• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can I squeeze more out of 2x F4-3600C14D-16GVKA kits?

SkyStreaker

New Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2021
Messages
17 (0.89/day)
Gigabyte x570 UD rev 1.0 (Bios: F36e)
Ryzen 5800X
2x F4-3600C14D-16GVKA (Samsung B-die)
XFX Speedster QICK 308 6600 XT
be quiet! Pure Power 11 600W
be quiet! Pure Loop 240mm (push)
Corsair Scythe Kaze Flex 120mm PWM (1x pull back, 2x push front)
Fractal Meshify C

So, I hear good news about G.Skill (and my previous 3000's I could OC up to 3266 on standard profile, stable). Here's me wondering if I can get gain out of OC'ing the four sticks. Mind that my knowledge of this is marginal at best, and with a x570 chipset I can tune the living daylights out of everything of course.
Some research I could fathom is an OC to 4000 with some "roomier" timings and a slightly higher voltage would do. Ran a full memtest86 at "profile 1" speeds on defaulted BIOS had no problems, just FYI.
 

tabascosauz

Moderator
Supporter
Staff member
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
3,562 (1.52/day)
Location
Western Canada
Processor 5900X
Motherboard ROG X570 C8I (3601)
Memory 2x16GB 3800 15-15-15 1.42V
Video Card(s) RTX 2060 Super FE (2010MHz @ 0.987V)
Case Cerberus
  • If you run just one of the kits, 4000 16-16-16 should be easily doable barring unforeseen complications from it being a low end board.
  • If you run both kits (4x8GB), even booting 4000 might be a little optimistic as it is 2 ranks per channel just as 2x16GB Bdie is. The X570 UD is an average 4-layer 4DIMM board, and your average 4-layer board tops out somewhere between 3733-3866 on 2 ranks per channel. Generally would not count on even 1:1 3866 for 2x16 and 4x8 kits on 4-layer boards.
And even if you had a 6-layer board on which dual rank 4000 is not an issue, your 5800X needs to feel up to the task of 2000MHz IF stable and without WHEA errors. 5600X and 5800X have a much better chance at 4000 error-free than 5900X/5950X, but it's far from a guarantee.

If all goes well, 3800CL15 is plenty fast and should be relatively easy for a 3600CL14 kit, probably in the range of 1.4-1.5V. For 3800CL14, you're looking at 1.5-1.55V, and with 4 DIMMs that's going to be nigh-impossible to cool in RAM testing and games without setting up a small fan dedicated to blowing at the RAM, and still challenging with a fan.
 

Maenad

S.T.A.R.S.
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
6,579 (2.01/day)
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
System Name Mah buddy
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @ PBO +200
Motherboard Gigabyte B550M Aorus Elite
Cooling Modified Alphacool Eisbaer 240
Memory 32GB HyperX Fury DDR4-3200 @ 3466 16-18-18-36-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Gaming OC Black @ +100/625
Storage 256GB SSD + 3x 480GB SSD + 2TB USB HDD
Display(s) Viewsonic VA2465S (24" 1080p VA) + Dell P2412H (24" 1080p TN)
Case Fractal Design Define Mini C
Audio Device(s) Onboard audio, Superlux HD668B
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech MX518 Legendary
Keyboard Dell Multimedia Pro
VR HMD Oculus Rift CV1
Software Windows 11 Pro English
Hard to say. When I started OC'ing my HyperX 3200s, I went with a 33MHz bump and ran TestMem5 for several hours. I ended with 3466MHz at 1.38 Volts.

Try for yourself? We're here to help you :)
 

SkyStreaker

New Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2021
Messages
17 (0.89/day)
If it's a case of WHEA errors, then I think I'm already a bit in trouble. Got cache hierarchy errors when system goes in standby. Despite memtest86 results with 0 errors.
 

tabascosauz

Moderator
Supporter
Staff member
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
3,562 (1.52/day)
Location
Western Canada
Processor 5900X
Motherboard ROG X570 C8I (3601)
Memory 2x16GB 3800 15-15-15 1.42V
Video Card(s) RTX 2060 Super FE (2010MHz @ 0.987V)
Case Cerberus
If it's a case of WHEA errors, then I think I'm already a bit in trouble. Got cache hierarchy errors when system goes in standby. Despite memtest86 results with 0 errors.

At 3800+ we're talking about Bus/Interconnect WHEAs here. If you don't have any of those and you can boot and be stable otherwise then your CPU is doing fine on Infinity Fabric.

Cache hierarchy has nothing to do with RAM. Cache hierarchy means your cores aren't stable, in your case at idle, that's a separate problem. If you've messed with PBO and Curve Optimizer then you've got bad settings, if you're at stock settings then bad BIOS/bad board/bad CPU.

No one serious about RAM uses MT86, the CPU is literally at rest during that program. Use HCI Memtest, Karhu, or preferably Testmem5 on anta777Extreme1 config or 1usmusv3 config.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
8,712 (1.70/day)
Location
Austin Texas
System Name Espresso Machine
Processor 12600K @ 5.3
Motherboard MSI 690-A PRO
Cooling 280MM push pull water Loop
Memory 32 GB 4000 Mhz DDR4 17-18-18-37
Video Card(s) MSI Ventus RTX 3080 UC @1830mhz 810mv
Storage 3x1TB SSDs, 2TB SSD
Display(s) LG CX OLED 48"
Case Lian Li O11 Dynamic Mini
Audio Device(s) Bose Solo
Power Supply Corsair SF750
Mouse Logitech GPro Wired
Keyboard Tecware phantom w/ pudding keycaps
Software Windows 11
have you OC'd the tertiary timings? -- those get a ton of performance above and beyond what a frequency bump will do -- especially with 4 dimms.

primarily trrd_s / trrd_l /tfaw to [4 / 6 / 24] (loose) then [4 / 5 / 20] then [4 / 4 / 16] (super tight ) or 4 / 5 / 16

Try something like

trrd_s / trrd_l /tfaw - [4 / 6 / 24] (to start)

and:

tRDRD_sg = 7
tRDRD_dg = 4
tRDRD_dr = 7
tRDRD_dd = 7

tWRWR_sg = 7
tWRWR_dg = 4
tWRWR_dr = 7
tWRWR_dd = 7


And then run a test -- i think you will be surprised at the performance increase.
 
Last edited:

SkyStreaker

New Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2021
Messages
17 (0.89/day)
have you OC'd the tertiary timings? -- those get a ton of performance above and beyond what a frequency bump will do -- especially with 4 dimms.

primarily trrd_s / trrd_l /tfaw to [4 / 6 / 24] (loose) then [4 / 5 / 20] then [4 / 4 / 16] (super tight ) or 4 / 5 / 16

Try something like

trrd_s / trrd_l /tfaw - [4 / 6 / 24] (to start)

and:

tRDRD_sg = 7
tRDRD_dg = 4
tRDRD_dr = 7
tRDRD_dd = 7

tWRWR_sg = 7
tWRWR_dg = 4
tWRWR_dr = 7
tWRWR_dd = 7


And then run a test -- i think you will be surprised at the performance increase.
Eh...

I did say "marginally experienced".
I'll try all the suggestions when home.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2013
Messages
629 (0.20/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Current gaming rig
Processor Core i7-11700K@stock
Motherboard Gigabyte Z590 Aorus Ultra
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate + 2xCorsair ML140
Memory 2x16GB G.Skill F4-3600C18-16GVK
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700 XT Evoke OC edition
Storage M.2 NVME - WD 750 black & Corsair MP510
Display(s) Samsung 32" Odyssey G5.
Case Nanoxia Deep Silence 5 Rev.B
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar AE 7.1, Razer Tiamat 7.1
Power Supply Corsair RM750x
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS300
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Ultimate Stealth
Software Win10 64bit
At 3800+ we're talking about Bus/Interconnect WHEAs here. If you don't have any of those and you can boot and be stable otherwise then your CPU is doing fine on Infinity Fabric.

Cache hierarchy has nothing to do with RAM. Cache hierarchy means your cores aren't stable, in your case at idle, that's a separate problem. If you've messed with PBO and Curve Optimizer then you've got bad settings, if you're at stock settings then bad BIOS/bad board/bad CPU.

No one serious about RAM uses MT86, the CPU is literally at rest during that program. Use HCI Memtest, Karhu, or preferably Testmem5 on anta777Extreme1 config or 1usmusv3 config.
So if MT86 is not worthy, then how does one test ram before booting into OS? The authors of that program have done some nice clean ups with the user interface in v9.3
 

tabascosauz

Moderator
Supporter
Staff member
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
3,562 (1.52/day)
Location
Western Canada
Processor 5900X
Motherboard ROG X570 C8I (3601)
Memory 2x16GB 3800 15-15-15 1.42V
Video Card(s) RTX 2060 Super FE (2010MHz @ 0.987V)
Case Cerberus
So if MT86 is not worthy, then how does one test ram before booting into OS? The authors of that program have done some nice clean ups with the user interface in v9.3

You don't. There's no magical benefit to "testing outside the OS". You don't use your computer outside of the OS.

Even if there was an argument for testing literally 100.0% of memory capacity, and these theoretical instabilities only show at 100% capacity, it would be incredibly irrelevant in that there is no way you are filling 100.0% of memory capacity while using your computer normally without suffering major consequences.

If you pick up a brand new kit you can run it while doing something else so that you don't waste further time on a physically faulty kit, but that's pretty much it. TM5 automatically allocates nearly all available RAM and hammer it within an inch of its life. Especially when running more aggressive OCs, RAM doesn't exist in a vacuum; the Infinity Fabric needs to be happy, and so does the UMC (IMC for intel). All of these OC favourite in-OS memtests have appreciable CPU and memory controller load to some degree (TM5 probably the heaviest, and LinpackXtreme depending on config) - MT86 basically just has the CPU sit there.

Yes, Windows is sensitive to unstable memory, but it's also not that immediate as long as you are even remotely aware of what you're doing.
 

SkyStreaker

New Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2021
Messages
17 (0.89/day)
You don't. There's no magical benefit to "testing outside the OS". You don't use your computer outside of the OS.

Even if there was an argument for testing literally 100.0% of memory capacity, and these theoretical instabilities only show at 100% capacity, it would be incredibly irrelevant in that there is no way you are filling 100.0% of memory capacity while using your computer normally without suffering major consequences.

If you pick up a brand new kit you can run it while doing something else so that you don't waste further time on a physically faulty kit, but that's pretty much it. TM5 automatically allocates nearly all available RAM and hammer it within an inch of its life. Especially when running more aggressive OCs, RAM doesn't exist in a vacuum; the Infinity Fabric needs to be happy, and so does the UMC (IMC for intel). All of these OC favourite in-OS memtests have appreciable CPU and memory controller load to some degree (TM5 probably the heaviest, and LinpackXtreme depending on config) - MT86 basically just has the CPU sit there.

Yes, Windows is sensitive to unstable memory, but it's also not that immediate as long as you are even remotely aware of what you're doing.
Save Windows 2000. I remember installing 2 sticks back in the day and one was badly seated. Win95, 98 etc crashed at install. Windows 2000 went it's merily way. That one is stable as a rock.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
8,712 (1.70/day)
Location
Austin Texas
System Name Espresso Machine
Processor 12600K @ 5.3
Motherboard MSI 690-A PRO
Cooling 280MM push pull water Loop
Memory 32 GB 4000 Mhz DDR4 17-18-18-37
Video Card(s) MSI Ventus RTX 3080 UC @1830mhz 810mv
Storage 3x1TB SSDs, 2TB SSD
Display(s) LG CX OLED 48"
Case Lian Li O11 Dynamic Mini
Audio Device(s) Bose Solo
Power Supply Corsair SF750
Mouse Logitech GPro Wired
Keyboard Tecware phantom w/ pudding keycaps
Software Windows 11
TM5 for ram and Linpack for Cache OC (on intel) works wonders for me.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2021
Messages
160 (6.67/day)
Location
Romania
System Name Name? It's not a pet, dude.
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5900X @5050-5150 MHz PBO w/ CO
Motherboard ASUS ROG Crosshair VIII Hero WIFI
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer II 280mm + 2x Arctic P14
Memory 4x8GB 3800 14-15-14-12-28-40-240 G.Skill TridentZ Black 4400C19 + TridentZ 3600C15
Video Card(s) KFA2 RTX 3090 SG + Alphacool Eiswolf 2 360mm
Storage Samsung 970 EVO Plus 250GB (OS) + 2x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB + 2x Crucial MX500 1TB
Display(s) LG 27GL850 27" 1440p 144Hz IPS
Case be quiet! Silent Base 802 Black No window
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex V Pro 1000W
Mouse Logitech G Pro X Superlight
Keyboard Logitech G710+ MX Brown
tRDRD_sg = 7
tRDRD_dg = 4
tRDRD_dr = 7
tRDRD_dd = 7

tWRWR_sg = 7
tWRWR_dg = 4
tWRWR_dr = 7
tWRWR_dd = 7
I don't think you can mess with these on AM4. I've never seen them in any submenu.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
8,712 (1.70/day)
Location
Austin Texas
System Name Espresso Machine
Processor 12600K @ 5.3
Motherboard MSI 690-A PRO
Cooling 280MM push pull water Loop
Memory 32 GB 4000 Mhz DDR4 17-18-18-37
Video Card(s) MSI Ventus RTX 3080 UC @1830mhz 810mv
Storage 3x1TB SSDs, 2TB SSD
Display(s) LG CX OLED 48"
Case Lian Li O11 Dynamic Mini
Audio Device(s) Bose Solo
Power Supply Corsair SF750
Mouse Logitech GPro Wired
Keyboard Tecware phantom w/ pudding keycaps
Software Windows 11
I don't think you can mess with these on AM4. I've never seen them in any submenu.
It depends on the motherboard and what they’re called but all of them have a section for turn around timings. Might be labeled something else tho. The sg/dg/dr/dd at the end should give them away.

with 4x ranks tuning those should give some very nice boosts after he is able to find his max frequency.

1) get highest 1:1 ratio mhz,
2) tighten cl and primaries
3) tighten trrd(s)/l and tfaw
4) turnaround timings
5) last and most painful: trfc and trefi tuning
6) watch your cpu-bottlenecked fps go up by 20%
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 3, 2021
Messages
160 (6.67/day)
Location
Romania
System Name Name? It's not a pet, dude.
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5900X @5050-5150 MHz PBO w/ CO
Motherboard ASUS ROG Crosshair VIII Hero WIFI
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer II 280mm + 2x Arctic P14
Memory 4x8GB 3800 14-15-14-12-28-40-240 G.Skill TridentZ Black 4400C19 + TridentZ 3600C15
Video Card(s) KFA2 RTX 3090 SG + Alphacool Eiswolf 2 360mm
Storage Samsung 970 EVO Plus 250GB (OS) + 2x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB + 2x Crucial MX500 1TB
Display(s) LG 27GL850 27" 1440p 144Hz IPS
Case be quiet! Silent Base 802 Black No window
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex V Pro 1000W
Mouse Logitech G Pro X Superlight
Keyboard Logitech G710+ MX Brown
It depends on the motherboard and what they’re called but all of them have a section for turn around timings. Might be labeled something else tho. The sg/dg/dr/dd at the end should give them away.

with 4x ranks tuning those should give some very nice boosts after he is able to find his max frequency.

1) get highest 1:1 ratio mhz,
2) tighten cl and primaries
3) tighten trrd(s)/l and tfaw
4) turnaround timings
5) last and most painful: trfc and trefi tuning
6) watch your cpu-bottlenecked fps go up by 20%
I've been through all of them, and if memory serves, I have these options and more.
Ah yeah, my bad, these are always called something else for every manufacturer.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2021
Messages
160 (6.67/day)
Location
Romania
System Name Name? It's not a pet, dude.
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5900X @5050-5150 MHz PBO w/ CO
Motherboard ASUS ROG Crosshair VIII Hero WIFI
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer II 280mm + 2x Arctic P14
Memory 4x8GB 3800 14-15-14-12-28-40-240 G.Skill TridentZ Black 4400C19 + TridentZ 3600C15
Video Card(s) KFA2 RTX 3090 SG + Alphacool Eiswolf 2 360mm
Storage Samsung 970 EVO Plus 250GB (OS) + 2x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB + 2x Crucial MX500 1TB
Display(s) LG 27GL850 27" 1440p 144Hz IPS
Case be quiet! Silent Base 802 Black No window
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex V Pro 1000W
Mouse Logitech G Pro X Superlight
Keyboard Logitech G710+ MX Brown
Just for arguments sake, what would be a proper board within a budget of about 250 Euro's?
There are none. Proper boards start at 300 EUR. ( MSI X570 Unify/Unify-X)

But then again, I've pushed B-die kits to 3800 CL14 on 100 EUR X470 boards so who knows anymore?

For Ryzen, the board doesn't matter much if your memory is great. 3800 is what you want and 99% of boards should be capable of that with some B-die.

B550/X570S boards will do better memory OC because they are newer. 2-DIMM boards will get you the best results.
 

freeagent

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
3,032 (2.60/day)
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
Processor AMD R9 5900X
Motherboard Asus Strix B550-F Gaming
Cooling Thermalright Frost Commander 2x iPPC 3000
Memory 2x8 G.Skill Trident Z Royal 3200C14, 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z Black and White 3200 C14
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3070 Ti FTW3 Ultra
Storage WD SN750 1TB+500GB, 2x Intel 545s 256, WD1TB Black, 1TB Toshiba
Display(s) 22" Sammy, 55" Hisense
Case Fractal Design Meshify C
Audio Device(s) NAD, Mission, Monitor Audio
Power Supply Seasonic Prime GX-750, Zalman ZM-MFC2, Monster HDP1800
Mouse Zowie EC2 Evo
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Yes
Benchmark Scores Yes
Joined
Nov 3, 2021
Messages
160 (6.67/day)
Location
Romania
System Name Name? It's not a pet, dude.
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5900X @5050-5150 MHz PBO w/ CO
Motherboard ASUS ROG Crosshair VIII Hero WIFI
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer II 280mm + 2x Arctic P14
Memory 4x8GB 3800 14-15-14-12-28-40-240 G.Skill TridentZ Black 4400C19 + TridentZ 3600C15
Video Card(s) KFA2 RTX 3090 SG + Alphacool Eiswolf 2 360mm
Storage Samsung 970 EVO Plus 250GB (OS) + 2x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB + 2x Crucial MX500 1TB
Display(s) LG 27GL850 27" 1440p 144Hz IPS
Case be quiet! Silent Base 802 Black No window
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex V Pro 1000W
Mouse Logitech G Pro X Superlight
Keyboard Logitech G710+ MX Brown

freeagent

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
3,032 (2.60/day)
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
Processor AMD R9 5900X
Motherboard Asus Strix B550-F Gaming
Cooling Thermalright Frost Commander 2x iPPC 3000
Memory 2x8 G.Skill Trident Z Royal 3200C14, 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z Black and White 3200 C14
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3070 Ti FTW3 Ultra
Storage WD SN750 1TB+500GB, 2x Intel 545s 256, WD1TB Black, 1TB Toshiba
Display(s) 22" Sammy, 55" Hisense
Case Fractal Design Meshify C
Audio Device(s) NAD, Mission, Monitor Audio
Power Supply Seasonic Prime GX-750, Zalman ZM-MFC2, Monster HDP1800
Mouse Zowie EC2 Evo
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Yes
Benchmark Scores Yes
CMOS reset button.
Just use your reset switch?

Edit:

You said a proper board starts at 300 euro.. I disagreed and said 6 layers..
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2021
Messages
160 (6.67/day)
Location
Romania
System Name Name? It's not a pet, dude.
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5900X @5050-5150 MHz PBO w/ CO
Motherboard ASUS ROG Crosshair VIII Hero WIFI
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer II 280mm + 2x Arctic P14
Memory 4x8GB 3800 14-15-14-12-28-40-240 G.Skill TridentZ Black 4400C19 + TridentZ 3600C15
Video Card(s) KFA2 RTX 3090 SG + Alphacool Eiswolf 2 360mm
Storage Samsung 970 EVO Plus 250GB (OS) + 2x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB + 2x Crucial MX500 1TB
Display(s) LG 27GL850 27" 1440p 144Hz IPS
Case be quiet! Silent Base 802 Black No window
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex V Pro 1000W
Mouse Logitech G Pro X Superlight
Keyboard Logitech G710+ MX Brown
Last edited:

freeagent

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
3,032 (2.60/day)
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
Processor AMD R9 5900X
Motherboard Asus Strix B550-F Gaming
Cooling Thermalright Frost Commander 2x iPPC 3000
Memory 2x8 G.Skill Trident Z Royal 3200C14, 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z Black and White 3200 C14
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3070 Ti FTW3 Ultra
Storage WD SN750 1TB+500GB, 2x Intel 545s 256, WD1TB Black, 1TB Toshiba
Display(s) 22" Sammy, 55" Hisense
Case Fractal Design Meshify C
Audio Device(s) NAD, Mission, Monitor Audio
Power Supply Seasonic Prime GX-750, Zalman ZM-MFC2, Monster HDP1800
Mouse Zowie EC2 Evo
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Yes
Benchmark Scores Yes
Joined
Nov 3, 2021
Messages
160 (6.67/day)
Location
Romania
System Name Name? It's not a pet, dude.
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5900X @5050-5150 MHz PBO w/ CO
Motherboard ASUS ROG Crosshair VIII Hero WIFI
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer II 280mm + 2x Arctic P14
Memory 4x8GB 3800 14-15-14-12-28-40-240 G.Skill TridentZ Black 4400C19 + TridentZ 3600C15
Video Card(s) KFA2 RTX 3090 SG + Alphacool Eiswolf 2 360mm
Storage Samsung 970 EVO Plus 250GB (OS) + 2x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB + 2x Crucial MX500 1TB
Display(s) LG 27GL850 27" 1440p 144Hz IPS
Case be quiet! Silent Base 802 Black No window
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Super Flower Leadex V Pro 1000W
Mouse Logitech G Pro X Superlight
Keyboard Logitech G710+ MX Brown
Joined
Jun 16, 2013
Messages
629 (0.20/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Current gaming rig
Processor Core i7-11700K@stock
Motherboard Gigabyte Z590 Aorus Ultra
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate + 2xCorsair ML140
Memory 2x16GB G.Skill F4-3600C18-16GVK
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700 XT Evoke OC edition
Storage M.2 NVME - WD 750 black & Corsair MP510
Display(s) Samsung 32" Odyssey G5.
Case Nanoxia Deep Silence 5 Rev.B
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar AE 7.1, Razer Tiamat 7.1
Power Supply Corsair RM750x
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS300
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Ultimate Stealth
Software Win10 64bit
You don't. There's no magical benefit to "testing outside the OS". You don't use your computer outside of the OS.

Even if there was an argument for testing literally 100.0% of memory capacity, and these theoretical instabilities only show at 100% capacity, it would be incredibly irrelevant in that there is no way you are filling 100.0% of memory capacity while using your computer normally without suffering major consequences.

If you pick up a brand new kit you can run it while doing something else so that you don't waste further time on a physically faulty kit, but that's pretty much it. TM5 automatically allocates nearly all available RAM and hammer it within an inch of its life. Especially when running more aggressive OCs, RAM doesn't exist in a vacuum; the Infinity Fabric needs to be happy, and so does the UMC (IMC for intel). All of these OC favourite in-OS memtests have appreciable CPU and memory controller load to some degree (TM5 probably the heaviest, and LinpackXtreme depending on config) - MT86 basically just has the CPU sit there.

Yes, Windows is sensitive to unstable memory, but it's also not that immediate as long as you are even remotely aware of what you're doing.
Thanks, I wasn't implying there is a magical benefit in testing outside of the OS but the thing is MT86 will check for physical integrity of the DIMMS & obviously before the OS loads. If the end user is attempting an OC on the ram they don't want to load the OS & get errors when its loading before the desktop completely loads. That's the whole point of MT86.
 
Top