure for what you are building. With 32bit you will be shooting yourself in the foot with all that system ram.
 
Joined
May 14, 2011
Messages
356 (0.15/day)
Likes
49
System Name REAPER
Processor AMD FX-8350 x8 @ 4.64 GHz (20x232, 1.4625v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair Liquid H60. 2 front in, 1 side in, 1 rear out (H60), 1 top out.
Memory G.Skill Sniper 2x4 GB DDR3 1333 @ 1546
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7950 3GB @ 1095/1395
Storage Crucial M500 240 GB SSD and Western Digital Green 1TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Acer H223H 22.5"
Case Antec 300 Black Steel
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Corsair CX-600 Watt 80 Bronze
Mouse Corsair Sabre RGB Optical
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 2011 - 8965 15210 3dMark06 (old system)
#52
A 64bit OS is in order for sure for what you are building. With 32bit you will be shooting yourself in the foot with all that system ram.
I've got Win 7 Pro 64-bit en-route my man.
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#53
I've got Win 7 Pro 64-bit en-route my man.
Have you ordered a memory kit yet? if so what one? Or do you want some recommendations?
 
Joined
May 14, 2011
Messages
356 (0.15/day)
Likes
49
System Name REAPER
Processor AMD FX-8350 x8 @ 4.64 GHz (20x232, 1.4625v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair Liquid H60. 2 front in, 1 side in, 1 rear out (H60), 1 top out.
Memory G.Skill Sniper 2x4 GB DDR3 1333 @ 1546
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7950 3GB @ 1095/1395
Storage Crucial M500 240 GB SSD and Western Digital Green 1TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Acer H223H 22.5"
Case Antec 300 Black Steel
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Corsair CX-600 Watt 80 Bronze
Mouse Corsair Sabre RGB Optical
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 2011 - 8965 15210 3dMark06 (old system)
#54
Actually before this whole mess started I ordered some of these boys to go with my current Mobo. The two Mobos listed in my other post would work with them too although I could have got some better speeds if I were going with them, but what can you do. Too late to cancel the order...
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#55
Actually before this whole mess started I ordered some of these boys to go with my current Mobo. The two Mobos listed in my other post would work with them too although I could have got some better speeds if I were going with them, but what can you do. Too late to cancel the order...
Good Choice. Maybe set the voltage to 1.6-1.65v and lower the timings since CAs9 is pretty lose for 1333mhz
 
Joined
May 14, 2011
Messages
356 (0.15/day)
Likes
49
System Name REAPER
Processor AMD FX-8350 x8 @ 4.64 GHz (20x232, 1.4625v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair Liquid H60. 2 front in, 1 side in, 1 rear out (H60), 1 top out.
Memory G.Skill Sniper 2x4 GB DDR3 1333 @ 1546
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7950 3GB @ 1095/1395
Storage Crucial M500 240 GB SSD and Western Digital Green 1TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Acer H223H 22.5"
Case Antec 300 Black Steel
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Corsair CX-600 Watt 80 Bronze
Mouse Corsair Sabre RGB Optical
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 2011 - 8965 15210 3dMark06 (old system)
#56
Can you OC RAM in the BIOS? I don't recall over OCing RAM but I may have done it. I always have to re-educate myself on how to do these things every 2 or 3 years. Also, your thoughts on the two Mobos posted earlier?
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.87/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#57
It is choppy as hell and sometimes I get lag spikes/freezes in the game up to 10 seconds. Does this happen to anyone else? I read that Origin and EA have been having some serious server issues and their lag problems are terrible as it is. However I can't imagine a problem this serious with such a popular online game.
Does your HDD works like crazy when that happens? Google "Battlefield 3 memory leak". I get the same issue as you from time to time using an HD6950.

Apparently it's due to the AMD driver but it hasn't been fixed so far. I've had it happen at different maps and comes at random times so I can't really tell what triggers it.

When you get the "lag" again quit the game and check the memory usage to confirm if you're indeed experiencing the memory leak.
 
Joined
May 14, 2011
Messages
356 (0.15/day)
Likes
49
System Name REAPER
Processor AMD FX-8350 x8 @ 4.64 GHz (20x232, 1.4625v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair Liquid H60. 2 front in, 1 side in, 1 rear out (H60), 1 top out.
Memory G.Skill Sniper 2x4 GB DDR3 1333 @ 1546
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7950 3GB @ 1095/1395
Storage Crucial M500 240 GB SSD and Western Digital Green 1TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Acer H223H 22.5"
Case Antec 300 Black Steel
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Corsair CX-600 Watt 80 Bronze
Mouse Corsair Sabre RGB Optical
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 2011 - 8965 15210 3dMark06 (old system)
#58
Does your HDD works like crazy when that happens? Google "Battlefield 3 memory leak". I get the same issue as you from time to time using an HD6950.

Apparently it's due to the AMD driver but it hasn't been fixed so far. I've had it happen at different maps and comes at random times so I can't really tell what triggers it.

When you get the "lag" again quit the game and check the memory usage to confirm if you're indeed experiencing the memory leak.
Strange, I have not experienced that exactly but I have crashed twice now with a minidump BSOD. I posted a thread trying to figure it out but I haven't been able to get it to crash since to grab the error thing.
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#59
Get this board. I mean the 970s will do, but for the price this 990fx board will be pretty damn good, and allow full support if you want to upgrade to a FX8350 or FX8320 chip in the future. :)

The boards you linked will be fine, and if you are really on a budget then either one to be honest.

GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s U...

And maybe youll be interested in one of these little all one one liquid coolers. They do pretty well, and for $50 cant really go wrong

CORSAIR Hydro Series H60 (CW-9060007-WW) Water Coo...
 
Joined
May 14, 2011
Messages
356 (0.15/day)
Likes
49
System Name REAPER
Processor AMD FX-8350 x8 @ 4.64 GHz (20x232, 1.4625v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair Liquid H60. 2 front in, 1 side in, 1 rear out (H60), 1 top out.
Memory G.Skill Sniper 2x4 GB DDR3 1333 @ 1546
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7950 3GB @ 1095/1395
Storage Crucial M500 240 GB SSD and Western Digital Green 1TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Acer H223H 22.5"
Case Antec 300 Black Steel
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Corsair CX-600 Watt 80 Bronze
Mouse Corsair Sabre RGB Optical
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 2011 - 8965 15210 3dMark06 (old system)
#60
I can be convinced to spend the extra $15 for a water cooler instead of air cooler, but can you help explain the differences in your Mobo? I honestly just don't know anything about Mobos other than making sure they have the right # of PCI/E slots and matching up your RAM speed to it's RAM speed.
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#61
I can be convinced to spend the extra $15 for a water cooler instead of air cooler, but can you help explain the differences in your Mobo? I honestly just don't know anything about Mobos other than making sure they have the right # of PCI/E slots and matching up your RAM speed to it's RAM speed.
Itll have a better BIOS im pretty sure for overclocking. More options, and most likely overclock better then the other boards you linked do to its design. Its also running a 990FX chipset over hte 970 like the other boards you link. 990FX chipset is the higher end one. Similar to how Z77 is to H77 for Intel.
 
Joined
May 14, 2011
Messages
356 (0.15/day)
Likes
49
System Name REAPER
Processor AMD FX-8350 x8 @ 4.64 GHz (20x232, 1.4625v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair Liquid H60. 2 front in, 1 side in, 1 rear out (H60), 1 top out.
Memory G.Skill Sniper 2x4 GB DDR3 1333 @ 1546
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7950 3GB @ 1095/1395
Storage Crucial M500 240 GB SSD and Western Digital Green 1TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Acer H223H 22.5"
Case Antec 300 Black Steel
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Corsair CX-600 Watt 80 Bronze
Mouse Corsair Sabre RGB Optical
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 2011 - 8965 15210 3dMark06 (old system)
#62
Excellent, thanks for the clarification. I'll think on that and see... For 30 more bucks it might be worth it.
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#63
Excellent, thanks for the clarification. I'll think on that and see... For 30 more bucks it might be worth it.
youll be good to go after these upgrades, with a clear upgrade path to new FX AMD chips in the near future :) FX8320/8350 etc.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 14, 2011
Messages
356 (0.15/day)
Likes
49
System Name REAPER
Processor AMD FX-8350 x8 @ 4.64 GHz (20x232, 1.4625v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair Liquid H60. 2 front in, 1 side in, 1 rear out (H60), 1 top out.
Memory G.Skill Sniper 2x4 GB DDR3 1333 @ 1546
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7950 3GB @ 1095/1395
Storage Crucial M500 240 GB SSD and Western Digital Green 1TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Acer H223H 22.5"
Case Antec 300 Black Steel
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Corsair CX-600 Watt 80 Bronze
Mouse Corsair Sabre RGB Optical
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 2011 - 8965 15210 3dMark06 (old system)
#64
I joined a non-ranked, non-PB server earlier with 0 players in it w/ about 25 ping. I ran the game at 640x480 at all low settings and it ran smooth as butter, haha. The occasional stutter probably from my wireless connection. I'll try it out on a ranked/PB server with people in it later and see how she runs.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2009
Messages
4,014 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,832
System Name Abacus
Processor i5 2500K
Motherboard ASRock p67 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling Swiftech MCP35X, EK HF Copper, 2.120 rad, 3.120 rad
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Sniper 1600
Video Card(s) 2 Zotac GTX 770 4GB w/ FC EK Blocks
Storage WD 640BG x2/WD 250GB/Samsung 2TB
Display(s) QNIX 27" PLS
Case Corsair 700D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi XtremeGamer
Power Supply EVGA G2 750W
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB MX Brown
Software Windows 10
#65
640x480?
The horror...
 
Joined
May 14, 2011
Messages
356 (0.15/day)
Likes
49
System Name REAPER
Processor AMD FX-8350 x8 @ 4.64 GHz (20x232, 1.4625v)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair Liquid H60. 2 front in, 1 side in, 1 rear out (H60), 1 top out.
Memory G.Skill Sniper 2x4 GB DDR3 1333 @ 1546
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7950 3GB @ 1095/1395
Storage Crucial M500 240 GB SSD and Western Digital Green 1TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Acer H223H 22.5"
Case Antec 300 Black Steel
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Corsair CX-600 Watt 80 Bronze
Mouse Corsair Sabre RGB Optical
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 2011 - 8965 15210 3dMark06 (old system)
#66
Yes it's pretty terrifying. Reminds me of the good ol days... It actually can run it decently on 1280x1024 but I started getting some choppy movement and rubberbanding.

Is it just coincidence, or is rubberbanding actually able to be caused by hardware issues? I've always thought it could only be caused by network/connection problems. It seems when I was testing on the empty server I had the smoothest overall performance at absolute ground zero settings. As I steadily progressed I started to experience just a couple occasions of rubberbanding...
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#67
Yeah...though "good old days" is relative and it depends on specifics. We run higher resolutions these days for good reason.
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#68
Yes it's pretty terrifying. Reminds me of the good ol days... It actually can run it decently on 1280x1024 but I started getting some choppy movement and rubberbanding.

Is it just coincidence, or is rubberbanding actually able to be caused by hardware issues? I've always thought it could only be caused by network/connection problems. It seems when I was testing on the empty server I had the smoothest overall performance at absolute ground zero settings. As I steadily progressed I started to experience just a couple occasions of rubberbanding...
You just need to upgrade your stuff man. After that everything should be good to go.
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2011
Messages
289 (0.13/day)
Likes
23
System Name Game Raver
Processor Core i7 920 OC'd @ 4GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6T
Cooling Zalman CNPS12X
Memory Mushkin Blackline 24GB Kit@1200
Video Card(s) 2x Club 3D R9 270Xs, Royal Queen Edition
Storage 2tb Barracuda 14, 1tb Barracuda 11
Display(s) 3x VS238H-P
Case NZXT Phantom 410 /w/ Silverstone FN121P-BL fans
Audio Device(s) AudioEngine D1 DAC via Fiber, connected to an ASUS Essence STX
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Benchmark Scores UNLIMITED POWA!!!!!!
#69
I bought the game on Friday too and I have the same issue, I get occasional choppiness in my gameplay that kills my KDR so I minimized my client and whatya know. BF3 is the first game to kill 24gigs of RAM. IMPOSSIBRU!!!!!!

Hopefully this memory leak will be fixed soon.
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,129 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,697
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#70
I bought the game on Friday too and I have the same issue, I get occasional choppiness in my gameplay that kills my KDR so I minimized my client and whatya know. BF3 is the first game to kill 24gigs of RAM. IMPOSSIBRU!!!!!!

Hopefully this memory leak will be fixed soon.
What the. Might want to reinstall maybe. Dont have those issues.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#71
Yeah you kinda need like 6GB for 1080P+ certainly not 24. Something is up with your system.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.36/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#72
Ouch, I see that not even the 5000 series HD's made it in the 10%, let alone the 4000 series. How well does the 660 OC, are you aware at all?
The 4/5xxx series is not represented on that graph, that is why they are not there.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
6,841 (3.63/day)
Likes
8,990
Location
Massachusetts
Processor i7 4790
Motherboard Asrock Z97 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 16 Gb kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) Nvidia Reference GTX 970 x2
Storage C:\Samsung 850EVO 500Gb & Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic
Audio Device(s) Realtech Edition X1789,Ver2.78
Power Supply EVGA 220-G2-0650-Y1
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#73
Thanks for all the replies. I would honestly agree with the 4850 issue but I have joined one server with about 20 players so far and it ran smooth as butter. Also, I had dropped the resolution down to 1280x1024 in a laggy game before and it ran just as terribly. I am honestly convinced it is not my GPU. I can run Crysis at all mids and highs. That means I should at LEAST be able to run this game at all lows and 1280 instead of 1920... Don't you think?

I ordered 8 GB of ram vs my 4 GB and will be installing Win 7 in a couple weeks to see if that helps. I know my RAM is definitely a weak spot along with that 4850.

I will play the SP campaign to see what it runs like later today. I was so eager to play MP I just jumped right into it after the first train level to get used to the playstyle.

The reason I think it's lag over FPS choppiness is because I will be running and 5 seconds later I will show up in the same spot I was in 5 seconds ago. I can shoot someone in the back 15 times and 3 seconds later I show up dead on the ground and they are spitting on my corpse... This happens OFTEN, and a lot more than it should. I agree the other types of choppiness do seem like slow response from my system, like when I go into ironsight/scope view in a gun it can be slow or choppy.

I'll look for an upgrade for my GPU as well... We all know that costs an arm and a leg though ;)
I Agree With that , but if you WOULD like to Make an upgrade Without Spending too much you Could go with a "Not so Older" GPU.

For instance, on one of My PC's I'm running a 6950 W/ only 1Gb or Ram , and it's Currently set @ Stock Clock Setting's.

You Can pick them up @ Most eStores for a Low price, or on eBay (Not recommended by me) for a decent price Sometimes.(IF you only Can spend a little that is, or just spend the extra $150 or so and get a new 6xx, or 7xxx.)

I grabbed Mine for $180 , and it is Blazing Fast. I run BF3 ,Far Cry 3 , and MANY other @ Full Ultra , or Just Shy of it.(Minus the MXAA). The Major Downside though , is that this Will NOT be the case for TOO much longer(which I'm sure you know), but I feel that isn't a concern of yours if your still running a 4xxx.(Not that it isn't a good GPU, just Stating that because apparently you don't mind running hardware until it NEEDS to be replaced).

With that said, I posted some images of BF3 that I just Took after reading your OP. Hope this help's you make a decision that Work's out for you, both $$ wise, and Performance wise.(Even if the GPU isn't the Weak link). Although I DO agree with the earlier replies that State that it is, or is likely.

javascript:SelectAndCopy('imgurl')
I'm able to pull off the MXaa x 4 ,but I like to play above or @ no less than 50 FPS.
javascript:SelectAndCopy('imgurl')

I hope that these help your decision, Also I agree with those who mentioned switching up to either Win7-or 8 x64.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
6,841 (3.63/day)
Likes
8,990
Location
Massachusetts
Processor i7 4790
Motherboard Asrock Z97 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 16 Gb kingston Hyper X
Video Card(s) Nvidia Reference GTX 970 x2
Storage C:\Samsung 850EVO 500Gb & Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic
Audio Device(s) Realtech Edition X1789,Ver2.78
Power Supply EVGA 220-G2-0650-Y1
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#74


Sorry bout the Messed up link last post, heres another try.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#75
"Nice" perfoverlay; you want the CPU and GPU graphs synced up like that...

Mine now are too since upgrading from i7 870 (4Ghz) to a 3570 (stock as yet) with a GTX 480. CPU used to lag behind with lots of spikes.