• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Battlefield 4 MSR Largely Identical to Battlefield 3, RSR Interesting

Joined
May 29, 2012
Messages
438 (0.21/day)
Likes
148
System Name The Cube
Processor i7 - 4770K @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximum VI Hero
Cooling Corsair H110 w/ 2x Cougar Vortex 140mm Fans
Memory 32GB G.Skill Z-series @ 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) 2 x EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
Storage 1 x 256GB Samsung 840 Pro, 1 x 512GB Samsung 850 EVO & 2 x 2TB WD BLACK RAID 0
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp U3415W
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 1000W Titanium
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#26
Errrrrr, What you wanted to read. :p Still not the point I was trying to make buddy. :toast:



That's funny.. lol Even better with your name.. So now a SSD isn't any faster in performance.. You guys kill me how you jump to their defense.. hehehe

EDIT: Why would anyone need to "interpret" anything on a pc? So, they are character limited now? hehehe
Uhh..no. An SSD will not improve game performance. Unless you consider level load times as "performance." Your frame rate will not improve at all - the storage medium is meaningless when it comes to actual in-game frame rate and performance. And again, in regards to load times, some games don't even speed up when you use an SSD. It all depends on the game really.

Your edit statement about interpreting is quite nonsensical as well as I was referring to how anyone would interpret the 30GB meaning. It should be obvious what it meant. You simply interpreted it incorrectly and made a big deal out of it.
 
Joined
May 1, 2012
Messages
1,024 (0.49/day)
Likes
170
Location
New Jersey, USA
System Name Current Rig
Processor Intel i7 920 oc to 3.5ghz
Motherboard MSI x58 Platinum
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory G.Skill 6gb ddr3 1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 OC WindForce 3X GV-N670OC-2GD
Storage Samsung EVO SSD
Display(s) Viewsonic 1440x900 5ms
Case CoolMaster HAF 932
Power Supply Coolmax 950w
Software Win 7 64bit
#27
Dice, wth. Move up your squad. That minimum spec is too low. I wonder if its on par or just below ps4/xb1 specs.
 

Mindweaver

Moderato®™
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
6,606 (2.06/day)
Likes
3,925
Location
Charleston, SC
System Name Sechs / EyeSeven
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.5ghz / i7 2600k @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard X99S GAMING 7 / ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro Series H100i Extreme / Stock cooler... H50 leaked!..
Memory G.Skill DDR4 2800 16GB 4x4GB / G.Skill DDR3 1600 8gb 2x4GB
Video Card(s) PNY Quadro K2000 / MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4Gb
Storage Samsung 850 PRO 256GB SSD /Intel 240gb, corsair 120gb SSD, 3x 1 tb s storage
Display(s) 2x Acer G276HL 27" 1080p / 3x Acer 22" Nvidia surround
Case Phanteks “Enthoo Pro series”/ Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Azalia Realtek ALC1150 / SB X-Fi Gamer
Power Supply Corsair CXM CX600M / Corsair 600w
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma / Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate /
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 / Windows 10 Pro x64
#28
Jesus dude really?

When has a game every recommended just a hard drive itself. They are talking about free space on a drive to store the game. Regardless of SSD or platter drive. You will need about 30GB of space to install the game.
And again I am not talking about space or what they mean.. I understand what they mean.. I'm trying to say and clearly it's not clear enough.. Why not recommend something in detail like they do with CPU and GPU? That's it! Holly hell in a hand basket.. Why is the min the same as the recommended?.. I've owned every pc battlefield to date and I can say a faster hard drive make the battlefield experience better.. If I didn't know any better then I would very much like for the company I'm buying the game from that's already recommending a certain OS, Processor, Graphics card could go and head and say hell they make faster HD's and RAM here is what I would get... I would hope you guys would agree.. and again I know you guys know this and I would hope you know I know this, but if they are trying to help someone then don't half ass it. It's getting better even here in this PC System Requirements with them recommending a 64-bit OS, but it still can be better. Let's tell the average joe that hey we recommend an SSD to play BF4 so more people will buy them and SSD prices keep dropping because of it.. Let's help ourselves a little here.. :toast: Ok [/rant] over.. If someone still wants to rely to my post about how BIG bf4 is and 30gb is justified please PM me and I'll try to help you understand the debate in better detail. :toast: Hint - You can't win a debate when you don't understand what you are debating. :toast: hehehe
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,147 (4.50/day)
Likes
3,708
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#29
Probably because it doesnt matter as much as the cpu or GPU.
 

Mindweaver

Moderato®™
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
6,606 (2.06/day)
Likes
3,925
Location
Charleston, SC
System Name Sechs / EyeSeven
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.5ghz / i7 2600k @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard X99S GAMING 7 / ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro Series H100i Extreme / Stock cooler... H50 leaked!..
Memory G.Skill DDR4 2800 16GB 4x4GB / G.Skill DDR3 1600 8gb 2x4GB
Video Card(s) PNY Quadro K2000 / MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4Gb
Storage Samsung 850 PRO 256GB SSD /Intel 240gb, corsair 120gb SSD, 3x 1 tb s storage
Display(s) 2x Acer G276HL 27" 1080p / 3x Acer 22" Nvidia surround
Case Phanteks “Enthoo Pro series”/ Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Azalia Realtek ALC1150 / SB X-Fi Gamer
Power Supply Corsair CXM CX600M / Corsair 600w
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma / Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate /
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 / Windows 10 Pro x64
#30
Probably because it doesnt matter as much as the cpu or GPU.
So, it's like most of your posts? ;) :p :roll: So, can I have your 830 since it really doesn't matter? ;) I've got to go to lunch.. hehe thanks for the debate guys! :toast: I feel smartest talking to you all. ;)
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,908 (3.43/day)
Likes
5,425
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#31
Dice, wth. Move up your squad. That minimum spec is too low. I wonder if its on par or just below ps4/xb1 specs.
That is probably for single player, which is quite different from multiplayer.
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2012
Messages
125 (0.07/day)
Likes
48
#32
I have no idea how Mindweaver is a moderator on this forum. All he seems to want to do in this thread is poorly troll other users by being needlessly difficult and claim that it's impossible to understand what a minimum hard drive space requirement means despite the fact that I'm pretty sure nobody else in the world of PC gaming has ever been confused by a minimum hard drive requirement. Please stop your terrible YouTube-level trolling and do your job as a moderator. If you legitimately don't understand what a minimum HDD requirement means then that's one thing but your persistent need to "debate" the point shows quite clearly that you understand it fully and are purely trying to play a game of semantics to get a rise out of other users.

All you're managing to do it prove to everyone else in this thread how incompetent you are.

:toast: hehehe
 

Mindweaver

Moderato®™
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
6,606 (2.06/day)
Likes
3,925
Location
Charleston, SC
System Name Sechs / EyeSeven
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.5ghz / i7 2600k @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard X99S GAMING 7 / ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro Series H100i Extreme / Stock cooler... H50 leaked!..
Memory G.Skill DDR4 2800 16GB 4x4GB / G.Skill DDR3 1600 8gb 2x4GB
Video Card(s) PNY Quadro K2000 / MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4Gb
Storage Samsung 850 PRO 256GB SSD /Intel 240gb, corsair 120gb SSD, 3x 1 tb s storage
Display(s) 2x Acer G276HL 27" 1080p / 3x Acer 22" Nvidia surround
Case Phanteks “Enthoo Pro series”/ Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Azalia Realtek ALC1150 / SB X-Fi Gamer
Power Supply Corsair CXM CX600M / Corsair 600w
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma / Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate /
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 / Windows 10 Pro x64
#33
I have no idea how Mindweaver is a moderator on this forum. All he seems to want to do in this thread is poorly troll other users by being needlessly difficult and claim that it's impossible to understand what a minimum hard drive space requirement means despite the fact that I'm pretty sure nobody else in the world of PC gaming has ever been confused by a minimum hard drive requirement. Please stop your terrible YouTube-level trolling and do your job as a moderator. If you legitimately don't understand what a minimum HDD requirement means then that's one thing but your persistent need to "debate" the point shows quite clearly that you understand it fully and are purely trying to play a game of semantics to get a rise out of other users.

All you're managing to do it prove to everyone else in this thread how incompetent you are.

:toast: hehehe
Really? I'm trolling by asking for better recommendations? OK?.. and the part about me not understanding what a minimum HDD requirement means is so far off base.. I am talking about the recommended specs not the minimum.. but I'm the incompetent one? I have nothing further to add to this thread, but if you still persist to bash me I'll show you some of my moderator skills. :toast: Thanks hehehe
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,908 (3.43/day)
Likes
5,425
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#34
Mods are people too.™
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,379 (3.15/day)
Likes
2,101
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#35
Can't believe everyone knows what is actually going on and yet no one wants to admit they know what is going on :rolleyes:
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,915 (0.65/day)
Likes
660
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor FX-8320@ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A-UD3
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair 1600 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty / 5.1 Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Silverstone DA750
Software Win10 pro 64bit
#36
same as BF3 because its the same damn game hence why im not buying
They had a chance with BF3 then they went all COD where they have to pump out a minimally viable product every year

2143 or GTFO
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,713 (3.98/day)
Likes
6,418
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#37
Errrrrr, What you wanted to read. :p Still not the point I was trying to make buddy. :toast:
What point was that? The fact that you are splitting hairs over how this was written? "Reading what you wanted to read" if you will...? :slap: :laugh: :D

Love and Kisses... :p
 

Mindweaver

Moderato®™
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
6,606 (2.06/day)
Likes
3,925
Location
Charleston, SC
System Name Sechs / EyeSeven
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.5ghz / i7 2600k @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard X99S GAMING 7 / ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro Series H100i Extreme / Stock cooler... H50 leaked!..
Memory G.Skill DDR4 2800 16GB 4x4GB / G.Skill DDR3 1600 8gb 2x4GB
Video Card(s) PNY Quadro K2000 / MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4Gb
Storage Samsung 850 PRO 256GB SSD /Intel 240gb, corsair 120gb SSD, 3x 1 tb s storage
Display(s) 2x Acer G276HL 27" 1080p / 3x Acer 22" Nvidia surround
Case Phanteks “Enthoo Pro series”/ Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Azalia Realtek ALC1150 / SB X-Fi Gamer
Power Supply Corsair CXM CX600M / Corsair 600w
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma / Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate /
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 / Windows 10 Pro x64
#38
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,713 (3.98/day)
Likes
6,418
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#39
Wisdom.... nice. Are you in marketing?
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2010
Messages
822 (0.30/day)
Likes
581
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K @ 4.6Ghz
Motherboard MSI P67S-C43 LGA1155
Cooling DeepCool Gamer Storm w/2 Scythe GTs
Memory 4x8GB GSkill DDR3 1866Mhz CL10
Video Card(s) ASUS GeForce 1070 STRIX
Storage Patroit Blast 480GB & Seagate 750GB
Display(s) 23" Acer 1080p LCD Monitor
Case Coolermaster CM690 II
Audio Device(s) OEM X-Fi Xtreme Gamer PCI
Power Supply Seasonic S12II-620 Bronze
Mouse Logitech G300S
Keyboard Mad Catz Cyborg V.7
#40
wow, this thread went to shit. Back on topic, someone want to tell me what this "platform update" is? It's nice to see the wide range of system requirements, many people can play the game but people with beast machines will not be left out :)
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2012
Messages
125 (0.07/day)
Likes
48
#41
wow, this thread went to shit. Back on topic, someone want to tell me what this "platform update" is? It's nice to see the wide range of system requirements, many people can play the game but people with beast machines will not be left out :)
It's the DirectX11 update for Windows Vista. Not sure why it's needed since the listed minimum cards are the Radeon HD 3870 and GeForce 8800 GT, which are both DX10 cards.
 

manofthem

WCG-TPU Team All-Star!
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
10,728 (4.18/day)
Likes
26,195
Location
Florida
System Name bBox | tOffice | mDonk
Processor i7 4770k @4.3 | i7 2600k @3.5 | i7 4790 @3.8
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 | MSI Z68 GD55 | MSI H97M G43
Cooling Water | Reeven Justice RC-1204 | can't remember
Memory G Skill TridentX 8GB 2400 | Patriot Viper 3 8GB 1600 | G Skill Ripjaws 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) 2x R9 290's | 980 SC ACX2.0 | n/a
Storage 850 Evo 250GB & 2TB Desktar 5K3000 | 830 256GB & 1.5TB & 3TB Barracudas| 830 256GB
Display(s) QNIX WX2710 (96Hz OC) & Shimian Achieva QH270-Lite | Acer 27HL | n/a
Case 900D | Fractal Define S | n/a
Audio Device(s) Siberia v2 | onboard | n/a
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 | XFX 550Pro | SeaSonic 660XP2
Mouse Razer Mamba 2012 | Corsair M95 | n/a
Keyboard Das Keyboard Pro 4 (blues) | Cougar Attack X3 (blues) | n/a
Software Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64 | Win 10 Pro x64
#42
I have no idea how Mindweaver is a moderator on this forum.
I do: he's a great forum member (has been for years), very friendly and non-abrasive, helpful, knowledgeable in the pc/tech and programming world, a great member of the WCG team, dedicated to TPU and its community, appreciative, has a great attitude, and is an all around stand up guy :toast:

I know you don't need my support Mindweaver but I felt inclined :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 8, 2008
Messages
2,313 (0.64/day)
Likes
715
Location
Switzerland
System Name Keep spending on me
Processor i7 4790K ( 4.4 Ghz stock )
Motherboard Maximus VII Impact z97
Cooling Corsair H90 140mm AIO
Memory 16 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3 1866 Mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1050Ti Strix
Storage M.2 Samsung NVMe 960 Pro 512 GB
Display(s) Asus PG258Q 1080p 240Hz G-sync
Case Cooler Master Mastercase 3
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX II Impact
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma
Software Win 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Gaming at high performance is my priority
#43
you guys not mention that the game with china rising DLC costs around 67 dollars plus if and ALOT people be sure will buy PREMIUM upgrade season pass wich costs 49 dollars.


100+ dollars tag price for the game c mon guys ?

This is madness !!
 

MxPhenom 216

Corsair Fanboy
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,147 (4.50/day)
Likes
3,708
Location
Seattle, WA
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 4770k @ 4.2GHZ 1.275v
Motherboard MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360
Memory G. Skill Trident X 16Gb (4x4GB) 2400mhz @ 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSi GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB @ 2GHz
Storage Samsung 830 128GB SSD, Crucial MX200 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 2TB (2x 1TB Partitions)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 27" 2560 x 1440 PLS @ 100hz
Case Phantek Enthoo Evolv ATX TG
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1150 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Platinum 850
Mouse Steelseries Rival 310 w/ QCK Mass mat
Keyboard Corsair K70 w/ MX Browns and Red Backlit
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 15439
#44
So, it's like most of your posts? ;) :p :roll: So, can I have your 830 since it really doesn't matter? ;) I've got to go to lunch.. hehe thanks for the debate guys! :toast: I feel smartest talking to you all. ;)
No, because I use the 830 for something that will actually make a difference for the system all around, the OS. 30GB on an SSD is also 30GB on a platter drive. Its the speed that makes the different between the two.

They are telling you to expect to need 30GB for the install initially, and that you can chose what storage solution you want to use for the game. Fact of the matter is, that the game will only load faster, wont do anything else once the game is actually loaded. And even then, like BF3 you will just load into the game and have to wait longer for the beginning of match timer to go down.

The fact that you are bent out of shape about the damn storage requirement is pretty ridiculous, then you have to go troll and disrespect others for having opinions that differ then yours. Once I know how much space ill need for the game, I chose where I want to install it, and then from there I could careless about it, and worry more about how my CPU, RAM, and GPU are handling it.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,465 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,130
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#45
Gosh, seems like a lot of folks are getting "bent out of shape" due to the HDD amount and how people are perceiving it. Pretty darn ridiculous.

 

Shaitan

New Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2012
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#46
Uhh..no. An SSD will not improve game performance. Unless you consider level load times as "performance." Your frame rate will not improve at all - the storage medium is meaningless when it comes to actual in-game frame rate and performance. And again, in regards to load times, some games don't even speed up when you use an SSD. It all depends on the game really.

Your edit statement about interpreting is quite nonsensical as well as I was referring to how anyone would interpret the 30GB meaning. It should be obvious what it meant. You simply interpreted it incorrectly and made a big deal out of it.
You are absolutely wrong. I had BF3 installed on a mechanical drive and I saw micro stutters. I switched to an SSD and it was much better with NO micro stutters. I only game on SSDs after seeing that! (also my rig has 8gb RAM, GTX 670, Intel 3570k, etc)
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,713 (3.98/day)
Likes
6,418
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#47
Performance as in frames per second. If you were seeing micro stutters with a HDD, then chances are something was up in your system. In my review PC, I have BF3 installed on a HDD with no stuttering. Takes a lot longer to load, but... there isnt any stuttering (WD Caviar Black, note).
 
Joined
May 29, 2012
Messages
438 (0.21/day)
Likes
148
System Name The Cube
Processor i7 - 4770K @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximum VI Hero
Cooling Corsair H110 w/ 2x Cougar Vortex 140mm Fans
Memory 32GB G.Skill Z-series @ 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) 2 x EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
Storage 1 x 256GB Samsung 840 Pro, 1 x 512GB Samsung 850 EVO & 2 x 2TB WD BLACK RAID 0
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp U3415W
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 1000W Titanium
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#48
You are absolutely wrong. I had BF3 installed on a mechanical drive and I saw micro stutters. I switched to an SSD and it was much better with NO micro stutters. I only game on SSDs after seeing that! (also my rig has 8gb RAM, GTX 670, Intel 3570k, etc)
You drive has jack and all to do with micro stuttering. Once the level is loaded it's located in your system RAM and your vRAM. That's why your storage medium makes exactly no difference in the running performance of your game. All it affects is load times - if that. If you don't have enough system RAM and/or vRAM for the game/level, than you run into the issue of swap. But that still doesn't affect your frame rates in any way what-so-ever. That more has to do with slowing down load times and texture pop-ins.
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,379 (3.15/day)
Likes
2,101
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#49
You drive has jack and all to do with micro stuttering. Once the level is loaded it's located in your system RAM and your vRAM. That's why your storage medium makes exactly no difference in the running performance of your game. All it affects is load times - if that. If you don't have enough system RAM and/or vRAM for the game/level, than you run into the issue of swap. But that still doesn't affect your frame rates in any way what-so-ever. That more has to do with slowing down load times and texture pop-ins.
Probably not enough RAM, so PC hijacks some of the HDD space for "extra" RAM.
 
Joined
May 29, 2012
Messages
438 (0.21/day)
Likes
148
System Name The Cube
Processor i7 - 4770K @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS Maximum VI Hero
Cooling Corsair H110 w/ 2x Cougar Vortex 140mm Fans
Memory 32GB G.Skill Z-series @ 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) 2 x EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
Storage 1 x 256GB Samsung 840 Pro, 1 x 512GB Samsung 850 EVO & 2 x 2TB WD BLACK RAID 0
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp U3415W
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 1000W Titanium
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#50
Yeah, the swap file. Although, I think that's the Linux term that I'm using. In Windows it's called the Page file. Same purpose though.