• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Battlefield Bad Company 2 Clubhouse

Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,402 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,926
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
Processor bottleneck perhaps? My 480 is at 99% utilization in BC2
Its not a CPU bottleneck. Like I said I never hit that with a single 5850. Even if he has a bottleneck he should be getting FPS well beyond what I am getting.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,402 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,926
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
Maybe he went overboard with the AA setting? :D
I set mine to only 2x due to AA being completely F#$king broken in that game. I noticed things are even LESS smooth if you go above 2x believe it or not.
 

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,412 (3.16/day)
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
An x6 won't be bottlenecking on BC2, even on stock clocks my 1055t was running my dual 5850's to 99%, unlike my previous 720BE.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,402 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,926
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
An x6 won't be bottlenecking on BC2, even on stock clocks my 1055t was running my dual 5850's to 99%, unlike my previous 720BE.
I agree. I think its more of a driver issue or even a wonky setting he has.

@Horrux how do you install and update your drivers man?
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2007
Messages
3,318 (0.91/day)
Likes
407
Location
Idaho
System Name War Machine
Processor Phenom II x 6 1090T @ 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H AM3
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) Asus Strix RX 470 8 GB
Storage Corsair F180 SSD 180GB-WD 1 TB Caviar Black
Display(s) 3 / 24" Dell or 1080p Projector
Case Coolermaster Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD: 5.1 Technics DD / Plantronic Gamecom 7.1 headset
Power Supply Ultra LSP750 750-Watt
Mouse Utech Smart
Keyboard Steel Series
Software Windows 10 64-bit
I am not a very good pilot, but that's because I spend very little time in the helicopters (and lack of native gamepad support makes me sad). But I am always up for flying, if you wanna give it a go. lol.
Sorry about last night , both my sons showed up and took out to the clubs. They do have a a program to set up a 360 controller on the PC.
I did it for awhile, but I suck as bad with it as keyboard and mouse.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2011
Messages
739 (0.31/day)
Likes
125
System Name An experiment in continuous upgrading
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.2 Ghz | Phenom II X4 965 | Phenom II X4 965
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD53 | MSI 990FXA-GD80 | Asus M4A79 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 | Zalman CNPS10x | Coolermaster*212+
Memory Kingston KHX1866C9D3K2 |*8Gb | 8Gb
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 580 TF2 x 2 (SLI) | Sapphire Radeon 7970 + GTX 460 | Radeon 4870 1Gb
Storage Crucial M4 120gb Sata3 SSD + WD Caviar black 1Tb + 1.5Tb | WD Caviar Black 1Tb x 3 | WD Blue 500gb
Display(s) Samsung S23A700D 120hz + nVidia 3D Vision + 17" Acer secondary LCD | 40" Sony 1080p TV | Sam. 2233rz
Case Antec 1200 | Lian-Li PC-8 | Antec 302
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude X-Fi + Senn. PC360 G4ME | Prelude X-Fi + Home theater | Creative HS-1200
Power Supply Corsair TX850W | Corsair TX 750 | OCZ 700
Software About 400 top-rated games. | 150 top-rated games | No games
Benchmark Scores No time for benching, I prefer gaming.
I agree. I think its more of a driver issue or even a wonky setting he has.

@Horrux how do you install and update your drivers man?
Hm, hard to say...

I restored a backup from a few months back due to having problems with the tweak to enable SLI on my crossfire mobo screwing up my windows partition. Then I installed the newer drivers, but I don't recall if the backup was from back when I had my Radeons or my single GTX 570... I guess I should check?

Thing is, I don't even get any turbo core thing when running a single-threaded game like The Witcher, so I'm thinking my CPU isn't fully functional... Is it possible I'm still using only 4 cores?

And also, I have seen how an Intel 980X makes 2 GTX 580s in SLI the bottleneck, but I figure my X6 would either be going 100% the whole way or my 570s would be way high utilization, but none of either is happening...

As for the "going too high on FSAA" thing, sure, I can see it, but I'd think my GPU utilization would get real high, no? Many times it's in the 40s...

Maybe I should fire up crysis and see if my GPU utilization goes way up?
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,402 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,926
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
Hm, hard to say...

I restored a backup from a few months back due to having problems with the tweak to enable SLI on my crossfire mobo screwing up my windows partition. Then I installed the newer drivers, but I don't recall if the backup was from back when I had my Radeons or my single GTX 570... I guess I should check?

Thing is, I don't even get any turbo core thing when running a single-threaded game like The Witcher, so I'm thinking my CPU isn't fully functional... Is it possible I'm still using only 4 cores?

And also, I have seen how an Intel 980X makes 2 GTX 580s in SLI the bottleneck, but I figure my X6 would either be going 100% the whole way or my 570s would be way high utilization, but none of either is happening...

As for the "going too high on FSAA" thing, sure, I can see it, but I'd think my GPU utilization would get real high, no? Many times it's in the 40s...

Maybe I should fire up crysis and see if my GPU utilization goes way up?
Ok I am willing to bet money you have a driver issue now. You should be getting damn near 100fps with that setup.

Follow these directions..

http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=52502
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2007
Messages
640 (0.17/day)
Likes
286
Processor Intel i5 3550
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro4-M
Cooling Thermaltake Performer 2.0 AIO Liquid Cooler
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960
Storage Corsair Neutron 256gb Boot drive, ~7tb storage combined on other drives
Display(s) AOC 27" 1920x1080 IPS and Wacom Cintiq 13" HD
Case Fractal Design Node 804
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD audio, Pyle Pro PTA2 Amp, Sony SS-B3000 Speakers, Sennheiser HD595 headphones
Power Supply Antec 750W "High Current Gamer"
Mouse SteelSeries Diablo 3
Keyboard Rosewill Mechanical with cherry black keys
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Sorry about last night , both my sons showed up and took out to the clubs. They do have a a program to set up a 360 controller on the PC.
I did it for awhile, but I suck as bad with it as keyboard and mouse.
Hehe no worries. I enjoy playing battlefield either way. I'll look into and experiment with something to map keys to my 360 controller. I can fly the Blackhawk okay, just not the gunship.
Oh and I also sent a friend invite, since I didn't see you on my list.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,130 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,566
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
Most of the time though my CPU utilization is in the upper 60's and my GPU utilization is in the 50% - 60% range. Isn't that an indication of something wrong?

I run two MSI GTX 570 oc in SLI...
yeah, its an indication that the game is a CPU whore.
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,742 (2.74/day)
Likes
3,636
Location
04578
System Name Black Box
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Cooling Swiftech H2O 220X@ Prestige
Memory Avexir 2133 4x4GB (16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming
Storage 1TB + 512GB SSD + 5 TB Storage
Display(s) Dell U2412M + Samsung TA350
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Zalman ZM1000-EBT
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard CM Quickfire TK
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Played with a terrible team everyone was a god damn sniper, seems like i had to go into rambo mode like Kurgan something i dont normally do.



 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,395 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,034
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
Hm, hard to say...

I restored a backup from a few months back due to having problems with the tweak to enable SLI on my crossfire mobo screwing up my windows partition. Then I installed the newer drivers, but I don't recall if the backup was from back when I had my Radeons or my single GTX 570... I guess I should check?

Thing is, I don't even get any turbo core thing when running a single-threaded game like The Witcher, so I'm thinking my CPU isn't fully functional... Is it possible I'm still using only 4 cores?

And also, I have seen how an Intel 980X makes 2 GTX 580s in SLI the bottleneck, but I figure my X6 would either be going 100% the whole way or my 570s would be way high utilization, but none of either is happening...

As for the "going too high on FSAA" thing, sure, I can see it, but I'd think my GPU utilization would get real high, no? Many times it's in the 40s...

Maybe I should fire up crysis and see if my GPU utilization goes way up?
What you should do is overclock your CPU to at least 3.8ghz and your CPU/NB frequency to at least 2800mhz. If that doesn't yeild in better results you're haveing VGA driver problems.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2011
Messages
739 (0.31/day)
Likes
125
System Name An experiment in continuous upgrading
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.2 Ghz | Phenom II X4 965 | Phenom II X4 965
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD53 | MSI 990FXA-GD80 | Asus M4A79 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 | Zalman CNPS10x | Coolermaster*212+
Memory Kingston KHX1866C9D3K2 |*8Gb | 8Gb
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 580 TF2 x 2 (SLI) | Sapphire Radeon 7970 + GTX 460 | Radeon 4870 1Gb
Storage Crucial M4 120gb Sata3 SSD + WD Caviar black 1Tb + 1.5Tb | WD Caviar Black 1Tb x 3 | WD Blue 500gb
Display(s) Samsung S23A700D 120hz + nVidia 3D Vision + 17" Acer secondary LCD | 40" Sony 1080p TV | Sam. 2233rz
Case Antec 1200 | Lian-Li PC-8 | Antec 302
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude X-Fi + Senn. PC360 G4ME | Prelude X-Fi + Home theater | Creative HS-1200
Power Supply Corsair TX850W | Corsair TX 750 | OCZ 700
Software About 400 top-rated games. | 150 top-rated games | No games
Benchmark Scores No time for benching, I prefer gaming.
yeah, its an indication that the game is a CPU whore.
Really? What about the fact I'm seeing about 60% CPU utilization... If it were that much a CPU whore, I'd be at 95% and up, no?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,130 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,566
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
Really? What about the fact I'm seeing about 60% CPU utilization... If it were that much a CPU whore, I'd be at 95% and up, no?
no. you should read up on how multi threading works, and how task manager reports CPU usage.
 
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,262 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,451
Location
Marietta, GA USA
System Name ODIN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 3.9 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASRock TaiChi X370
Cooling Cryorig Universal R1
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX @ 2933 MHz 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) Nvidia EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC 8 GB
Storage WD M.2 1TB SSD :: 4 TB RAID 1 Array of 2 drives
Display(s) Dell S2716DG 27" 144 Hz G-SYNC
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply Antec HCP 850 80+ Gold
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores I don't benchmark.
Really? What about the fact I'm seeing about 60% CPU utilization... If it were that much a CPU whore, I'd be at 95% and up, no?
95% would make it CPU intensive and real world application outside of a few applications that are design to use every drop of power it can find (folding, rendering). 60% of your total power for a single program is hording or whoring or whatever you want to call it. As 99% of real world apps. will be limited to just what they need to get the work done. A good example is DVD encoding. You would think it would use all the power it can to finish as quickly as possible, but in reality it will only show 60 to 70% load while running.

I could be wrong, but the key different between these classes of applications is something like folding is a single calculation set to run as fast as possible. While encoding a DVD, scanning your computer, etc. are a series of millions of small calculations/algorythms. The CPU will queue it up and begin work. By the time it hits 70% use, its done and moving on to the next set. <- Take that with a grain of salt as I am rusty on those semantics and not sure if that is right.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,130 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,566
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
eh, i figured it was more common knowledge.


you're talking a 6 core - 16% in task manager, is one core maxed out (on however many threads.)

so you can see ~67% usage and think 'i got heaps of room spare!' but what that really means is that four of your cores are maxed out and holding you back - and you need to get a faster CPU, or overclock to get more performance. games just dont magically spread the load evenly, so using an average CPU % number doesnt cut it.
 
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,262 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,451
Location
Marietta, GA USA
System Name ODIN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 3.9 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASRock TaiChi X370
Cooling Cryorig Universal R1
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX @ 2933 MHz 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) Nvidia EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC 8 GB
Storage WD M.2 1TB SSD :: 4 TB RAID 1 Array of 2 drives
Display(s) Dell S2716DG 27" 144 Hz G-SYNC
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply Antec HCP 850 80+ Gold
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores I don't benchmark.
eh, i figured it was more common knowledge.


you're talking a 6 core - 16% in task manager, is one core maxed out (on however many threads.)

so you can see ~67% usage and think 'i got heaps of room spare!' but what that really means is that four of your cores are maxed out and holding you back - and you need to get a faster CPU, or overclock to get more performance. games just dont magically spread the load evenly, so using an average CPU % number doesnt cut it.
Are we talking about the Process list tab? You can't base load on that tab because they numbers are total process load. That single number on the Process tab means nothing as it could be 1 or 2 cores at 100% or all being used evenly. It tells you nothing. So for me, when I am encoding a DVD or something and I say 60% load I mean across every core.

Games are not as dynamic, I will give you that, but they do try to even the load out as much as they can. I have seen Bad Company 2 run 100% on 1 core, 30% on 2 others, and less than 10% in the last. The issue is I can't tell if that was all the game or what else was contributing to that load. And on that note I have seen Bad Company 2 run with 40 to 60% load across 3 cores as well.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2011
Messages
739 (0.31/day)
Likes
125
System Name An experiment in continuous upgrading
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.2 Ghz | Phenom II X4 965 | Phenom II X4 965
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD53 | MSI 990FXA-GD80 | Asus M4A79 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 | Zalman CNPS10x | Coolermaster*212+
Memory Kingston KHX1866C9D3K2 |*8Gb | 8Gb
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 580 TF2 x 2 (SLI) | Sapphire Radeon 7970 + GTX 460 | Radeon 4870 1Gb
Storage Crucial M4 120gb Sata3 SSD + WD Caviar black 1Tb + 1.5Tb | WD Caviar Black 1Tb x 3 | WD Blue 500gb
Display(s) Samsung S23A700D 120hz + nVidia 3D Vision + 17" Acer secondary LCD | 40" Sony 1080p TV | Sam. 2233rz
Case Antec 1200 | Lian-Li PC-8 | Antec 302
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude X-Fi + Senn. PC360 G4ME | Prelude X-Fi + Home theater | Creative HS-1200
Power Supply Corsair TX850W | Corsair TX 750 | OCZ 700
Software About 400 top-rated games. | 150 top-rated games | No games
Benchmark Scores No time for benching, I prefer gaming.
eh, i figured it was more common knowledge.


you're talking a 6 core - 16% in task manager, is one core maxed out (on however many threads.)

so you can see ~67% usage and think 'i got heaps of room spare!' but what that really means is that four of your cores are maxed out and holding you back - and you need to get a faster CPU, or overclock to get more performance. games just dont magically spread the load evenly, so using an average CPU % number doesnt cut it.
However, I believe BFBC2 has been shown to use 12 threads on an intel hexa-core, and to fully utilize the 6 real cores... I think my CPU is still somehow behaving like a quad, especially given that turbo-core isn't working...
 
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,262 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,451
Location
Marietta, GA USA
System Name ODIN
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 3.9 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASRock TaiChi X370
Cooling Cryorig Universal R1
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX @ 2933 MHz 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) Nvidia EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC 8 GB
Storage WD M.2 1TB SSD :: 4 TB RAID 1 Array of 2 drives
Display(s) Dell S2716DG 27" 144 Hz G-SYNC
Case NZXT H630
Audio Device(s) Onboard Audio
Power Supply Antec HCP 850 80+ Gold
Mouse Corsair M65
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores I don't benchmark.
However, I believe BFBC2 has been shown to use 12 threads on an intel hexa-core, and to fully utilize the 6 real cores... I think my CPU is still somehow behaving like a quad, especially given that turbo-core isn't working...
The chip is fine. Turbo on AMD is based on assumed required processing power and temperature. Open up your BIOS and see if A. Turbo is Enabled, B. Double check how many cores are boosted, and C. How far it will go.

By default my test rig was set to boost 3 cores up to 3.5 Ghz under heavy load. I had the options to boost then entire chip up to 3.7 Ghz, but didn't want to try that with a stock cooler. Once I get a case that is no so cramped, I will see what that chip can actually do.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2011
Messages
739 (0.31/day)
Likes
125
System Name An experiment in continuous upgrading
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.2 Ghz | Phenom II X4 965 | Phenom II X4 965
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD53 | MSI 990FXA-GD80 | Asus M4A79 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 | Zalman CNPS10x | Coolermaster*212+
Memory Kingston KHX1866C9D3K2 |*8Gb | 8Gb
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 580 TF2 x 2 (SLI) | Sapphire Radeon 7970 + GTX 460 | Radeon 4870 1Gb
Storage Crucial M4 120gb Sata3 SSD + WD Caviar black 1Tb + 1.5Tb | WD Caviar Black 1Tb x 3 | WD Blue 500gb
Display(s) Samsung S23A700D 120hz + nVidia 3D Vision + 17" Acer secondary LCD | 40" Sony 1080p TV | Sam. 2233rz
Case Antec 1200 | Lian-Li PC-8 | Antec 302
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude X-Fi + Senn. PC360 G4ME | Prelude X-Fi + Home theater | Creative HS-1200
Power Supply Corsair TX850W | Corsair TX 750 | OCZ 700
Software About 400 top-rated games. | 150 top-rated games | No games
Benchmark Scores No time for benching, I prefer gaming.
The chip is fine. Turbo on AMD is based on assumed required processing power and temperature. Open up your BIOS and see if A. Turbo is Enabled, B. Double check how many cores are boosted, and C. How far it will go.

By default my test rig was set to boost 3 cores up to 3.5 Ghz under heavy load. I had the options to boost then entire chip up to 3.7 Ghz, but didn't want to try that with a stock cooler. Once I get a case that is no so cramped, I will see what that chip can actually do.
Of course the chip is fine, I'm just wondering if all the cores are getting used properly.

I was running The Witcher the other day which is a demanding single-core game and no core was boosted.

BTW the highest I have been able to bring this chip is 35°C at stock settings using my magnificent Noctua NH-D14... I have high hopes for a great overclock on this thing, except that I think I'll be getting me a RevoDrive first, because rebooting and waiting 10 minutes (which is about what it takes in my case) is just completely nuts. Hm, come to think of it, I could install just Windoze on another partition and try that...
 

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,412 (3.16/day)
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
By default my test rig was set to boost 3 cores up to 3.5 Ghz under heavy load. I had the options to boost then entire chip up to 3.7 Ghz, but didn't want to try that with a stock cooler. Once I get a case that is no so cramped, I will see what that chip can actually do.
I had my 1055 running at 3.9ghz on the stock cooler for well over a month 24/7. Granted I wasn't using a case at the time, I now just run it at 3.6, these 6 cores clock real easy, I would put it on par with my AII 240.
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2007
Messages
3,318 (0.91/day)
Likes
407
Location
Idaho
System Name War Machine
Processor Phenom II x 6 1090T @ 3.6
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H AM3
Cooling Thermaltake Frio
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) Asus Strix RX 470 8 GB
Storage Corsair F180 SSD 180GB-WD 1 TB Caviar Black
Display(s) 3 / 24" Dell or 1080p Projector
Case Coolermaster Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD: 5.1 Technics DD / Plantronic Gamecom 7.1 headset
Power Supply Ultra LSP750 750-Watt
Mouse Utech Smart
Keyboard Steel Series
Software Windows 10 64-bit
Darth Vader

I always wondered why Vader had that horrible breathing problem.
Highways Avatar shows why. After all these years :roll:
 

1Kurgan1

The Knife in your Back
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
10,412 (3.16/day)
Likes
2,391
Location
Duluth, Minnesota
System Name My Comp | Fiancees Comp
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.6Ghz 1.285v| i5 2500k
Motherboard MSI x99 SLI Plus | AsRock Z77 Pro 3
Cooling Watercooled
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400 @ 2666 | 12GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290x | MSI 5850 OC
Storage 128gb SSD + 2x 2TB | 2TB
Display(s) Asus 27" LCD | 25" Hanns G
Case CM Storm | CM Elite 430
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D PCIe
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy 1250W | Rosewill 630w
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G100s
Keyboard Logitech G901 | Logitech G105
Software Win 8.1 Ultimate x64 | Win 8.1 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark - Fire Strike Extreme - 4403
Anyone up for some BC2 tonight?
 

crazyeyesreaper

Chief Broken Rig
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
8,742 (2.74/day)
Likes
3,636
Location
04578
System Name Black Box
Processor 4770K @ Stock
Motherboard MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Cooling Swiftech H2O 220X@ Prestige
Memory Avexir 2133 4x4GB (16GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming
Storage 1TB + 512GB SSD + 5 TB Storage
Display(s) Dell U2412M + Samsung TA350
Case Phanteks Enthoo Luxe
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Zalman ZM1000-EBT
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard CM Quickfire TK
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
maybe me, not sure yet.
 

Nimmer

New Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2010
Messages
39 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
Location
South Florida
System Name N1m
Processor 920@ 4.2
Motherboard EVGA X58
Cooling DOMINO w/ 2 typhoon push/pull
Memory 12g DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 5870 x2 (XFire)
Storage 128 SSD Corsair Extreme (os/ Games) WD Cav 1tb x2 (Raid 0)
Display(s) DELL 3008 WFP , DELL 2408 WFP
Case OBSIDIAN
Audio Device(s) XFI TITANIUM
Power Supply HX1000
Software WIN 7 ULT 64
Benchmark Scores Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Format (with all drivers auto installed) - 8 Minutes Power on to Windows Welc