1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Blank screen!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Myles_Stevenson, Apr 3, 2009.

  1. Myles_Stevenson New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Hey guys, this is my first thread and i was hoping to get some help.

    I'm currently building a new box and ive run into some trouble.
    I thought the build was clean but when i turned the box on i got nothing on the monitor.
    The CPU fan didn't start up either, i checked it was connected and it looks fine.
    Also there are 6 lights on the mobo that come on...but no beep?

    Just incase you need the specs, here they are:
    mobo - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3
    cpu - E7400
    ram - Kingston hyperX 1066mhz 2x2gb
    gpu - Gigabyte 4670 512mb
    psu - Thermaltake 430 watt
    plus a hdd and a dvd drive

    Any ideas on what the problem could be?
    All help would be greatly appreciated!
    Thanks :)
     
  2. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    Did any of the fans start up? Or you press the button and nothing at all?
     
  3. Myles_Stevenson New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Yeah the psu and case fans started...just not the cpu fan :S
     
  4. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    try one stick of ram

    also make sure the power supple is plugged in all the way on the motherboard.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Myles_Stevenson New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Well the power supply is plugged in all the way.
    As for the ram, i don't really wanna turn it on again until i think i might have got the cpu fan working

    Also just incase anybody was wondering, i checked both the ram and the video card in my current system and both work.
     
  6. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    It can run a bit without the fan running. It takes a bit before the heatsink heats up to the frying point.

    Try plugging the CPU fan into the other fan plug if you can. Don't worry if your missing a pin

    Now make sure that the cmos is on and not reset.

    I'm thinking the CPU or the motherboard most likely is DOA.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)